ARCHIVED - SUMMARY

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 3 of 12

The successive budget cuts at the start of the 1990s, the reorganizations of federal departments and programs, and the new opportunities offered by information and communications technologies have prompted governments to broaden their approach and diversify their methods of delivery of public services.

In August 1994, the federal government adopted a departmental accountability framework for the implementation of PartVII of the 1988 Official Languages Act. In section 41 of Part VII, the federal government makes a commitment to enhance the vitality of the minority official language communities and promote the full recognition of English and French in Canadian society. The gradual implementation of Part VII of the Act has also helped to diversify methods of federal program delivery.

In January 1999, the Fontaine Task Force on the impact of government transformations on the official languages tabled its report, entitled No Turning Back: Official Languages in the Face of Government Transformations. It recommended: “that the government implement pilot projects to explore the possibility of establishing partnerships with minority official language communities with a view to the delivery of certain services by the latter.”

With a view to preventing potential problems in the creation of new procedures, and in anticipation of possible impacts and consequences on the application of the Official Languages Act and the achievement of the objectives of the language provisions of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages undertook this study, which has two objectives:

  • to inventory examples of new procedures for cooperation between the government and the official language communities for the delivery of services by community groups;

  • to determine the conditions that must be fulfilled to ensure respect for the spirit and intent of the Official Languages Act.

From a great many telephone interviews with representatives of federal institutions and the communities, a list was developed of some 100 examples of new models of cooperation whereby a minority community group ensures the delivery of a government service.

Some procedures for cooperation resulted from the desire of certain federal institutions to bring service closer to the target clientele and eliminate duplication. Other procedures for cooperation are the result of a desire to support the vitality of the communities in accordance with section 41 of the Act. The new models of cooperation are more common in western Canada and are beginning to take root in southern Ontario. They are rare in the Atlantic region and in Quebec. These services relate mainly to the area of economic development and employability.

Three typical examples were analyzed in detail: the London-Sarnia regional ACFO (Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario) model, a community agency that offers employability and training services at the local level; the Éducacentre model in British Columbia, an agency that offers similar services on a provincial basis; and the National Committee for Canadian Francophonie Human Resource Development model, which offers services at the national level. The latter organization works closely with the Regroupements de développement économique et d’employabilité (RDÉE) in the provinces.

The models of cooperation identified raise two basic questions in legal terms:

  1. Do the minority official language community agencies that provide government programs constitute “offices” within the meaning of section 20 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and of section 22 of the Official Languages Act?

  2. Do the minority official language community agencies that provide government programs constitute third parties acting on behalf of the Government of Canada within the meaning of section 25 of the Official Languages Act?

In the Beaulac decision, the Supreme Court of Canada states, in paragraph 22: “With regard to existing rights, equality must be given true meaning. The Court has recognized that substantive equality is the correct norm to apply in Canadian law.” And in paragraph 25 it added: “Language rights must in all cases be interpreted purposively, in a manner consistent with the preservation and development of official language communities in Canada.”

This concept of the true meaning of equality leads to two other basic questions:

  1. What are the reasons for organizing the provision of services as they have been organized in the models of cooperation inventoried?

  2. Do the models of cooperation examined respect the principle of real equality of the linguistic communities?

As an example, considering only the local service points of Éducacentre, regional ACFO or an RDÉE, it is difficult to conclude that, in themselves, they are “offices” within the meaning of Part IV of the Official Languages Act, whether by reason of their nature or the nature of their activities.

This study reveals one of the important impacts of government transformation; in defining the words “office” or “third party,” we cannot restrict ourselves to considering, in isolation, the ultimate point of service that provides the contact with the public. To fully understand the possible legal implications, it is necessary to consider the overall context in which the service is provided; we must therefore see the ultimate point of service as part of a whole established to better deliver a service to a given population.

The starting point is the federal department or agency; the end point is the public served. Between the two are a series of legal provisions, administrative arrangements and operational processes established to deliver the government service. The office, it seems to us, refers much less to the final contact than to this series of interdependent provisions, arrangements and processes.

A service of the federal government, whether it be delivered by a province, a municipality, a community agency or other “persons or institutions,” remains a government action and is therefore subject to the Official Languages Act. We therefore believe that it is reasonable to consider all the service delivery arrangements or provisions adopted by a federal institution in order to answer the questions raised.

It seems to us that the models of cooperation inventoried in this study ensure real equality in the provision of service; they are arrangements and provisions that permit the delivery to a linguistic minority of a service substantially equal to that provided to the majority. That is to say that the equality of English and French is ensured, access to the service is equal, and the quality of service is equivalent in either language.

The study also dealt with the following question: under what circumstances is it desirable to establish models of cooperation that enable an official language minority community group to provide a government service?

The preference is for procedures for cooperation governed by bipartite or multipartite partnership agreements. It is also preferable that the primary, if not only, mandate of the community agency be to deliver the service in question. This is true of the National Committee for Canadian Francophonie Human Resource Development at the national level and of Éducacentre at the provincial level. In some cases, the agency is created expressly to deliver the service.

In the absence of a partnership agreement and appropriate terms and conditions, including the creation of a community group established for this purpose, the provision of a government service by a community group that takes on this task as one of its other functions must be seen as only a temporary alternative solution, when the department has exhausted all other alternatives for providing the service directly while fully respecting its linguistic commitments. This is the case with the London Sarnia regional ACFO.

The recommendations are designed to support the efforts of community groups and federal institutions which are developing models for cooperation in the delivery of a service or program.

RECOMMENDATION TO COMMUNITY GROUPS

Any community group that wishes to establish a model of cooperation with a federal institution to provide a government service must:

  • ensure community support and coordinate its efforts with those of other community groups;

  • conduct a needs study and do implementation planning;

  • preferably, establish an independent agency that will provide the service; and

  • ensure that this new model of cooperation contributes, by the quality of the service provided, to the advancement toward equality of the minority and majority communities.

RECOMMENDATIONS TO FEDERAL INSTITUTIONS

Recommendation 1: Monitoring of New Models of Cooperation

That the Committee of Deputy Ministers Responsible for Official Languages assign the Treasury Board Secretariat and the Department of Canadian Heritage the responsibility of establishing, within the next six months, a central data collection system to monitor the development of models of cooperation between federal institutions and community groups that lead to the delivery of government services or programs to the minority official language communities.

That the Committee of Deputy Ministers Responsible for Official Languages assign the Treasury Board Secretariat and the Department of Canadian Heritage the responsibility for developing a management framework for models of cooperation between the government and community groups for the delivery of services in order to ensure respect for the spirit and intent of the Official Languages Act. This framework should be operational by March 31, 2001.

Recommendation 2: Overall Evaluation of Models of Cooperation

That the Treasury Board, in 2002-2003, provide for an overall evaluation of the results achieved following the implementation of new models of cooperation between federal institutions and community groups that lead to the delivery of government services or programs to the minority official language communities.

Recommendation 3: Needs Analysis and Implementation Planning

That each federal institution concerned provide adequate financial resources for the conduct of a needs study and for planning of the implementation of a new model of cooperation with a community agency for the delivery of a government service to an official language minority community.

Recommendation 4: Control and Accountability Mechanisms

That each federal institution concerned ensure in all cases that appropriate control and accountability mechanisms are put in place during the planning and implementation of a new model of cooperation with an official language minority community or one of its agencies for the delivery of a service. These mechanisms must, among other things, guarantee respect for the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the Official Languages Act and the Official Languages Regulations.

Recommendation 5: Respect for the Principle of Equality

That each federal institution concerned ensure full respect for the principle of equality which is at the heart of the language rights of Canadians and for the quality standards applicable to the delivery of a government service by a community group.

That the federal institution concerned ensure that the employees of the community groups that deliver the service acquire and integrate the required professional and linguistic skills.

That the federal institution concerned periodically conduct a formal evaluation to measure the quality of the services provided by the community group and to ensure their equality.

Recommendation 6: Long-term Stability of the Provision of Service

When any model of cooperation by which a community group, directly or by subcontracting, ensures the delivery of a government service, each federal institution concerned must ensure that the delivery is planned on a multi-year basis. Such a model of cooperation must be part of a coherent framework and well-considered departmental strategy to promote the vitality of the communities. The federal institution must provide for a reasonable transition period in the event of the non-renewal of a model of cooperation. In this case, the federal institution must also establish appropriate mechanisms for reabsorbing the service in a way which promotes the advancement toward equality of English and French.

