ARCHIVED - Chapter 2 – The Settlement Phase: Credentials and Canadian Experience

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 12 of 26

The settlement phase is a trying time for any immigrant. Settlement means looking for accommodation and completing essential administrative tasks such as obtaining a health card. For an immigrant family, it also means finding a school for the children and ensuring that everyone in the family weathers the experience of being uprooted and having to fit into entirely new social networks as smoothly as possible. For most immigrants this is a time when the financial clock begins ticking away.

Many bring a reasonable amount of money to survive for a limited period of time but the uncertainty over how long this period is going to last can be very difficult to cope with. At this point the community should play a role similar to that of a family physician and ensure that the immigrant's and his or her family's basic needs are being met. This includes help with housing, schooling for children, health services, and employment. For services that the community cannot offer itself, it should ensure that the family sees the "specialists," i.e. services only offered in the majority community. Immigrants need to be told, for example, where to go for majority language training. If such training can be provided within the framework of the minority community, it will provide an immigrant with additional confidence because he or she will be able to learn within a linguistically familiar environment. If, on the other hand, there are only majority language institutions offering language classes, the minority community can still play the vital role of ensuring that such training responds to the immigrant's needs.

 
One of the great tragedies of Canada's immigration policy is that we invite thousands of highly skilled professionals and trades people to immigrate from other countries and then we forbid them from practising their skills in Canada.

(COSTI, Toronto-based education and social service agency, 1998

Making Newcomers Stay: Moncton's MAGMA

Testimony

 "We have been able to keep more immigrants here this year compared with past years but the majority of our clients still move away." The director of Moncton's main settlement service organization MAGMA (Multicultural Association of the Greater Moncton Area, Inc.) is glad to see the tide turning at least somewhat. She has seen many Francophone immigrants and refugees pass through her organization's doors. Unfortunately, many end up leaving the province, after sojourning in New Brunswick for a few months only.

"The biggest concern for all the staff is the large number of secondary migration. Last year only 2 families out of 11 families destined to Moncton remained in our community." (MAGMA 2001a)

New Brunswick needs Francophone immigrants but this province with almost a quarter of a million French speakers has the lowest percentage of Francophone immigrants in the country. In their search for greener pastures, many Francophone newcomers give in to the lure of moving to Quebec, forgoing many personalized services that a small organization like MAGMA can offer. MAGMA has, for example, set up a small daycare centre with a full-time childcare worker since many newcomer families have small children. As a result, both parents can come for English classes or employment orientation, while their children are being looked after just across the hallway. This type of integrated service offering is much more difficult to find in large urban areas where service providers are struggling with high rents and large numbers of newcomers. What is more, in smaller cities that are less familiar with immigration, the resident population is often more curious and willing to set time aside to meet with new families that have come to join their community. MAGMA's CIC-supported HOST program, for example, is an excellent opportunity for much needed personal contact between Canadians and immigrants. The program pairs up families from the local community with newly arrived families (MAGMA 2000). New immigrants understand their new environment by learning about it from the inside perspective of local residents and by establishing personal friendships. Local volunteers find it to be such a rewarding experience that they often ask to be able to help other newcomers when the individual or family that they are presently helping becomes sufficiently independent or, as is still all too often the case, leaves the province.

With respect to the three dimensions of immigration--language, employment and community--the immigrant first needs to be directed to appropriate language instruction to ensure that he or she attains a level of functional bilingualism as quickly as possible. Next, employment is the biggest hurdle to successful integration. Official language minority communities must be enabled to take "special care" of "their" immigrants. It is important, for example, that employment counsellors from the minority community inform and accompany the immigrant so that his or her professional qualification is recognized. This means that immigrants need to find out about credential assessment organizations and regulatory bodies in their province. It is also important that counsellors explain the difference between credential assessment and professional licensing. Credential assessment refers to the translation of documents and establishment of equivalencies for these credentials within the Canadian system. Credential assessment is non-binding and only assists employers when assessing a candidate's qualification. This is different from professional licensing, whereby an individual obtains the right to exercise a regulated profession such as nursing or engineering.9

Francophone Business Immigrants in B.C.

Testimony

"Some people just don't take the time to prepare themselves. They act without enough reflection," says René Digard, who is responsible for business and tourism at the Société de développement économique de la Colombie- Britannique (SDECB). He sees many Francophone business immigrants who do not properly prepare their business venture. Especially people who break their ties with their country of origin by selling all assets and moving to B.C. expecting to be able to start up their business with relative ease are often faced with a much harsher reality than they had anticipated. It is far better, he says, to test the waters first, work out a business plan with the help of SDECB before making the final jump to Canada. One positive example that René Digard recalls is that of an air transport entrepreneur who visited B.C. five times to ensure he had all proper flying and operating licences before making the final move to the province to set up his business. It is also an example of the major focus and growth sector for SDECB's activities, which is tourism. Of the out-of-country Francophone immigrants who come to B.C. to set up a business, René Digard estimates that 80% are from France, the rest mainly coming from other parts of Europe and the Maghreb. Many of these new businesses, which add to the existing number of roughly 4,000 Francophone-owned companies in the province, are active in the tourism industry. The role of SDECB is, in fact, not only to assist those Francophones who want to set up shop in B.C. but also to advise tourists and those working in the tourism industry to find out about the services available when visiting theprovince. To this end, the organization's website was launched in November 2000 (http://www.sdecb.com/External site) and a CD-ROM has been produced which allows the user to take an interactive journey through the province. Generating demand for Francophone services also generates demand for French speakers and René Digard is proud that it is now possible to organize trips throughout B.C. with most services being available in French.

Do successful Francophone immigrants in B.C. have any particular characteristics? René Digard replies that those who want to set up a business have an easier time because once they have taken the immigration hurdle, they are free to pursue their goals. Professionals such as doctors, engineers or architects find it much harder because they need to go through a long process of being recertified by B.C. professional associations. Some have the stamina to go through the process while others reinvent their career: a friend of his who used to practice medicine in France now runs a travel agency. Not an ideal situation but one which showcases the strong commitment of many immigrants to make life in Canada work.

Under current conditions, many immigrants eventually give up the attempt to have their qualifications recognized. Instead, they return to school to obtain a Canadian qualification. This often adds years of study to a person's life when they are already qualified professionals, not to mention the financial strain of tuition fees and lost revenue. Assisting immigrants efficiently in this matter may prove to be the single most important service official language minority communities can offer to immigrants.

The second often cited hurdle during the settlement phase is the reluctance of many employers to hire immigrants who do not have "Canadian experience," meaning a record of employment in Canada. As a consequence, many immigrants are forced to work below their qualifications or to engage in volunteer work in the hope of obtaining references, which can then be used as proof of "Canadian experience."  

Given the proper tools and commitment, the minority community would be able to assist new immigrants to find initial, basic level employment. Immigrants have to become integrated into the work force as quickly as possible, even if this happens at a level that is below the immigrant's qualification. Canadian employers put a premium on the ability to verify an applicant's workplace experience in Canada and are rarely willing to contact previous employers overseas, especially if there are additional language hurdles. Businesses owned by members of the minority community can fulfill an important bridging function here. Not only should they be encouraged to hire immigrants into their first Canadian jobs and thus act as a future reference on the immigrant's career in Canada, but given their language skills, they can also much more easily verify an applicant's prior employment record overseas if such verification requires the use of English or French.

The Power of Gentle Persuasion

Testimony

 "Is he from around here?" is a question that the employment coordinators at the Centre d'information 233-Allô in St. Boniface (formerly Centre de ressources communautaire) often hear as they try to place Francophone immigrants with employers in Winnipeg and the surrounding areas. Of course, they cannot force any employer to take the well-qualified candidates in their database. Commenting on the reasons why employers are reluctant to give immigrants a chance, one of them says: "Yes, there is a bit of discrimination in all that but it's mostly the fear of the unknown." So, gentle persuasion is combined with a touch of cunning to give unemployed Francophone immigrants a chance at getting a job. First, the coordinator will make sure that the résumé highlights professional experience truly relevant to the position. If someone has worked in senior management and is now applying for a junior position, the ability to work in a team may need to be emphasized more than his or her leadership skills. Another difficult hurdle is obtaining Canadian references for an immigrant who has never held a job in Canada. Initially, the Centre's policy was not to act as a reference for any prospective employers since they had no experience of the job seeker's professional performance and abilities. Realizing, though, how important it is for a prospective employer to have someone Canadian who could comment on the candidate's personality, the employment coordinators decided that they could, at least, comment on their experience with the immigrant. "I cannot comment on his or her professional abilities but I can explain to employers the determination that it takes to immigrate," says one of them. This already makes a difference to many employers and when the employment coordinator adds that the candidate has always been on time for appointments, the chances are much higher that a job interview will take place. While many Francophone-owned businesses initially still prefer someone with a traditional French-Canadian name, an increasing number of new and positive experiences with Francophone newcomers are slowly but surely changing employer attitudes.

Winnipeg's Success Skills Centre (SSC) also provides assistance to professional immigrants. A mainly Anglophone organization, its one Francophone counsellor explains that SSC's main objective is to ensure skilled immigrants obtain workplace experience. Manitoba's Ministry of Labour and Immigration has a program which fits this objective: the Credentials Recognition Program. It assists immigrants in gaining experience in their professional field in Canada by offering wage assistance, counselling and referral services to both immigrants and businesses. The province pays 40% of the gross wage per employee over a six-month period up to a maximum of $4,500. These positions must, however, be continued after the six-month period. Applicants must have completed at least a two-year post-secondary program outside Canada and be in a situation where their credentials and work experience are not formally recognized in Manitoba. SSC's Francophone counsellor feels that it is unfortunate that there is no program specifically targeted at Francophones. What is also disappointing to him is that few Franco- Manitoban employers have thus far shown an interest in the Credentials Recognition Program.

(Centre de ressources communautaire 2001)


9 Of course, qualification recognition is not an issue that is restricted to immigrants settling into official language minority communities but one that affects a large number of immigrants to Canada.

Previous page

Table of contents

Next page

ARCHIVÉE - Chapitre 2 – L’étape de l’établissement : Titres de compétences et expérience canadienne

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 12 de 26

L’étape de l’établissement est éprouvante pour les immigrants. Ils doivent trouver un logement et remplir certaines formalités administratives, par exemple, obtenir une carte d’assurance-maladie. Il faut aussi trouver une école pour les enfants et s’assurer que tous les membres de la famille s’adaptent le mieux possible au nouvel environnement social. À cette étape, nombre d’immigrants commencent à s’inquiéter de leur situation financière. À leur arrivée au Canada, ils avaient prévu un certain montant qui devait leur permettre de survivre pendant quelque temps, mais l’incertitude quant à la période pendant laquelle ces fonds devront suffire peut être source d’inquiétude. À cette étape, il revient à la communauté de s’assurer, à l’instar d’un médecin de famille, que les besoins de base de la famille sont satisfaits : logement, scolarité des enfants, services de santé et emploi. Si la communauté ne peut offrir certains services, elle doit aiguiller la famille vers les « spécialistes », c’est-à-dire, les services qui ne sont offerts que dans la communauté majoritaire. Par exemple, il faut dire aux immigrants où ils peuvent s’adresser pour apprendre la langue de la majorité. Si cette formation est offerte dans la communauté minoritaire, l’immigrant sera d’autant plus à l’aise, car il pourra apprendre dans un environnement linguistique familier. Si, par contre, les cours de formation linguistique ne sont offerts que par des établissements de la communauté majoritaire, la communauté minoritaire peut tout de même contribuer en s’assurant que la formation répond aux besoins des immigrants.

 
La politique d’immigration du Canada est paradoxale en ce qu’elle autorise des milliers de professionnels et de gens de métier très compétents à immigrer au Canada, mais une fois qu’ils sont ici, leur interdit d’exercer leur métier ou profession.

(COSTI, organisme torontois d’éducation et de services sociaux, 1998)

Inciter les nouveaux arrivants à rester : L’organisme MAGMA de Moncton

« Nous avons pu retenir plus d’immigrants cette année, par rapport aux années précédentes, mais la majorité de nos clients ne reste pas ici. » La directrice de MAGMA (Multicultural Association of the Greater Moncton Area, Inc.), principal organisme de Moncton à offrir des services aux nouveaux arrivants est heureuse de constater que la tendance est en train de s’inverser, ne serait-ce que légèrement. Elle a vu de nombreux immigrants et réfugiés francophones franchir les portes de son organisme. Malheureusement, bon nombre d’entre eux quittent le Nouveau-Brunswick après n’y avoir séjourné que quelques mois.

« Le principal sujet de préoccupation de tous les employés est le taux élevé de migration secondaire. L’an dernier, seulement deux familles sur onze qui devaient s’installer à Moncton sont demeurées au sein de notre communauté. » (MAGMA, 2001a)

Le Nouveau-Brunswick a besoin d’immigrants francophones, mais cette province, où vivent près de 250 000 francophones, compte la plus faible proportion d’immigrants francophones au Canada. Dans leur quête de nouveaux horizons, de nombreux immigrants francophones cèdent à l’attrait du Québec, oubliant les nombreux services personnalisés qu’un organisme comme MAGMA peut leur offrir. Par exemple, puisque de nombreux nouveaux arrivants ont de jeunes enfants, MAGMA a créé une petite garderie gérée par un employé à temps plein. Ainsi, les deux parents peuvent assister aux cours d’anglais ou aux séances d’orientation axées sur l’emploi, pendant qu’on s’occupe de leurs enfants de l’autre côté du corridor. Ce type de service intégré est beaucoup plus difficile à obtenir dans les grands centres urbains, où les fournisseurs de services doivent payer des loyers très élevés et accueillir des nouveaux arrivants en grand nombre. En outre, les résidents des petites villes, qui sont moins habitués aux réalités de l’immigration, sont souvent plus curieux et souhaitent consacrer du temps aux nouvelles familles venues s’installer dans leur communauté. Par exemple, le Programme d’accueil mis en oeuvre par MAGMA avec l’appui de CIC constitue l’occasion idéale d’établir des contacts tout à fait souhaitables entre les Canadiens de souche et les immigrants. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on associe des familles d’une communauté locale aux familles nouvellement arrivées (MAGMA, 2000). Les nouveaux arrivants apprennent à connaître leur nouvel environnement en profitant de l’expérience des résidents locaux tout en se liant d’amitié avec eux. Les bénévoles locaux trouvent cette expérience tellement gratifiante qu’ils demandent souvent s’ils peuvent aider d’autres nouveaux arrivants lorsque la personne ou la famille à laquelle ils apportent leur aide devient suffisamment autonome ou, comme cela se produit encore trop souvent, quitte la province.

En ce qui concerne les trois dimensions de l’immigration (langue, emploi et communauté), il faut tout d’abord orienter les immigrants vers les cours de langue appropriés, afin de garantir qu’ils atteignent le plus rapidement possible un degré de bilinguisme fonctionnel. Ensuite, l’emploi constitue le principal obstacle au succès de l’intégration. Il faut permettre aux communautés de langue officielle minoritaire de « s’occuper tout particulièrement » de « leurs » immigrants. Par exemple, il est important que des conseillers en emploi issus de la communauté minoritaire informent et épaulent les immigrants, de sorte que les qualifications professionnelles de ceux-ci soient reconnues. Cela signifie que les immigrants doivent être informés de l’existence des organismes chargés d’évaluer leurs titres de compétences et des organismes de réglementation de leur province. Il est également important que les conseillers expliquent la différence entre l’évaluation des titres de compétences et l’accréditation professionnelle. L’évaluation des titres de compétences se fait par la traduction de documents et l’établissement d’équivalences pour ces titres au sein du système canadien. Elle n’a aucun caractère obligatoire et sert uniquement à aider les employeurs à évaluer les qualifications d’un candidat, et diffère de l’accréditation professionnelle, grâce à laquelle une personne obtient le droit d’exercer une profession réglementée, par exemple le métier d’infirmier/infirmière ou d’ingénieur/ingénieure9.

Gens d'affaires immigrants francophones en Colombie-Britannique

« Les gens ne prennent pas le temps de se préparer. Il y a souvent trop de précipitation », déclare René Digard, coordonnateur, Services aux entreprises et Tourisme à la Société de développement économique de la Colombie-Britannique (SDECB). Selon lui, de nombreux gens d'affaires immigrants francophones sont mal préparés à l'établissement de leur entreprise. En particulier, les personnes qui rompent tout lien avec leur pays d'origine en vendant tous leurs biens puis déménagent en Colombie-Britannique, où ils pensent pouvoir se lancer en affaires assez facilement, sont souvent confrontés à une réalité beaucoup moins rose que ce qu'ils anticipaient. M. Digard pense qu'il est nettement préférable de commencer par sonder le terrain et élaborer un plan d'affaires avec l'aide de la SDECB avant de « faire le grand saut » au Canada. Il mentionne à cet égard un exemple d'installation réussie : un professionnel du transport aérien s'est rendu en Colombie-Britannique cinq fois afin de s'assurer qu'il possédait tous les permis de pilotage et d'exploitation nécessaires avant de s'installer dans la province pour y créer son entreprise. Cet exemple illustre par ailleurs le fait que les activités de la SDECB visent principalement et de plus en plus le secteur du tourisme. René Digard estime que 80 p. 100 des immigrants francophones qui viennent en Colombie-Britannique pour créer une entreprise sont Français, les autres étant principalement originaires d'autres pays d'Europe et du Maghreb. Bon nombre de ces nouvelles entreprises, qui viennent s'ajouter aux quelque 4 000 entreprises de la province appartenant déjà à des francophones, oeuvrent dans l'industrie du tourisme. En fait, le rôle de la SDECB consiste non seulement à aider les francophones désireux de se lancer en affaires en Colombie-Britannique, mais aussi à conseiller les touristes et les personnes travaillant dans l'industrie du tourisme à propos des services qui leur seront accessibles dans la province. À cette fin, l'organisme a lancé son site WebSite externe en novembre 2000 et a produit un cédérom qui permet à l'utilisateur de faire une visite interactive de la province. La demande de services en français génère une demande de francophones, et René Digard est fier du fait qu'il est désormais possible d'organiser, à l'échelle de la province, des voyages dans le cadre desquels la plupart des services sont offerts en français.

Dans le contexte actuel, un grand nombre d’immigrants renoncent en bout de ligne à faire reconnaître leurs qualifications. Ils se tournent plutôt vers une nouvelle formation afin d’acquérir des compétences reconnues par le Canada. Cela les oblige souvent à faire de nouvelles études alors qu’ils sont déjà des professionnels qualifiés, sans parler des frais de scolarité qu’ils doivent acquitter et du manque à gagner. C’est probablement à ce niveau-là que les communautés de langue officielle minoritaire peuvent apporter l’aide la plus précieuse aux immigrants.

Le deuxième obstacle mentionné le plus souvent par les immigrants durant l’étape de l’établissement est la réticence de nombreux employeurs à embaucher des immigrants qui n’ont aucune « expérience canadienne », c’est-à-dire qui n’ont jamais travaillé au Canada. De nombreux immigrants sont donc forcés d’accepter des postes pour lesquels ils sont surqualifiés, ou de faire du bénévolat en espérant obtenir des lettres de recommandation qu’ils pourront utiliser ensuite pour témoigner de cette « expérience canadienne ».

Si elle disposait des outils et affichait la volonté nécessaires, la communauté minoritaire pourrait aider les nouveaux arrivants à trouver un premier emploi de base. Il est nécessaire que les immigrants intègrent le marché du travail le plus vite possible, même s’ils doivent pour cela accepter un poste pour lequel ils sont surqualifiés. Les employeurs canadiens veulent pouvoir vérifier l’expérience de travail qu’ont les candidats au Canada, et sont rarement prêts à communiquer avec de précédents employeurs à l’étranger, surtout si la langue peut leur poser des problèmes de communication. Les entreprises appartenant à des membres de la communauté minoritaire peuvent constituer un tremplin crucial à ce stade-là. On devrait les encourager à offrir aux immigrants leur premier emploi au Canada (elles pourraient ainsi rédiger des lettres de recommandation utiles dans la future carrière de ces immigrants). Par ailleurs, compte tenu de leurs compétences linguistiques, il est beaucoup plus facile pour les responsables de ces entreprises de vérifier les antécédents professionnels d’un candidat s’il faut pour cela parler français ou anglais.

Comment user de persuasion en douceur

« Est-ce qu’il vient d’ici? » est une question que les coordonnateurs du placement du Centre d’information 233-Allô de Saint-Boniface (anciennement Centre de ressources communautaire) entendent souvent lorsqu’ils essaient de placer des immigrants francophones chez des employeurs de Winnipeg et de la région. Bien entendu, ils ne peuvent pas obliger un employeur à engager les candidats qualifiés dont le nom se trouve dans leur base de données. Quant à pourquoi les employeurs hésitent à donner une chance aux immigrants, l’un de ces coordonnateurs a déclaré : « Oui, il y a de la discrimination dans tout ça, mais c’est surtout la peur de l’inconnu. » Ils essaient donc d’user de leur force de persuasion en douceur, tout en faisant preuve d’ingéniosité, pour aider les immigrants francophones sans emploi à trouver un travail. Premièrement, le coordonnateur s’assure que le curriculum vitæ fait état de l’expérience professionnelle vraiment pertinente pour le poste visé. Si une personne a travaillé comme cadre supérieur et postule un emploi de débutant, elle devra insister davantage sur sa capacité à travailler en équipe que sur ses talents de superviseur. Autre obstacle : il est difficile pour un immigrant qui n’a jamais travaillé au Canada d’obtenir des lettres de recommandation d’employeurs canadiens. Initialement, le Centre ne servait pas de référence auprès de l’employeur potentiel, car il ne savait rien du rendement et des aptitudes professionnelles du demandeur d’emploi. Toutefois, les coordonnateurs du placement ont réalisé à quel point il était important pour l’employeur potentiel de pouvoir obtenir d’un Canadien des observations sur la personnalité du candidat; ils ont donc décidé qu’ils pourraient formuler des commentaires à propos de ce qu’ils savaient de l’immigrant à la recherche d’un emploi. « Je ne peux rien dire sur l’aptitude professionnelle, mais je peux expliquer aux employeurs la détermination qu’il faut pour l’immigration », a déclaré l’un d’entre eux. Cela fait déjà toute la différence aux yeux de nombreux employeurs et, si le coordonnateur du placement ajoute que le candidat a toujours été à l’heure à ses rendez-vous, celui-ci a beaucoup plus de chances d’être convoqué à une entrevue d’emploi. Bon nombre d’entreprises exploitées par des francophones préfèrent en général engager quelqu’un qui a un nom typiquement canadien-français, mais le nombre croissant d’expériences positives vécues avec de nouveaux arrivants francophones pousse les employeurs à changer d’attitude.

Le Success Skills Centre (SSC) de Winnipeg offre lui aussi de l’aide aux immigrants professionnels. Cet organisme fonctionne principalement en anglais, et son seul conseiller francophone explique que l’objectif premier du SSC consiste à aider les immigrants qualifiés à acquérir une expérience en milieu de travail. Le ministère du Travail et de l’Immigration du Manitoba administre un programme qui va dans le sens de cet objectif : le Programme de reconnaissance des compétences. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on aide les immigrants à acquérir de l’expérience dans leur domaine de compétences au Canada en offrant des subventions salariales et des services de counselling et d’orientation aux immigrants, mais aussi aux entreprises. La province paie 40 p. 100 du salaire brut de chaque employé pendant une période de six mois, à concurrence de 4 500 $. Il faut par contre que ces postes soient maintenus au terme de la période de six mois. Il faut que les candidats aient suivi au moins deux ans d’études postsecondaires à l’extérieur du Canada, et que leurs titres de compétences et leur expérience de travail ne soient pas officiellement reconnus au Manitoba. Selon le conseiller francophone du SSC, il est malheureux qu’il n’existe aucun programme destiné aux francophones. Il se dit également déçu du fait que peu d’employeurs franco-manitobains n’aient à ce jour témoigné de l’intérêt pour le Programme de reconnaissance des compétences.

(Centre de ressources communautaire, 2001)


9 Bien sûr, la reconnaissance des qualifications n’est pas un problème exclusif aux immigrants s’installant dans une communauté minoritaire de langue officielle; il touche en fait un grand nombre d’immigrants au Canada.

Page précédente

Table des matières

Page suivante