ARCHIVED - 4. Is There a Demand . . . and Real Need?

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 6 of 12

The study findings suggest that there is both present and potential demand for improved second-language learning opportunities.

4.1 Why, according to students, are second-language learning opportunities at university important?

"Learning another language opens so many doors and exposes you to another world . . . It helps in connecting with people . . . It’s a huge benefit."

"It sounds like a cliché but learning another language breaks down barriers. It expands your way of thinking. It gives you access to a whole different way of seeing life."

"Speaking another language gives you a vehicle to understanding another person, another culture, another way of life . . . It’s a kind of bridge, another way to get closer to one another."

"It opens so many opportunities, you’re not bound to one region, one city, one culture . . ."

Student participants

Student participants in the focus groups emphasized a number of reasons why they felt learning their second language was important.

Many cited second-language skills as being a real asset for employment and career opportunities.

Students also referred to the two official languages as a fundamental element of Canadian citizenship and of Canada’s national identity, hence the desirability and importance of more Canadians speaking both languages.

Francophone students in Quebec underlined the importance of English for business and international affairs.

Strikingly, many student participants emphasized personal development and enrichment as their motivation for wanting to learn a second language. They see the need for knowledge of other languages as a given in the modern, increasingly global context—and therefore as an integral part of post-secondary education in today’s world.

4.2 Students have varied second-language learning needs that are not being met

Participants in the focus groups and key-informant interviews made it clear that students have language-learning needs that are multiple and varied, and that are not being fully met.

Many made the point that students now at or arriving at university want to maintain or improve second-language ability obtained at elementary and secondary levels. Not to do so, they feel, would mean losing their own investment of time and effort at the earlier levels and wasting the investment of significant public resources.

Students’ needs vary greatly, according to their second-language knowledge and experience, for example, in immersion or intensive second-language programs or regular programs.

Immersion graduates are looking for opportunities to continue to study in their second language at the university level, at least for some programs and courses.

Other students arriving at university want to acquire the degree of second-language proficiency that they wanted but failed to reach at the earlier levels. Often, they expressed frustration about this and a determination to do so now.

" I can’t believe I took French off-and-on throughout elementary and secondary school, sometimes immersion, most often Core French, and I still can’t speak it properly! All that time and effort . . . How can that be?

And now I’m at university, I really realize how important it is going to be to me in the future. That’s why I’m determined to master French by the time I graduate and start looking for work."

Student participant

 

Many student focus-group participants expressed a strong desire for more content in second-language learning, both cultural content and content relating to their chosen academic and career field.

Some expressed the desire to take courses in different academic areas that were taught in their second language, as a way of meeting a twin objective: to acquire greater second-language proficiency while learning subject-matter content.

"You get a thrill from being able to study a subject in another language . . . It gives you intellectual stimulation."

"I love the idea of combining learning your second language with study in an academic subject that really interests you . . . It gives you ‘two for one’ . . . A real bonus."

"The best way to learn a second language is to study in it . . . When you study a subject in your second language, you have to do it at a more profound and intimate intellectual level . . . Learning how to say ‘I saw a dog’ in your second language just isn’t enough!"

Student participants

Students all said they were looking for more opportunities to use their second language, more contact and interaction with peers and others of the other language group, and more opportunities to study, live or work in their second-language environment.

4.3 There is both actual and potential demand for more second-language learning opportunities

While it is clear that students have multiple second-language learning objectives and unmet language-learning needs, there is little hard data available on the extent of demand from students for improved second-language learning opportunities, or on the demand by employers for second-language skills.

A few studies do provide some analytical and statistical information on private-sector demand, and on the advantages of language skills and knowledge of the second language.

  • According to a study by the Canadian Council on Learning (Lessons in Learning, October 2008), employment rates in Canada are higher for individuals who speak both English and French (70%) than for persons who speak only English (just over 60%) or only French (slightly less than 60%) according to the 2006 census.
  • The same study found that persons who speak both English and French had a median income almost 10% higher than those who speak only English, and 40% higher than those who speak only French (2001 census).
  • It also reported that a survey of 63 companies across Canada found that 84% of employers considered knowledge of both English and French to be an asset or gave preference to English-French bilinguals.
  • Another recent study (Canadian Parents for French, Survey of Supervisors of Bilingual Employees, 2008) found that, outside of Quebec and the federal public service, 81% of supervisors of bilingual employees considered them "a valuable asset" to the organization.

There is widespread belief among students, university educators and administrators, government officials and other participants in the focus groups and interviews that language skills are a definite career asset. There is a strong sense that this will continue to be increasingly important.

"The private sector increasingly sees language skills as a global competency . . . This doesn’t mean only English and French, but multiple languages . . . It’s part of Canada’s ‘brand,’ part of our competitive advantage . . . For the individual, language skills mean more mobility, more opportunities . . . And the private sector sees language capability as a ‘marker’ not only of specific skills but also of attitude, of capabilities, of willingness and ability to learn . . . This is so important in today’s global, knowledge-based economy . . . "

Private-sector representative

Many persons saw the demand question as a "chicken-and-egg" situation—a wider range of varied opportunities does not currently exist, so universities are not experiencing huge demand.

Many felt that doing more would attract more students and thereby increase a university’s enrolments.

"If universities offered a range of options and choices that were ‘enticing’ to students, if appropriate supports were available, if second-language acquisition was seen as valued and valuable, if information was available and opportunities promoted . . . We would see significant demand."

Language-learning expert

"There is definitely a market out there for this . . . Lots of immersion graduates and others looking for somewhere to go . . . . "

Provincial government official

"Diversify the number and kinds of programs you offer in French and you will see, you will attract more students!"

Student participant

4.4 There are economic and societal arguments for doing more

"In a highly globalized and knowledge-based marketplace, linguistic duality is a key competitive advantage, which can help Canada further its economic success. Having two languages of international scope puts Canada at the forefront of societies with knowledge-based economies. This asset allows Canadian businesses easier access to global markets and partners. The language skills of Canada’s workforce, particularly among youth, are also a major asset for the economy. These skills strengthen Canada’s human capital advantage and allow Canadians to build stronger economic links with international partners."

Roadmap for Canada’s Linguistic Duality 2008–2013: Acting for the Future

Many persons made the point that globalization, the knowledge economy and international competition are placing a premium on new skills, including language skills, in today’s world.

Participants in the focus groups and key-informant interviews frequently expressed the view that Canada was falling behind other countries in recognizing and acting on the importance of language skills.

UNESCO has stated that "intensive and transdisciplinary learning of at least a third modern language […] should represent the normal range of practical linguistic skills in the twenty-first century."

UNESCO, Implementation of a language policy for the world based on multilingualism (2000).

"The European Union (EU) has established that, in the long term, each of its citizens should speak his or her mother tongue and two other languages."

Official Journal of the European Union (July 25, 2006).

Second-language learning is seen as important for Canadian identity and citizenship, and better understanding among Canadians.

Many participants expressed the view that Canada needs more bilingual people in many different fields in order to function effectively as a country. They emphasized that this did not mean that everyone in Canada should be bilingual; rather, it is important that all Canadians have the opportunity to become bilingual if they wish.

"[A] bilingual institution, province, or country can function efficiently only if there are a sufficient number of bilingual people to maintain contact between the two language groups."

Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism, Book One: General Introduction – The Official Languages

"[E]ffective cooperation between the two linguistic groups depends on the willingness of individual Canadians to become bilingual […].

Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism, Book Two: Education

Many noted that the Government of Canada needs to recruit more bilingual candidates and to ensure that the public service reflects the linguistic and regional diversity of Canada.

The federal government is the largest employer in the country, with close to 500,000 employees when the armed forces and government agencies are included.

In the context of public service renewal, given the retirement of many older workers, it is seen as critical for the government to have access to a larger pool of bilingual recruits, many of whom will be coming from Canada’s universities.

"The public service currently has approximately 180,000 employees who are part of the core public administration. In addition, 300,000 people work for ‘a Crown corporation established by or pursuant to an Act of Parliament and any other body that is specified by an Act of Parliament to be an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada or to be subject to the direction of the Governor in Council or a minister of the Crown’ and are therefore subject to the Official Languages Act. By comparison General Motors employed 10,800 people in Canada in 2008.

[…]

Since 2000, the federal public service has had to recruit between 12,000 and 15,000 employees per year to replace and plan for the retirement of public servants. In other words, the core public administration has to recruit more employees every year than General Motors’ entire workforce in Canada, and close to half a million people are currently employed by an institution subject to some part of the Official Languages Act."

House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages,
5,000 Bilingual Positions To Be Filled Every Year: The Role of Postsecondary Institutions In Promoting Canada’s Linguistic Duality

The Public Service and Bilingual Staffing—Some Facts

As of March 31, 2008, for (staffed) indeterminate positions in the federal public service

  • in the National Capital Region, almost 65% of all positions were bilingual.
    • Almost 54% were bilingual imperative (i.e., positions for which the linguistic requirements of the position must be met upon appointment)
    • Almost 11% were bilingual non-imperative (successful candidates may take language training after appointment)
  • nationally, almost 40% of all positions were bilingual.
    • Almost 34% were bilingual imperative
    • Just over 6% were bilingual non-imperative

The number and percentage of appointments that are made to bilingual imperative positions has increased in recent years, and appointments to bilingual non-imperative positions have declined.

  • In 2003–2004, only 496 appointments were to bilingual non-imperative positions, or 3.5% of all appointments.
  • In 2007–2008, those figures were 265 and 1.2% respectively.
  • In 2003–2004, 3404 appointments were to bilingual-imperative positions (23.9%).
  • In 2007–2008, those figures were 5482 and 25.1%, respectively.

Public Service Commission, Appointment Information and Analysis Directorate



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - 4. Y a-t-il une demande… et un besoin réel?

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 6 de 12

Les constatations de l’étude révèlent qu’il y a une demande à la fois actuelle et potentielle pour de meilleures possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde.

4.1 Pourquoi, selon les étudiants, les possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde au niveau universitaire sont-elles importantes?

« L’apprentissage d’une autre langue ouvre de nombreuses portes et vous fait découvrir un nouveau monde … Il permet d’établir des liens avec les autres… C’est un immense avantage. »

« Cela semble banal, mais l’apprentissage d’une autre langue élimine les obstacles. Cela élargit votre façon de penser et vous donne accès à une autre façon de voir le monde. »

« La connaissance d’une autre langue permet de comprendre d’autres personnes, une autre culture, un autre mode de vie… C’est comme un pont, une autre manière de se rapprocher des autres. »

« Cet apprentissage offre de nombreuses possibilités; vous n’êtes pas confinés à une région, à une ville ou à une culture… »

Étudiants ayant participé aux groupes de discussion

Les étudiants participant aux groupes de discussion ont mis l’accent sur un certain nombre de raisons pour lesquelles ils croyaient que l’apprentissage de leur langue seconde était important.

Beaucoup ont parlé des compétences en langue seconde comme d’un véritable atout pour ce qui est des possibilités d’emploi et de carrière.

Les étudiants ont également qualifié les deux langues officielles d’éléments fondamentaux de la citoyenneté canadienne et de l’identité nationale, d’où l’intérêt et l’importance qu’un plus grand nombre de Canadiens parlent ces deux langues.

Les étudiants francophones du Québec ont souligné l’importance de l’anglais pour le commerce et les affaires internationales.

Étonnamment, bon nombre d’étudiants ont également indiqué que le perfectionnement et l’enrichissement personnel étaient les raisons pour lesquelles ils voulaient apprendre une deuxième langue. Ils considèrent la nécessité de maîtriser d’autres langues comme allant de soi dans la société moderne de plus en plus axée sur la mondialisation et, par conséquent, comme une partie intégrante de l’éducation postsecondaire.

4.2 Les étudiants ont des besoins variés qui ne sont pas comblés en matière d’apprentissage en langue seconde

Les participants aux groupes de discussion et aux interviews avec des intervenants clés ont clairement indiqué que les étudiants ont des besoins multiples et variés en matière d’apprentissage linguistique, lesquels ne sont pas entièrement comblés.

Bon nombre d’entre eux ont avancé que les étudiants universitaires ou ceux qui font leur entrée à l’université veulent maintenir ou perfectionner leurs connaissances de la langue seconde acquises aux niveaux primaire et secondaire. S’ils ne le font pas, ils ont l’impression que le temps et les efforts consacrés antérieurement à cet apprentissage, de même que l’investissement d’importantes ressources publiques, auront été vains.

Les besoins des étudiants varient considérablement en fonction de la connaissance et de l’expérience qu’ils ont de la langue seconde, par exemple la participation à des programmes d’immersion ou d’apprentissage intensif ou à des programmes d’apprentissage réguliers.

Plus particulièrement, les diplômés des programmes d’immersion cherchent des possibilités pour continuer à étudier dans leur langue seconde à l’université, au moins dans le cadre de certains programmes et cours.

D’autres étudiants, faisant leur entrée à l’université, veulent acquérir le niveau de compétence qu’ils souhaitent dans la langue seconde, mais qu’ils n’ont pu atteindre auparavant. Souvent, ils expriment leur frustration à cet égard et une volonté d’apprendre maintenant.

« Je n’arrive pas à croire que j’ai suivi des cours de français de temps à autre tout au long de mes études primaires et secondaires, parfois dans le cadre de programmes d’immersion, mais le plus souvent des cours de français de base, et que je ne suis toujours pas en mesure de parler cette langue correctement! Tout ce temps et tous ces efforts… Comment est-ce possible?

Et maintenant que j’étudie à l’université, je me rends compte à quel point ce sera important pour moi dans l’avenir.

C’est pourquoi je tiens à maîtriser le français d’ici à ce que j’obtienne mon diplôme et que je commence ma recherche d’emploi. »

Étudiant ayant participé aux groupes de discussion

Beaucoup de participants aux groupes de discussion ont souligné qu’ils souhaitaient vivement plus de contenu dans l’apprentissage de la langue seconde, qu’il s’agisse de contenu culturel ou de contenu lié à leur programme d’études et à leur champ professionnel.

Quelques participants ont exprimé le désir de suivre des cours dans différents domaines d’études donnés dans leur langue seconde, afin de répondre à deux objectifs du même coup : acquérir davantage de compétences dans la langue seconde tout en étudiant dans un domaine en particulier.

« C’est passionnant d’étudier une matière dans une autre langue… C’est stimulant au plan intellectuel. »

« J’aime l’idée de combiner l’apprentissage de la langue seconde avec l’étude d’une matière qui vous intéresse vraiment… C’est du "deux pour un"… Un vrai boni! »

« Le meilleur moyen d’apprendre une langue seconde est d’étudier dans cette langue… Lorsqu’on étudie une matière dans sa langue seconde, on doit le faire à un niveau intellectuel plus profond et plus intime… Il ne suffit pas d’apprendre à dire : "J’ai vu un chien" dans votre langue seconde! »

Étudiants ayant participé aux groupes de discussion

Les étudiants ont tous dit qu’ils cherchaient davantage d’occasions d’utiliser leur langue seconde, d’entrer en communication et d’interagir avec des pairs et des personnes de l’autre groupe linguistique, et d’étudier, de vivre ou de travailler dans un milieu où leur langue seconde est utilisée.

4.3 Il y a une demande à la fois réelle et potentielle pour davantage de possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde

Même s’il est clair que les étudiants ont de multiples objectifs d’apprentissage en langue seconde et que certains de leurs besoins ne sont pas comblés, il existe peu de données objectives sur l’ampleur de leur demande relative à des possibilités d’apprentissage plus nombreuses ou sur les exigences des employeurs en ce qui a trait aux compétences dans ce domaine.

Quelques études contiennent des données analytiques et statistiques sur la demande du secteur privé et sur les avantages liés aux compétences linguistiques et à la connaissance de la langue seconde.

  • Selon une étude effectuée par le Conseil canadien sur l’apprentissage (Carnet du savoir, octobre 2008), le taux d’emploi au Canada est plus élevé chez les personnes qui parlent le français et l’anglais (70 p. 100) que chez les personnes qui ne parlent que l’anglais (un peu plus de 60 p. 100) ou que le français (un peu moins de 60 p. 100), conformément aux données du recensement de 2006.
  • Toujours selon la même étude, le revenu médian des personnes parlant le français et l’anglais est de près de 10 p. 100 supérieur à celui des unilingues anglophones et de 40 p. 100 supérieur à celui des unilingues francophones (recensement de 2001).
  • On y fait aussi état d’une enquête menée auprès de 63 entreprises de partout au Canada selon laquelle 84 p. 100 des employeurs considèrent la connaissance du français et de l’anglais comme un atout ou disent accorder la préférence aux personnes bilingues.
  • Une autre étude publiée récemment (Canadian Parents for French, Enquête auprès des superviseurs d’employés bilingues, 2008) a révélé qu’à l’extérieur du Québec et de la fonction publique fédérale, 81 p. 100 des superviseurs d’employés bilingues considèrent ces derniers comme un « précieux atout » pour leur organisation.

De nombreux étudiants, membres du personnel enseignant et administrateurs d’université, représentants du gouvernement et autres participants aux groupes de discussion et aux interviews croient que les compétences linguistiques constituent un net atout sur le plan de la carrière. Ils sont fortement convaincus que cette tendance s’accentuera.

« Le secteur privé considère de plus en plus les capacités langagières comme des compétences d’ordre mondial… Il ne s’agit pas uniquement du français et de l’anglais, mais de multiples langues… Elles font partie de la "marque" Canada, de notre avantage concurrentiel… Sur le plan individuel, les capacités langagières signifient un accroissement de la mobilité et des possibilités… En outre, le secteur privé considère les compétences linguistiques non seulement comme une indication non seulement de compétences particulières, mais aussi de l’attitude, des capacités, de la volonté et de la capacité d’apprendre… Ces capacités sont primordiales dans l’économie mondiale actuelle, fondée sur le savoir… »

Représentant du secteur privé

Bon nombre des personnes interrogées traitent la question de la demande comme le problème de l’« œuf et de la poule ». Comme les possibilités ne sont pas très variées en ce moment, les universités n’enregistrent pas une forte demande.

Plusieurs personnes croyaient qu’en redoublant d’efforts, on attirerait davantage d’étudiants et que l’on accroîtrait ainsi les inscriptions dans les universités.

« Si les universités offraient une gamme de possibilités et de choix "intéressants" aux étudiants, si des appuis appropriés étaient accessibles, si l’apprentissage d’une langue seconde était valorisé et jugé utile, si l’information était accessible et si l’on faisait valoir les possibilités… il y aurait une forte demande. »

Spécialiste de l’apprentissage linguistique

« Sans contredit, il existe un tel marché… De nombreux diplômés de programmes d’immersion et d’autres personnes cherchent un lieu où aller… »

Représentant d’un gouvernement provincial

« Si vous diversifiez le nombre et les types de programmes que vous offrez en français, vous constaterez que vous attirerez un plus grand nombre d’étudiants! »

Étudiant ayant participé aux groupes de discussion

4.4 Des arguments économiques et sociétaux pour en faire plus

« Dans un marché de plus en plus mondialisé et axé sur le savoir, la dualité linguistique représente un avantage concurrentiel clé, susceptible de favoriser l’essor économique du pays. Comptant à son actif deux langues d’envergure internationale, le Canada est à l’avant-plan des sociétés dont les économies sont axées sur le savoir. Cet atout permet aux entreprises canadiennes d’avoir un meilleur accès aux marchés et aux partenaires à l’échelle internationale. Les compétences linguistiques de la main-d’œuvre canadienne, en particulier chez les jeunes, représentent également un atout important pour l’économie, renforçant les avantages du capital humain canadien et permettant aux Canadiens d’établir des liens économiques plus solides avec leurs partenaires internationaux. »

Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne 2008-2013 : Agir pour l’avenir

De l’avis de plusieurs, la mondialisation, l’économie fondée sur le savoir et la concurrence internationale valorisent davantage des nouvelles compétences, y compris les compétences linguistiques, dans le monde d’aujourd’hui.

Les participants aux groupes de discussion et aux interviews avec des intervenants clés ont souvent indiqué que le Canada prend du retard sur d’autres pays dans la reconnaissance de l’importance des compétences linguistiques et la mise en oeuvre de mesures à cet égard.

L’UNESCO a déclaré que « l’apprentissage intensif et transdisciplinaire d’au moins une troisième langue vivante […] devrait constituer l’éventail normal des connaissances linguistiques pratiques au XXIe siècle. »

UNESCO, Mise en œuvre d’une politique linguistique mondiale fondée sur le plurilinguisme, 2000.

L’Union européenne (UE) a établi qu’à long terme, chacun de ses citoyens devra maîtriser sa langue maternelle ainsi que deux autres langues.

Journal officiel de l’Union européenne, 25 juillet 2006.

L’apprentissage de la langue seconde est considéré comme important pour l’identité et la citoyenneté canadiennes, et pour une meilleure compréhension entre les Canadiens.

Plusieurs participants ont indiqué que le Canada avait besoin d’un plus grand nombre de personnes bilingues, et ce, dans divers domaines, afin de fonctionner efficacement en tant que pays. Ils ont insisté sur le fait que cela ne signifie pas que tous les Canadiens devraient être bilingues, mais plutôt qu’il est important que tous les Canadiens aient la possibilité de devenir bilingues s’ils le souhaitent.

« [U]ne institution, une province, un pays bilingues ne sauraient fonctionner efficacement que s’il existe un nombre suffisant d’individus bilingues pour assurer les rapports entre les deux groupes linguistiques. »

Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme, Livre I : Introduction générale – Les langues officielles

« [U]ne fructueuse collaboration entre les deux communautés exige que les particuliers soient disposés à devenir bilingues. »

Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme, Livre II : L’éducation

Plusieurs participants ont affirmé que le gouvernement du Canada devait recruter un plus grand nombre de candidats bilingues et veiller à ce que la fonction publique reflète la diversité linguistique et régionale du Canada.

Le gouvernement fédéral est le plus important employeur du pays, comptant près de 500 000 employés, forces armées et organismes gouvernementaux compris.

« La fonction publique fédérale compte aujourd’hui environ 180 000 employés qui font partie de l’Administration publique centrale. Il faut ajouter à ce nombre les 300 000 personnes qui travaillent pour "les sociétés d’État créées sous le régime d’une loi fédérale et tout autre organisme désigné par la loi à titre de mandataire de Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou placé sous la tutelle du gouverneur en conseil ou d’un ministre fédéral" et qui sont, à ce titre, soumises à la Loi sur les langues officielles. À titre de comparaison, General Motors comptait 10 800 employés au Canada en 2008.

[…]

Depuis 2000, la fonction publique fédérale doit recruter entre 12 000 et 15 000 employés par année pour compenser et planifier les départs à la retraite. C’est donc dire que, chaque année, l’administration publique centrale doit recruter plus d’employés que l’effectif total de General Motors au Canada, et que près d’un demi-million de personnes travaillent aujourd’hui au sein d’une institution assujettie à l’une ou l’autre des parties de la Loi sur les langues officielles. »

Comité permanent des langues officielles de la Chambre des communes,
5 000 postes bilingues à combler chaque année : Le rôle des institutions postsecondaires dans la promotion de la dualité linguistique canadienne

Dans le cadre du renouvellement de la fonction publique, et compte tenu du départ à la retraite de beaucoup de travailleurs âgés, il est essentiel que le gouvernement ait accès à un plus grand bassin de recrues bilingues dont bon nombre sortiront des universités canadiennes.

Fonction publique et dotation de postes bilingues – Quelques données

En date du 31 mars 2008, les postes à durée indéterminée dans la fonction publique fédérale se répartissaient comme suit :

  • Dans la région de la capitale nationale, près de 65 p. 100 des postes étaient bilingues.
  • Près de 54 p. 100 des postes étaient des postes bilingues à nomination impérative (c’est-à-dire des postes pour lesquels les exigences linguistiques doivent être satisfaites au moment de la nomination).
  • Près de 11 p. 100, des postes étaient des postes bilingues à nomination non impérative (les candidats retenus peuvent suivre une formation linguistique après leur nomination).
    • À l’échelle nationale, près de 40 p. 100 de tous les postes étaient bilingues.
  • Près de 34 p. 100 des postes étaient des postes bilingues à nomination impérative.
  • Un peu plus de 6 p. 100 des postes étaient des postes bilingues à nomination non impérative.
  • Ces dernières années, le nombre et la proportion de nominations ont augmenté dans les postes bilingues à nomination impérative et diminué dans les postes bilingues à nomination non impérative.

    • En 2003-2004, on a dénombré seulement 496 nominations à des postes bilingues à nomination non impérative, soit 3,5 p. 100 de toutes les nominations.
    • En 2007-2008, on en a enregistré 265 nominations, soit 1,2 p. 100 de toutes les nominations. 
    • En 2003-2004, on comptabilisait 3 404 nominations à des postes bilingues à nomination impérative (23,9 p. 100).
    • En 2007-2008, ce nombre est passé à 5 482, soit une proportion de 25,1 p. 100.

    Commission de la fonction publique, Direction de l’information sur les nominations et de l’analyse



    Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante