ARCHIVED - Transport Canada 2004-2005

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2004-2005 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place

Transport Canada (TC) has had a document entitled Official Languages Management Accountability Framework on its intranet since April 2004. However, the document more closely resembles a vision document and does not identify the roles and responsibilities of all the parties concerned. An additional document that will do that is being developed and should be in place before too long. However, for the period covered by this Report Card, it was not yet in place.

Each year, members of Transport Canada's Executive Committee (TMX) approve departmental official languages (OL) priorities as part of the Department's strategy to improve compliance with the Official Languages Program (OLP). Following approval of the objectives, each responsibility centre manager in TC is then required to self-assess his or her organization's performance by completing a detailed self-assessment guide. The guide is a common assessment tool developed by TC. A copy of the responsibility centre's results to date and of proposed corrective actions is sent to the respective regional director general (RDG) or assistant deputy minister (ADM). The roll-up of the corrective measures that must be undertaken for the next year, with measurable activities and deadlines, remains in the RDG's or ADM's office, and is monitored there, rather than centrally from the national OL office in HR. The sum of these roll-ups of all corrective actions is what constitutes the Department's OL action plan each year.

For its part, the national OL office submits the Department's consolidated results achieved to the Department's Deputy Minister for approval in the form of the Annual Review of OL. The Annual Review of OL is then distributed to all members of TC's Executive Committee and a message is sent to all employees inviting them to consult the document on the Intranet.

In 2004, OL priorities were discussed three times by the TMX. As well, in 2004, TC's Champion spoke personally and individually with members of the TMX and secured commitments on OL from each of them.

Fact Sheet

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization

The 2003 document Straight Ahead, which set out Transport Canada's vision and strategy for a sustainable transportation system, did not address TC's obligations to promote Canada's linguistic duality. The Department has informed OCOL that Straight Ahead will not be updated or replaced with a different document for the foreseeable future; however, ever since the document came out in February 2003, TC has begun to give OL a significantly higher profile within the Department. The
2003–2004 Departmental Performance Report discussed the Department's OL program and the 2004–2005 Report on Plans and Priorities mentioned the Department's commitment to serve the public in both OL.

The Official Languages Program (OLP) is not included in every audit. However, in November 2004, TC's OL policy centre did do a detailed in-house follow-up to the 2003 TBS telephone audit and this was shared with the TMX.

Official languages are discussed regularly by the TMX. The OL champion sits on the Executive Committee; functional OL authorities attend presentations.

Historically, in TC, there has been a lack of co-ordination between the policy and program development function on the one hand, and the central OL function on the other, such that Part IV, V, VI and VII considerations have not been well integrated into new corporate initiatives or changes to programming. In 2004, the Champion began to spearhead a push to change this state of affairs, but the effort has not yet been completed. For now, TMX plays the role of the body that provides co-ordination between those departmental functions. There is an ongoing dialogue between the champion and functional OL authorities on all OL matters.

Fact Sheet

c) Complaints

Complaints received from OCOL are reviewed and forwarded to the responsible director general with a copy to the appropriate ADM. The manager concerned, in consultation with the advisor in the regional human resources office and the national OL officer, determines the measures that will be taken to rectify the situation and ensure that it does not recur. The OL officer does regular follow-up until the corrective measures are applied.

Overall in TC—and this has been the case for the last two years—organizational learning around OL is now definitely occurring. Mandatory information sessions on OL were held in 2004–2005 in several sectors of the Department where OL have been most problematic. These sessions were intended to increase organisational awareness and learning regarding staff's OL responsibilities and how to avoid OL complaints.

Still, for years there has been a serious systemic OL problem with TC concerning its failure to guarantee that security information / safety instructions are available in both languages in all cases on board commercial flights.

Fact Sheet

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff

TC provides a wide range of services, some of it to a limited clientele whose language preference is known. The telephone numbers of all offices are listed in the Blue Pages of telephone directories. Bilingual offices are also listed in the Burolis directory.

As of March 31, 2004, the Public Service Human Resource Management Agency of Canada's (PSHRMAC) Position and Classification Information System (PCIS) indicated that 84.4% of incumbents of bilingual positions serving the public met the linguistic requirements of their position.

Fact Sheet

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery

According to observations on in-person service made by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages in the fall of 2004, active visual offer to the public was present in 76.9% of cases; active offer by staff was made in 46.2% of cases, while service in the language of the minority was adequate in 76.9% of cases.

The 2003 telephone service audit conducted by the Treasury Board Secretariat shows that active offer was made by staff 45.7% of the time and on answering machines 70.0% of the time, while service was adequate in both official languages 74.3% of the time.

Fact Sheet

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services

OCOL was informed that managers are aware of their linguistic obligations set out in the Treasury Board policy on contracts. The Department told OCOL that contracting specialists provide the advice needed to ensure successful implementation of the policy. Each manager is responsible for ensuring compliance. Neither the Department's audit function nor the OL Directorate monitor implementation of the policy. OCOL did not have information on whether contracting specialists are well informed of the linguistic aspects of the TBS policy and whether they systematically follow up on this with managers. The Department does not have any active measures in place to help contractors better understand the extent of their obligations and to better carry them out (e.g., an information brochure, or examples of best practices that they share with the contractor).

Fact Sheet

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring

Employees are reminded at least once a year of their responsibility to greet the public and provide service of equal quality in both official languages. Similarly, TC produces communiqués to employees about the importance of providing equal quality services in both OL that are published in departmental newsletters. Policies, guidelines, guides and other supports are available to employees. New employees are given an overview of the OLP as part of their orientation. In addition, the basic TC management course includes a component on official languages for managers.

TC has put in place a mechanism to help employees understand the Department's linguistic obligations and employees' roles in helping the Department meet them: namely, the OL progress report developed by each region or TC group/sector. As noted on page 1, section (a) of this fact sheet, that report (which also doubles as Transport Canada's OL action plan) details the corrective measures committed to by the region to maintain progress on the OL front and to rectify any weaknesses.

Transport Canada is organized into five regions. In four of these five regions, TC has organized formal training for regional employees about OL in recent years. In the National Capital Region and the Quebec and Prairies and the North regions, separate OL training sessions for management and for all employees took place last year. In the Pacific Region, training was given in 2002 as part of a TBS pilot project there.

TC carried out an in-house audit of telephone service to the public for their 106 points of bilingual service in November 2004. The results were shared with the TMX.

While different measures are in place, the results of OCOL's in-person service observations and of the 2003 TBS telephone audit raise the question of whether more, or more effective, service quality control mechanisms—especially at the local level—are required.

Fact Sheet

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy

According to data obtained from PSHRMAC's Position and Classification Information System (PCIS), as of March 31, 2004, 80.9% of EXs met the OL requirements of their position, while 76.3% of supervisors met the current linguistic profile of their position.

The language of work policy is essentially that of PSHRMAC, complemented by guidelines that address specific departmental initiatives or conditions. Policies, guidelines, reports and work instruments are posted on the intranet site. Other tools and measures such as training workshops and tools to ensure effective meetings in both official languages are also made available. However, in TC's case, language of work complaints remain the largest category of OL complaints received by OCOL. This raises questions about the efficacy and sufficiency of the support measures currently in place as supports to the language of work policy in the Department.

Fact Sheet

b) Use of each language in the workplace

Mandatory information sessions on OL were held in 2004–2005 in several sectors of the Department where OL have been most problematic. These sessions were intended to increase organizational awareness and learning regarding OL. The sessions were initially offered to the Civil Aviation Directorate of the Safety and Security Group and then expanded to other organizations, as requested by management. These measures follow on a number of other significant actions taken by TC's senior management to bring the Department more fully into line with the Government's new strategic thrust on the OL front.

Notices/reminders are published five or six times a year in Inside TC, TC Express and the What's New page of the intranet site to provide employees with information about their roles, rights and responsibilities regarding OL. New employees are given an overview of the OL Program. Similarly, the basic TC management course includes a component on official languages for managers; in other management courses when the subject of the Department's mandate on policies is raised, it is pointed out that OL is a departmental priority.

The Deputy Minister actively encourages members of the TMX to use both official languages at Executive Committee meetings, and both are used. Other measures include: posters and promotional tools in all meeting rooms; a pilot project within the Civil Aviation Group to increase the use of both official languages and to improve bilingual communications between the group's head office functions in Ottawa and its regional operations in Quebec.

The results of the 2002 Public Service-wide Employee Survey showed that 71.6% of Francophone respondents of the bilingual regions of Ontario, the NCR and New Brunswick and 69.8% of Anglophone respondents from bilingual regions of Quebec "Strongly agree" or "Mostly agree" with the language of work regime.

The groups and regions were consulted on the findings of the survey, and the results of those discussions were communicated to senior management.

Should there be any written communications that might be sent out improperly to employees in unilingual format only, the Champion has now put in place a control measure for such situations. Should this occur, ADMs are now aware that she will raise the matter personally with them as the person responsible for their sector.

Fact Sheet

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada

27.2% of TC employees in Canada are Francophone.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec

6.8% of employees in Quebec are Anglophone.

Fact Sheet

Development of minority language communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities

TC is aware that it must further develop a mechanism to consider the potential impact on minority communities when developing Memoranda to Cabinet and TBS submissions. Traditionally this appears not to have happened. Once it is in place, the new OL responsibility framework currently being developed will likely positively support such a development.

TC claims that they are well aware of the Communications Policy. They say that they ensure equivalent OL media are part of any media plan submitted to PWGSC for approval.

Sensitization of employees to the needs of OL minority communities only seems to occur through the practice (which is becoming more common) of ensuring that staffing competitions take into account the minority communities in their area of selection. (The Department does this to boost their bilingual recruitment.) Thus, sensitization of employees to specific needs of the minority community occurs through the Department's promotional activities of the two official languages. (For more on this, see the next section, i.e., Section (b)).

In short, TC doesn't yet do consultations with OL groups; they don't have examples of Section 41 social or economic initiatives, and they are not one of the 29 institutions reporting annually to Canadian Heritage (so they don't have an internal Section 41 plan).

Fact Sheet

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality

According to Transport Canada, the impact on the promotion of linguistic duality is considered in the development of Treasury Board submissions and Memoranda to Cabinet. However, the Department has acknowledged OL were really not considered in 2003 in the development of the Department's vision document for the next decade (Straight Ahead).

Within TC, promotion of the equal status of both languages really only occurs through the secondary effect of promoting greater equality for French as an official language of work within the Department, and through the Department's promotional activities of the two official languages internally. For example, twice a year, during the Semaine de la Francophonie and during Public Service Week, the Department organizes crossword games with prizes.

Fact Sheet

OVERALL RATING

Fact Sheet

ARCHIVÉE - Transports Canada 2004-2005

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2004-2005

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place

Un document intitulé le « Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion pour les langues officielles » de Transports Canada (TC) se trouve sur le site intranet de l’organisation depuis avril 2004. Cependant, ce document ressemble davantage à un énoncé de vision et ne définit pas les rôles et les responsabilités de toutes les parties concernées. Ainsi, TC prépare actuellement un autre document allant dans ce sens. Ce document n’a pu servir pour la période visée par le présent bulletin de rendement, mais il devrait être prêt sous peu.

Chaque année, les membres du Comité exécutif (CGX) de TC approuvent les priorités ministérielles liées aux langues officielles (LO) dans le cadre de la stratégie du Ministère visant à assurer une plus grande conformité au Programme des langues officielles (PLO). Lorsque les priorités ont été approuvées, chaque gestionnaire de centre de responsabilité doit évaluer le rendement de son organisation en remplissant un guide d’auto-évaluation détaillé. Ce guide est un outil d’évaluation commun mis au point par TC. Une copie des résultats à jour du centre de responsabilité et des mesures correctrices proposées est envoyée au directeur général régional (DGR) ou au sous-ministre adjoint (SMA) concerné. La responsabilité de l’ensemble des mesures correctrices devant être prises pour la prochaine année, de même que des activités mesurables et des échéanciers s’y rattachant, relève du bureau du DGR ou du SMA. C’est de là que s’effectue la surveillance plutôt que du bureau national des LO, aux RH. Le regroupement de toutes les mesures correctrices constitue chaque année le plan d’action du Ministère en matière de LO.

De son côté, le bureau national des LO présente les résultats obtenus dans l'ensemble du Ministère au sous-ministre pour que celui-ci les approuve. Il s'agit ici du Bilan annuel sur les LO, qui est ensuite distribué à tous les membres du CGX de TC; un message est en outre envoyé à tous les employés les invitant à consulter le document sur l'intranet.

En 2004, le CGX a discuté des priorités à trois reprises, et la championne des LO s'est entretenue de la stratégie avec chacun des membres du CGX pour obtenir un engagement en vue d'une mise en œuvre réussie.

Fiche d'information

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation

Le document intitulé Droit devant, qui présente la vision et la stratégie de TC relativement à un système de transport viable, ne fait aucunement mention des obligations de l'organisation de promouvoir la dualité linguistique du Canada. Le Ministère a indiqué au Commissariat aux langues officielles que Droit devant ne serait ni mis à jour ni remplacé dans un avenir prévisible; toutefois, depuis la publication du document en février 2003, TC accorde une plus grande importance aux LO. Le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2003-2004 traitait du programme des LO de TC, et le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2004-2005 faisait état de l'engagement du Ministère de servir le public dans les deux LO.

Le Programme des langues officielles (PLO) ne figure pas dans chaque vérification. Cependant, en novembre 2004, le centre de la politique en matière de LO de TC a effectué un suivi interne approfondi de la vérification téléphonique réalisée par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor en 2003; les résultats de ce suivi ont été communiqués au CGX.

Le CGX discute régulièrement des LO. La championne des LO siège au Comité exécutif, et les autorités fonctionnelles en matière de LO assistent aux exposés.

Depuis longtemps, on observe au sein de TC un manque de coordination entre la fonction d'élaboration de politiques et de programmes d'une part et la fonction centrale des LO d'autre part, de sorte que les dispositions contenues dans les parties IV, V, VI et VII n'ont pas été bien intégrées aux nouvelles initiatives ni incorporées aux changements apportés aux programmes. En 2004, la championne des LO a fait œuvre de pionnière en essayant de changer la situation, mais ses efforts n'ont pas encore porté fruit. Pour l'instant, le CGX assure la coordination de ces fonctions ministérielles. La championne et les autorités fonctionnelles en matière de LO maintiennent un dialogue au sujet des LO.

Fiche d'information

c) Les plaintes

Les plaintes reçues du Commissariat aux langues officielles sont examinées et transmises au directeur général responsable, et le SMA concerné en reçoit un exemplaire. Le gestionnaire concerné, en consultation avec le conseiller du bureau régional des ressources humaines et l'agent national des LO, détermine les mesures qui seront prises pour redresser la situation et faire en sorte qu'elle ne se reproduise plus. L'agent des LO assure un suivi continu jusqu'à ce que les mesures correctrices soient appliquées.

Dans l'ensemble, l'apprentissage organisationnel en ce qui a trait aux LO a définitivement lieu au sein de TC (fait que l'on observe depuis deux ans). En 2004-2005, des séances d'information obligatoires sur les LO ont eu lieu dans plusieurs secteurs du Ministère où le sujet est le plus problématique. L'objectif de ces séances était de sensibiliser l'organisation et de renseigner ses membres à propos des responsabilités du personnel en matière de LO et de proposer des façons d'éviter les plaintes.

Quoi qu'il en soit, il existe depuis des années un sérieux problème systémique concernant les LO au sein de TC. En effet, le Ministère n'arrive pas à garantir en tout temps la communication des renseignements et des consignes de sécurité dans les deux LO à bord des vols commerciaux.

Fiche d'information

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat

TC offre un large éventail de services, dont certains sont destinés à une clientèle restreinte dont la langue de préférence est connue. Les numéros de téléphone de tous les bureaux sont inscrits dans les pages bleues des annuaires téléphoniques, et les coordonnées des bureaux bilingues figurent également dans le répertoire Burolis.

En date du 31 mars 2004, le Système d'information sur les postes et la classification de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique indiquait que 84,4 % des titulaires de poste bilingue affectés au service au public satisfaisaient aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste.

Fiche d'information

b) Observations sur l'offre active et prestation de services

Selon les observations faites par le Commissariat aux langues officielles à l'automne 2004 sur le service en personne, l'offre active visuelle est assurée 76,9 % du temps et l'offre active par les employés est assurée 46,2 % du temps. Le service fourni dans la langue de la minorité est adéquat 76,9 % du temps.

D'après la vérification du service téléphonique menée en 2003 par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, l'offre active est assurée par les employés 45,7 % du temps et par des répondeurs 70,0 % du temps. Le service offert dans les deux langues officielles est adéquat 74,3 % du temps.

Fiche d'information

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues

TC informe le Commissariat aux langues officielles que les gestionnaires connaissaient leurs obligations linguistiques, qui sont énoncées dans la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les contrats. Le Ministère a indiqué que des spécialistes des contrats donnaient les conseils nécessaires à la réussite de la mise en œuvre de la politique. Chaque gestionnaire doit veiller au respect de la conformité. Ni le vérificateur du Ministère ni la direction des LO ne surveille la mise en œuvre de la politique. Le Commissariat aux langues officielles n'a pu savoir si les spécialistes des contrats étaient bien renseignés concernant les aspects linguistiques de la politique du SCT et s'ils faisaient systématiquement un suivi auprès des gestionnaires à ce sujet.

Le Ministère ne dispose d'aucune mesure active pour aider les entrepreneurs à mieux comprendre l'étendue de leurs obligations et à mieux les respecter (p. ex. un dépliant d'information ou des exemples de pratiques exemplaires qu'il pourrait communiquer à l'entrepreneur).

Fiche d'information

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues

Au moins une fois l'an, on rappelle aux employés qu'ils ont la responsabilité d'accueillir le public et de lui offrir un service de même qualité dans les deux langues officielles. En outre, TC produit des communiqués à l'intention des employés soulignant l'importance d'offrir des services de même qualité dans les deux LO; ces communiqués sont publiés dans les bulletins d'information du Ministère. Les politiques, les lignes directrices, les manuels et d'autres outils de travail sont à leur disposition. On donne aux nouveaux employés un aperçu du PLO dans le cadre de leur séance d'orientation. De plus, le cours de gestion de base de TC comporte un volet sur les langues officielles destiné aux gestionnaires.

TC a mis en place un mécanisme pour aider les employés à comprendre les obligations linguistiques du Ministère et à en favoriser la mise en œuvre, à savoir le rapport d'étape sur les LO, qu'élabore chaque région, groupe ou secteur de TC. Comme il est indiqué à la section a) de la page 1 de la présente fiche d'information, ce rapport, qui fait aussi office de plan d'action en matière de LO, traite dans le détail des efforts déployés par la région pour maintenir les progrès accomplis en matière de LO et pour corriger les lacunes.

Transport Canada compte cinq régions. Au cours des dernières années, le Ministère a organisé de la formation structurée sur les LO à l'intention de ses employés dans quatre de ses régions. L'an dernier, dans la région de la capitale nationale ainsi que dans la région du Québec et dans celle des Prairies et du Nord, des séances de formation distinctes ont été offertes pour les gestionnaires et l'ensemble des employés. Dans la région du Pacifique, dans le cadre d'un projet pilote du SCT, de la formation a été donnée en 2002.

En novembre 2004, TC a réalisé une vérification interne du service téléphonique offert au public à ses 106 points de service bilingues. Les résultats de cette vérification ont été transmis au CGX.

Bien que différentes mesures soient en place, les observations du Commissariat aux langues officielles concernant le service en personne et les résultats de la vérification téléphonique du SCT en 2003 soulèvent la question de savoir s'il faut accroître le nombre, ou l'efficacité, des mécanismes de contrôle de la qualité, surtout à l'échelon local.

Fiche d'information

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail

En date du 31 mars 2004, le Système d'information sur les postes et la classification de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique indiquait que 80,9 % des EX satisfaisaient aux exigences de leur poste en matière de LO et que 76,3 % des superviseurs répondaient au profil linguistique actuel de leur poste.

La politique en vigueur relativement à la langue de travail est essentiellement celle de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada, et elle est assortie de lignes directrices propres aux initiatives ou aux conditions du Ministère. Les politiques, les lignes directrices, les rapports et les outils de travail sont affichés sur l'intranet. D'autres instruments et mesures, comme des ateliers de formation et des outils sur la tenue de réunions efficaces dans les deux LO, sont également accessibles. Toutefois, la plus importante catégorie de plaintes relatives aux LO que reçoit le Commissariat aux langues officielles concernant TC demeure liée à la langue de travail. Cela remet en cause l'efficacité et la convenance des mesures de soutien actuellement en place pour appuyer la politique en matière de langue de travail au sein du Ministère.

Fiche d'information

b) Utilisation de chaque langue au travail

En 2004-2005, des séances d'information obligatoires sur les LO ont eu lieu dans plusieurs secteurs du Ministère où le sujet est le plus problématique. L'objectif de ces séances était de sensibiliser l'organisation et de renseigner ses membres à propos des LO. D'abord offertes à la Direction générale de l'aviation civile du groupe Sécurité et Sûreté, ces séances ont ensuite été présentées à d'autres organisations, à la demande de la direction. Ces mesures font suite à plusieurs autres mesures importantes prises par les cadres supérieurs de TC pour que le Ministère soit davantage en harmonie avec la nouvelle orientation stratégique du gouvernement dans le domaine des LO.

Des avis sont publiés cinq ou six fois l'an dans TC vous informe, TC Express et Quoi de neuf du site intranet pour informer les employés de leurs rôles ainsi que de leurs droits et responsabilités en matière de LO. On donne aux nouveaux employés un aperçu du Programme des langues officielles. De même, les cours de gestion de base de TC comprennent un volet sur les langues officielles à l'intention des gestionnaires; dans d'autres cours de gestion traitant du mandat et des politiques du Ministère, on souligne que les LO constituent une priorité ministérielle.

Le sous-ministre encourage activement les membres du CGX à s'exprimer dans les deux LO pendant les réunions, où les deux langues sont utilisées. Parmi les autres mesures employées, mentionnons : des affiches et des outils de promotion dans toutes les salles de réunion; un projet pilote mené au sein du groupe de l'Aviation civile destiné à accroître l'utilisation des deux LO et à améliorer les communications bilingues entre l'administration centrale du groupe à Ottawa et ses bureaux régionaux au Québec.

Selon les résultats du Sondage de 2002 auprès des fonctionnaires fédéraux, 71,6 % des répondants francophones des régions bilingues de l'Ontario, de la région de la capitale nationale et du Nouveau-Brunswick et 69,8 % des répondants anglophones des régions bilingues du Québec étaient entièrement d'accord ou plutôt d'accord avec les dispositions relatives à la langue de travail.

Les régions et les groupes ont été consultés au sujet des conclusions de l'enquête, et les résultats des discussions ont été communiqués aux cadres supérieurs.

La championne des LO a mis en place une mesure de contrôle pour traiter les cas où des communications écrites seraient indûment envoyées aux employés dans une seule langue. Les SMA savent que, si une telle situation se produit, la championne en discutera personnellement avec eux en tant que personnes responsables du dossier pour leur secteur.

Fiche d'information

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada

27,2 % des employés de TC au Canada sont francophones.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec

6,8 % des employés de TC au Québec sont anglophones.

Fiche d'information

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

TC sait qu'il doit davantage prendre en considération les conséquences possibles sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire dans l'élaboration des mémoires au Cabinet et des présentations au Conseil du Trésor. Dans le passé, cela ne semble pas avoir été pris en compte. Le nouveau cadre de responsabilisation de gestion en matière de LO, actuellement en cours d'élaboration, appuiera de façon positive le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

TC est bien au fait de la Politique de communication et veille à ce que les médias de langue française aient une représentativité équivalente dans tout plan des médias présenté à des fins d'approbation à TPSGC.

La sensibilisation des employés aux besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire semble ne se faire qu'en veillant à ce que les concours de dotation tiennent compte des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire dans leur zone de sélection (ce qui est une pratique de plus en plus courante). Le Ministère procède de cette façon pour accroître son recrutement bilingue. Ainsi, la sensibilisation des employés aux besoins particuliers des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire se fait au moyen d'activités ministérielles de promotion des deux LO. (Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, voir la section suivante, c.-à-d. la section b).)

En bref, TC ne mène pas encore de consultations auprès des groupes de LO, n'a aucun exemple d'initiatives économiques ou sociales mises en œuvre aux termes de l'article 41 et ne fait pas partie des 29 institutions qui rendent compte de leurs activités à Patrimoine chaque année (le Ministère ne dispose donc pas d'un plan interne relatif à l'article 41).

Fiche d'information

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique

D'après Transports Canada, on tient compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique dans l'élaboration des présentations au Conseil du Trésor et des mémoires au Cabinet. Toutefois, le Ministère reconnaît que cela n'a pas vraiment été pris en compte en 2003 dans l'élaboration de l'énoncé de vision du Ministère pour la prochaine décennie (Droit devant).

Au sein de TC, la promotion du statut égal des deux LO n'est réellement qu'un sous-produit de la promotion de l'égalité accrue pour le français en tant que langue de travail, et elle ne se fait qu'au moyen d'activités ministérielles de promotion des deux LO à l'interne. Par exemple, deux fois par année, durant la Semaine de la Francophonie et durant la Semaine nationale de la fonction publique, le Ministère organise des jeux de mots croisés et attribue des prix.

Fiche d'information

NOTE GLOBALE

Fiche d'information