ARCHIVED - 2. Overview of the English-speaking community of Québec City

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 4 of 7

2.1 Population

2.1.1 History

The site where modern Québec City now stands was originally an Indian village called Stadacona. Seventy years after Jacques Cartier failed to establish a settlement in 1541, Samuel de Champlain led the expedition in 1608 that set up a colony where Québec City is today. Samuel de Champlain is now known as the Father of New France, and is being commemorated within Québec City’s 400th anniversary celebrations.

Québec City has been home to English-speaking residents since its earliest days as a fur trading post, but the English-speaking community became permanently established with the arrival of British forces in 1759.9 Today, the Quebec Chronicle-Telegraph carries on the tradition of its forebearer, the Quebec Gazette, founded in 1764 and North America’s oldest newspaper. Québec City became the capital of British North America for most of the years leading up to Confederation, and was a major port of entry for immigrants from Europe. English-speaking people could be found in every walk of life: as colonial administrators, merchants involved in transcontinental trade, soldiers housed at the garrison and poor (mostly Irish) immigrants working as longshoremen in the shipyards. All played an important role in the development of the city.

In 1818, the first major wave of immigrants from England, Ireland, and Scotland started arriving, peaking at 96,000 in 1847. Many established themselves in Québec City. In 1861, the Irish population of Québec City was one third of the total population, amounting to 59,990 persons, and 51% of Québec City’s population was English speaking. Only 10 years later, however, this percentage had dropped by almost a third as English speakers started leaving Quebec for other parts of Canada and the United States. The population gradually dwindled as Montréal replaced Québec City as a centre of commerce and industry. In 1921, only 10% of the population was English speaking; in 1971, the percentage was down to 6%, and English speakers now represent 1.9% of the total population in the Québec metropolitan area.

2.1.2 Demographics10

The demographic profile was drawn from the Québec City census measurement area.

Demography
According to the 2006 census, the population whose first official language spoken (FOLS) is English is 9,780, representing 1.9% of the total population of the Québec City area. The FOLS English-speaking population represents just over 1% of the Quebec total for those whose FOLS is English.

Age
Just under 19% of the Québec City area’s FOLS English-language population is over the age of 65, compared with 15% of the total population of the region. The English-speaking population below the age of 15 represents some 9% of the total population, compared with 14.6% of the overall Québec City area population. These figures indicate that the English-speaking population of the area has a somewhat higher degree of dependency (ratio of seniors to youth) than the overall population of the area.

Origins and migration
Within the Québec City English-speaking population some 14.3% were born outside of Canada in contrast to the region as a whole, where the figure is about 4.2%. Hence the English-speaking population, of the Québec City area is far more diverse than the overall population and nearly one in 10 immigrants in the Québec City area report that their first official language is English. Between 2001 and 2006 the English-speaking population of Québec City had a net loss of over 600 persons (over 6% of the group) on the basis of migration in and out of the area.

Language
The English-speaking community of Québec City has encountered considerable language shift, as a significant number of persons whose language first learned and still understood is English declare that they speak French most often in their homes. Indeed, in 2006, a slight majority of Québec City English-speakers, as defined by mother tongue, report speaking mostly French in their homes. The shifts have, to a limited degree, been offset by Francophones reporting that they speak English in their homes. However, it is clear that language shifts have a profound impact on the community’s sense of identity.

Socio-economic condition
According to the 2001 census, on the basis of income, the English-speaking population of the Québec City area compares favourably with the overall population of the area.

2.1.3 Summary

Generally, the English-speaking community of Québec City has been witnessing a slow but steady decline in population that is marked by three predominant demographic features (compared to the overall population of the region): there is a higher proportion of seniors, a lower proportion of youth and an increasing level of language shift that signals a certain element of integration, if not assimilation, within the majority French-speaking population.

2.2 Community resources

As members of a centuries-old community, Englishspeaking Québec City residents have developed considerable community resources. The community hosts a varied and active cultural life encompassing theatre, visual arts, music, heritage attractions and museums, news media, sports, educational institutions and more.

