ARCHIVED - Chapter 1 – Shaping the Future of Linguistic Duality: Setting Concrete Targets

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 7 of 26

The careful selection of new immigrants to Canada has two major objectives: to ensure that immigration benefits the country as well as its new immigrants. Unfortunately, what has been a win-win situation for the country as a whole and for most immigrants, is a losing proposition to Canada's Francophone minority communities. Canada's Anglophone population relies heavily on immigration for its demographic growth but very few immigrants have been attracted to Francophone communities. The unintended effect: immigration inadvertently reduces the demographic weight of these Francophone communities. In order to maintain their demographic position, they need to attract and retain a percentage of immigrants that corresponds to their own demographic weight. Currently, about 4.5% of Canadians outside Quebec are Francophones, which means that at least the same percentage of all new immigrants outside Quebec should be and continue to be French-speaking. Otherwise Francophone minority communities will pay the demographic price for Canada's increasing reliance on immigration.

In the 2001 Immigration and Refugee Protection Act the Canadian Government has, for the first time, made the development and vitality of official language minority communities an explicit immigration objective.[7] Such commitment was urgently needed in order to ensure that Canada's Francophone minority communities will from now on receive their fair share of French-speaking immigrants.

Two types of statistics can be used to illustrate the current demographic situation:

  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada reports on the languages that immigrants can speak when they arrive in Canada.
  • Statistics Canada reports on the proportion of immigrants within each of Canada's two language communities. This gives us a general picture of how "immigrant-rich" each language group is.

"Immigrant-richness" is not only a sign of diversity within a community but, at a time when population growth increasingly depends on immigration, indicates the extent to which a community is successful in boosting its ranks through the integration of newcomers. Therefore, if 4.5% of the population outside Quebec is Francophone, it follows that the same percentage of immigrants arriving outside Quebec every year should not only be Francophone at the time of arrival but continue to speak French, i.e. not be absorbed into the Anglophone majority community. Sending one's children to French schools and taking part in activities of the Francophone community are some indicators of an immigrant's continued attachment to the minority language.

Some progress can, in fact, be detected: over the past three years, the number of Francophone immigrants has been increasing and currently stands at 3.1%.

Table 2: Francophone* Immigrants Settling Outside Quebec

 

Total newcomers outside Quebec

Francophone newcomers outside Quebec

Expected long term retention (50%)

1999

161,000

3,220   (2.0%)

1,610   (1.0%)

2000

195,000

5,570   (2.9%)

2,785   (1.5%)

2001

214,000

6,722   (3.1%)

3,361   (1.6%)

*Includes immigrants with knowledge of both official languages
(Sources: Canada 2002a; Commissioner 2002)

While the percentage of Francophone new arrivals has increased from 2% in 1999 to 3.1% in 2001, based on present language transfer trends among immigrants (Commissioner 2002) only half of these 3.1% or 6,722 immigrants are likely to remain within the Francophone community. In other words, only 1.6% or 3,361 immigrants can be expected to stay Francophone.

Consider the imbalance that has already arisen. Apart from Quebec’s Anglophone community and the small Francophone community in Newfoundland, the official language minority groups in all provinces lag severely behind the majority community in terms of their immigrant-richness.

Table 3: Comparison of Immigrant Percentages Within Anglophone and Francophone Communities by Province/Territory

In Ontario 6% of Francophones are immigrants. However, compared to the percentage of immigrants among Anglophones in Ontario (25%), Ontario's Francophones are still only about a quarter as immigrant-rich as Ontario Anglophones. In Quebec, on the other hand, the province's Francophone majority only counts 5% immigrants whereas the province's Anglophone minority consists of 27% immigrants.

British Columbia's francophonie is quite immigrant-rich. 15% of Francophones in B.C. are immigrants. This means that they are well on their way to approaching the immigrant proportion among B.C.'s Anglophone population, which stands at 23%.

Chinese in Quebec: Innovative Approaches to Credential Recognition

Most Chinese immigrants who settle in Quebec know neither English nor French, but among those who do know at least one official language, English is by far the more commonly known language. At least ten percent of immigrants from China know English but less than half of one percent know French (Canada 2002a). This makes the Chinese immigrant community certainly more Anglophone than Francophone, at least as far as newcomers are concerned.

