ARCHIVED - VIA Rail Canada 2008-2009

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2008-2009 Report Card
VIA Rail Canada

Official Languages Program Management (15%)

Rating

VIA Rail Canada has a 2008–2009 action plan for the implementation of the official languages. The plan describes the objectives, activities, expected results and timelines for the implementation of Parts IV, V and VI of the Official Languages Act.

The 2008–2009 Official Languages Action Plan includes targeted measures that address the institution’s main shortcomings identified in the 2007–2008 report card, in particular the active offer of bilingual services and the implementation of language of work policies.

Regular discussions on the Action Plan take place at senior management meetings. The Cross-Functional Committee on Official Languages tables a quarterly report to the Executive Committee, and the Official Languages Champion presents regular updates at Executive Committee meetings.

VIA Rail Canada developed a draft three-year 2008–2011 action plan for Part VII based on the Canadian Heritage template. VIA Rail Canada has demonstrated to Canadian Heritage its interest in preparing such a plan even though it is not one of the institutions required to do so. The next step in this process consists of submitting the action plan to the management committee for its approval.

In response to the 2007–2008 results of the Office of the Commissioner’s observations of active offer and service to the public in both official languages, VIA Rail Canada has implemented concrete measures to improve last year’s performance. For example, it prepared posters and regularly reminded, on a cyclical basis, all employees who serve the public of their obligations with regard to service to the public in both official languages.

In response to the shortcomings identified in last year’s report card regarding the bilingualism clauses in service agreements with suppliers and third parties, VIA Rail Canada developed an action plan to audit compliance with bilingualism clauses. It prepared an action plan to assess whether suppliers are familiar and comply with their linguistic obligations, and whether contracts contain the appropriate linguistic clauses.

In 2007–2008, the results of the language of work survey indicated that Francophone and Anglophone employees working in a minority situation in designated bilingual regions cannot always use the official language of their choice. The Cross-Functional Committee on Official Languages therefore determined that language of work would be considered a priority in 2008. To this end, VIA Rail Canada used material produced by the Canada Public Service Agency as part of its language of work campaign to raise awareness among managers of their obligations to create a work environment conducive to the use of both official languages. VIA Rail Canada’s communications plan on official languages includes messages to make employees aware of their rights and responsibilities in terms of language of work. Furthermore, the communications subcommittee published a regular column on official languages and on employees’ rights and obligations in VIAlogue, the corporation’s internal quarterly newsletter. VIA Rail Canada has also developed an intranet site that will be on-line as of April 2009 and will include an official languages component, fact sheets and promotional tools.

In January 2008, VIA Rail Canada introduced a control measure at all bilingual points of service in train stations to identify and permanently rectify any possible violations of the Act. In the event of a breach, the corrective measures taken are shared with the Official Languages Champion, members of the Cross-Functional Committee on Official Languages, and the President and Chief Executive Officer.

Although VIA Rail Canada increased its efforts to create a workplace conducive to the use of both languages by way of communications, more proactive and preventive measures involving managers must be implemented to yield concrete results. Control and follow-up mechanisms would allow VIA Rail Canada to develop and implement expected corrective measures.

The Executive Committee regularly reviews progress on implementation of the action plan for Part VII.

Analysts at the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages who investigate complaints admissible under the Act have access to VIA Rail Canada’s Official Languages Champion, Director of Stakeholder Relations and official languages consultant. However, VIA Rail Canada requests that OCOL employees communicate first with these people in charge of official languages to ensure uniformity and compliance with VIA Rail Canada’s standards relating to the Official Languages Act. VIA Rail Canada wants to avoid the need to repeatedly contact the affected sectors’ managers, as this could reduce the effectiveness of OCOL’s intervention. Nevertheless, OCOL employees have easy access to the managers concerned or to other VIA Rail Canada representatives, if necessary.

The official languages consultant prepares her own quarterly progress reports on complaints and shares them with the appropriate OCOL analysts.

B

Service to the Public Part IV of the Official Languages Act (30%)

According to observations of service in person made by the Office of the Commissioner between June and December 2008, an active visual offer was present in 86.5% of cases, an active offer by staff was made in 10.8% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was available in 81.1% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by the Office of the Commissioner between June and December 2008, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was available in 100% of cases.

According to observations of service by e-mail made by the Office of the Commissioner between September and December 2008, the availability of service is comparable for both linguistic groups 75% of the time, and benefits Francophones 25% of the time. With regard to the average response times, they are comparable for both linguistic groups.

B

Language of Work  Part V of the Official Languages Act (25%)

The survey conducted by Statistics Canada on behalf of the Office of the Commissioner showed that, overall, 56.9% of Francophone respondents in the National Capital Region (NCR), New Brunswick and the bilingual regions of Ontario "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime. In Quebec, 89.7% of Anglophone respondents were of the same opinion.

For both categories of respondents, the satisfaction rate by question is presented below.

Survey Questions

Anglophone Respondents

Francophone Respondents

The material and tools provided for my work, including software and other automated tools, are available in the official language of my choice.

95%

66%

When I prepare written materials, including electronic mail, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

90%

69%

When I communicate with my immediate supervisor, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

90%

53%

During meetings in my work unit, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

87%

50%

The training offered by my work unit is in the official language of my choice.

87%

47%

C

Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians  Part VI of the Official Languages Act (10%)

Overall, the workforce is 43.2% Francophone

In Quebec, excluding the NCR, the workforce is 20.7% Anglophone.

(Source: VIA Rail Canada, March 31, 2008)

A

Development of Official Language Minority Communities and Promotion of Linguistic Duality  Part VII of the Official Languages Act (20%)

In 2008, VIA Rail Canada carried out a detailed analysis of all sector programs and policies that could contribute to the implementation of Part VII. Further to this exercise, it developed the Guide to Decision-making, which describes the procedures to follow before a corporate decision modifies a program or activity that might affect official language minority communities (OLMCs) or the promotion of linguistic duality.

VIA Rail Canada uses the progress reports that it shares with its Executive Committee, Cross-Functional Committee on Official Languages and other cross-functional committees to ensure that its decisions, actions and representatives take into account consequences on the promotion of linguistic duality and the development of OLMCs.

Regional marketing and communications representatives communicate regularly with OLMC representatives and consult with them as needed, specifically when there are changes to rail service in remote communities.

In its policy on official languages, VIA Rail Canada sets out its commitment to preferring goods and services suppliers from an official language minority group, when the best service offers are of equal value.

VIA Rail Canada sees the Vancouver Olympic Games as an excellent opportunity to pursue its discussions with the Société de développement économique de la Colombie Britannique and the Réseau du développement économique et d’employabilité for consultations and partnerships that promote linguistic duality. To this end, OLMC representatives have received contact information for the head of marketing, and VIA Rail Canada will be considering requests for partnerships via these two organizations.

VIA Rail Canada works closely with federal institutions, such as Parks Canada and the Canadian Tourism Commission, that have a role to play in the economic development of OLMCs to develop a joint strategy for minority community business people. Since VIA Rail Canada’s mandate is of a commercial nature—the transportation of passengers—the institution promotes on its Web site many events and tourist attractions across Canada, including English and French heritage historic sites and OLMC events, in cases where train travel is part of the package or is the preferred means of transportation to the events. VIA Rail Canada also sponsors several major cultural events that foster OLMC development and promote linguistic duality. For example, there is a section on VIA’s railway services in the document entitled Renseignements pratiques produced by Accueil francophone du Manitoba and designed for Francophone newcomers to this province.

VIA Rail Canada sponsored the Prix des lecteurs Radio Canada, a national contest held in April 2008 to help readers discover French-language literature by well-known authors from OLMCs. VIA Rail Canada provided transportation at a reduced rate to allow members of the Fédération de la jeunesse canadienne-française to participate in the proceedings of the XIIe Sommet de la Francophonie, which was held in Québec City from October 17 to 19, 2008.

The analysis of measures taken by VIA Rail Canada confirms a clear commitment to promote linguistic duality. However, VIA Rail Canada is encouraged to contribute more to the development of OLMCs and to demonstrate concrete results from its consultations with the communities.

B

Overall Rating

B

ARCHIVÉE - VIA Rail Canada 2008-2009

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2008-2009
VIA Rail Canada

Gestion du programme des langues officielles
(15 %)

Note

VIA Rail Canada dispose, pour 2008-2009, d’un plan d’action pour les langues officielles. Ce plan décrit les objectifs, les activités prévues, les résultats attendus et les échéances pour la mise en œuvre des parties IV, V et VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Le plan d’action comporte des mesures ciblées qui tiennent compte des principaux points faibles qui ont été mis en relief dans le bulletin de rendement 2007-2008, en particulier au chapitre de l’offre active de services bilingues et de la mise en œuvre des politiques concernant la langue de travail.

Le plan fait l’objet de discussions périodiques aux réunions de la haute direction. Le Comité inter-fonctionnel sur les langues officielles dépose un rapport trimestriel au Comité de gestion, et la championne des langues officielles y présente, à ces réunions, des mises à jour sur une base régulière.

VIA Rail Canada a établi pour 2008-2011 l’ébauche d’un plan d’action pour la partie VII, qui est inspiré du gabarit créé par Patrimoine canadien. Il est à noter que la Société a fait part à Patrimoine canadien de son intérêt à l’égard d’un tel plan, même si elle n’est pas tenue d’en élaborer un, puisqu’elle n’est pas une institution désignée en vertu de la partie VII. La prochaine étape consistera à soumettre le plan d’action au Comité de gestion pour approbation.

En réponse aux observations du Commissariat dans le bulletin 2007-2008 concernant l’offre active de service et le service en personne dans les deux langues officielles, VIA Rail Canada a mis en œuvre des mesures concrètes afin d’améliorer la situation. Par exemple, la Société a créé des affiches et a effectué des rappels cycliques, aux employés de tous les secteurs qui servent le public, de leurs obligations en matière de service dans les deux langues officielles.

Pour combler les lacunes cernées dans le bulletin de rendement de l’an dernier au sujet du respect des clauses de bilinguisme dans les ententes avec les fournisseurs et les tiers, VIA Rail Canada a élaboré un plan d’action pour la vérification du respect des exigences. La Société a également établi un plan d’action pour vérifier que les fournisseurs connaissent leurs obligations linguistiques et qu’ils s’y conforment, et que les contrats contiennent les clauses linguistiques appropriées.

Selon les résultats du sondage 2007-2008 sur la langue de travail, le personnel francophone et anglophone en situation minoritaire dans les régions désignées bilingues n’a pas toujours la possibilité d’utiliser la langue officielle de son choix. Le Comité inter-fonctionnel sur les langues officielles a donc établi que la langue de travail serait une priorité en 2008. À cet égard, VIA Rail Canada a utilisé le matériel produit par l’Agence de la fonction publique du Canada dans le cadre de sa campagne sur la langue de travail, d’une part, pour sensibiliser les employés à leurs droits et responsabilités en matière de langue de travail et, d’autre part, pour rappeler aux gestionnaires leur obligation de créer un milieu propice à l’usage des deux langues officielles. De plus, le Sous-comité sur les communications a fait paraître dans VIAlogue, bulletin trimestriel interne de la Société, une rubrique sur les droits et les obligations des employés en matière de langues officielles. Également, VIA Rail Canada a créé un site intranet qui inclura un volet consacré aux langues officielles, lequel comportera des feuillets d’information et divers outils promotionnels et informatifs. Le site sera opérationnel à compter d’avril 2009.

En janvier 2008, VIA Rail Canada a mis en œuvre des mesures de contrôle à tous les points de service des gares afin de cerner et de rectifier de façon permanente toute infraction à la Loi. L’application des mesures correctives en cas d’infraction est une responsabilité partagée entre la championne des langues officielles, les membres du Comité inter-fonctionnel sur les langues officielles, et le président et chef de direction.

Bien que VIA Rail Canada ait augmenté ses efforts en vue de créer un milieu de travail propice à l’utilisation des deux langues officielles au moyen de divers outils de communication, d’autres mesures proactives et préventives de la part des gestionnaires devront être mises en place pour atteindre des résultats concrets. L’établissement de mécanismes de contrôle et de suivi permettrait à VIA Rail Canada d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre les mesures correctives nécessaires.

Le Comité exécutif examine régulièrement l’évolution de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action de la partie VII.

Les analystes du Commissariat chargés d’enquêter les plaintes recevables d’après la Loi peuvent communiquer avec la championne des langues officielles, le directeur des relations avec les intervenants et la conseillère en langues officielles. VIA Rail Canada demande que les employés du Commissariat communiquent d’abord avec ces responsables afin d’assurer l’uniformité et le respect des normes de VIA Rail Canada relatives à la Loi sur les langues officielles. La Société cherche ainsi à éviter que l’on contacte de façon répétée les gestionnaires des secteurs concernés, ce qui peut réduire l’efficacité de l’intervention du Commissariat. Toutefois, les représentants du Commissariat peuvent aisément, au besoin, prendre contact avec les gestionnaires concernés et d’autres représentants de VIA Rail Canada.

La conseillère en langues officielles de la Société établit des rapports de progrès trimestriels sur les plaintes et les fait parvenir aux analystes du Commissariat.

B

Service au public - Partie IV de la Loi sur les officielles (30 %)

D’après les observations sur le service en personne réalisées par le Commissariat entre juin et décembre 2008, l’offre active visuelle était présente dans 86,5 % des cas, l’offre active par les préposés était faite dans 10,8 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était disponible dans 81,1 % des cas.

D’après les observations sur le service au téléphone réalisées par le Commissariat entre juin et décembre 2008, l’offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était disponible dans 100 % des cas.

D’après les observations sur le service par courriel réalisées par le Commissariat entre septembre et décembre 2008, la disponibilité des services offerts par l’institution est comparable pour les deux groupes linguistiques 75 % du temps; elle est à l’avantage des francophones 25 % du temps. En ce qui a trait aux délais moyens de réponse, ils sont comparables pour les deux groupes linguistiques.

B

Langue de travail - Partie V de la Loi sur les langues officielles (25%)

Le sondage effectué par Statistique Canada pour le compte du Commissariat a établi que 56,9 % de l’ensemble des répondants francophones de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN), du Nouveau-Brunswick et des régions bilingues de l’Ontario étaient « entièrement d’accord » ou « plutôt d’accord » avec le régime de la langue de travail. Au Québec, la proportion de répondants anglophones du même avis se situait à 89,7 %.

Voici les taux de satisfaction obtenus pour les deux catégories de répondants, selon les différentes questions.

Questions du sondage

Répondants francophones

Répondants anglophones

Le matériel et les outils de travail mis à ma disposition dans le cadre de mon travail, y compris les logiciels et les autres outils informatisés, sont disponibles dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

66 %

95 %

Lorsque je rédige des documents, y compris des courriels, je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

69 %

90 %

Lorsque je communique avec mon (ma) superviseur(e) immédiat(e), je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue de mon choix.

 

53 %

90 %

Durant les réunions de mon unité de travail, je me sens libre d’utiliser la langue officielle de mon choix.

50 %

87 %

Mon organisation offre de la formation dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

47 %

87 %

C

Participation des Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise - Partie VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles (10%)

Dans l’ensemble du Canada, l’effectif est composé à 43,2 % de francophones.

Au Québec, en excluant la RCN, l’effectif est composé à 20,7 % d’anglophones.

(Source : VIA Rail Canada, 31 mars 2008)

A

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII (20 %)

En 2008, VIA Rail Canada a effectué une analyse détaillée de tous ses programmes et politiques sectoriels qui pourraient contribuer à la mise en œuvre de la partie VII. À la suite de cet exercice, la Société a élaboré le guide Prise de décision, qui définit les procédures à suivre avant d’adopter une décision qui, modifiant un programme ou une activité, pourrait nuire aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) ou à la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

VIA Rail Canada utilise les rapports de progrès qu’elle transmet au Comité de direction, au Comité inter-fonctionnel sur les langues officielles et à ses autres comités inter-fonctionnels pour vérifier que les décisions et les gestes de la Société et de ses représentants tiennent compte des incidences sur la promotion de la dualité linguistique et sur le développement des CLOSM.

Les représentants régionaux du marketing et des communications discutent régulièrement avec les représentants des CLOSM et les consultent au besoin, particulièrement lorsqu’il est question d’un changement dans les services ferroviaires offerts aux communautés éloignées.

Dans sa politique sur les langues officielles, VIA Rail Canada énonce son engagement à accorder la préférence aux fournisseurs de biens et de services provenant d’un groupe de langue officielle minoritaire lorsque les meilleures offres de services sont de valeur égale.

Selon VIA Rail Canada, les Jeux olympiques de Vancouver constituent l’occasion idéale de poursuivre ses discussions avec la Société de développement économique de la Colombie-Britannique et le Réseau du développement économique et d’employabilité en vue de favoriser les consultations et les partenariats destinés à promouvoir la dualité linguistique. À cet effet, on a remis aux représentants des CLOSM les coordonnées de la personne responsable du marketing, et VIA Rail Canada étudiera les demandes de partenariat qui lui seront faites par l’entremise de ces deux organismes.

La Société travaille de près avec les institutions fédérales qui ont un rôle à jouer dans le développement économique des CLOSM, telles que l’Agence Parcs Canada et la Commission canadienne du tourisme, en vue d’élaborer une stratégie conjointe à l’intention des gens d’affaires de ces communautés. Comme le mandat de VIA Rail Canada est de nature commerciale, soit le transport des passagers, l’institution fait la promotion sur son site Internet de nombreux événements et attractions touristiques au pays, dont des lieux historiques du patrimoine francophone et anglophone et des activités des CLOSM, dans la mesure où le voyage en train fait partie d’un forfait ou est le moyen de transport privilégié pour s’y rendre. En outre, VIA Rail Canada parraine divers événements culturels d’envergure qui favorisent le développement des CLOSM et la promotion de la dualité linguistique. Par exemple, le document Renseignements pratiques, que publie l’Accueil francophone du Manitoba à l’intention des nouveaux arrivants de langue française de cette province, comporte une section sur les services ferroviaires de VIA Rail Canada.

La Société a parrainé le Prix des lecteurs Radio-Canada, concours national tenu en avril 2008 ayant pour objectif de faire découvrir les œuvres francophones d’auteurs s’illustrant en milieu minoritaire. De plus, VIA Rail Canada a fourni le transport à tarif préférentiel pour permettre aux membres de la Fédération de la jeunesse canadienne-française de participer au congrès du XIIe Sommet de la Francophonie, qui s’est tenu du 17 au 19 octobre 2008, à Québec.

L’analyse des mesures prises par VIA Rail Canada confirme son engagement clair à l’égard de la promotion de la dualité linguistique. Cependant, le Commissariat encourage la Société à accroître ses efforts en vue de contribuer davantage au développement des CLOSM et à montrer des résultats concrets émanant de ses consultations avec les communautés.

B

Note Globale

B