ARCHIVED - CONCLUSION

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 10 of 12

The purpose of this report is to assist federal institutions and the communities to better understand the impact of the new models of cooperation being developed whereby community groups ensure the delivery of a government service.

Such an approach has important benefits for the federal institutions in terms of efficiency and effectiveness, for citizens in terms of access to services, and for community groups in terms of growth and institutional capacity.

The some 100 examples inventoried to date offer various interesting and functional models that seems to respect the Official Languages Act.

The Government of Canada has the obligation to ensure the advancement toward equality of English and French, pursuant to the Constitution Act, 1982.

A model of cooperation whereby a group provides a government service to an official language minority community may contribute in a significant way to the vitality of a community. It also presents risks that could further contribute to the erosion of language rights.

Experience to date makes it possible to set out certain principles that should guide the implementation of cooperation agreements to ensure that they fully contribute to the vitality of the Anglophone and Francophone minority communities:

  • any model of cooperation must, as a minimum, preserve acquired rights, including access to and the exercise of remedies, while clearly guaranteeing to the public concerned the right to services pursuant to the provisions of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the Official Languages Act and the Regulations;

  • any model of cooperation must define and establish mechanisms that will give the minority community services truly equal to those provided to the official language majority;

  • any model of cooperation must provide for appropriate control and evaluation mechanisms;

  • any model of cooperation must be established on a multi-year basis and ensure the stability of the service provided to the community;

  • any model of cooperation must provide for concrete transition measures that fully respect the principle of equality, should the service be reabsorbed into the federal institution in question.

Many of the models we have examined make it possible to respond better to the needs of citizens in the official language communities we strongly urge federal institutions and concerned community groups to show creativity in establishing models of cooperation that will shape the future direction of the delivery of government services to the communities.

Our exchanges and discussions with community members and federal government representatives show a good level of satisfaction on both sides with the initiatives and cooperative arrangements developed in recent years. To be sure, adjustments must be made by both parties, but there is ample reason for hope.

Previous page | Table of contents | Next page

ARCHIVÉE - CONCLUSION

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 10 de 12

Le présent rapport a pour but d’aider les institutions fédérales et les collectivités canadiennes à mieux comprendre les retombées des nouvelles modalités de collaboration en vertu desquelles les groupes communautaires assurent la prestation d’un service gouvernemental.

Une telle approche comporte des avantages notables : elle permet aux institutions fédérales de travailler de façon plus efficace et rentable; donne aux citoyens un meilleur accès aux services; et favorise chez les groupes communautaires la croissance et le renforcement des capacités institutionnelles.

La centaine de cas que nous avons répertoriés présentent divers modèles intéressants et fonctionnels qui, selon toute apparence, respectent la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Le gouvernement du Canada a l’obligation de favoriser la progression vers l’égalité de statut et d’usage du français et de l’anglais, comme le stipule la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Les modalités de collaboration selon lesquelles un groupe offre un service gouvernemental à une communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire peuvent grandement favoriser l’épanouissement de cette dernière. Elles comportent aussi des risques, notamment celui de contribuer à l’érosion des droits linguistiques.

Les expériences qui ont été portées à notre attention nous permettent d’avancer certains principes qui devront guider la mise en oeuvre de modalités de collaboration qui puissent assurer l’épanouissement des minorités francophones et anglophones du Canada :

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit, au minimum, préserver les droits acquis, y compris la facilité et l’exercice des recours, et garantir au public visé les services auxquels il a droit en vertu de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, de la Loi sur les langues officielles et du Règlement;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit définir et mettre en place les mécanismes qui permettront de fournir aux communautés minoritaires des services réellement égaux à ceux offerts à la majorité de langue officielle;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit prévoir des mécanismes appropriés de contrôle et d’évaluation;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit être pluriannuelle et assurer la stabilité du service fourni à la communauté;

  • toute modalité de collaboration doit prévoir des mesures concrètes de transition qui respectent pleinement le principe de l’égalité, advenant la réintégration des services au sein des institutions fédérales en cause.

Certaines des modalités que nous avons étudiées comportent des innovations qui, souvent, permettent de mieux répondre aux besoins des communautés de langue officielle. Nous ne saurions trop encourager les institutions fédérales et les groupes communautaires intéressés à faire preuve de créativité dans l’établissement des modalités de collaboration qui régiront à l’avenir la prestation des services gouvernementaux aux collectivités.

Enfin, il ressort de nos échanges avec les représentants des communautés et du gouvernement fédéral que toutes les parties en cause sont satisfaites des projets entrepris et de la coopération qui s’est établie au cours des dernières années. Certes, un certain degré d’adaptation est toujours nécessaire de part et d’autre, mais tous les espoirs sont permis.

Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante