ARCHIVED - 1. Introduction

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 3 of 12

Society faces no greater challenge than that of educating and preparing its young people for the future—for work and career, for social interaction, for cultural and leisure activities, for becoming contributing and productive citizens of their own country and citizens of the world.

For Canada and for Canadians, meeting this challenge has an important linguistic dimension: ensuring that all Canadians have the opportunity for a first-class education in their own first official language, that they have the opportunity as well to learn the other official language and that newcomers to Canada have the opportunity to learn the country’s two official languages.

While extensive knowledge has been accumulated about second-language learning at the elementary and secondary levels in Canada, less is known about second-language learning at the university level—the extent of current second-language-learning opportunities, key issues and challenges, and what is effective.

This report presents findings and results from a major study on second-language-learning opportunities in Canada’s universities undertaken in 2008 and 2009 by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL).

The objective of the study was to expand the knowledge base about opportunities for students to develop their second-official-language skills while pursuing higher education and preparing for their working career.

Related objectives were to identify challenges and barriers, potential models and approaches, and ideas on how to improve second-language learning opportunities at the university level.

Interest in this question reflects the new socioeconomic realities of globalization and the skill demands of the knowledge-based economy, including language skills and openness to other cultures.

It also arises in part from the large numbers of graduates of immersion and other second-language programs that are currently studying or preparing to study at the post-secondary level.

As well, for the Government of Canada, there is a compelling need, as part of the renewal of the public service, to have access to a larger pool of bilingual recruits.

OCOL’s interest in this area also reflects the amendments to the Official Languages Act adopted by Parliament in 2005 that strengthen the legislative commitment of the Government of Canada to take positive measures and work with other interested parties to promote Canada’s linguistic duality. This includes second-language learning and greater understanding between Canada’s two official-language communities.

It should also be noted that the House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages has recently tabled a report entitled 5,000 Bilingual Positions To Be Filled Every Year: The Role of Postsecondary Institutions In Promoting Canada’s Linguistic Duality in which it examines questions relating to second-language learning at Canada’s universities and makes a number of recommendations.1

The scope of this study included French as a second language across Canada, and, in Quebec, English as a second language. This is what is meant by the term second language as it is used in this report.

It is hoped that this study will encourage institutions, governments and other interested parties to work together to improve second-language learning in Canada’s universities.

More than 40 years ago, the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism underlined in its report the importance of second-language learning for Canada and for Canadians.

This year, 2009, marks the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act. The time has come for Canada to ensure that a true continuum of second-language learning opportunities is available for all Canadians from elementary school through to the labour market, as an important and integral part of meeting the challenge of preparing our young people for the future.

The Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism

Most Canadians believe that a second language should be taught in the schools, and that it should be the second official language of the country [...].

Today, on all continents with the possible exception of North America, the study of a second language is as much taken for granted as the study of geography or mathematics [...].

Today’s child will live in a mobile and highly competitive society. What parent in 1968 can know with any certainty where his child will live in the year 2000, or even what career opportunities his child will have? It is apparent however that the child who learns English or French as a second language will have career opportunities that other children will not have.

Learning a second language is also a valuable educational experience because it brings the child into contact with a different culture. In Canada such contact can provide our children with knowledge and appreciation of the culture of many other Canadians [...]. Language learning can increase the number of bilingual Canadians and so reduce the language barrier in our country. It can play a significant role in increasing the mutual understanding of the two cultural groups [...].

The need for second language teaching cannot be seriously questioned.

The majority of Canadians are aware of this need and feel that all children should study French or English as a second language in school.

The national interest also underlines the need for Canadian school children to study the second official language.

The question therefore is not so much whether it should be taught but how it can be better taught.

Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism, Book Two: Education

 

In 40 years, Canada has made significant progress in terms of individual bilingualism [...].

This said, there are still various obstacles facing some Canadians who would benefit from learning English or French as a second language, or who would like to do so. This situation must be rectified.

In fact, at a time when Canada is facing a major world-wide economic and financial crisis, it is important to stress that economic and language issues, contrary to what some might say, are related. [...]

Consequently, any reversal by the federal government on its commitments to linguistic duality, or any slowdown by the provincial or territorial governments in implementing learning support programs for English or French as a second language may have significant repercussions on the country’s economy. The mistake could in fact be so serious that it would take years to correct.

The attitude of Canadians towards English or French second-language learning has never been so positive [...].

The federal government and its partners should build on this solid support and increase their support in a coherent manner for the implementation of a true official-language-learning continuum across Canada [...].

Graham Fraser, Commissioner of Official Languages, 2008–2009 Annual Report

Ensuring that this access exists across Canada is an important investment in our country’s future, as it enables young Canadians to acquire skills that will benefit them professionally, personally and culturally. In the current economic climate, language skills are an important factor in terms of professional mobility and competitive edge [...].

After 40 years of language policy, it is high time we eliminate the last roadblocks on this path.

Graham Fraser, Commissioner of Official Languages,
Statement to the media for the launch of the 2008–2009 Annual Report

Notes

1. House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages, 5,000 Bilingual Positions To Be Filled Every Year: The Role of Postsecondary Institutions In Promoting Canada’s Linguistic Duality, http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=3999183&Mode=1&Parl=40&Ses=2&Language=EGovernment site.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - 1. Introduction

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 3 de 12

Il n’y a pas de défi plus grand pour une société que l’éducation et la préparation des jeunes pour l’avenir – pour le travail et la carrière, pour l’interaction sociale, pour les activités culturelles et de loisirs, pour qu’ils deviennent des citoyens productifs de leur propre pays et des citoyens du monde.

Pour le Canada et les Canadiens, relever ce défi comporte une importante dimension linguistique : s’assurer que tous les Canadiens ont accès à une éducation de premier ordre dans leur langue maternelle officielle, qu’ils ont aussi la possibilité d’apprendre l’autre langue officielle et que les nouveaux arrivants ont la possibilité d’apprendre nos deux langues officielles.

Nous en savons beaucoup sur l’apprentissage en langue seconde aux niveaux primaire et secondaire au Canada, mais nous avons moins de connaissances en ce qui concerne l’apprentissage en langue seconde au niveau universitaire – l’étendue des possibilités actuelles, les principaux enjeux et les défis de même que les mesures qui sont efficaces.

Le présent rapport expose les constatations et les résultats d’une étude d’envergure sur les possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités canadiennes. Elle a été réalisée en 2008 et en 2009 par le Commissariat aux langues officielles.

L’étude a comme objectif d’approfondir notre connaissance des possibilités qui s’offrent aux étudiants de perfectionner leurs compétences dans la deuxième langue officielle tout en poursuivant des études supérieures et en se préparant à leur carrière.

Les objectifs connexes visent à dégager les défis et les obstacles, les modèles et les approches possibles ainsi que des idées pour améliorer les possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde au niveau universitaire.

L’intérêt porté à cette question illustre les nouvelles réalités socioéconomiques de la mondialisation et les compétences qu’exige une économie fondée sur le savoir, dont des compétences linguistiques et l’ouverture à d’autres cultures.

Cet intérêt découle aussi en partie du grand nombre de diplômés de programmes d’immersion et d’autres programmes de langue seconde qui étudient présentement ou se préparent à étudier au niveau postsecondaire.

En outre, le gouvernement du Canada se doit, dans le cadre du renouvellement de la fonction publique, d’avoir accès à un bassin plus considérable de recrues bilingues.

Le Commissariat y trouve aussi un intérêt en raison des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les langues officielles par le Parlement en 2005, lesquelles renforcent l’engagement législatif du gouvernement du Canada de prendre des mesures positives et de travailler avec les autres parties intéressées afin de promouvoir la dualité linguistique du Canada. Ces mesures comprennent l’apprentissage de la langue seconde et visent une meilleure compréhension entre les deux communautés de langue officielle du pays.

Il importe également de noter que le Comité permanent des langues officielles de la Chambre des communes a récemment déposé un rapport intitulé 5 000 postes bilingues à combler chaque année : Le rôle des institutions postsecondaires dans la promotion de la dualité linguistique canadienne, lequel traite de questions liées à l’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités canadiennes et où sont formulées plusieurs recommandations1.

Cette étude porte sur le français en tant que langue seconde partout au Canada et également, au Québec, sur l’anglais en tant que langue seconde. C’est le sens donné à l’expression langue seconde dans le cadre du présent rapport.

Nous espérons que cette étude encouragera les établissements, les gouvernements et les autres parties intéressées à travailler ensemble pour améliorer l’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités canadiennes.

Il y a plus de 40 ans, la Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme avait souligné, dans son rapport, l’importance de l’apprentissage de la langue seconde pour le Canada et les Canadiens.

L’année 2009 marque le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Le temps est venu pour le Canada de veiller à ce qu’un véritable continuum de possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde soit mis à la disposition de tous les Canadiens de l’école primaire jusqu’au marché du travail en tant qu’élément essentiel pour relever le défi qu’est la préparation des jeunes pour l’avenir.

Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme

« […] la majorité des Canadiens estiment que l’école doit dispenser cet enseignement et optent en l’occurrence pour l’"autre" langue officielle de notre pays […].

Aujourd’hui, sur tous les continents, sauf en Amérique du Nord peut-être, l’étude d’une langue étrangère va de soi, tout comme celle de la géographie ou des mathématiques […].

Il [le jeune Canadien] est destiné à vivre dans un monde de mobilité et de haute concurrence. Quels parents peuvent prévoir en 1968 où leurs enfants seront établis en l’an 2000? Quelles carrières s’offriront à eux? On peut prédire toutefois de meilleures chances d’avenir aux enfants qui apprennent une langue seconde, l’anglais ou le français. […]

En outre, l’acquisition d’une deuxième langue est source d’enrichissement, car elle ouvre à une autre culture. Au Canada, cette autre culture est celle d’un grand nombre de Canadiens. […] En multipliant les bilingues, [l’]enseignement [de la langue seconde] réduira le fossé linguistique. Il peut jouer un rôle considérable aussi en favorisant au sein de chaque groupe la compréhension des attitudes et des aspirations de l’autre. […]

On ne saurait mettre en doute la nécessité d’enseigner une deuxième langue. La majorité des Canadiens, conscients de cet impératif, estiment que tous les écoliers doivent apprendre le français ou l’anglais, selon le cas, comme deuxième langue. De plus, il est conforme à l’intérêt du pays qu’ils apprennent l’autre langue officielle. Il ne s’agit donc pas de savoir si cet enseignement est opportun, mais comment l’améliorer. »

Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme, Livre II : L’éducation

 

« En 40 ans, le Canada a fait des progrès marqués en matière de bilinguisme individuel […].

Cela dit, différents obstacles se dressent toujours devant une partie des Canadiens qui gagnerait à apprendre le français ou l’anglais langue seconde ou qui souhaiterait le faire. Cette situation doit être corrigée.

En effet, alors que le Canada affronte une crise économique et financière majeure qui touche toute la planète, il importe d’insister sur le fait que les enjeux économiques et linguistiques, contrairement à ce que certains pensent, sont liés. […]

Par conséquent, tout recul du gouvernement fédéral quant à ses engagements en matière de dualité linguistique ou tout ralentissement de la mise en œuvre des programmes d’appui à l’apprentissage du français ou de l’anglais langue seconde des provinces et territoires risqueraient d’avoir des répercussions importantes sur l’économie du pays. Il pourrait en fait s’agir d’une erreur grave que nous mettrions sans doute des années à corriger.

L’attitude des Canadiens face à l’apprentissage du français ou de l’anglais langue seconde n’a jamais été aussi favorable. […]

Le gouvernement fédéral et ses partenaires devraient tabler sur cet appui solide et intensifier de façon cohérente leur soutien à la mise en place d’un véritable continuum en matière d’apprentissage des langues officielles partout au Canada. »

Graham Fraser, commissaire aux langues officielles, Rapport annuel 2008-2009

« [A]ssurer que cet accès est possible partout au Canada [est] un investissement important dans l’avenir de notre pays qui permet aux jeunes Canadiens d’acquérir des compétences qui leur serviront sur les plans professionnel, personnel et culturel. Dans les circonstances économiques actuelles, les compétences linguistiques constituent un facteur important de mobilité professionnelle et un avantage concurrentiel. […]

Après 40 ans de politiques linguistiques, il est grand temps d’ouvrir les derniers tronçons de cette route. »

Graham Fraser, commissaire aux langues officielles, Déclaration aux médias à l’occasion du dépôt du Rapport annuel 2008-2009

Notes

1 Comité permanent des langues officielles de la Chambre des communes, 5 000 postes bilingues à combler chaque année : Le rôle des institutions postsecondaires dans la promotion de la dualité linguistique canadienne, http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?DocId=3999183&Mode=1&Parl=40&Ses=2&Language=FSite du gouvernement.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante