ARCHIVED - 2. Methodology

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 4 of 12

2.1 Advisory Committee

At the outset of the study, an advisory committee was established to provide overall guidance and advice. The Committee was co-chaired by the Commissioner of Official Languages, Graham Fraser, and the then President of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC), Claire Morris.

Members of the Advisory Committee included senior representatives from universities, education and research organizations, the private sector, and the federal and provincial/territorial governments (see the Appendix for the list of members). Members brought to the Committee their own knowledge and experience in the language-learning area as well as the perspective of their organization.

The Advisory Committee met three times between March 2008 and April 2009. The Committee discussed the overall objectives, scope and methodology of the study, and provided input and advice on the development of the survey of institutions and the planning of the focus groups and key-informant interviews. It examined the results and findings from the study and discussed possible next steps and ways to move forward.

2.2 Survey of institutions

The study was undertaken in two phases.

In the first phase, a survey was conducted by the firm Ipsos Reid to gather information and data on the nature and extent of current opportunities for second-language learning in Canadian universities.

A detailed questionnaire was developed seeking information on the following:

  • university programs and courses to learn the second language; 
  • second-language courses that are linked to specific academic disciplines;
  • the availability of courses in academic areas, other than language and literature, taught in the second language;
  • language-learning supports and assistance, including exchanges; 
  • collaboration between institutions; and
  • university second-language learning policies, requirements and current initiatives.

The survey was sent to all 96 members of the AUCC, and was in the field between June 5 and September 22, 2008. A total of 84 institutions completed and returned the questionnaire, which represents an excellent response rate.

A few caveats should be pointed out regarding the data collected through the survey.

First, it should be noted that the survey contained a relatively large number of questions and dealt with issues that were often complex in nature—for example, making distinctions between courses for the teaching and learning of the second language, courses taught in the second language, immersion-type programs and second-language courses linked to specific academic subject areas.

Institutions therefore responded to the survey questions according to their own understanding and definition of these and other terms—for example, whether their programs and courses were at the beginner, intermediate or more advanced levels; or what constituted a second-language learning policy.

Nonetheless, within these limitations, the survey results provide an overall portrait of current second-language learning opportunities at universities in Canada and a wealth of information about them and related supports and activities.

2.3 Focus groups and key-informant interviews

The second phase of the study consisted of focus groups and key-informant interviews. The objective was to complement the quantitative data and information from the survey with more qualitative information based on the hands-on experience of students and university faculty and staff and the knowledge and perspective of language experts and other key persons and organizations.

Focus groups

OCOL contracted the firm Goss Gilroy to plan, organize and conduct the focus groups. A total of 15 focus groups were held in late fall 2008 and winter 2009. The focus groups were conducted separately with students and with university professors and administrators.

The focus groups included a mix of students, with a wide variety of experiences in second-language learning at the elementary and secondary levels and in the type of program or course they were taking or had taken at university. Separate interviews were also held with students who had dropped out of second-language programs at university. The faculty focus groups included second-language teachers, professors from different disciplines and program administrators.

A protocol was developed for use in the focus groups, with questions seeking information on factors motivating students to pursue second-language learning, what was effective in second-language programs, how they could be improved and related supports and activities.

The focus groups were held at eight institutions in different locations across Canada, selected to provide information from a variety of regional, linguistic and institutional perspectives and experiences. The eight institutions can be categorized as follows:

  • Bilingual institution (1): University of Ottawa / Université d’Ottawa
  • English-language institutions outside Quebec (4): Memorial University, Simon Fraser University, University of Alberta, University of Toronto
  • English-language institution in Quebec (1): McGill University
  • French-language institution in Quebec (1): Université Laval
  • French-language institution in Alberta (1): Campus Saint-Jean

Key-informant interviews

During the same period, over 25 interviews were held with senior university officials, second-language learning experts, federal and provincial/territorial officials, and representatives from education and other relevant organizations.

An interview questionnaire was developed and shared with participants prior to the interview, identifying key areas of interest and concern. A set of general questions were asked of all persons being interviewed, and more specific questions were asked according to the responsibilities, knowledge or experience of the individual.

2.4 Structure of the report

The report is organized as follows:

  • First, the report outlines the current opportunities for second- language learning offered at Canadian universities, and identifies gaps and shortcomings.
  • It then looks at the demand and need for increased and improved opportunities.
  • The report goes on to examine what is known about what works in second-language programs, how current programs could be improved, and key issues and challenges.
  • It then considers ways to move forward, proposing broad directions and areas for attention, identifying potential models and approaches, and summarizing suggestions that were put forward in the course of the study as to next steps and possible future action by different parties.
  • The report concludes with a series of recommendations by the Commissioner of Official Languages addressed to institutions, governments and other relevant parties.


Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - 2. Méthodologie

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 4 de 12

2.1 Le Comité consultatif

Au début de l’étude, un comité consultatif a été formé pour fournir des directives générales et des conseils. Le Comité consultatif était coprésidé par le commissaire aux langues officielles, Graham Fraser, et par la présidente de l’Association des universités et collèges du Canada (AUCC) de l’époque, Claire Morris.

Le Comité consultatif regroupait des représentants d’universités, d’organismes s’occupant d’éducation et de recherche, du secteur privé ainsi que des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (voir l’annexe pour la liste des membres). Ces membres ont apporté au Comité leur connaissance et leur expérience dans le domaine de l’apprentissage linguistique de même que le point de vue de leur organisme.

Le Comité consultatif s’est réuni à trois reprises entre les mois de mars 2008 et d’avril 2009. Ses membres ont discuté des objectifs généraux, de la portée et de la méthodologie de l’étude en plus d’émettre des commentaires et de fournir des conseils sur l’élaboration du sondage auprès des établissements, de même que sur la planification des groupes de discussion et des interviews avec des intervenants clés. Ils ont étudié les résultats et les constatations de l’étude et discuté des prochaines étapes éventuelles ainsi que des façons d’aller de l’avant.

2.2 Le sondage auprès des établissements

L’étude comportait deux phases.

Durant la première phase, Ipsos Reid a mené un sondage pour recueillir de l’information et des données sur la nature et l’étendue des actuelles possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités canadiennes.

Un questionnaire détaillé a été élaboré pour recueillir de l’information sur les sujets suivants :

  • les programmes et les cours universitaires visant l’apprentissage de la langue seconde;
  • les cours de langue seconde liés à des disciplines universitaires précises;
  • l’offre de cours dans des programmes d’enseignement autres que les langues et la littérature qui sont enseignés dans la langue seconde;
  • le soutien et l’aide à l’apprentissage en matière de langues, y compris les échanges;
  • la collaboration entre les établissements; 
  • les politiques, les exigences et les initiatives actuelles en matière d’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités.

Le questionnaire a été envoyé aux 96 membres de l’AUCC, et le sondage a été effectué du 5 juin au 22 septembre 2008. Un total de 84 établissements ont rempli et retourné le questionnaire, ce qui représente un excellent taux de participation.

Quelques avertissements devraient être émis concernant les données recueillies dans le cadre du sondage.

Il importe d’abord de noter que le sondage contenait un assez grand nombre de questions et traitait d’enjeux de nature souvent complexe. Par exemple, l’établissement de distinctions entre les cours pour l’enseignement et l’apprentissage de la langue seconde, les cours offerts dans cette langue, les programmes de type immersion et les cours de langue seconde liés à des matières précises.

Par conséquent, les établissements ont répondu aux questions du sondage selon leur propre compréhension et leur définition de ces expressions et autres, par exemple si leurs programmes et cours étaient de niveau débutant, intermédiaire ou avancé; ou les éléments constitutifs d’une politique en matière d’apprentissage en langue seconde.

Néanmoins, dans ces limites, les résultats du sondage nous fournissent une vue d’ensemble des possibilités actuelles d’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités canadiennes de même que toute une gamme de renseignements à leur sujet et sur le soutien à l’apprentissage et les activités connexes.

2.3 Les groupes de discussion et les interviews avec des intervenants clés

Des groupes de discussion et des interviews avec des intervenants clés formaient la deuxième phase de l’étude. L’objectif était d’ajouter aux données quantitatives et à l’information recueillies dans le cadre du sondage des renseignements plus qualitatifs fondés sur l’expérience pratique des étudiants, des professeurs et du personnel universitaires, ainsi que les connaissances et les points de vue de spécialistes en langue et d’autres personnes et organismes clés.

Groupes de discussion

Le Commissariat a engagé l’entreprise Goss Gilroy afin qu’elle planifie, organise et dirige les groupes de discussion. Au total, 15 groupes se sont réunis à la fin de l’automne 2008 et durant l’hiver 2009. Ces rencontres ont eu lieu séparément avec des étudiants ainsi qu’avec des professeurs et des administrateurs d’université.

Les groupes de discussion comprenaient une combinaison d’étudiants ayant un vaste éventail d’expériences dans l’apprentissage d’une langue seconde aux niveaux primaire et secondaire de même que dans le type de programme ou de cours qu’ils suivaient ou avaient suivi à l’université.

Des interviews distinctes ont également été réalisées avec des étudiants ayant abandonné des programmes d’enseignement en langue seconde à l’université. Les groupes de discussion des facultés étaient formés de professeurs de langue seconde, de professeurs d’autres disciplines et d’administrateurs de programmes.

Un protocole a été mis au point à des fins d’utilisation dans les groupes de discussion et contenait des questions visant à obtenir de l’information sur les facteurs motivant les étudiants à poursuivre leur apprentissage en langue seconde, sur les éléments efficaces des programmes d’enseignement en langue seconde, sur la façon de les améliorer et, enfin, sur les outils d’apprentissage et les activités connexes.

Les groupes de discussion se sont réunis dans huit établissements à divers endroits du Canada, choisis en vue de fournir des renseignements provenant d’une variété d’expériences et de points de vue régionaux, linguistiques et institutionnels. Voici un classement de ces huit établissements :

  • Établissement bilingue (1) : Université d’Ottawa / University of Ottawa
  • Établissements de langue anglaise hors Québec (4) : Memorial University, Université Simon Fraser, University of Alberta, University of Toronto
  • Établissement de langue anglaise au Québec (1) : Université McGill 
  • Établissement de langue française au Québec (1) : Université Laval
  • Établissement de langue française situé en Alberta (1) : Campus Saint-Jean

Interviews avec des intervenants clés

Au cours de la même période, plus de 25 interviews ont été menées avec des cadres supérieurs d’universités, des spécialistes de l’apprentissage d’une langue seconde, des représentants des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi que des représentants du secteur de l’éducation et d’autres organismes pertinents.

Un questionnaire d’interview, ciblant les principaux secteurs d’intérêt et de préoccupation, a été élaboré et communiqué aux participants avant l’interview. Une série de questions générales s’adressaient à toutes les personnes interrogées, alors que des questions plus spécifiques leur étaient posées en fonction de leurs responsabilités, connaissances ou expériences.

2.4 La structure du rapport

Le rapport est structuré comme suit :

  • Il présente d’abord les possibilités actuelles qu’offrent les universités canadiennes en matière d’apprentissage en langue seconde et cerne les lacunes et les faiblesses.
  • Il traite ensuite de la demande et du besoin de possibilités accrues et améliorées.
  • Il porte aussi sur l’examen des connaissances relatives aux éléments qui fonctionnent dans les programmes d’apprentissage en langue seconde, des manières d’améliorer les programmes actuels, de même que des questions et des défis clés.
  • Puis, il suggère des moyens d’aller de l’avant en proposant de grandes orientations et des secteurs qui nécessitent de l’attention, en désignant des modèles et des approches possibles et en résumant les suggestions formulées durant l’étude par les différentes parties comme prochaines étapes et futures mesures possibles.
  • Il se termine avec une série de recommandations du commissaire aux langues officielles à l’intention des établissements, des gouvernements et des autres parties concernées.


Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante