ARCHIVED - Chapter 2 – Conclusion

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 15 of 26

This chapter has traced the steps that immigrants take as they integrate into their new Canadian home. But as much as a home is never a finished product but always a work in progress, the arrival of newcomers inevitably changes what Canada means to old and new Canadians. Canada's new Francophone spaces will not be the same as the French-Canadian communities of yesteryear. The French language increasingly becomes a bridge that allows new and established Francophones to build new communities. These new communities will be composed of Francophones with many different identities; they will be heterogeneous groups with a common linguistic thread. As these changes take place neither should established communities disappear nor newcomers need to sacrifice cultural aspects connected to their own Francophone worlds. Both can co-exist and complement each other to bring about new ways of leading one's life in one of Canada's official languages. Yet it is only with such a common linguistic umbrella in place that Francophone newcomers and their children will be able to reach the final yet crucial stage of immigration and be in a position to contribute to the common project of a shared francophonie.

Centre des jeunes francophones de Toronto

Testimony

Located in the heart of Toronto at the corner of Yonge and College, the Centre des jeunes francophones de Toronto (formerly known as the Groupe jeunesse francophone de Toronto and the Regroupement des jeunes filles francophones de Toronto) occupies a couple of second-floor offices. Most of the young people targeted by the Centre's activities come from Francophone visible-minority immigrant families. Creating economic opportunities and promoting social integration are the main issues focused on by the Centre. There are no membership fees and the Centre receives funding from all levels of government and private foundations. As much as possible, the young people are called upon to contribute their skills back to the organization. The extent of the talent pool represented by those young volunteers is evident in the professionally designed leaflets and website. The Centre can be reached at http://www.mounas.com/External site (in French only). The Centre's director, Léonie Tchatat, highlights two programs she is particularly proud of. La Clé du succès: Programme d'excellence pour les jeunes Francophones des minorités raciales et ethnoculturelles is an extracurricular program that was started in January 2001 as a pilot project. It targets mostly black Francophone high school students at three Francophone public schools in Toronto. Successful black Francophone professionals are invited to speak at Francophone high schools where they become both mentors and role models for students. In their presentations, they explain to students what it takes to become successful. Léonie is convinced that the motivational boost has been immeasurable. Among the first group of 71 students, their teachers noted a marked increase in self-confidence. Most of them come from disadvantaged family backgrounds. The program has instilled positive attitudes towards studying and made them more interested in undertaking volunteer work. The mentors continue to act as personal resources in the students' career planning.

The second program targets young women who are beyond high school age and would like to work in the customer service industry. Pas à pas ­ La clé de votre réussite is an integrated work-study program that started in the fall of 2001. Participants will spend 35 hours in the classroom and 45 hours working as cashiers and other service personnel in retail shops with whom the Centre has established partnerships. Training covers basic customer service techniques, business English, simple calculations, basic computing skills and the drawing up of a résumé.

From 1999 until October 2002, the Centre (and its predecessors) more than doubled the annual number of young people reached through its activities from 3,000 to nearly 6,000.

Previous page

Table of contents

Next page

ARCHIVÉE - Chapitre 2 – Conclusion

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 15 de 26

Dans le présent chapitre, nous avons décrit les étapes que franchissent les immigrants pour s’intégrer à leur nouveau pays de résidence. Toutefois, à l’image d’une maison qui n’est jamais vraiment terminée, l’arrivée d’immigrants modifie sans cesse la perception qu’ont du Canada les Canadiens de souche et les néo-Canadiens. Les nouveaux espaces qu’occuperont les francophones au Canada ne seront pas les mêmes que ceux qu’ont occupés jadis les communautés de Canadiens-français. De plus en plus, la langue commune constitue le lien qui permet aux nouveaux arrivants francophones et aux francophones de souche de créer de nouvelles communautés. Ces communautés seront composées de francophones aux profils très différents; elles seront des groupes hétérogènes dont les membres auront la langue en commun. À mesure que ces changements surviendront, il ne faudra pas que les communautés établies disparaissent ou que les nouveaux arrivants sacrifient les aspects rattachés à leur propre bagage culturel francophone. Les deux peuvent coexister et se compléter, de façon à permettre à tous de trouver de nouvelles façons de vivre dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles du Canada. C’est toutefois grâce à cette langue comme dénominateur commun que les nouveaux arrivants francophones et leurs enfants pourront atteindre l’étape finale et ô combien cruciale de leur processus d’immigration, et être en mesure de contribuer eux aussi à la création d’un espace francophone partagé.

Centre des jeunes francophones de Toronto

Le Centre des jeunes francophones de Toronto (anciennement le Groupe jeunesse francophone de Toronto et le Regroupement des jeunes filles francophones de Toronto) occupe deux bureaux au deuxième étage d’un édifice du centre-ville, au coin des rues Yonge et College. La plupart des jeunes visés par les activités du Centre sont les enfants d’immigrants francophones membres d’une minorité visible. L’organisation cherche avant tout à créer des ouvertures économiques et à promouvoir l’intégration sociale. Il n’y a pas de frais d’adhésion, et le Centre reçoit un financement de tous les ordres de gouvernement ainsi que de fondations privées. Dans la mesure du possible, on demande aux jeunes de faire profiter l’organisation de leurs compétences. Les dépliants d’allure professionnelle reflètent parfaitement tout le talent de ces jeunes bénévoles. La directrice du Centre, Léonie Tchatat, est particulièrement fière de deux programmes. La Clé du succès : Programme d’excellence pour les jeunes francophones des minorités raciales et ethnoculturelles est un programme extrascolaire lancé en janvier 2001 comme un projet pilote. Il vise principalement les étudiants noirs francophones de trois écoles secondaires publiques de Toronto. Des professionnels noirs qui ont réussi sont invités à s’exprimer devant ces étudiants, pour lesquels ils deviennent à la fois des mentors et des modèles. Lors de leurs présentations, ils expliquent ce qu’il faut faire pour réussir. Léonie Tchatat est convaincue que ces interventions ont été une source de motivation extraordinaire. Au sein du premier groupe de 71 étudiants et étudiantes, les enseignants ont observé un regain marqué de confiance en soi. La plupart de ces étudiants sont issus de familles défavorisées. Ce programme les a incités à voir leurs études sous un jour plus positif et à s’intéresser davantage au bénévolat. Les mentors les ont par la suite aidés à planifier leur carrière.

Le deuxième programme vise les jeunes femmes qui ont dépassé l’âge des étudiants de niveau secondaire et souhaitent travailler dans le secteur du service à la clientèle. Pas à pas - La clé de votre réussite est un programme d’alternance travail-études qui a été créé à l’automne de 2001. Les participantes passent 35 heures en classe et 45 heures en milieu de travail à titre de caissières ou autres employés du service à la clientèle dans des magasins de détail avec lesquels le Centre a conclu un partenariat. La formation porte sur les techniques de base du service à la clientèle, l’apprentissage de l’anglais des affaires, les calculs simples, l’acquisition de compétences de base en informatique et la rédaction d’un curriculum vitæ.

Entre 1999 et octobre 2002, le Centre (et ses prédécesseurs) a doublé le nombre de jeunes rejoints grâce à ses activités (leur nombre est passé de 3 000 à près de 6 000).