ARCHIVED - Chapter 2 – Understanding the Phases and Dimensions of Immigration

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 10 of 26

The path that immigrants take from their first interest in moving to Canada to their integration into Canadian society can be broadly separated into four phases: selection, settlement, adaptation and contribution. While selection takes place in the immigrant's home country, the remaining three phases take place once the move to Canada has been made. Selection refers to the time before an immigrant actually arrives in Canada, settlement encompasses the time immediately following arrival when an immigrant needs to find housing, schooling for children and first-time employment. This period is often characterized by dependence on newcomer services. Immigrants move from the settlement phase into the adaptation phase when they have met all immediate needs and begin to plot and put in place their long-term strategy in Canada, e.g. deciding where to live long-term and which professional path to pursue. This phase is characterized by increasing autonomy. Immigrants attain the final contribution phase when they have achieved their goals with regard to social status, employment and a feeling of being at home where they live. At this point they no longer rely on institutions for support but are able to contribute to them on a voluntary basis. At any of these stages, three dimensions of integration are of importance: language, employment and community. Language refers to the ability of the immigrant to communicate at a satisfactory level with his or her linguistic environment. Employment refers to the immigrant's ability to earn a living at a level appropriate to his or her skills and community refers to the social integration of an immigrant.

Phases and Dimensions of Immigration

Table 4 shows how dimensions and phases build upon each other. During the selection phase, i.e. while immigrants are still in the home country, preparing themselves for the new language environment in an official language minority community is crucial as it often requires a functional degree of bilingualism. During the settlement and adaptation phases employment becomes an additional focus. And as immigrants move from adaptation into the contribution phase, they should be comfortable enough linguistically and economically to be able to start to contribute to the community.

The three most frequently cited obstacles faced by immigrants who settle in a minority language context are the following:

  • The extent to which majority official language skills are needed.
  • Severe hurdles in having prior learning, credentials and professional experience recognized in Canada by professional associations and employers.
  • No record of prior employment in Canada (no "Canadian experience"), which causes many employers to be hesitant when hiring immigrants.

Table 5 is a composite picture derived from accounts by immigrants who have not completed the immigration process successfully.

Reasons for Unsuccessul Immigration Integration

What is particularly frustrating if an immigrant's path develops as outlined in Table 5 is the fact that it is so full of promise and potential at the beginning and disintegrates in spite of the immigrant's and the community's best efforts. While the community is often able to help an immigrant through the settlement phase, it is at the point when an immigrant realizes that he or she will not achieve the anticipated professional standing that the initial enthusiasm for Canada can turn to quiet desperation. Often, the immigrant's hope for a secure economic future is then projected onto the children. Personal economic failure causes many immigrant parents to conclude that they have little to gain from any type of involvement with an official language minority community. This is a loss both for the minority community and the immigrants. Even if, after a number of years, immigrants meet with the success they had initially hoped for, in the intervening time they will have distanced themselves from the community to such an extent that it is very unlikely that they will ever be won back.

We will now consider each of the phases and dimensions of immigration in more detail. For an overview of all phases and dimensions, please see appendix I.

From Morocco to Manitoba: A Successful Transition

Testimony

"Of course, the Ouateli family is our model immigrant family," says Robin Rooke who is with the Francophone literacy and employment resource centre Pluri-elles in St. Boniface. Youssef Ouateli works as an aeronautical technician for Air Canada and moved with his wife and their two children from Casablanca to Winnipeg in March of 1999. Their story is, indeed, one of immigrant success. They have become dynamic participants in Manitoba's Francophone community. In 1998, Daniel Boucher, president of the Société franco-manitobaine (SFM), gave a presentation to prospective immigrants in Morocco. Youssef Ouateli was one of those who attended. Having heard Mr. Boucher's presentation, Youssef became curious and started to find out more about immigrating to Canada. One and a half years later, curiosity had turned to reality and the family arrived in Winnipeg.

If one were to paint a rosy picture of the positive contribution immigration can make to French-speaking minority communities in Canada, Mr. Ouateli's story would certainly be one to focus on. However, speaking with him and his wife in their new home in a leafy suburb of Winnipeg, they tell us that their story is something of an exception. Both are proud to have turned their immigration to Canada into a success but caution everyone to think that this is an experience shared by every Moroccan immigrant. "Among the roughly fifteen Moroccan families we know here, I am the only one who works in his own profession," Youssef Ouateli says. His wife, for example, is taking a course at the Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface to become a health and home care assistant. In Morocco, she had worked as a fashion designer. When she tried to find work in her field in Winnipeg, all she was offered was work as a seamstress. During interviews a supervisor would hold a stopwatch in his hand to check her skills on a sewing machine. Because she had enjoyed helping out in her brother-in-law's medical practice in Morocco and health sector workers are in demand in Manitoba, she decided to pursue a different path and become a health care professional.

Both Ouateli children are happily attending Francophone schools. The local community's efforts to ensure that children of Francophone immigrants attend French schools are, indeed, impressive. As soon as new immigrants arrive, the school bus serving Francophone schools is alerted from the first day after the immigrant family's arrival and picks up the children at one of the motels, which is often their first temporary place of accommodation. This allows the parents to look for permanent housing without having to worry about their children. As they go apartment hunting, a map they receive from the SFM will show them the Francophone school bus routes so that they don't end up in a part of town where their children won't be able to attend school in French.

Few immigrants expect an easy ride in Canada and when asked what he would recommend to new Francophone immigrants coming to Manitoba, Youssef is very clear: "You absolutely need basic English skills as well as a lot of patience and tenacity, especially during the first year. You must not become discouraged."

Previous page

Table of contents

Next page

ARCHIVÉE - Chapitre 2 – Comprendre les étapes et les dimensions de l’immigration

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 10 de 26

On peut diviser en quatre grandes étapes le processus que vivent les immigrants du moment où ils manifestent un intérêt pour le Canada jusqu’à leur intégration à la société canadienne : la sélection, l’établissement, l’adaptation et la contribution. La première étape, la sélection, s’effectue dans le pays d’origine de l’immigrant, mais les trois autres se déroulent après son arrivée au Canada. À l’étape de l’établissement, c’est-à-dire à son arrivée au Canada, l’immigrant doit trouver un logement, une école pour ses enfants et un emploi. Souvent, à cette étape, il a recours aux services d’aide aux nouveaux arrivants. Vient ensuite l’étape de l’adaptation, une fois tous les besoins immédiats comblés. À cette étape, l’immigrant décide, entre autres, où il veut vivre et quel emploi il veut occuper à long terme. Il acquiert également de plus en plus d’autonomie. Enfin, arrive l’étape où l’immigrant apporte une contribution à la communauté; il a maintenant un statut social, occupe un emploi et s’est établi dans une communauté où il se sent chez lui. Il ne fait plus appel aux divers services d’aide aux immigrants, mais offre lui-même bénévolement ses services à des institutions communautaires. À l’une ou l’autre de ces étapes, trois dimensions importantes entrent en ligne de compte : la langue, l’emploi et la communauté. Dans le cas de la langue, on parle de la capacité qu’a l’immigrant de communiquer adéquatement dans son nouvel environnement linguistique. L’emploi correspond à la capacité de l’immigrant de subvenir à ses besoins, à la hauteur de ses compétences, et la communauté correspond à l’intégration sociale de l’immigrant.



Le tableau 4 illustre comment les dimensions et étapes s’imbriquent les unes aux autres. Par exemple, à l’étape de la sélection (alors qu’ils sont toujours dans leur pays d’origine), il est très important que les immigrants qui se préparent à s’établir dans une communauté minoritaire de langue officielle se familiarisent avec la langue parlée par la majorité, car ils devront atteindre un degré de bilinguisme fonctionnel. Aux étapes de l’établissement et de l’adaptation, l’emploi devient un autre élément important. Enfin, lorsqu’il arrive à la dernière étape, l’immigrant doit avoir et les compétences linguistiques, et les moyens financiers voulus s’il veut apporter sa contribution à la communauté.

D’après les personnes que nous avons interrogées, les trois plus importants obstacles que doivent surmonter les immigrants qui s’établissent dans une communauté linguistique minoritaire sont les suivants :

  • la connaissance nécessaire de la langue parlée par la majorité;
  • la difficulté à faire reconnaître ses titres de compétences et son expérience professionnelle par des associations et des employeurs au Canada;
  • l’absence d’antécédents professionnels au Canada (pas « d’expérience canadienne »), qui fait que de nombreux employeurs hésitent à embaucher des immigrants.

Le tableau 5 illustre l’expérience d’immigrants qui ne sont pas allés jusqu’au bout de leur processus d’immigration.

Tableau 5 : Raison de l’échec de l’intégration dans une communauté minoritaire de langue officielle

Ce qui est particulièrement frustrant dans un cas comme celui qui est illustré au tableau 5, c’est que l’espoir et le potentiel du début s’estompent malgré les efforts déployés par l’immigrant et la communauté. Même si, dans bien des cas, la communauté peut aider l’immigrant à s’établir, c’est lorsque ce dernier constate qu’il n’aura pas le même statut professionnel que dans son pays d’origine que l’enthousiasme qu’il manifestait initialement peut se transformer en découragement. C’est alors que, souvent, l’immigrant compte sur ses enfants pour réussir là où il a échoué sur le plan économique et qu’il en vient à la conclusion que l’intégration à la communauté de langue officielle minoritaire ne lui apportera que peu d’avantages. Cela n’est souhaitable ni pour l’immigrant, ni pour la communauté minoritaire. Et même si, après quelques années, les immigrants obtiennent le succès qu’ils avaient souhaité, dans l’intervalle, ils se seront détachés de la communauté au point où ils pourraient ne jamais la réintégrer.

Voyons maintenant de manière plus approfondie chacune des étapes et des dimensions de l’immigration. Pour une vue d’ensemble de ces éléments, voir l’Annexe I.

Du Maroc au Manitoba : Une transition réussie

« Ah, la famille de Youssef Ouateli est notre famille immigrante modèle », affirme la coordonnatrice du placement au centre d’emploi et d’alphabétisation francophone Pluri-elles de Saint-Boniface. Youssef Ouateli est technicien en aéronautique chez Air Canada. En mars 1999, il a quitté Casablanca avec sa femme et leurs deux enfants pour s’établir à Winnipeg. Le récit de cette famille immigrante est réellement une histoire de réussite. Les Ouateli sont des membres très actifs de la communauté francophone du Manitoba. En 1998, le président de la Société franco-manitobaine (SFM), Daniel Boucher, s’est rendu au Maroc pour rencontrer des immigrants potentiels. Youssef Ouateli était l’un d’eux. L’exposé de M. Boucher a piqué la curiosité de Youssef et celui-ci a commencé à s’informer sur les modalités d’immigration au Canada. Dix-huit mois plus tard, lui et sa famille arrivaient à Winnipeg.

Si on voulait illustrer la contribution positive que peut apporter l’immigration à une communauté francophone minoritaire au Canada, on pourrait sans aucun doute citer l’exemple de M. Ouateli. Mais, lorsque nous les avons rencontrés dans leur nouvelle maison d’une banlieue verte de Winnipeg, les Ouateli nous ont raconté que leur cas ne correspondait pas à la norme. M. Ouateli et sa femme sont fiers de ce qu’ils ont accompli au Canada, mais s’empressent d’ajouter que tous les immigrants marocains n’ont pas la même chance qu’eux. « Parmi la quinzaine de familles marocaines qu’on connaît ici, je suis le seul qui travaille dans son domaine », explique Youssef. Sa femme, par exemple, étudie au Collège universitaire de Saint-Boniface pour devenir aide en soins de santé et soins à domicile. Au Maroc, elle était dessinatrice de mode. Lorsqu’elle est arrivée à Winnipeg, on ne lui offrait que des emplois de couturière. Pendant les entrevues, un superviseur vérifiait sa rapidité d’exécution chronomètre en main. Compte tenu de la demande de travailleurs dans le secteur de la santé au Manitoba, et du fait qu’elle avait aimé aider son beau-frère dans son cabinet médical au Maroc, elle a décidé de réorienter sa carrière et de devenir professionnelle de la santé.

Les deux enfants du couple fréquentent sans problèmes l’école de langue française. La communauté franchophone locale prend tous les moyens nécessaires pour s’assurer que les enfants d’immigrants francophones fréquentent l’école de langue française. Dès l’arrivée d’immigrants au sein de la communauté, on informe le service de transport scolaire qui dessert les écoles de langue française. L’autobus passe prendre les enfants au motel où la famille est souvent temporairement installée. Les parents ont ainsi le temps de chercher un logement permanent sans se soucier de leurs enfants. La SFM remet également aux parents une carte indiquant le parcours des autobus scolaires, de sorte qu’ils puissent cibler leurs recherches de logement dans des quartiers situés là où il sera possible pour les enfants de fréquenter une école de langue française.

Rares sont les immigrants qui s’attendent à un parcours sans embûches au Canada et, lorsque nous avons demandé à Youssef ce qu’il recommanderait à des immigrants francophones qui veulent s’établir au Manitoba, il a répondu ceci : « Il faut absolument un minimum d’anglais et beaucoup de patience et de persévérance, surtout pendant la première année. Il ne faut pas se décourager. »