ARCHIVED - 4.5 National sport centres

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 10 of 14

STUDY

  • There are six national sport centres (now called Canadian sport centres) in Atlantic Canada, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Calgary and Vancouver.
  • They provide centralized professional and personal support services to high performance athletes and coaches.
  • Their objective is to produce athletes capable of winning Olympic medals, while ensuring that the athletes develop skills and experience to adapt to life after their sport careers.
  • The medical services and orientation services provided for athletes were lacking in French.

Recommendation 16
Sport Canada ensure that all national sport centres provide essential medical services in both official languages by April 1, 2001, and organize appropriate orientation services for French-speaking athletes who are moving to a predominately English-speaking environment for the first time.

FOLLOW-UP

As indicated earlier, Sport Canada published in June 2002 Official Languages Standards Regarding High Performance Training Centres (HPTC). Several are operated by NSOs, either independently or in collaboration with NSCs. These training centres provide a more intense and focussed training environment for top athletes and coaches.

Sport Canada believes that the standards go beyond the recommendation for NSCs in that they also apply to all HPTCs who must ensure bilingual services for coaching, technical materials and administrative services. HPTCs work in conjunction with NSCs to provide services in both official languages. NSOs responsible for both new and existing centres must ensure that at least one member of the HPTC coaching staff is fluent in both official languages and that athletes can receive services in their preferred official language. These include services of a confidential nature (physicians, sport psychologists, for example), administration services and information regarding local support groups. National sport centres must maintain the same criteria although the timetable for implementation of these standards varies: April 2005 for existing centres and immediately upon finalization of standards for new centres.

We examined the same three NSCs as during our study: Calgary, Winnipeg and Montreal.

4.5.1 National Sport Centre in Calgary Sport Centre

The National Sport Centre in Calgary receives $600,000 (about 1/3 of its total budget) from Sport Canada to run its programs. The provision of medical and professional services to athletes in both official languages is still a problem: from medical doctors, physiotherapists, massage therapists to sport psychologists, very few are bilingual. However, the physiotherapist for the women’s national hockey team is bilingual and when the alpine ski team competes in Europe, there are usually one or two bilingual physiotherapists travelling with the team.

We were told that part of the reason for the slow or lack of progress in professional medical services in French is that almost all resources are contracted by the NSC in Calgary. Services from sport psychologists (or other medical and professional service providers contracted by the NSC) are paid for by the centre. If an athlete needs to go outside the centre for bilingual services, there are additional fees. And if the service provider did speak French, he would not necessarily be competent to deal with the specific issue concerning the athlete. Comments were also made regarding the need to have sport psychologists who not only speak the language but understand the athlete’s culture, an element of great importance when trying to make athletes overcome mental blocks and problems that can hinder their top performance.

Transition into an anglophone milieu for Francophone athletes, especially young athletes from small communities, remains an important issue. When asked what improvements could be made, athletes spoke about everything from orientation at the intake stage, living arrangements with Francophone families, schooling, to the way messages are translated on the CSC’s Internet site (doping regulations, for example).

Although sessions are held in English, documentation for three compulsory workshops on harassment, drugs and supplements, and career transition, is available in both languages. We were told that athletes may ask questions in French. Since these sessions are compulsory and the information given is considered high priority, they should be made available in French as well as in English. The athlete registration form and some brochures in the information package to athletes are available in both languages, although the athlete services handbook isn’t. As was the case during our study, there is a bilingual employee resource centre which is able to provide services in French.

Although there is some progress in the provision of bilingual services, it is slow. The sport centre in Calgary should be more proactive in promoting and communicating its services in both official languages. Perhaps the most telling statement came from an athlete: “the Centre is not an Alberta Sport Centre, but a Canadian sport centre and as such, should be able to provide bilingual services to athletes and coaches.” The centre needs to have mechanisms in place for delivery of services in French by alternate means if need be.

During our debriefing session at the Centre, the following suggestions were made:

  • involve athletes more in the development of an administrative structure to improve services in French.
  • ensure the availability of front line people who are fluently bilingual at ‘intake’ and orientation so that athletes are able to communicate in their preferred language.
  • adopt a mind set of helping Francophone athletes deal with the language barrier.
4.5.2 National Sport Centre in Winnipeg

At the time of our initial study, neither Volleyball Canada nor the Winnipeg sport centre (where both men’s and women’s national teams are based) had taken steps to make medical services and psychological counselling available in French. Our follow-up revealed that physiotherapy, medical services, massage therapy and sport psychology, notably for the men’s team, are still provided in English. However, the physiotherapist and athletic therapist for the women’s national team are bilingual. The physiotherapist assigned to the beach volleyball team is also bilingual.

From the intake stage, the performance service manager is involved in the coordination of medical and sport science services such as athletic therapy, physical therapy, biomechanics. At that stage, the manager should be more conscious of the necessity to provide Francophone athletes with services in their language. Service providers are first and foremost identified by qualifications and geographic location, language being a secondary criterion. Interviews revealed that orientation services and sport psychology were two of the areas that needed improvement. Some athletes stated that the only time they received medical services in French was at International or World Cup events. Staff in Winnipeg indicated that requests for medical services in French would be referred to the St-Boniface General Hospital.

Some administrative services in both languages are still lacking. No individual intakes are done in French with new athletes, but for team intakes, it can be done in both languages. if need be. The three compulsory workshops offered by the centre, “Drugs and Supplements”, “Transition” and “Out of Bounds” (on harassment) are available only in English, because there are few Francophone athletes. Given the importance of the subject matter in some workshops, it would be appropriate to have them available in both languages. A part of the “static” information on the website is available in English and French, but the “interactive” side is essentially in English. The cost of translating the material is an issue and the Centre most often relies on volunteers. The athlete intake form is posted in both languages on the site.

Athletes sit on the Board of Directors and usually meet with staff to determine what their needs may be, and the Centre does try to incorporate their input within the services it provides. These meetings could be the right forum to discuss athletes’ needs and concerns on official languages matters.

The General Manager of the Winnipeg sport centre, who has occupied the position for a short period of time, recognizes that the Centre could be more proactive to ensure provision of services in French to Francophone athletes.

In our debriefing we made the following suggestions:

  • take a proactive approach to the provision of services and look at viable alternatives.
  • explore options that would help in the transition of Francophone athletes and,
  • re-examine what areas of orientation and professional services need to be improved upon.

Having examined the situation at the time of our study and during the follow-up, we conclude that Sport Canada and national sport centres must make more concerted efforts to ensure adequate provision of bilingual services. Leadership and commitment are key in this respect.

Status of recommendation 16: partly implemented.

Progress report: April 1, 2004

4.5.3 National Multi-Sport Centre - Montreal

The National Multi-Sport Centre - Montreal was unaffected by Recommendation 16, since the centre’s service providers offer professional and medical services in both official languages. The centre continues to provide such services, which include medicine, sports psychology, physiotherapy and massage therapy. About twenty percent of carded athletes training in Montreal are Anglophones.

Administrative and orientation services, materials for athletes and most information posted on its Web site are available in both languages. The language used in mandatory workshops on harassment, the use of drugs and supplements and on athlete careers and transition depends on the audience. During meetings held twice a year, coordinators from the national sports centres that are responsible for athlete services can pool the information they have on hand (policies and documents) in both official languages, although this is not done on a systematic basis.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - 4.5 Les centres nationaux du sport

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 10 de 14

ÉTUDE

  • Il existe six centres nationaux du sport (appelés désormais centres canadiens du sport) au Canada atlantique, à Montréal, à Toronto, à Winnipeg, Calgary et Vancouver.
  • Ils offrent des services centralisés de soutien professionnel et personnel aux athlètes et aux entraîneurs de haut niveau.
  • L’objectif est d’entraîner des athlètes qui seront susceptibles de remporter des médailles olympiques, tout en veillant à ce qu’ils acquièrent les compétences et l’expérience qui seront nécessaires lorsque leur carrière de sportif aura pris fin.
  • On avait constaté l’absence de services médicaux et de services d’orientation en français offerts aux athlètes.

Recommandation 16
Sport Canada prenne les moyens pour que tous les centres nationaux du sport offrent les services médicaux essentiels dans les deux langues officielles d’ici le 1er avril 2001, et organisent des services d’orientation opportuns pour les athlètes francophones qui déménagent pour la première fois dans un milieu à dominante anglophone.

SUIVI

Tel que déjà mentionné, Sport Canada a publié en juin 2002, les Normes relatives aux langues officielles applicables aux centres d’entraînement de haut niveau (CEHN). Plusieurs d’entre eux sont exploités par des ONS, de façon autonome, ou en collaboration avec des CNS. Ces centres d’entraînement proposent aux entraîneurs et aux athlètes de haut niveau une formation et un environnment plus propice à l’entraînement intense et ciblé.

Sport Canada estime que les normes ont une portée qui va au-delà de la recommandation à l’égard des CNS, en ce sens qu’elles s’appliquent aussi à tous les CEHN qui doivent offrir des services bilingues en ce qui a trait à l’entraînement, au matériel technique et aux services administratifs. Les CEHN travaillent conjointement avec les ONS pour offrir des services dans les deux langues officielles. Les ONS qui sont responsables des nouveaux centres et de ceux qui existent déjà, doivent voir à ce qu’au moins un membre de l’effectif des entraîneurs soit à l’aise dans les deux langues officielles et que les athlètes reçoivent les services dans la langue officielle de leur choix, notamment les services de nature confidentielle (p. ex. médecins, psychologues sportifs), les services administratifs et l’information concernant les groupes de soutien locaux. Les centres nationaux du sport doivent conserver les mêmes critères que pour les CEHN, mais le délai d’application des normes peut varier : en avril 2005 dans les centres existants, et dès qu’elles seront établies dans les nouveaux centres.

Nous avons examiné les trois CNS qui ont fait l’objet de notre étude : Calgary, Winnipeg et Montréal.

4.5.1 Le centre national du sport de Calgary

Le centre national du sport de Calgary (CNSC) reçoit 600 000 $ (ce qui représente près du tiers de son budget global) de Sport Canada pour poursuivre ses programmes. La prestation de services médicaux et de soutien professionnel aux athlètes dans les deux langues officielles demeure difficile : les médecins, les physiothérapeutes, les massothérapeutes et les psychologues sportifs sont rarement bilingues. Cependant, le physiothérapeute de l’équipe nationale féminine de hockey est bilingue et, habituellement, l’équipe de ski alpin est accompagnée par un ou deux physiothérapeutes bilingues lorsqu’elle participe à des compétitions en Europe.

Nous avons appris que la prestation en français des services médicaux et de soutien professionnel progresse peu ou pas du tout, en partie, parce que presque toutes les ressources sont embauchées à contrat par le CNS de Calgary. Les services offerts par les psychologues sportifs (ou par d’autres fournisseurs de services professionnels ou médicaux embauchés à contrat par le CNS) sont payés par le centre. Si un sportif est contraint de se rendre à l’extérieur du centre pour obtenir des services bilingues, des frais supplémentaires sont engagés. De plus, même si le fournisseur du service à l’extérieur de centre parle français, il n’est pas nécessairement compétent pour traiter le problème précis de l’athlète. Des commentaires ont été recueillis sur l’importance d’avoir des psychologues sportifs qui non seulement parlent la langue, mais qui comprennent aussi la culture de l’athlète; ce facteur est d’une importance capitale lorsqu’il faut aider l’athlète à surmonter un blocage ou un problème psychologique qui peut l’empêcher de réaliser une performance exceptionnelle.

La transition des athlètes francophones en milieu anglophone, en particulier les jeunes athlètes qui ont grandi dans de petites communautés, demeure un enjeu de taille. Lorsqu’on leur a demandé ce qui pouvait être amélioré, les athlètes ont parlé de tout : de l’orientation au moment de l’accueil, jusqu’aux conditions de logement dans des familles francophones, aux études et à la façon dont les messages sont traduits sur le site Internet du Centre (à titre d’exemple, les règlements sur le dopage).

Bien que les séances soient présentées en anglais, la documentation relative aux trois ateliers obligatoires sur le harcèlement, les drogues, les suppléments et la réorientation professionnelle est disponible dans les deux langues. On nous a indiqué que les athlètes peuvent poser des questions en français. Puisque ces séances sont obligatoires et que l’information donnée est considérée comme prioritaire, celles-ci devraient être offertes en français et en anglais. Le formulaire d’inscription et certains dépliants de la trousse d’information de l’athlète sont disponibles dans les deux langues, mais le guide des services offerts aux athlètes ne l’est pas. Comme c’était le cas lors de l’étude, un employé bilingue du centre de ressources est en mesure d’offrir des services en français.

On observe une tendance à offrir des services bilingues, mais les progrès sont lents. Le centre du sport de Calgary devrait promouvoir et communiquer ses services dans les deux langues officielles d’une manière plus proactive. La déclaration suivante d’un athlète est peut-être celle qui explique le mieux la situation : « ce centre n’est pas le centre du sport de l’Alberta, mais bien un centre canadien du sport et, à ce titre, il devrait être en mesure d’offrir des services bilingues aux athlètes et aux entraîneurs. » (Notre traduction). Le centre doit mettre en place des mécanismes qui permettront d’offrir des services en français, à l’aide de d’autres moyens au besoin.

Lors de la séance de débreffage qui a eu lieu au centre, nous avons formulé les suggestions suivantes :

  • faire participer davantage les athlètes à l’élaboration d’une structure administrative pour améliorer les services en français;
  • s’assurer de la présence d’employés bilingues en première ligne bilingues lors de « l’admission » et à l’orientation pour que les athlètes soient capables de communiquer dans la langue de leur choix;
  • adopter une attitude de soutien des athlètes francophones, pour les aider à surmonter la barrière linguistique.
4.5.2 Le centre

Au moment de notre étude initiale, ni Volleyball Canada, (où résident les équipes nationales masculine et féminine) ni le centre du sport de Winnipeg, n’avaient pris des mesures pour s’assurer que les services médicaux et la consultation psychologique puissent être accessibles en français. Le suivi confirme que la physiothérapie, les services médicaux, la massothérapie et la psychologie du sport, notamment pour l’équipe masculine, sont encore fournis en anglais. Toutefois, le physiothérapeute et le thérapeute sportif de l’équipe nationale fémine sont bilingues. Le physiothérapeute affecté à l’équipe de volley-ball de plage est également bilingue.

Dès l’admission de l’athlète au centre, le gestionnaire des services de la performance prend part à la coordination des services médicaux et des sciences du sport tels que la thérapie sportive, la physiothérapie et la biomécanique. À cette étape, le gestionnaire devrait être plus conscient de l’obligation d’offrir aux athlètes francophones des services dans leur langue. Les fournisseurs de service sont, d’abord et avant tout, retenus selon leurs compétences et l’emplacement géographique; la langue n’est qu’un critère secondaire. Les entrevues ont révélé que les services d’orientation et la psychologie du sport sont deux secteurs à améliorer. Certains athlètes ont dit ne recevoir des services médicaux en français qu’au cours d’événements d’envergure internationale ou pendant les Coupes du monde. Le personnel du centre de Winnipeg a indiqué que les personnes qui demandent des services médicaux en français seraient référées à l’Hôpital général de Saint-Boniface.

Certaines lacunes persistent au niveau des services administratifs dans les deux langues officielles. Aucun nouvel athlète n’est admis en français sur une base individuelle, mais lorsqu’il s’agit d’une équipe, l’admission peut se faire dans les deux langues. Les trois ateliers obligatoires, portant sur l’usage des drogues et des suppléments, le harcèlement, ainsi que sur la carrière et la transition des athlètes, sont présentés en anglais seulement, en raison du petit nombre d’athlètes francophones. Vu l’importance des sujets traités, il conviendrait d’offrir certains ateliers dans les deux langues. Une partie de l’information « statique » est affichée en anglais et en français sur le site Web, mais l’information « interactive » est essentiellement en anglais. Les coûts de traduction du matériel sont en cause et, la plupart du temps, le centre fait appel à des bénévoles. Par ailleurs, le formulaire d’admission de l’athlète est affiché dans les deux langues.

Les athlètes qui font partie du conseil d’administration ont l’habitude de rencontrer le personnel pour déterminer leurs besoins, et le centre tient compte de ces commentaires lorsqu’il offre des services. Ces rencontres pourraient être l’occasion de discuter des besoins et des inquiétudes des athlètes en ce qui a trait aux questions de langues officielles.

Le directeur général du centre du sport de Winnipeg est en poste depuis peu, mais il reconnaît que le centre pourrait faire plus pour communiquer en français avec les athlètes francophones.

Notre compte rendu contenait les suggestions suivantes :

  • adopter une approche proactive à l’égard de la prestation de services et chercher d’autres solutions pratiques;
  • étudier des options pour venir en aide aux athlètes francophones en période de transition;
  • examiner de nouveau les secteurs des services d’orientation et de soutien professionnel qui doivent être améliorés.

L’étude et le suivi ont été l’occasion de nous pencher sur la situation, et nous en sommes venus à la conclusion que Sport Canada et les centres nationaux du sport doivent déployer des efforts concertés pour offrir des services bilingues adéquats. Le leadership et l’engagement sont essentiels à cet égard.

Statut de la recommandation 16 : partiellement mise en œuvre.

Rapport d’étape : 1er avril 2004

4.5.3 Le Centre national multisport - Montréal

Le Centre national multisport - Montréal n’était pas touché par la recommandation 16 puisque les fournisseurs de services du Centre offraient des services professionnels et médicaux dans les deux langues officielles. Aujourd’hui, le centre est toujours en mesure de fournir ces services, incluant la médecine, la psychologie du sport, la physiothérapie et la massothérapie. Environ le cinquième des athlètes brevetés s’entraînant à Montréal sont anglophones.

Les services administratifs, dont les services d’orientation, le matériel destiné aux athlètes ainsi que la plupart des renseignements affichés sur le site Web sont disponibles dans les deux langues. La langue des ateliers obligatoires, portant sur le harcèlement, l’usage de drogues et de suppléments, ainsi que sur la carrière et la transition des athlètes, dépend de l'auditoire. Dans le cadre de rencontres qu’ils tiennent deux fois l’an, les coordonnateurs des centres nationaux de sport responsables des services aux athlètes peuvent partager l’information dont ils disposent (politiques, documents) dans l’une et l’autre langue officielle bien que ce ne soit pas fait systématiquement.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page