Service à la famille chinoise du Grand Montréal (SFCGM) is the largest organization serving Chinese immigrants in Montreal. Mr. Su Zhao works as a consultant for SFCGM in the area of employment. He admits that language is a major hurdle for newcomers, especially when they are unable to receive certain services in English. Most immigrants have between two and four years of post-secondary education, particularly in the fields of computer science, chemistry, electronics and engineering. He cites the lack of prior work experience in the Quebec labour market and employer demands for bilingual personnel as the two biggest hurdles for his professional clients.

But two programs are particularly promising with regard to overcoming these hurdles: the Programme d'immersion professionnelle--CAMO-PI (Service à la famille chinoise du Grand Montréal 2001, pg. 18) and the initiative Access to the Order of Engineers. The former gives professional immigrants a first opportunity to work in Quebec, which, in most cases, leads to permanent employment. The latter is an initiative to help Chinese engineers join the Quebec Order of Engineers. Su Zhao's only complaint is that there are not enough places in these programs. In 2000, his organization offered employment counselling services to approximately 1,200 immigrants. But over the past four years, available spots on the Programme d'immersion professionnelle have only increased from five to 20. The program matches each participant with an employer who takes on the immigrant for a period of 30 weeks. The employer only pays half of a normal salary. The other half is subsidized by the Government of Quebec, but the money is paid out by SFCGM. This ensures, Mr. Zhao explains, that immigrants attend regular counselling sessions with him to guarantee that the integration into the new professional environment is proceeding smoothly and that any potential problems can be cleared up with SFCGM's help. The success of the program speaks for itself: 85% of those placed through the program are hired into permanent positions by their employers. Mr. Zhao estimates that one third of his 1,200 annual clients could benefit from this program with similar rates of success.

SFCGM has been very proactive and now works together with the Université de Montréal where a small number of Chinese engineers (8 participants in the year 2000) are taking special French-for-engineers classes. SFCGM's former director, Ms. Cynthia Lam, explained the particular problems her organization's clients are experiencing during a hearing of the Commission permanente de la culture of Quebec's National Assembly on September 13th, 2000. In her remarks, she makes reference to both employment programs:

[our translation] "We have the employment seekers' database. There are currently 550 people in it--job candidates that are highly qualified, newcomers. And according to our analysis about 50% of these people are from the engineering sector. (...) We are also a community partner for the CAMO-PI program. As part of this program the Government of Quebec allows us to offer salary subsidies when employers are looking for professionals. (...) About forty employers have already hired candidates from our database." (Quebec 2000)

The words of Ping Fang, one of the first participants in the project, are encouraging:

"The project Access to the Quebec Order of Engineers is just like a door suddenly open to me. At last, I will be able to contribute to Quebec society in my own field! Employers in Quebec will also be able to take advantage of the expertise of immigrants who are qualified professionals." (Chinese Family Service of Greater Montreal 2000)

While Mr. Zhao hopes that his organization will be able to secure more money to place immigrants into subsidized internship programs, he is also proud of his organization's achievements. Very few Chinese immigrants, he says, move on to other parts of Canada once they have begun to make an investment into learning French while maintaining English and their children are happily attending school. Life in the Chinese community in Montreal is truly multilingual: While knowledge of Canada's two official languages is a requirement for working in many professional fields, SFCGM now also offers Mandarin classes in order to help Chinese immigrants from Hong Kong become proficient in the variety of Chinese that is most in use on the Chinese mainland.

Alberta contains the third largest number of Francophone immigrants outside Quebec after Ontario and B.C., with just over 3,000 persons. This elevates the percentage of Francophone immigrants to just over 6%, which is about two and half times below the percentage of immigrants on the Anglophone side, which stands at 14.5%.

New Brunswick deserves special attention as more than one third of its population is Francophone. It should be of great concern that in a province with a Francophone population five times the size of Alberta's there would, in fact, be fewer Francophone immigrants (only 2,590). This makes New Brunswick the province with the lowest Francophone immigrant share of all Canadian provinces at just over 1%. It should be added, though, that even among New Brunswick's Anglophone population only slightly more than 4% are immigrants.

Recent efforts in Manitoba to entice more immigrants to settle there are very much needed if we consider the low percentage of Francophone immigrants in that province. Only 2.8% (or 1,285 persons) are immigrants compared with 12.2% among the province's Anglophones. This makes Manitoba the province with the widest gulf in immigrant-richness between Anglophones and Francophones.

Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan and P.E.I. combined have only slightly more immigrant Francophones than Manitoba (1,450). Their percentage of immigrant Francophones ranges from 1.5% in P.E.I. to 3% in Saskatchewan, and is in each case about half the immigrant Anglophone percentage.

Notification

The new immigration legislation is an opportunity to ensure that all Canadians, Francophone or Anglophone, rural or urban, are benefiting in equal measure from the arrival of newcomers to Canada. In order to achieve this objective, however, more targeted selection and integration efforts must be undertaken, and the success of any such efforts must be closely monitored to show their effectiveness.

The Province of Newfoundland & Labrador, linguistically Canada's most homogenous province, has a total Francophone population of only 2,180 people, or 0.4% of the province's population. It is also the province with the lowest proportion of immigrants at only 1.6% of the general population. Somewhat surprisingly though, the Francophone population is far more immigrant-rich than the population in general: almost 10% of Newfoundland Francophones are immigrants. While the absolute numbers are small at 215, this makes Newfoundland the only Canadian province where the Francophone minority population has a greater proportion of immigrants than the Anglophone majority. Professional Francophones living in the capital of St. John's with origins in Europe or the nearby French islands of Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon are likely to account for the bulk of the immigrant Francophone population (Butt 1998).

The Yukon and the Northwest Territories (which included Nunavut at the time the census was taken) have a combined Francophone population of 2,400, 135 of whom are immigrants. This puts the share of immigrant Francophones in the Northwest Territories at the same level as immigrant Anglophones (5%) and at about two thirds of the Anglophone equivalent in the Yukon (immigrant Francophones: 7%, immigrant Anglophones: 10.5%).


7 "3. (1) The objectives of this Act with respect to immigration are (...) (b.1) to support and assist the development of minority official languages communities in Canada." And also: "(3) This Act is to be construed and applied in a manner that (...) (e) supports the commitment of the Government of Canada to enhance the vitality of the English and French linguistic minority communities in Canada." (Immigration and Refugee Protection ActGovernment site, S.C. 2001, c. 27)

Previous page

Table of contents

Next page

ARCHIVÉE - Chapitre 1 – Pour façonner la dualité linguistique de demain, il faut établir des objectifs concrets

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 7 de 26

La sélection minutieuse des immigrants arrivant au Canada vise deux objectifs principaux : veiller à ce que l’immigration profite au pays, mais aussi à ses nouveaux immigrants. Malheureusement, ce qui a été une situation bénéfique à la fois pour le pays et pour la plupart de ses immigrants n’a pas profité aux communautés francophones minoritaires du Canada. La population anglophone du Canada compte énormément sur l’immigration pour assurer sa croissance démographique, mais très peu d’immigrants sont attirés par les communautés francophones. Cela a pour effet que l’immigration réduit involontairement le poids démographique de ces communautés francophones. Pour maintenir leur importance sur le plan démographique, elles doivent attirer et garder un pourcentage d’immigrants correspondant à leur propre poids démographique. À l’heure actuelle, près de 4,5 p. 100 des Canadiens à l’extérieur du Québec sont francophones, ce qui signifie qu’au moins le même pourcentage des nouveaux arrivants devraient être et demeurer francophones, sans quoi les communautés francophones minoritaires vont pâtir, d’un point de vue démographique, du recours de plus en plus systématique du Canada à l’immigration.

Dans la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés qu’il a fait adopter en 2001, le gouvernement du Canada a, pour la première fois, fait du développement et de l’épanouissement des communautés minoritaires de langue officielle un objectif clair de sa politique d’immigration7. Il était urgent que le gouvernement prenne un tel engagement, afin de garantir que ces communautés accueilleraient dorénavant une juste proportion d’immigrants francophones. On peut utiliser deux types de statistiques pour illustrer le profil démographique actuel :

  • Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada rend compte de la ou des langues que parlent les immigrants à leur arrivée au Canada.

  • Statistique Canada rend compte de la proportion d’immigrants au sein de chacune des deux communautés de langue officielle. Cela brosse un tableau d’ensemble de la proportion d’immigrants au sein de chaque groupe linguistique.

Une forte proportion d’immigrants n’est pas seulement un signe de diversité; à une époque où la croissance démographique dépend de plus en plus de l’immigration, elle indique dans quelle mesure chaque communauté parvient à prendre de l’expansion grâce à l’intégration de nouveaux arrivants. Donc, si 4,5 p. 100 de la population canadienne hors Québec est francophone, le même pourcentage d’immigrants s’installant chaque année à l’extérieur du Québec devraient non seulement être francophones au moment de leur arrivée, mais aussi continuer à parler français, c’est-à- dire ne pas être absorbés par la communauté anglophone majoritaire. Le fait d’envoyer ses enfants à l’école en français et la participation aux activités de la communauté francophone constituent des indicateurs de l’attachement constant d’un immigrant à la langue minoritaire.

En fait, on a réalisé certains progrès ces trois dernières années, puisque le nombre d’immigrants francophones a augmenté, et représente aujourd’hui 3,1 p. 100 de la population.

Tableau 2 : Immigrants francophones*
s’établissant ailleurs qu’au Québec

  Nombre total de nouveaux arrivants à l’extérieur du Québec Nouveaux arrivants francophones à l’extérieur du Québec Établissement durable anticipé
(50 p. 100)
1999 161 000 3 220  (2,0 %) 1 610  (1,0 %)
2000 195 000 5 570  (2,9 %) 2 785   (1,5 %)
2001 214 000 6 722  (3,1 %) 3 361  (1,6 %)

(Sources : CIC, 2002a; Commissaire 2002)
* Comprend les immigrants connaissant les deux langues officielles.

Bien que le pourcentage de nouveaux arrivants francophones est passé de 2 p. 100 en 1999 à 3,1 p. 100 en 2001, selon les tendances en matière de transfert linguistique parmi les immigrants (Commissaire, 2002), seulement la moitié de ces 3,1 p. 100 (soit 6 722 immigrants) sont susceptibles de demeurer au sein de la communauté francophone. En d’autres termes, on peut s’attendre à ce que seulement 1,6 p. 100 des immigrants (3 361 personnes) restent francophones.

Tableau comparatif entre le pourcentage d’immigrants au sein des communautés francophones et anglophones, par province/territoire


Observons le déséquilibre qui s’est déjà créé. À l’exception de la communauté anglophone du Québec et de la petite communauté francophone de Terre-Neuve, les groupes de langue officielle minoritaire de toutes les provinces comptent une proportion d’immigrants nettement inférieure à celle des communautés majoritaires. En Ontario, 6 p. 100 des francophones sont des immigrants. Or, lorsqu’on considère la proportion d’immigrants chez les anglophones de l’Ontario (25 p. 100), on constate que la proportion d’immigrants chez les francophones de cette province n’en représente que le quart. Au Québec, la majorité francophone ne compte que 5 p. 100 d’immigrants, tandis que la minorité anglophone en compte 27 p. 100. La communauté francophone de la Colombie-Britannique compte une forte proportion d’immigrants (15 p. 100). Cela signifie qu’elle pourrait être un jour la même que la proportion d’immigrants chez les anglophones (23 p. 100).

Les Chinois au Québec : Approches novatrices pour la reconnaissance des titres de compétences

La plupart des immigrants chinois qui s’établissent au Québec ne parlent ni anglais ni français, mais ceux qui connaissent au moins une langue officielle sont beaucoup plus nombreux à parler anglais. Au moins 10 p. 100 des immigrants d’origine chinoise ont une certaine connaissance de l’anglais, mais ils sont moins de 0,5 p. 100 à connaître le français (Canada, 2002a). Les immigrants chinois sont donc majoritairement anglophones, du moins les nouveaux arrivants.

Le Service à la famille chinoise du Grand Montréal (SFCGM) est le plus important organisme à offrir des services aux immigrants chinois à Montréal. M. Su Zhao travaille comme consultant pour le SFCGM dans le domaine de l’emploi. Il admet que la langue constitue un obstacle majeur pour les nouveaux arrivants, surtout lorsqu’ils sont incapables de recevoir certains services en anglais. La plupart des immigrants ont fait entre deux et quatre ans d’études postsecondaires, principalement en informatique, en chimie, en électronique et en génie. Le manque d’expérience de travail sur le marché québécois et le fait que les employeurs exigent du personnel bilingue constituent les deux principaux obstacles pour les professionnels qui s’adressent à lui.

Il existe cependant deux programmes particulièrement prometteurs destinés à aider les immigrants à surmonter ces obstacles : le Programme d’immersion professionnelle CAMO-PI (Service à la famille chinoise du Grand Montréal 2001, p. 18) et l’initiative Accès à l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec. Le programme CAMO-PI offre aux professionnels la possibilité d’occuper un premier emploi au Québec qui, dans la plupart des cas, devient un emploi permanent. L’autre initiative est destinée à aider les ingénieurs chinois à devenir membres de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec. La seule critique que formule M. Zhao porte sur le fait que ces programmes n’offrent pas assez de places. En 2000, son organisme a offert des services de counselling en emploi à près de 1 200 immigrants. Or, au cours des quatre dernières années, le nombre de places offertes par le Programme d’immersion professionnelle n’est passé que de cinq à vingt. Dans le cadre de ce programme, on place chaque participant chez un employeur qui l’engage pour une période de 30 semaines. L’employeur ne verse à l’immigrant que la moitié d’un salaire normal. L’autre moitié est subventionnée par le gouvernement du Québec, mais l’argent est versé par le SFCGM. Comme l’explique M. Zhao, cela garantit que les immigrants assisteront régulièrement aux séances de counselling qu’il organise; l’intégration des immigrants à leur nouveau milieu professionnel se fait donc en douceur, et ils peuvent régler tout problème potentiel avec l’aide du SFCGM. Le succès de ce programme est exemplaire : 85 p. 100 des personnes placées se voient offrir un poste permanent par leur employeur. M. Zhao estime qu’un tiers des 1 200 clients qui le consultent chaque année pourraient bénéficier de ce programme avec le même taux de réussite.

Le SFCGM adopte une approche très proactive et travaille aujourd’hui en collaboration avec l’Université de Montréal, où un petit nombre d’ingénieurs chinois (huit participants en 2000) suivent des cours de français destinés aux ingénieurs. L’ancienne directrice du SFCGM, Mme Cynthia Lam, a expliqué les problèmes particuliers qu’ont connus les clients de son organisme lors de l’audience de la Commission permanente de la culture de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, le 13 septembre 2000. Dans ses commentaires, elle a fait référence aux deux programmes susmentionnés :

« On a la banque d’employabilité. Maintenant, on a 550 personnes, des candidats, candidates hautement qualifiés, de nouveaux arrivants. Et d’après notre analyse, on a à peu près 50 p. 100 des gens qui sont dans le domaine ingénieur. (...) On est aussi un partenaire communautaire pour le programme CAMO-PI. Ça veut dire que c’est le gouvernement du Québec qui nous a offert ce programme-là pour donner un salaire subventionnaire pour les employeurs qui sont à la recherche de professionnels. (...) Une quarantaine d’employeurs ont déjà engagé des candidats et candidates de notre banque. » (Québec, 2000)

Les propos de Ping Fang, qui est l’un des premiers participants au projet, sont encourageants :

« Grâce à l’initiative Accès à l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec, c’est comme si l’on m’avait soudain ouvert une porte. Je vais enfin pouvoir contribuer à la société québécoise dans mon propre domaine! De plus, les employeurs québécois vont pouvoir profiter de l’expertise des immigrants qui sont des professionnels qualifiés. » (Chinese Family Service of Greater Montreal, 2000)

Tout en espérant que son organisme pourra obtenir plus d’argent afin d’offrir aux immigrants des programmes de stages subventionnés, M. Zhao est fier des succès qu’il a connus jusqu’ici. Selon lui, très peu d’immigrants chinois déménagent dans une autre région du Canada une fois qu’ils ont commencé à investir dans l’apprentissage du français (tout en conservant leur anglais) et que leurs enfants se plaisent à l’école. Les membres de la communauté chinoise de Montréal sont véritablement polyglottes : alors qu’il faut connaître les deux langues officielles du Canada pour pouvoir travailler dans de nombreux domaines professionnels, le SFCGM offre désormais des cours de mandarin afin d’aider les immigrants chinois originaires de Hong Kong à maîtriser la langue la plus parlée en Chine continentale.

L’Alberta compte la troisième communauté d’immigrants francophones en importance à l’extérieur du Québec, après l’Ontario et la Colombie-Britannique (un peu plus de 3 000 personnes). Cela représente une proportion légèrement supérieure à 6 p. 100, ce qui est environ deux fois et demie inférieur à la proportion d’immigrants chez les anglophones, qui se situe à 14,5 p. 100.

Il convient d’accorder une attention particulière au Nouveau-Brunswick, où plus du tiers de la population est francophone. On devrait s’inquiéter du fait que, dans une province où la population francophone est cinq fois plus nombreuse que celle de l’Alberta, il y a moins d’immigrants francophones qu’en Alberta (seulement 2 590). Le Nouveau-Brunswick est en effet la province canadienne qui compte la plus faible proportion d’immigrants francophones, avec un peu plus de 1 p. 100. Il convient cependant d’ajouter que, même parmi la population anglophone de la province, seulement un peu plus de 4 p. 100 sont des immigrants. Les récents efforts qu’a déployés le Manitoba pour inciter plus d’immigrants à s’installer sur son territoire étaient tout à fait bienvenus, compte tenu de la faible proportion d’immigrants francophones que compte cette province. Seulement 2,8 p. 100 des francophones (soit 1 285 personnes) sont des immigrants, contre 12,2 p. 100 des anglophones. Le Manitoba est ainsi la province où l’écart est le plus important entre la proportion d’immigrants au sein des communautés anglophone et francophone.

À elles trois, la Nouvelle-Écosse, la Saskatchewan et l’Île-du-Prince- Édouard comptent juste un peu plus d’immigrants francophones que le Manitoba (1 450). La proportion d’immigrants chez les francophones varie de 1,5 p. 100 à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à 3 p. 100 en Saskatchewan et, dans les trois cas, cela représente à peu près la moitié de la proportion d’immigrants chez les anglophones.

Notez bien

Grâce aux dispositions de la nouvelle loi sur l’immigration, tous les Canadiens, francophones ou anglophones, qu’ils vivent en région rurale ou en milieu urbain, devraient pouvoir bénéficier de l’immigration de la même manière. Pour atteindre cet objectif, il faudra cependant mieux cibler les méthodes de sélection et les efforts d’intégration, et surveiller de près les résultats produits par ces efforts afin d'en prouver l’efficacité.

La province de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, qui est la plus homogène au Canada sur le plan linguistique, compte une population francophone de seulement 2 180 personnes, soit 0,4 p. 100 de sa population totale. C’est également la province qui compte la plus faible proportion d’immigrants, lesquels représentent seulement 1,6 p. 100 de la population totale. Il est toutefois assez surprenant de constater que la proportion d’immigrants chez les francophones est nettement supérieure à la proportion de ces derniers dans l’ensemble de la population : en effet, près de 10 p. 100 des francophones de Terre-Neuve sont des immigrants. Même si les chiffres absolus sont peu élevés (215 personnes), Terre-Neuve est la seule province canadienne où la population francophone minoritaire compte une plus forte proportion d’immigrants que la majorité anglophone. Les professionnels francophones qui vivent dans la capitale, St. John’s, et qui sont originaires d’Europe ou des îles françaises voisines de Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon représentent probablement le plus gros de la population d’immigrants francophones (Butt, 1998).

Le Yukon et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (qui incluaient le Nunavut au moment du recensement) comptent à eux deux une population francophone de 2 400 personnes, dont 135 sont des immigrants. Il y a donc autant d’immigrants chez les francophones que chez les anglophones dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (5 p. 100) et la proportion d’immigrants chez les francophones représente les deux tiers de celle chez les anglophones au Yukon (immigrants francophones : 7 p. 100; immigrants anglophones : 10,5 p. 100).


 

7 « 3. (1) En matière d’immigration, la présente loi a pour objet : (...) b.1) de favoriser le développement des collectivités de langues officielles minoritaires au Canada. » Par ailleurs : « (3) L’interprétation et la mise en oeuvre de la présente loi doivent avoir pour effet (...) e) de soutenir l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada à favoriser l’épanouissement des minorités francophones et anglophones du Canada. » (Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiésSite du gouvernement, L.C. 2001, ch. 27)



Page précédente

Table des matières

Page suivante