Arts and culture

  • Dance – Friday Night Traditional Dances, Shannon Irish Dancers
  • Writing – Quebec Writer’s Circle
  • Books – Ste-Foy Book Group
  • Music – Quebec Celtic Festival, 78th Fraser Highlanders Pipe Band
  • Theatre – Quebec Art Company

Education

  • Central Québec School Board (3 high schools, 6 elementary schools, 1 adult education/vocational training centre, 1 community learning centre)
  • Champlain Regional College (CEGEP) – St. Lawrence campus
  • English Second Language Teachers Network
  • Quebec City Reading Council

Communications

  • Television – Global Quebec
  • Radio – CBC, Québec Tourism Radio
  • Print – Quebec Chronicle-Telegraph

Health and social services

  • Jeffery Hale Hospital
  • Jeffery Hale Community Services
  • Holland Resources Development Corporation
  • Fraser Recovery Program
  • Community Health and Social Services Network (CHSSN)
  • Alcoholics Anonymous
  • Overeaters Anonymous

Social and religious group

  • Quebec City Women’s Club
  • Rise n’ Shine It’s Breakfast Time
  • The Lunch Bunch
  • Ste-Foy Book Club
  • American Colony of Quebec
  • Numerous places of worship including Anglican, Baptist, Catholic, Pentecostal, Presbyterian and United churches, as well as a Baha’i centre and synagogue
  • Betty’s Quilters
  • Knitters’ Club (CWL)
  • Saint Brigid’s Guild

Employment

  • FORT Program (back-to-work training and orientation)

Youth

  • Scouts Canada (St. Vincent)
  • Girl Guides of Canada

Sports

  • A college and three high schools offer interscholastic sport programs in hockey.

Heritage

  • 78th Fraser Highlanders
  • Irish Heritage Quebec
  • Literary and Historical Society of Quebec
  • Morrin Centre
  • Quebec City Guild of Change-Ringers
  • Quebec Seamen’s Institute

Community

  • Voice of English-speaking Québec
  • Community Economic Development and Employability Committee (CeDeC)
  • Valcartier Family Centre

Seniors

  • Jeffery Hale Community Services for Seniors
  • Stoneham Fifty Plus Club
  • St. Brigid’s Home
  • Shannon Senior Citizens
  • Valcartier Golden Age Group

2.3 Best practices by target sector

For the purposes of this study, English-speaking Québec City participants chose four priority sectors to examine in terms of vitality. This section presents highlights of initiatives considered best practices or success stories in terms of fostering community vitality.

2.3.1 Youth

Youth coordinator
The Voice of English-speaking Québec is the regional association that represents the interests of the community at large and engages in a wide variety of community development activities. Following a study on the situation and needs of youth in the community, the organization hired a youth coordinator to support a youth advisory committee and promote the bilingual attributes of English-speaking youth to prospective employers.

Mentoring project
The St. Lawrence Campus of the English-language Champlain College CEGEP offers an internship program with mentoring and co-op placement for students in the Business Administration program. One of the key elements is its promotion of students’ bilingualism. Many businesses benefit by having skilled workers, where such labour is short in supply, and students benefit by gaining valuable work experience.

2.3.2 Health and social services

Jeffery Hale Community Services
Founded in 1865 as a hospital, the facility now promotes the well-being of the English-speaking population of the greater Québec City region. The “Jeff” is a non-profit centre offering a variety of health and social services for all ages. It also provides health services and referrals to residents of English-speaking communities in the eastern part of Quebec, and supports community development activities such as volunteer support. In addition, the “Jeff” rents office space to a number of English-speaking community organizations.

Valcartier Family Centre
Valcartier is home to one of eastern Canada’s largest military bases, bringing a large number of English-speaking military personnel and their families to the area just north of Québec City. Recognizing the distinctive nature of military life, the Valcartier Family Centre’s mission is to improve the quality of life of military members. It offers information and referral, emergency childcare, employment assistance (FORT Program), counselling services, volunteering initiatives, support for reservists’ families and youth programs. French and English second-language training is also available. The critical mass of the military base allows the centre to offer high-quality community services to the local English-speaking population as well.

Fraser Recovery Program
Founded in 1996, the Fraser Recovery Program has a very specific mandate: to keep Québec City youth sober, in school and at home. The non-profit organization provides individual assessments and counselling, twice-weekly support meetings and a 24-hour help line for member support. A camping program is also available weekends, holidays and during the summer months.

2.3.3 Arts and culture

Morrin Centre
The Literary and Historical Society of Quebec was the first learned society in the country and is presently restoring its heritage site, which will house the Morrin Centre, a cultural portal designed to educate the public about the historic contribution and present-day culture of the English-speaking community in Québec City. Originally designed as a jail in 1808, the building was transformed to house the Society and Morrin College, the city’s first English-language institute of higher education, which opened in 1868 (and which closed in the early 20th century.) In 1989, the City of Québec acquired the building to restore this heritage monument, and in 2000 the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec took on the management of the cultural centre project.

Québec City Celtic Festival
Started in 2006 through the newly renovated Morrin Centre, the Québec City Celtic Festival offers a wide range of activities to the public to promote the Breton, Scottish and Irish roots of the community. Workshops, shows, parades, conferences and information booths increase the visibility of the English-speaking community and offer a showcase for their heritage and contribution to the building of the provincial capital.

2.3.4 Leadership and visibility

Holland Resources Development Corporation
After the Ladies Protestant Home closed in 1991, a consortium of seven community organizations was formed to give structure and leadership in community development and to help manage the community’s institutions. The corporation successfully adapted community services after the conversion of the Jeffery Hale Hospital into a long-term care facility from its previous role as the only English-language hospital serving Québec City and eastern Quebec. The Holland Corporation did so by securing financial resources from the regional health agency to form and operate the Holland Centre, which is now Jeffery Hale Community  Services, and to manage Saint Brigid’s seniors’ facility. The organization continues its leadership role in the development and management of key social services for the English-speaking community.

Notes

9 Blair, Louisa, The Anglos. The Hidden Face of Quebec City, Volume I: 1608-1850, Volume II: Since 1850, Québec City: Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec and les editions Sylvain Harvey. (Translation: Blair, Louisa, Les Anglos. La face cachée de Québec, Tome I : 1608-1850, Tome II : Since 1850, Québec: Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec et les éditions Sylvain Harvey.)

10 Since not all data from the 2006 Census were available at the date of publication, data in this section are from the 2006 Census unless otherwise specified.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - 2. Profil de la communauté anglophone de Québec

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 4 de 7

2.1 Population

2.1.1 Historique

L’endroit où se trouve aujourd’hui la ville de Québec était, à l’origine, un village autochtone, Stadacona. Quelque 70 ans après que Jacques Cartier eut échoué dans sa tentative d’établir une colonie de peuplement, en 1541, Samuel de Champlain dirigea, en 1608, l’expédition qui a mené à la fondation d’une colonie là où s’élève aujourd’hui Québec. Champlain est reconnu comme le père fondateur de la Nouvelle-France, dont on honore actuellement la mémoire dans le cadre des festivités du 400e anniversaire de la Vieille Capitale.

Québec compte des citoyens anglophones depuis ses premiers jours, où elle était alors un poste de traite des fourrures. La communauté anglophone y a toutefois acquis un statut permanent avec l’arrivée des forces britanniques, en 17599. Aujourd’hui, le Quebec Chronicle-Telegraph poursuit la tradition de son ancêtre, la Quebec Gazette, fondée en 1764, ce qui en fait le plus ancien journal du continent. Québec a été la capitale de l’Amérique du Nord britannique pendant la majeure partie des années qui ont précédé la Confédération. Elle fut un important point d’entrée pour les immigrants venus de l’Europe. Les anglophones se trouvaient dans tous les horizons : administrateurs de colonie, marchands engagés dans le commerce transcontinental, soldats de garnison, sans oublier les immigrants pauvres (Irlandais pour la plupart), travaillant comme débardeurs sur les chantiers maritimes. Tous ont joué un rôle important dans l’essor de la ville.

En 1818, la première grande vague d’immigrants en provenance d’Angleterre, d’Irlande et d’Écosse s’est mise à déferler, atteignant un sommet de 96 000 nouveaux arrivants en 1847. Nombre d’entre eux se sont établis à Québec. En 1861, le tiers de la population de Québec était composée d’Irlandais, soit 59 990 personnes, et 51 p. 100 d’anglophones. Toutefois, seulement dix années plus tard, ce pourcentage avait chuté de près d’un tiers lorsque les anglophones quittèrent la province pour d’autres coins du Canada et les États Unis. La population a diminué peu à peu, à mesure que Montréal remplaçait Québec comme centre du commerce et de l’industrie. En 1921, seulement 10 p. 100 de la population était anglophone. En 1971, cette proportion avait chuté à 6 p. 100, pour ne représenter aujourd’hui que 1,9 p. 100 de la population totale de la région métropolitaine de Québec.

2.1.2 Démographie10

Le profil démographique qui suit est fondé sur les données de recensement pour la région métropolitaine de Québec.

Profil démographique
Selon le recensement de 2006, la population dont la première langue officielle parlée (PLOP) est l’anglais s’élève à 9 780 personnes, soit 1,9 p. 100 de la population totale de la région de Québec. La population dont l’anglais est la PLOP représente un peu plus de 1 p. 100 de tous les habitants du Québec dont l’anglais est la PLOP.

Âge
Un peu moins de 19 p. 100 de la population de la région de Québec dont l’anglais est la PLOP ont plus de 65 ans, comparativement à 15 p. 100 de la population totale de la région. Les moins de 15 ans représentent environ 9 p. 100 de la population anglophone totale, comparativement à 14,6 p. 100 de l’ensemble de la population de la région de Québec. Ces chiffres indiquent que la population anglophone de la région a un rapport de dépendance (proportion d’aînés par rapport aux jeunes) un peu plus élevé que dans la population globale de la région métropolitaine de québec.

Origines et migration
Une proportion de 14,3 p. 100 de la population anglophone de Québec est née hors du Canada, comparativement à 4,2 p. 100 pour l’ensemble de la région. La population anglophone de l’endroit est donc beaucoup plus diversifiée que la population générale. Près d’un immigrant sur dix, dans la région de Québec, déclare que sa PLOP est l’anglais. De 2001 à 2006, la population d’expression anglaise de Québec a enregistré une perte nette de plus de 600 personnes (plus de 6 p. 100 du groupe) d’après la migration d’entrée et de sortie pour cette région.

Langue
La communauté anglophone de Québec s’est considérablement modifiée sur le plan linguistique étant donné qu’un nombre important de personnes dont la première langue apprise et encore comprise est l’anglais déclarent parler français le plus souvent à la maison. En effet, en 2006, une légère majorité d’anglophones de Québec, recensés selon leur langue maternelle, déclaraient parler français le plus souvent à la maison. Ces modifications linguistiques ont, dans une certaine mesure, été compensées par la proportion de francophones déclarant s’exprimer en anglais à la maison. Toutefois, il ne fait pas de doute que ces virages linguistiques ont une incidence profonde sur le sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté.

Conditions socioéconomiques
Selon le recensement de 2001, le revenu de la population d’expression anglaise de la région de Québec se compare favorablement à celui de sa population globale.

2.1.3 Sommaire

De façon générale, on constate un déclin lent, mais régulier de la communauté anglophone dans la population de Québec. Par rapport à la population totale de Québec, la communauté anglophone compte une proportion plus importante de personnes âgées et un pourcentage inférieur de jeunes. De plus, il semble que le taux de transfert linguistique vers le français augmente, ce qui dénote un certain degré d’intégration, sinon d’assimilation à la population d’expression française.

2.2 Ressources communautaires

En tant que membres d’une communauté vieille de plusieurs siècles, les citoyens anglophones de Québec ont mis sur pied d’importantes ressources communautaires. La vie culturelle y est active et variée. Elle s’exprime notamment par le théâtre, les arts visuels, la musique, les attractions patrimoniales et les musées, les médias d’information, les sports et les établissements d’enseignement.

Arts et culture

  • Danse – Friday Night Traditional Dances, Shannon Irish Dancers
  • Écriture – Quebec Writer’s Circle
  • Livres – Sainte-Foy Book Group
  • Musique – Festival de musique celtique de Québec; 78th Fraser Highlanders Pipe Band
  • Théâtre – Quebec Art Company

Éducation

  • Commission scolaire Central Québec (trois écoles secondaires, six écoles primaires, un centre d’éducation des adultes et de formation professionnelle, un centre d’apprentissage communautaire)
  • Champlain Regional College (cégep) – campus St. Lawrence
  • English Second Language Teachers Network
  • Quebec City Reading Council

Communications

  • Télévision – Global Quebec
  • Radio – CBC, Radio touristique de Québec
  • Journal – Quebec Chronicle-Telegraph

Santé et services sociaux

  • Hôpital Jeffery-Hale
  • Services communautaires Jeffery-Hale
  • Holland Resources Development Corporation
  • Fraser Recovery Program
  • Community Health and Social Services Network (CHSSN)
  • Alcoholics Anonymous
  • Overeaters Anonymous

Société et religions

  • Quebec City Women’s Club
  • Rise n’ Shine It’s Breakfast Time
  • The Lunch Bunch
  • Ste-Foy Book Club
  • American Colony of Quebec
  • Nombreux lieux de culte – églises anglicanes, baptistes, catholiques, pentecôtistes, presbytériennes et unies – centre baha’i et synagogue
  • Betty’s Quilters
  • Knitters’ Club (CWL)
  • Saint Brigid’s Guild

Emploi

  • Programme FORT (retour au travail, formation et orientation)

Jeunes

  • Scouts Canada (St. Vincent)
  • Guides du Canada

Sports

  • Un collège et trois écoles secondaires offrant des programmes de hockey interscolaires

Patrimoine

  • 78th Fraser Highlanders
  • Irish Heritage Quebec
  • Literary & Historical Society of Quebec
  • Morrin Centre
  • Quebec City Guild of Change-Ringers
  • Quebec Seamen’s Institute

Communauté

  • Voice of English-speaking Québec
  • Community Economic Development & Employability Committee (CeDeC)
  • Centre de la famille Valcartier

Aînés

  • Jeffery Hale Community Services for Seniors
  • Stoneham Fifty Plus Club
  • St. Brigid’s Home
  • Shannon Senior Citizens
  • Valcartier Golden Age Group

2.3 Pratiques exemplaires par secteur ciblé

Les participants anglophones de Québec ont choisi quatre secteurs prioritaires à examiner sous l’angle de la vitalité. La présente section décrit certaines des initiatives considérées comme des pratiques exemplaires ou des cas de réussite, parce qu’elles ont contribué à stimuler la vitalité communautaire.

2.3.1 Jeunesse

Coordonnateur pour les jeunes
Voice of English-speaking Québec, association régionale qui représente les intérêts de la communauté dans son ensemble, poursuit un vaste éventail d’activités de développement communautaire. Dans la foulée d’une étude sur la situation et les besoins des jeunes dans la communauté, l’organisme a embauché un coordonnateur chargé d’appuyer les efforts d’un comité consultatif jeunesse et de faire valoir le bilinguisme des jeunes anglophones auprès des employeurs éventuels.

Projet de mentorat
Le campus St. Lawrence du Champlain College, cégep anglophone, offre un programme de stage avec mentorat et de placement coopératif pour les étudiants du programme d’administration des affaires. L’une des caractéristiques clés de l’initiative est la promotion du bilinguisme des étudiants. Bon nombre d’entreprises tirent profit de la présence de travailleurs qualifiés dans les domaines où il y a pénurie de main d’œuvre, et les jeunes y acquièrent une expérience de travail pertinente.

2.3.2 Santé et services sociaux

Services communautaires Jeffery-Hale
Fondé en 1865 en tant qu’hôpital, l’établissement fait maintenant la promotion du mieux-être de la population anglophone de la grande région de Québec. Le « Jeff » est un centre sans but lucratif offrant une variété de services de santé et de services sociaux aux gens de tous âges. Il fournit aussi des services de santé et d’aiguillage aux citoyens des communautés anglophones de la partie est du Québec et appuie les activités de développement communautaire visant, notamment, à soutenir le bénévolat. Ajoutons que l’institution loue des bureaux à plusieurs organisations de la communauté anglophone.

Centre de la famille Valcartier
Valcartier abrite l’une des plus grandes bases militaires de l’Est du Canada. Un nombre imposant de familles d’employés anglophones s’est établi dans la région située juste au nord de Québec. Reconnaissant la nature particulière de la vie militaire, le Centre de la famille Valcartier a pour mission d’améliorer la qualité de vie de la communauté. Il offre des services d’information et d’aiguillage, des soins d’urgence pour enfants, de l’aide à l’emploi (programme FORT), du counselling, des initiatives de bénévolat, un soutien aux familles des réservistes et des programmes jeunesse. Une formation en français ou en anglais, langue seconde est également offerte. Compte tenu de la masse critique de la base militaire, le centre peut également offrir des services communautaires de qualité supérieure à la population anglophone locale.

Programme de réhabilitation Fraser
Créé en 1996, le programme est doté d’un mandat précis : faire en sorte que les jeunes de Québec demeurent sobres, aux études et à la maison. Cette organisation sans but non lucratif offre des évaluations et du counselling individuels, des réunions de soutien bihebdomadaires et un service téléphonique d’urgence ouvert jour et nuit pour soutenir les membres. Elle dispose également d’un programme de camping durant les fins de semaine, les vacances et les mois d’été.

2.3.3 Arts et culture

Morrin Centre
La Société littéraire et historique de Québec est la plus ancienne société savante au pays. Elle est à restaurer son site patrimonial, qui abritera le Morrin Centre, un portail culturel destiné à éduquer le public sur le rôle historique de la communauté anglophone de Québec et sa culture actuelle. Conçu, au départ, pour servir de prison commune, l’édifice, construit en 1808, fut par la suite transformé pour abriter la Société et le Morrin College, le premier établissement d’enseignement supérieur anglophone de la ville, ouvert en 1868 et fermé au début du XXe siècle. En 1989, la Ville de Québec a acquis ce monument patrimonial pour en assurer la restauration. En 2000, la Société littéraire et historique de Québec a pris en charge la gestion du projet de centre culturel.

Festival celtique de Québec
Lancé en 2006 par l’entremise du Morrin Centre nouvellement rénové, le Festival celtique de Québec offre au public un vaste éventail d’activités afin de promouvoir les racines bretonnes, écossaises et irlandaises de la communauté. Ateliers, spectacles, défilés, conférences et stands d’information mettent la communauté anglophone bien en vue et lui procurent une vitrine pour faire valoir son patrimoine et sa contribution au développement de la capitale provinciale.

2.3.4 Leadership et notoriété

Holland Resources Development Corporation
Après que le Ladies Protestant Home eut fermé ses portes, en 1991, on a mis sur pied un consortium de sept organismes pour donner corps au développement communautaire et y assurer un leadership ainsi que pour aider à gérer les institutions de la communauté. La société Holland a adapté avec succès les services communautaires après la conversion de l’hôpital Jeffery-Hale, jusque-là le seul hôpital anglophone pour la ville de Québec et l’est du Québec, en établissement de soins de longue durée. La société Holland a obtenu des ressources financières de l’organisme régional de santé pour mettre sur pied et exploiter le Holland Centre – devenu l’établissement de services communautaires Jeffery-Hale –, et pour gérer le centre Saint Brigid’s pour personnes âgées. L’organisation continue d’exercer un rôle de leadership dans l’élaboration et la gestion de services sociaux clés pour la communauté anglophone.

Notes

9 Blair, Louisa Les Anglos - La face cachée de Québec – Tome I, 1608-1850, tome II, Depuis 1850, Québec, Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec et les Éditions Sylvain Harvey.

10 Nous ne disposions pas de toutes les données du recensement de 2006 au moment de publier l’étude. Par conséquent, les données de la présente section proviennent de ce recensement, sauf indication contraire.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante