ARCHIVED - Chapter 1 – New Source Countries: Who Counts as a Francophone?

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 5 of 26

The number of Francophones or Anglophones in Canada has traditionally been determined on the basis of a person's mother tongue. For a growing number of newcomers to Canada, however, this is problematic. Many Francophone immigrants have grown up speaking languages such as Arabic, Creole, Lingala, Somali or Tshiluba but were educated in and have worked most of their lives in French. Most of these immigrants do, in fact, consider themselves to be Francophones. The definition of a Francophone that is based solely on a person's mother tongue clearly does not capture today's complex linguistic realities.

A more accurate understanding of the number of Francophones can be obtained by considering the official languages spoken by immigrants. Someone whose mother tongue is Arabic but who speaks French at home would therefore still be counted as Francophone.

Table 1 shows that the number of Francophones from African and Caribbean countries would be severely underestimated if we only considered the mother tongue of immigrants. In the case of Morocco, Algeria and Haiti, for example, there are very few people who speak French as their mother tongue but many who know French or even both official languages.

Table 1 - Francophone Immigrants by Mother Tongue and Knowledge of Official Languages (2001)

Francophone by Choice: An Immigrant in B.C.

“Nous tous un soleil” (One and all) is a small theatre group in Vancouver. The group acts out short plays in Francophone schools in Vancouver as part of an intercultural education program. Each performance is followed by a discussion on issues related to multiculturalism and difference. One member of “Nous tous un soleil” is Shiva, an immigrant from the Middle East. What motivates a young woman of Arabic mother tongue to join a Francophone theatre group? Shiva explains: Before leaving her home country she had studied French at university. Upon arriving in Vancouver, she sought out Francophone services and activities, driven by a desire to meet and socialize with Francophones.

Shiva's first contact with the local Francophone community was through ÉducacentreExternal site where she took a career development course, English language classes and made use of the job database of this Francophone training centre. She found work with a local high-tech company not long after.

While she regrets not being able to make use of French at her workplace, her leisure-time activities and social network provide her with ample opportunities to lead a Francophone life. Apart from performances with “Nous tous un soleil”, she works as a freelance journalist for “The / La Source”, a biweekly bilingual publication that focuses on multicultural topics in Vancouver and she attends events at Vancouver’s “Maison de la francophonie” – all Francophone spaces in which to pursue an important part of her linguistic identity.



Previous page

Table of contents

Next page

ARCHIVÉE - Chapitre 1 – Nouveaux pays sources : Qui est considéré comme francophone?

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 5 de 26

Au Canada, c’est habituellement la langue maternelle qui détermine si une personne est francophone ou anglophone. Cela pose toutefois problème pour un nombre de plus en plus grand de nouveaux arrivants. En effet, de nombreux immigrants francophones ont comme langue maternelle l’arabe, le créole, le lingala, le somali ou le tchilouba, mais ont fait leurs études et travaillent en français. En réalité, la plupart de ces immigrants se considèrent francophones. Cela étant, si on définit les francophones uniquement sur la base de la langue maternelle, on ne tient pas compte de la complexité de la réalité linguistique actuelle.

Pour obtenir une idée plus précise du nombre de francophones, on devrait tenir compte des langues parlées par les immigrants. Une personne dont la langue maternelle est l’arabe mais qui parle le français à la maison serait donc considérée comme francophone. Le tableau 1 indique que le nombre de francophones provenant de pays d’Afrique et des Caraïbes serait largement sous-estimé si on ne tenait compte que de la langue maternelle des immigrants. Par exemple, au Maroc, en Algérie et en Haïti, très peu de gens ont le français comme langue maternelle, mais un grand nombre connaissent le français, voire les deux langues officielles.

Immigrants francophones selon la langue maternelle et la connaissance des langues officielles

Francophone par choix : Une immigrante en Colombie-Britannique

« Nous tous un soleil » est une petite troupe de théâtre de Vancouver qui se produit dans les écoles francophones de la ville dans le cadre d’un programme d’études interculturelles. Après chaque représentation, on discute de problèmes liés au multiculturalisme et de différences culturelles. Shiva, une immigrante du Moyen-Orient, fait partie de la troupe. Qu’est-ce qui pousse une jeune femme dont la langue maternelle est l’arabe à se joindre à une troupe de théâtre francophone? Shiva donne l’explication suivante : avant de quitter son pays d’origine, elle a étudié le français à l’université. Lorsqu’elle est arrivée à Vancouver, elle s’est informée au sujet des services et activités francophones, car elle voulait rencontrer des francophones.

C’est à ÉducacentreSite externe, un centre de formation francophone, que Shiva a établi ses premiers contacts avec la communauté francophone. Elle y a suivi un cours de perfectionnement professionnel et des cours d’anglais et utilisé la base de données sur les emplois. Peu de temps après, elle décrochait un emploi dans une entreprise du secteur des hautes technologies.

Même si elle regrette de ne pas pouvoir utiliser le français au travail, ses activités de loisirs et son réseau social lui permettent de vivre en français. En plus de son travail au sein de la troupe « Nous tous un soleil », elle est journaliste pigiste pour « The/La Source », une publication bimensuelle francophone qui traite du multiculturalisme à Vancouver, et elle participe aux activités de la « Maison de la francophonie » - des espaces francophones qui lui permettent d’exprimer son identité linguistique.

 

Page précédente

Table des matières

Page suivante