ARCHIVED - Canadian Tourism Commission 2004-2005

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2004-2005 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place

The Commission does not have an accountability framework setting out all the roles and responsibilities for parts IV, V and VI of the Official Languages Act (OLA). It provides Canadian Heritage with an annual report on the implementation of Part VII of the OLA and an action plan that does not however include specific objectives, deadlines or measures that take account of the needs of the official language minority communities. As well, there are no reporting mechanisms to allow it to assess the progress it has made with respect to official languages (OL). The institution does intend to develop these tools in 2005.

Fact Sheet

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization

The 2004–2008 strategic plan lays out the CTC's commitment to provide services in accordance with the OLA.

The Senior Vice President, Information, Corporate Secretary and Director of Communications share the role of OL champion. The Corporate Secretary attends meetings of the Board of Directors and of the Management Committee.

The OL Co-ordinator reports to the Communications Director, the other co-champion. The OL are not discussed by the board of directors, but are raised from time to time at the management committee.

The OL are not included in internal audits. Co-ordination for the various parts of the OLA is good, since all the parts are the responsibility of a single person.

Fact Sheet

c) Complaints

The OL Co-ordinator handles all complaints and responds on behalf of the President. He researches allegations as needed and uses the complaints as an opportunity to educate the parties responsible. Managers have little involvement in the resolution of complaints.

Fact Sheet

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff

Services are listed in Burolis but not in the Blue Pages.

While visiting service outlets in the fall of 2004, OCOL representatives noted that Burolis was not up to date, particularly with respect to service outlet 94314.

All communication with the public, whether through the Web site, the 1-800 line or correspondence, is in both OL. The CTC sometimes works with partners in the private sector or other orders of government to conduct promotional campaigns.

Fact Sheet

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery

According to observations of in-person service made by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages in the fall of 2004, there was active visual offer in all cases; active offer by staff was made in all cases, while service in the language of the minority was adequate in all cases.

The telephone service audit conducted by the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency showed that staff made an active offer of service 100% of the time, and that bilingual service was available 100% of the time. Because of the small sample size, it was not possible to establish the rate of active offer in voice mail greetings.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services

The CTC's main clientele is composed of businesses and other stakeholders involved in tourism; the CTC does not deal directly with consumers (potential travelers). Partnership agreements do not include a clause requiring that services be delivered in both OL.

However, the CTC does include a language clause in its advertising contracts in order to encourage its partners to use the minority language press. There are no checks to determine whether its partners observe this encouragement.

Fact Sheet

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring

There is no formal mechanism to check the quality of bilingual services, although staff are periodically informed of the requirement to provide services in both OL.

Fact Sheet

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy

According to the most recent OL report dated December 31, 2003, 76.0% of supervisors with bilingualism requirements are bilingual.

When the CTC was created in 2001, it developed a basic OL policy that touched very briefly on the need to provide a workplace that is conducive to the effective use of both official languages. The policy is included in the kit given to new employees. There are support measures such as translation, a monthly newsletter that will occasionally raise this issue, linguistic games, etc.

Fact Sheet

b) Use of each language in the workplace

Managers have not been reminded of their obligations with respect to language of work. Employees were reminded in an internal newsletter in which the President and CEO highlighted the CTC's commitment to comply with the OLA and encouraged employees to exercise their right to work in the language of their choice.

Management committee meetings are held mainly in English, although presentations are sometimes made in French. Meetings of the Board of Directors are held mainly in English, but simultaneous interpretation is always available.

Fact Sheet

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada

According to the most recent data (December 31, 2003) extracted from the OL report, the overall staff of the CTC in Canada, most of whom are in the NCR, is made up 53.4% of Francophones.

Fact Sheet

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec

There are no offices in Quebec.

N/A

Development of minority language communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada
a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities

Since 2002, the CTC has been providing Canadian Heritage with reports on the implementation of Part VII of the OLA and an action plan for 2001–2006. However, the action plan does not contain objectives with deadlines or clear measures that take account of particular needs of the official language minority communities.

The OL co-ordinator attends meetings of the network of coordinators responsible for the implementation of section 41, and CTC officials would be in contact with tourism industry partners, including representatives from the official language minority communities.

The President and CEO organized a series of round tables on tourism in order to meet with various stakeholders in the tourism industry and find out about their concerns. However, no specific steps were taken by the CTC to include representatives from official language minority communities, although it is possible that some attended these meetings.

The institution confirms that corporate advertising is always done in both official languages. Advertising done with partners is not always done in both official languages, since this kind of advertising is chosen by the partner according to the target audience. However, the CTC always encourages its partners to place advertising in the media of both languages. The CTC is planning to develop a communications policy, which will include the issues of official languages and responsibilities towards the official language minority communities.

An electronic newsletter is now sent each month to employees and this subject will be addressed from time to time.

The CTC supports partnership projects from minority communities as long as these initiatives meet the criteria of the programs involved. However, there are no specific measures to target these communities or support their development.

Fact Sheet

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality

The CTC is one of the institutions required to submit a plan and annual reports to Canadian Heritage with respect to the implementation of section 41 of the OLA. However, these documents hardly mention promoting Canada's linguistic duality.

The institution supported the hosting of the IV Games of La Francophonie and handed out the "Event of the Year" Montfort Award to the Festival international de la chanson de Granby to mark its contribution to the next generation of Francophone songwriters. No examples of internal activities involving the promotion of linguistic duality were provided.

Fact Sheet

OVERALL RATING

Fact Sheet

ARCHIVÉE - Commission canadienne du tourisme 2004-2005

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2004-2005

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place

La Commission n'a pas de cadre de responsabilisation décrivant l'ensemble des rôles et responsabilités pour les parties IV, V et VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO). Elle présente à Patrimoine canadien un rapport annuel sur la mise en œuvre de la partie VII de la LLO ainsi qu'un plan d'action qui ne comporte toutefois pas d'objectifs précis, d'échéances ou de mesures qui tiennent compte des besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Il n'y a pas non plus de mécanisme de reddition de comptes lui permettant d'évaluer ses progrès en matière de langues officielles (LO). L'institution vise toutefois à se doter de ces éléments au cours de l'année 2005.

Fiche d'information

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation

Le plan stratégique 2004 à 2008 mentionne l'engagement de la CCT à livrer des services conformément à la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO).

La vice-présidente principale à l'information et secrétaire générale ainsi que la directrice des Communications se partagent la fonction de championne des langues officielles (LO). La secrétaire générale participe aux réunions du conseil d'administration et du comité de gestion.

Le coordonnateur des LO se rapporte à la directrice des Communications, l'autre co-championne. Les LO ne sont pas abordées au Conseil d'administration et le sont de temps à autre au Comité de gestion.

Les LO ne sont pas intégrées à la vérification interne. La coordination pour les diverses parties de la LLO est bonne puisque toutes les parties relèvent de la même personne.

Fiche d'information

c) Les plaintes

Le coordonnateur des LO traite les plaintes et répond pour le compte de la Présidente. Il effectue les recherches nécessaires concernant les allégations et profite de la plainte pour faire de l'éducation auprès des parties responsables. Les gestionnaires sont peu impliqués dans la résolution des cas.

Fiche d'information

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat

Les services sont annoncés dans Burolis mais ne le sont pas dans les pages bleues.

Dans le cadre des visites effectuées à l'automne 2004, les représentants du CLO ont constaté que Burolis n'était pas à jour, notamment, en ce qui concerne le point de service 94314.

Les communications à l'intention du public, que ce soit par l'entremise du site Web, de la ligne 1 800 et de la correspondance, sont assurées dans les deux LO. La CCT s'associe parfois à des partenaires du secteur privé ou d'autres paliers de gouvernement pour mener des campagnes de promotion.

Fiche d'information

b) Observations sur l'offre active et prestation de services

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles à l'automne 2004, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans tous les cas, l'offre active par les préposés était également faite dans tous les cas tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité était aussi toujours adéquat.

La vérification des services téléphoniques effectuée par l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la Fonction publique a révélé que l'offre active était faite par les préposés dans 100 % des cas et que le service bilingue était disponible 100 % du temps. L'échantillon réduit n'a pas permis de déterminer de façon concluante l'offre active dans les messages d'accueil enregistrés.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues

La clientèle première de la CCT est constituée des entreprises et autres intervenants œuvrant dans le domaine du tourisme; la CCT ne traite pas directement avec les consommateurs (voyageurs potentiels). Les ententes de partenariat ne contiennent pas de clause prévoyant la prestation des services dans les deux LO.

Toutefois, la Commission inclut dans ses contrats qui touchent les annonces publicitaires, une clause qui encourage ses partenaires à avoir recours aux organes d'information qui desservent les communautés de LO en situation minoritaire. Elle ne vérifie cependant pas si ses partenaires tiennent compte de cet encouragement.

Fiche d'information

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues

Il n'y a pas de mécanisme structuré servant à contrôler la qualité des services bilingues. Le personnel est périodiquement informé de la nécessité d'offrir des services bilingues.

Fiche d'information

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail

Selon les données du plus récent bilan sur les LO en date du 31 décembre 2003, 76,0 % des surveillants ayant des exigences de bilinguisme sont bilingues.

La CCT a élaboré, lors de sa création en 2001, une politique de langues officielles sommaire qui traite très brièvement de la nécessité d'assurer un milieu de travail propice à l'usage effectif des deux langues officielles. Cette politique fait partie de la trousse remise aux nouveaux employés. Il y a des mesures d'appui telles la traduction, la publication d'un bulletin mensuel qui traite occasionnellement de ce sujet, des jeux linguistiques, etc.

Fiche d'information

b) Utilisation de chaque langue au travail

Il n'y a pas eu de rappels aux gestionnaires quant à leurs obligations en matière de langue de travail. Il y a eu un rappel aux employés lorsque, dans un bulletin interne, la PDG a souligné l'engagement de la CCT à respecter la LLO et les a invités à exercer leur droit de travailler dans la langue de leur choix.

Les réunions du comité de gestion se déroulent surtout en anglais mais des présentations ont parfois lieu en français.Les réunions du conseil d'administration se déroulent surtout en anglais, mais il y a toujours un service d'interprétation simultanée.

Fiche d'information

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada

Selon les données les plus récentes (31 décembre 2003) extraites du bilan des LO, l'effectif de la CCT au Canada, dont la majorité se retrouve dans la RCN, est composé de 53,4 % de francophones.

Fiche d'information

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec

Il n'y a pas de bureau au Québec.

S/O

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

Depuis 2002, la CCT a présenté à Patrimoine canadien des rapports sur la mise en œuvre de la partie VII de la LLO et un plan d'action pour la période 2001-2006. Le plan d'action ne comporte toutefois pas d'objectifs assortis d'échéances ni de mesures claires qui tiennent compte des besoins particuliers des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

Le coordonnateur des LO participe aux rencontres du réseau des coordonnateurs responsables de l'application de l'article 41 et des représentants de la CCT seraient en contact avec les partenaires du secteur touristique, ce qui inclurait ceux des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

La PDG a organisé une série de tables rondes sur le tourisme pour rencontrer les divers intervenants de l'industrie touristique et connaître leurs préoccupations. Aucune démarche spécifique n'a cependant été prise par la CCT pour assurer la présence des représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire quoiqu'il est possible que certains d'entre eux aient pu participer à ces rencontres.

L'institution confirme que les publicités institutionnelles se font toujours dans les deux LO. Celles qui sont faites conjointement avec les partenaires ne le sont pas toujours puisque ce sont ces derniers qui choisissent en fonction des cibles visées. La CCT incite toutefois ses partenaires à placer ses annonces dans les médias des deux groupes linguistiques. La CCT prévoit élaborer une politique des communications qui abordera les responsabilités en matière de LO et celles à l'égard des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

Un bulletin électronique mensuel est maintenant acheminé au personnel et ce sujet y sera abordé de temps à autre.

La CCT appuie des projets de partenariat émanant des communautés minoritaires dans la mesure où ces initiatives satisfont aux critères des programmes. Elle ne prend toutefois aucune mesure particulière pour les cibler et pour appuyer leur développement.

Fiche d'information

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique

La CCT est l'une des institutions tenue de présenter un plan et des rapports annuels à Patrimoine canadien concernant la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO. Cependant, ces documents abordent peu la promotion de la dualité linguistique au Canada.

L’institution a appuyé la tenue des IVes Jeux de la Francophonie et a attribué le Prix Montfort « Événement de l’année » au Festival international de la chanson de Granby pour souligner la contribution à la relève de la chanson francophone. Aucun exemple d’activités touchant la promotion de la dualité linguistique à l’interne n’a été fourni.

Fiche d'information

NOTE GLOBALE

Fiche d'information