At the conclusion of this study, we set out certain principles which must guide the establishment of these models of cooperation in view of the responsibility of the Government of Canada to ensure the advancement toward equality of English and French pursuant to the Constitution Act, 1982:

  • any model of cooperation must, as a minimum, preserve acquired rights, including access to and the exercise of remedies, while clearly guaranteeing to the public concerned the right to services pursuant to the provisions of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the Official Languages Act and the Regulations;

  • any model of cooperation must define and establish mechanisms that will give the minority community services truly equal to those provided to the official language majority;

  • any model of cooperation must provide for appropriate control and evaluation mechanisms;

  • any model of cooperation must be established on a multi-year basis and ensure the stability of the service provided to the community;

  • any model of cooperation must provide for concrete transition measures that fully respect the principle of equality, should the service be reabsorbed into the federal institution in question.  

Previous Page | Table of contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - SOMMAIRE

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 3 de 12

Les réductions budgétaires successives depuis le début des années 1990, les restructurations des ministères et des programmes fédéraux et les nouvelles possibilités qu’offrent les technologies de l’information et de la communication ont amené les gouvernements à élargir leur approche et à diversifier leurs modes de prestation des services publics.

En août 1994, le gouvernement fédéral a adopté un cadre de responsabilisation ministériel pour mettre en oeuvre la Partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles de 1988 qui engage l’État « à favoriser l’épanouissement des minorités francophones et anglophones et [...] à promouvoir la pleine reconnaissance et l’usage du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne » (article 41). La mise en oeuvre graduelle de la Partie VII de la Loi a aussi contribué à diversifier les modes de prestation des programmes fédéraux.

En janvier 1999, le Groupe de travail Fontaine sur les effets des transformations gouvernementales sur les langues officielles déposait son rapport, Maintenir le cap : la dualité linguistique au défi des transformations gouvernementales. Il recommandait : « Que le gouvernement explore, par le truchement de projets pilotes, la possibilité d’établir des partenariats avec les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire en vue de la prestation par ces dernières de certains services. »

Afin de prévenir toute difficulté dans la création de nouveaux mécanismes et en prévision de leurs retombées éventuelles sur l’application de la Loi et le respect des dispositions linguistiques de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, le Commissariat aux langues officielles a entrepris la présente étude. Elle comporte deux objectifs :

  • inventorier des exemples de nouvelles modalités de collaboration entre l’État et les communautés de langue officielle pour la prestation de services par des groupes de la communauté;


  • déterminer les conditions qui doivent être remplies pour assurer le respect de la Loi sur les langues officielles et les intentions du législateur.

De multiples entrevues téléphoniques auprès de représentants des institutions fédérales et des communautés ont permis de répertorier une centaine d’exemples de nouvelles modalités de collaboration par lesquelles un groupe de la communauté minoritaire assure la prestation d’un service gouvernemental.

Certains mécanismes de collaboration ont été élaborés en raison de la volonté des institutions fédérales de mieux adapter les services à la clientèle cible et d’éliminer les doubles emplois. D’autres l’ont été afin d’appuyer l’épanouissement des communautés en vertu de l’article 41 de la Loi. Les nouvelles modalités de collaboration sont plus répandues dans l’Ouest canadien et elles commencent à s’établir dans le sud de l’Ontario. Elles sont rares dans la région de l’Atlantique et au Québec. Les services visés par ces modalités touchent surtout le domaine du développement économique et de l’employabilité.

Trois cas types ont été analysés en détail : le modèle de l’Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario (ACFO) dans la région de London-Sarnia, organisme communautaire qui offre des services locaux d’employabilité et de formation; le modèle Éducacentre en Colombie-Britannique, qui fournit des services semblables à l’échelle provinciale; et le modèle du Comité national de développement des ressources humaines de la francophonie canadienne dont les services sont d’envergure nationale; ce dernier travaille de près avec les Regroupements de développement économique et d’employabilité (RDEE) dans les provinces.

Les modalités de collaboration que nous avons recensées soulèvent deux questions fondamentales sur le plan juridique :

  1. Les organismes des communautés minoritaires de langue officielle qui offrent des programmes gouvernementaux constituent-ils des « bureaux » au sens où l’entendent l’article 20 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et l’article 22 de la Loi sur les langues officielles ?


  2. Ces organismes sont-ils des « tiers » agissant pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada comme l’énonce l’article 25 de la Loi sur les langues officielles ?

Dans l’arrêt Beaulac, la Cour suprême du Canada stipule, au paragraphe 22 : « En ce qui concerne les droits existants, l’égalité doit recevoir son sens véritable. Notre Cour a reconnu que l’égalité réelle est la norme applicable en droit canadien » et ajoute, au paragraphe 25 : « [...] les droits linguistiques doivent dans tous les cas être interprétés en fonction de leur objet,de façon compatible avec le maintien et l’épanouissement des collectivités de langue officielle au Canada ».

Cette notion du sens véritable de l’égalité nous a amenés à nous poser deux autres questions essentielles :

  1. Pourquoi avoir structuré l’offre de services comme elle l’a été dans les modalités de collaboration répertoriées ?

  2. Les modalités de collaboration étudiées respectent-elles le principe de l’égalité réelle des communautés linguistiques ?

En prenant comme seuls exemples les points de service locaux d’Éducacentre, de l’ACFO régionale ou d’un RDEE, il est difficile de conclure qu’ils constituent des « bureaux » tel qu’énoncé dans la Partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles, soit par leur nature ou en fonction de leurs activités.

Notre recherche a mis en lumière une importante répercussion de la transformation gouvernementale : pour définir les mots « bureau » ou « tiers », on ne peut considérer isolément le point de service qui, en fin de compte, établit une relation avec le public. Pour bien comprendre les incidences juridiques possibles, il faut considérer le contexte global dans lequel les services sont offerts; il faut donc voir le point de service ultime comme faisant partie d’un tout conçu pour fournir plus efficacement un service à une population donnée.

Le point de départ est le ministère ou l’organisme fédéral; le point d’arrivée est le public desservi. Entre les deux se trouvent un ensemble de dispositions juridiques, d’arrangements administratifs et de processus opérationnels ayant pour but la prestation des services gouvernementaux. À notre sens, le « bureau » se rapporte moins à la relation établie en définitive avec le public qu’à cet ensemble de dispositions, d’arrangements et de processus interdépendants.

Un service du gouvernement fédéral, qu’il soit fourni par une province, une municipalité, un organisme communautaire ou par d’autres « personnes ou institutions » demeure toujours une action gouvernementale, sujette à la Loi sur les langues officielles. Aussi estimons-nous raisonnable, pour trouver réponse à nos questions, de considérer l’ensemble des arrangements et des dispositions relatifs à la prestation de services adoptés par les institutions fédérales.

Les modalités de collaboration que nous avons étudiées assurent, selon nous, l’égalité réelle dans l’offre de service; ce sont des arrangements et des dispositions qui permettent de fournir à une minorité linguistique un service à toutes fins pratiques égal à celui offert à la majorité : égalité du français et de l’anglais; accès égal au service; et qualité du service équivalente dans l’une et l’autre langue.

Nous nous sommes penchés également sur la question suivante : dans quelles circonstances est-il souhaitable d’établir des modalités de collaboration permettant à un groupe de la communauté minoritaire de langue officielle d’assurer la prestation d’un service gouvernemental ?

D’abord, lorsque les modalités sont régies par des ententes de partenariat bipartites ou multipartites. Il faut aussi que le mandat principal (sinon le seul) de l’organisme communautaire soit de fournir le service en question. C’est le cas du Comité national de développement des ressources humaines de la francophonie canadienne, à l’échelle nationale, et d’Éducacentre, à l’échelon provincial. Parfois, l’organisme est créé expressément pour fournir le service.

S’il n’existe aucune entente de partenariat ni modalité appropriée ou si aucun groupe n’a été créé à seule fin d’offrir le service, la prestation par un groupe communautaire d’un service gouvernemental, parmi d’autres tâches, doit être considéré uniquement comme une solution de rechange temporaire, après que le ministère a épuisé tous les autres moyens d’offrir le service directement en vue de respecter ses engagements linguistiques. C’est le cas de l’ACFO régionale de London-Sarnia.

Les recommandations suivantes visent à appuyer les efforts des groupes communautaires et des institutions fédérales dans l’élaboration des modalités de collaboration pour la prestation d’un service ou l’exécution d’un programme.

RECOMMANDATION À L’INTENTION DES GROUPES COMMUNAUTAIRES

Tout groupe communautaire voulant établir une modalité de collaboration avec une institution fédérale pour la prestation d’un service gouvernemental doit :

  • obtenir l’appui de la communauté en veillant à ce que ses démarches soient compatibles avec celles des autres groupes communautaires;

  • effectuer une étude des besoins communautaires et planifier la mise en oeuvre des modalités;

  • créer un organisme autonome, de préférence, qui assurera la prestation du service;

  • veiller à ce que cette nouvelle modalité de collaboration contribue, par la qualité du service offert, à la progression vers l’égalité de statut et d’usage du français et de l’anglais dans les communautés minoritaires et majoritaires.

 

RECOMMANDATIONS À L’INTENTION DES INSTITUTIONS FÉDÉRALES

Recommandation 1 : Surveillance des nouvelles modalités de collaboration

Que le Comité des sous-ministres responsable pour les langues officielles confie au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et au ministère du Patrimoine canadien la responsabilité de mettre sur pied, dans un délai de six mois, un système central de collecte de données permettant de suivre l’évolution des modalités de collaboration établies entre les institutions fédérales et les groupes communautaires pour la prestation de services (ou l’exécution de programmes) gouvernementaux aux communautés minoritaires de langue officielle.

Que le Comité des sous-ministres responsable pour les langues officielles confie au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et au ministère du Patrimoine canadien la responsabilité d’élaborer un cadre de gestion des modalités de collaboration entre l’État et des groupes communautaires pour la prestation de services afin d’assurer le respect de la Loi sur les langues officielles et les intentions du législateur. Ce cadre devrait être opérationnel avant le 31 mars 2001.

Recommandation 2 : Évaluation globale des modalités de collaboration

Que le Conseil du Trésor prévoie, en 2002-2003, une évaluation globale des résultats des nouvelles modalités de collaboration établies entre les institutions fédérales et les groupes communautaires pour la prestation de services (ou l’exécution de programmes)gouvernementaux aux communautés minoritaires de langue officielle.

Recommandation 3 : Étude des besoins communautaires et planification de la mise en œuvre des modalités

Que les institutions fédérales en cause dégagent les ressources financières voulues pour la réalisation d’une étude des besoins communautaires et la planification de la mise en œuvre de nouvelles modalités de collaboration avec un organisme communautaire en vue de la prestation d’un service gouvernemental à une communauté minoritaire de langue officielle.

Recommandation 4 : Mécanismes de contrôle et de responsabilisation

Que les institutions fédérales en cause s’assurent, dans tous les cas, de la mise en place des mécanismes appropriés de contrôle et de responsabilisation lors de la planification et de la mise en oeuvre d’une nouvelle modalité de collaboration avec un organisme d’une communauté minoritaire de langue officielle pour la prestation d’un service gouvernemental. Ces mécanismes doivent notamment garantir le respect de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, de la Loi sur les langues officielles et du Règlement sur les langues officielles.

Recommandation 5 : Respect du principe de l’égalité

Que les institutions fédérales en cause veillent à ce que les groupes communautaires chargés de fournir un service gouvernemental respectent pleinement le principe de l’égalité, qui est au coeur des droits linguistiques des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, ainsi que les normes de qualité en vigueur.

Que les institutions fédérales en cause s’assurent que les groupes communautaires qui fournissent un service gouvernemental possèdent toutes les compétences professionnelles et linguistiques requises.

Que les institutions fédérales en cause effectuent périodiquement une évaluation formelle de la qualité et de l’égalité des services offerts par le groupe communautaire.

Recommandation 6 : Pérennité de l’offre de services

Les institutions fédérales en cause doivent veiller à ce que toute modalité de collaboration par laquelle un groupe communautaire assure, directement ou par sous-traitance, la prestation d’un service gouvernemental fasse l’objet d’une planification pluriannuelle et soit régie par un cadre cohérent et une stratégie ministérielle réfléchie favorisant l’épanouissement des communautés visées. Elles doivent aussi prévoir une période de transition raisonnable dans le cas du non-renouvellement d’une modalité de collaboration. Dans ce cas, l’institution fédérale doit également établir des mécanismes appropriés de réintégration du service qui favorisent la progression vers l’égalité de statut et d’usage du français et de l’anglais.

Les principes suivants doivent, selon nous, guider l’établissement de ces modalités de collaboration, étant donné la responsabilité du gouvernement du Canada d’assurer l’égalité du français et de l’anglais conformément à la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 :

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit, au minimum, préserver les droits acquis, y compris la facilité et l’exercice des recours, et garantir au public visé les services auxquels il a droit en vertu de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, de la Loi sur les langues officielles et du Règlement;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit définir et mettre en place les mécanismes qui permettront de fournir aux communautés minoritaires des services réellement égaux à ceux offerts à la majorité de langue officielle;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit prévoir des mécanismes appropriés de contrôle et d’évaluation;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit être pluriannuelle et assurer la stabilité du service fourni à la communauté;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit prévoir des mesures concrètes de transition qui respectent pleinement le principe de l’égalité, advenant la réintégration des services au sein des institutions fédérales en cause.


Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante