ARCHIVED - Statistics Canada 2006-2007

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Performance Report 2006-2007
Statistics Canada

Factors and Criteria

Summary of Substantiating Data

Rating

Management (15%)

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

The roles and responsibilities of all parties for all parts of the Official Languages Act (Act), including those of senior managers and employees, are clearly defined in the Official Languages Guide at Statistics Canada(SC), which also specifies how the obligations are to be fulfilled and describes the coordination mechanisms. The Director, Official Languages and Translation, is held accountable, during his annual performance evaluation, for carrying out the official languages (OL) activities set forth in the annual human resources strategic plan.

A 2005-2008 action plan for Part VII has been submitted to Canadian Heritage. The annual human resources strategic planapproved by the Executive Committee, while not in function of Parts IV, V or VI, does include some OL activities. The plan describes the objectives to be achieved, the actions to be taken and expected timelines. The OL Champion and the Executive Committee also discuss this plan on a regular basis. In addition, SC reports on the achievement of OL objectives in its Annual Review on Official Languages, which it submits to the Public Service Human Resources Agency of Canada, and a status report on the implementation of section 41 of the Act, which it submits to Canadian Heritage.

A

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

OL are integrated into the annual human resources strategic plan. The OL Program's matrix structure ensures that it is fully integrated and more visible within the Department.

The 2005-2006 Performance Report discusses OL, bilingual services and the OL scorecard. The 2006-2007 Report on Plans and Priorities also discusses OL and bilingual services in bilingual regions. OL are not systematically integrated into internal audits. However, questions on OL may be added to internal surveys if needed.

OL are discussed regularly by the Executive Committee and at monthly OL committee meetings, which are attended by the OL Champion. Over the past year, discussions dealt with the OL exclusion approval order, the adoption of the Act to Amend the Official Languages Act, the employee survey and the analysis of OL issues.

The OL Champion is the Assistant Chief Statistician, Management Services. He sits on several departmental committees and is co-chair of the OL Committee. The OL Committee, which is made up of three assistant chief statisticians (including the OL Champion) and management representatives, meets on a monthly basis, thereby ensuring good cooperation between the OL Champion, the person responsible for OL, and the national coordinator for Part VII of the Act. This committee is supported by a subcommittee of OL coordinators and by a network of divisional OL coordinators.

B

c) Complaints (5%)

All complaints from the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) are reviewed by an advisor from the OL Division and immediately brought to the attention of the manager or director responsible, who must find a permanent solution. A copy of the complaint is also forwarded to the office of the Chief Statistician. Senior management is informed of important complaints and the steps taken to resolve them. These complaints are discussed by the OL Committee and with the divisional OL coordinators' network. Information on the nature of complaints and the measures that were taken is shared during meetings and discussions are held with the individuals who are directly involved. Employees in the divisions that are the subject of a complaint are also informed of the situation in order to prevent it from occurring again in the future.

A

Sub-total:

A

Service to the Public - Part IV (25%)

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (3%)

Offices designated bilingual are listed in Burolis and in the blue pages of telephone directories. The statistical inquiries service was centralized in Ottawa and is accessible via a 1-800 number, which allows members of the public across Canada to be served in their official language of choice.

A total of 88% of employees in bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: Position and Classification Information System (PCIS), March 31, 2006.)

B

b) Observations on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to observations of in-person service made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2006, an active visual offer was present in 100% of cases, an active offer by staff was made in 20% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 100% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2006, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 89% of cases.

B

c) Service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

The SC Client Guide (Materiel and Contracts Services) states that services will be provided in both OL, as required, by respecting the client's language of choice. The Standards of Service to the Public also states that clients will be served in their official language of choice. Contract management and partnership agreements are centralized. Third-party service contracts and partnership agreements include clauses related to service delivery in both OL when required. Contractors' obligations are described in the statement of work. Audits are conducted by the Material and Contracts Services Section.

A

d) Policy on service to the public and bilingual services quality monitoring (5%)

SC's OL policy states that communications with and services to the public shall be provided in both OL at the headquarters and in designated regional offices. The policy also stresses that an active offer of service must be made, that services must be delivered in the clients' language of choice and that all SC products must be simultaneously disseminated in both OL.

The training provided to census representatives and interviewers, who are the main points of contact with the public, covers in detail their obligations regarding the delivery of services in the official language of choice. Information is also available on the intranet site.

Supervisors are responsible for carrying out the required audits to confirm the accessibility and quality of services to the public in both OL where it is required and for taking appropriate measures in this regard. When an audit of service to the public is announced, the Assistant Chief Statistician, Communications and Operations Field, takes advantage of the opportunity to send a reminder to the directors and regional offices affected by the policy of their obligations in terms of service to the public.

B

Sub-total:

B

Language of Work - Part V (25%)

a) Language of work policy and adequate bilingual supervision (12.5%)

SC's OL policy states the rights and obligations regarding language of work and covers all required elements, including the fact that director or supervisor positions, assistant directors and section heads in a supervisory position have a CBC language requirement.

Measures are in place to encourage the use of both OL in designated regions (e.g., articles on various aspects of language of work that are published in the monthly electronic newsletter @StatCan, the bilingual e-mail bank to help employees write in both OL that is accessible to everyone through the intranet, the information kit on bilingual meetings and the video ”An Unpleasant Bilingual Meeting - Une réunion bilingue mal menée”). Language training is also offered and the OL Award of Excellence is given each year to one or more people who have helped raise the profile of the OL Program within the institution.

As of March 31, 2006, PCIS indicated that 98% of senior management and 84% of supervisors who must communicate with their staff in both languages in bilingual regions are in fact bilingual.

B

b) Use of each official language in the workplace (12.5%)

Managers are reminded of their obligations during the OL module of the Management Development Program for Supervisors, which is offered approximately eight times per year and attracts about 25 participants per session. Practical workshops on language of work, which are offered on request to the various divisions and in which 75 employees from the Service Industries Division participated last summer, also serve to remind all employees of their rights and obligations regarding language of work.

Executive committee meetings are conducted in both OL.

Monitoring is carried out through follow-ups on the five questions regarding language of work in the Public Service Employee Survey and through feedback provided by the divisional OL coordinators, who are aware of the OL situation in their workplace.

The Public Service Employee Survey showed that overall, 82% of Francophone respondents in the National Capital Region (NCR), New Brunswick and bilingual regions of Ontario "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work policy. Due to the small number of Anglophone respondents in the bilingual regions of Quebec, OCOL was not able to use their responses from the survey.

B

Sub-total:

B

Equitable Participation  - Part VI (10%)

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Overall, the  workforce is 39.1% Francophone. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2006.)

B

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

In Quebec, the workforce is 8.8% Anglophone. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2006.)

B

Sub-total:

B

Development of Official Language Minority Communities and Promotion of Linguistic Duality - Part  VII (25%)

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of official language minority communities (12.5%)

Together with other federal organizations, SC is a key institution that determines the need for data and surveys on official language minority communities (OLMCs) and that finds innovative ways of using this information to meet the needs of OLMCs.

SC develops an action plan for the implementation of section 41 of the Act and submits an annual status report to Canadian Heritage on this subject. Regular meetings of the Committee on Statistical Information Concerning Official Language Minorities, which is made up of representatives from key divisions in which surveys of interest to OLMCs are developed, help promote and facilitate the sharing of information on OLMCs.

The national coordinator and the assistant coordinator responsible for Part VII met with the members of the OL Committee to discuss matters related to this part of the Act. This included, in March, June and September 2006, presentations on the Action Plan and the Status Report on the Implementation of Section 41 of the Act, the implications of implementing the Act to Amend the Official Languages Act, and the post-census Survey on the Vitality of Official Language Minorities (SVOLM). A presentation on the achievements and challenges related to the implementation of section 41 was also given to the OL Champion.

In addition to the OL Committee, the institution has an OL coordinator in each division. The OL Committee is also supported by a subcommittee of OL coordinators, which acts as an intermediary between the OL Committee and the OL coordinators. Because of their duties, these individuals, like the members of the Committee on Statistical Information Concerning Official Language Minorities, are aware of the needs of OLMCs. The participation of SC survey managers on the Coordinating Committee on Official Languages Research allows managers and their employees to be kept up to date on the needs of OLMCs.

Due to its mandate, mission and role in terms of surveys and statistics on these communities, the institution regularly assesses the impact of its policies and programs on OLMCs.

The SVOLM and the research study on literacy levels in OLMCs are examples of positive measures that have been taken by the institution to enhance OLMC development. The invitation extended to OLMCs to participate in the next symposium on research in OL, which will be held in late 2007 or early 2008, is another example of a positive measure. This symposium will foster dialogue on the link between research and the development of programs and policies that affect OLMCs and linguistic duality.

Each year, SC participates in a number of symposia and conferences attended by OLMC representatives, and the Department's presentations allow them to share information with OLMCs, create networks, maintain relationships and become familiar with their concerns.

Moreover, the assistant national coordinator is a member of several forums with OLMC representation and is supported by a network of regional coordinators responsible for implementing section 41, who attend meetings organized by Canadian Heritage in the regions. Consultation with community organizations on census planning and products is an important activity for these coordinators, and results are shared with the employees at Advisory Services and headquarters who are involved in survey and census planning. SC operates entirely on a cost recovery basis and as a result can only encourage its clients to include a linguistic dimension in the surveys they request.

The Action Plan for the Implementation of Section 41 of the Act is periodically reviewed and includes concrete measures for the development of OLMCs across the country. An evaluation of the results of the Action Plan, which includes descriptive performance indicators, is completed each year during the preparation of the status report for Canadian Heritage. A report identifying the strengths and weaknesses, as well as what could hinder and facilitate the implementation of section 41 at SC, will also be submitted to SC's policy committee.

A

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

SC develops an action plan for the implementation of section 41 of the Act and submits an annual status report to Canadian Heritage on this subject. The Committee on Statistical Information Concerning Official Language Minorities ensures that surveys promote linguistic duality. SC is aware that each language group has different needs and ensures that surveys of interest to OLMCs take the specific needs of each group into account.

The presentations made to the OL Committee in June and September 2006 on the Action Plan and the Status Report on Section 41, as well as the presentation on the consequences of implementing the Act to Amend the Official Languages Act,helped make senior management aware of the need to take positive measures to promote linguistic duality.

In addition to the OL Committee, the institution has appointed an OL coordinator for each division. The OL Committee is also supported by a subcommittee of OL coordinators, which acts as an intermediary between the OL Committee and the OL coordinators. Members of the OL Committee and OL coordinators are also responsible for promoting both OL and linguistic duality and are aware of the obligation to take positive measures to promote linguistic duality.

Surveys and census activities are periodically reviewed to assess their impact on the promotion and use of English and French. Providing training workshops on the CD-ROM Portrait of Official Language Communities in Canada, attending a meeting of the Réseau Santé en français to discuss the concept of “Francophone,” participating in the Réseau de recherche sur la francophonie canadienne and organizing activities for Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie are positive measures that have been taken to promote the equal status and use of English and French.

The 2005-2008 Action Plan submitted to Canadian Heritage describes several activities that promote linguistic duality. These activities include descriptive performance indicators.

A

Sub-total:

A

OVERALL RATING

B

ARCHIVÉE - Statistique Canada 2006-2007

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2006-2007
Statistique Canada

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion (15 %)

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Les rôles et responsabilités de tous les intervenants à l'égard de toutes les parties de la Loi sur les langues officielles (la Loi), y compris ceux des membres de la haute gestion et des employés, sont clairement décrits dans le Guide des langues officielles à Statistique Canada. Les modalités d'exécution des obligations et les mécanismes de coordination y sont précisés. Lors de son évaluation annuelle du rendement, le directeur des langues officielles (LO) et de la traduction est évalué, sur la réalisation des activités liées aux LO comprises dans le Plan stratégique annuel des ressources humaines.

Un plan d'action 2005-2008 sur la mise en œuvre de la partie VII a été soumis à Patrimoine canadien. Le Plan stratégique annuel des ressources humaines approuvé par le Comité de gestion, bien qu'il ne soit pas organisé en fonction des parties IV, V et VI, comprend certaines activités en matière de LO. Le Plan décrit les objectifs à atteindre, les mesures à prendre et les échéanciers prévus. Ce plan fait aussi l'objet de discussions régulières avec le champion des LO et au Comité de gestion. Statistique Canada (SC) rend aussi compte de l'atteinte des objectifs en LO dans son bilan annuel sur les LO soumis à l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada et dans l'État des réalisations pour mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi soumis à Patrimoine canadien.

A

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation
(5 %)

Les LO font partie du Plan stratégique annuel des ressources humaines. La structure matricielle du Programme des LO assure la pleine intégration et une visibilité accrue du Programme des LO au sein de SC.

Le Rapport sur le rendement  2005-2006 traite de LO, de services bilingues et du tableau de bord pour les LO. Le Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2006-2007 traite de LOet de services bilingues dans les régions bilingues. Les LO ne sont pas systématiquement intégrées à la vérification interne. Toutefois, des questions portant sur les LO pourraient être intégrées à des sondages internes au besoin.

Les LO sont abordées régulièrement au Comité de gestion et aux réunions mensuelles du Comité des LO, où siège le champion des LO. Au cours de la dernière année, les discussions ont porté sur le décret d'exemption des LO, l'adoption de la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les langues officielles, le sondage d'opinion des employés et l'analyse des questions liées aux LO.

Le champion des LO est le statisticien en chef adjoint, Services de gestion. Il est membre de plusieurs comités au sein de SC et coprésident du Comité des LO. Le Comité des LO, composé de trois statisticiens en chef adjoints (dont le champion des LO) et de membres de la direction, se réunit mensuellement, ce qui assure une très bonne collaboration entre le champion, le responsable des LO et le responsable national de la partie VII de la Loi. Ce comité est appuyé par le Sous-comité des coordonnateurs des LO et par un réseau des coordonnateurs divisionnaires des LO.

B

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Toutes les plaintes sur SC déposées au Commissariat aux langues officielles sont examinées par un conseiller de la division des LO et immédiatement portées à l'attention du gestionnaire ou du directeur responsable, qui doit trouver une solution durable. Une copie de la plainte est également transmise au bureau du statisticien en chef. La haute gestion est informée des plaintes significatives et des mesures prises pour les résoudre. Ces plaintes sont discutées au Comité des LO et dans le réseau des coordonnateurs divisionnaires des LO. L'information sur la nature des plaintes et les mesures prises est partagée lors de rencontres et de discussions avec les personnes directement concernées. Le personnel des divisions concernées est aussi sensibilisé afin d'éviter que des situations semblables ne se reproduisent.

A

Sous-total :

A

Service au public - Partie IV (25 %)

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (3 %)

Les bureaux désignés bilingues sont inscrits dans Burolis et dans les pages bleues des bottins téléphoniques. Le service de renseignements statistiques a été centralisé à Ottawa et est offert à un numéro 1-800, ce qui permet au public de partout au pays de recevoir les services dans la LO de son choix.

Un total de 88 % de titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC), 31 mars 2006)

B

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2006, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 100 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 20 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 100 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le Commissariat entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2006, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 89 % des cas.

B

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

Le Guide du client portant sur les services du matériel et des contrats de SC précise que, lorsqu'ils sont requis, les services seront fournis dans les deux LO, dans le respect de la langue choisie par les clients. Les normes de service à la clientèle indiquent aussi que les clients seront servis dans la LO de leur choix. La gestion des contrats et des ententes de partenariat est centralisée. Les contrats de service fournis par les tiers et les ententes de partenariat prévoient des clauses concernant la prestation des services dans les deux LO lorsqu'ils sont requis. Les obligations des entrepreneurs sont précisées dans l'énoncé des travaux. Des vérifications sont effectuées par la Section des services du matériel et des contrats.

A

d) Politique sur le service au public et surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (5 %)

La Politique sur les LO de SC prévoit, qu'à l'administration centrale et dans les bureaux régionaux désignés, les communications et les services offerts au public seront dans les deux LO. De plus, la politique insiste sur l'offre active, sur la prestation de services dans la langue de choix de l'interlocuteur et prévoit que tous les produits de SC seront diffusés simultanément dans les deux LO.

La formation donnée aux recenseurs et aux intervieweurs, principaux points de contact avec le public, couvre en détail leurs responsabilités en matière de prestation de services au public dans la LO de son choix. L'information est également disponible sur le site intranet.

Les superviseurs ont la responsabilité d'effectuer les vérifications requises pour confirmer l'accessibilité et la qualité des services au public dans les deux LO, là où c'est requis, et de prendre les mesures appropriées en cas de lacune. Lorsqu'une vérification des services au public est annoncée, le statisticien en chef adjoint, Communications et Opérations, profite de l'occasion pour envoyer, aux directeurs et aux bureaux régionaux visés, un rappel concernant les obligations liées au service au public.

B

Sous-total :

B

Langue de travail - Partie V (25 %)

a) Politique sur la langue de travail et surveillance bilingue adéquate (12,5 %)

La Politique sur les LO de SC précise les droits et les obligations à l'égard de la langue de travail et couvre tous les éléments requis. Elle spécifie également que les postes de directeur et de niveaux supérieurs, de directeurs adjoints et de chefs de section qui comportent des responsabilités de supervision doivent être dotés au niveau de compétences linguistiques CBC.

Des mesures pour encourager l'utilisation des deux LO dans les régions désignées existent. En voici quelques exemples : les chroniques portant sur divers aspects de la langue de travail qui paraissent dans le bulletin électronique mensuel @StatCan; la banque de courriels bilingues visant à aider le personnel à rédiger dans les deux LO, publiée sur l'intranet; la trousse d'information sur les réunions bilingues; et la vidéo Une réunion bilingue mal menée — An unpleasant bilingual meeting. Il existe également de la formation linguistique et une prime d'excellence en matière de LO, remise chaque année à une ou plusieurs personnes ayant contribué à l'amélioration du Programme des LO au sein de l'institution.

En date du 31 mars 2006, le Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC) indiquait que 98 % des cadres et 84 % des superviseurs qui doivent communiquer dans les deux langues avec leur personnel dans les régions désignées bilingues sont bilingues.

B

b) Utilisation de chaque langue officielle au travail (12,5 %)

Les rappels aux gestionnaires se font dans le module sur les LO du Programme de perfectionnement en gestion pour les superviseurs, offert environ huit fois par année et auquel participent environ 25 personnes chaque fois. Les ateliers pratiques sur la langue de travail offerts sur demande aux diverses divisions servent aussi à rappeler les droits et les obligations à l'égard de la langue de travail. Environ 75 personnes de la Division des industries de service ont participé aux ateliers l'été dernier.

Les réunions du Comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO.

La surveillance se fait au moyen d'un suivi des réponses aux cinq questions portant sur la langue de travail contenues dans leSondage auprès des fonctionnaires fédérauxet par les commentaires fournis par le réseau des coordonnateurs divisionnaires qui connaissent la situation des LO dans leurs lieux de travail.

Le Sondage auprès des fonctionnaires fédérauxa établi que 82 % de l'ensemble des répondants francophones de la région de la capitale nationale, du Nouveau-Brunswick et des régions bilingues de l'Ontario étaient « entièrement d'accord » ou « plutôt d'accord » avec le régime de la langue de travail. Étant donné le petit nombre de répondants anglophones dans les régions bilingues du Québec, le Commissariat n'a pas été en mesure d'utiliser les réponses de ce groupe au Sondage auprès des fonctionnaires fédéraux de 2005.

B

Sous-total : 

B

Participation équitable - Partie VI (10 %)

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

Dans l'ensemble du Canada, l'effectif est composé à 39,1 % de francophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2006)

B

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

Au Québec, l'effectif est composé à 8,8 % d'anglophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2006)

B

Sous-total :

B

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII (25 %)

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

Statistique Canada, en collaboration avec d'autres organismes fédéraux, est l'institution clé qui détermine les besoins en matière de données et d'enquêtes sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) et qui trouve des moyens novateurs d'utiliser ces données pour répondre aux besoins des CLOSM.

SC élabore un plan d'action pour la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi et soumet à Patrimoine canadien un rapport annuel sur l'état des réalisations à cet égard. Les réunions périodiques du Comité sur l'information statistique relative aux CLOSM, constitué de représentants des divisions clés où sont élaborées les enquêtes d'intérêt pour les CLOSM, favorisent le partage d'information sur les CLOSM.

Le coordonnateur national et le coordonnateur adjoint responsables de la partie VII ont rencontré les membres du Comité des LO pour discuter de sujets liés à cette partie de la Loi. Entre autres, il y a eu, en mars, juin et septembre 2006, une présentation du Plan d'action et du Rapport sur l'état des réalisations pour la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi; une présentation sur les implications de la mise en œuvre de la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les langues officielles; et une autre sur l'Enquête sur la vitalité des minorités de langue officielle (EVMLO). Également, une présentation sur les accomplissements et les défis pour la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 a été faite au champion des LO.

En plus du Comité des LO, l'institution bénéficie, dans chaque division, d'un coordonnateur des LO. Le Comité des LO est aussi appuyé par un sous-comité des coordonnateurs des LO qui agit comme intermédiaire entre le Comité des LO et les coordonnateurs des LO. De par leurs fonctions, ces intervenants, tout comme les membres du Comité sur l'information statistique relative aux CLOSM, sont sensibilisés aux besoins des CLOSM.

La participation de gestionnaires d'enquête de SC au Comité de coordination de la recherche sur les LO permet de tenir les gestionnaires et leur personnel informés des besoins des CLOSM.

De par son mandat, sa mission et son rôle en matière d'enquêtes et de statistiques touchant les CLOSM, l'institution évalue de façon régulière les répercussions de ses politiques et de ses programmes sur les CLOSM.

L'EVMLO et la rédaction de la monographie sur la situation des CLOSM en matière d'alphabétisme sont des exemples de mesures positives prises par l'institution pour favoriser le développement des CLOSM. L'invitation faite aux membres des CLOSM de participer au prochain Symposium sur la recherche dans le domaine des LO, à la fin 2007 ou au début 2008, en est un autre. Ce symposium stimulera une réflexion sur l'arrimage entre la recherche et le développement de programmes et de politiques touchant les CLOSM et la dualité linguistique.

Chaque année, SC est présente à un certain nombre de colloques et de conférences auxquels participent des représentants des CLOSM. Les présentations faites par SC permettent de partager l'information avec les CLOSM, de créer des réseaux, de maintenir des liens et de connaître leurs préoccupations.

De plus, le coordonnateur national adjoint est membre de plusieurs forums où les CLOSM sont représentées. Il est soutenu par un réseau de coordonnateurs régionaux de la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 qui participent aux rencontres organisées par Patrimoine canadien dans les régions. La consultation des associations au sujet de la planification et de la préparation des produits du recensement est une activité importante de ces coordonnateurs. Les résultats des consultations sont partagés avec le personnel des Services consultatifs et avec le personnel du bureau central chargés de planifier les enquêtes et le recensement.

Statistique Canada fonctionne entièrement à recouvrement des coûts et, de ce fait, ne peut qu'inciter ses clients à inclure une dimension linguistique dans les enquêtes qu'ils lui demandent de préparer.

Le Plan d'action pour la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi est revu périodiquement et comprend des mesures concrètes visant le développement des CLOSM dans l'ensemble du pays. L'évaluation des résultats du Plan d'action, lequel contient des indicateurs de rendement de nature descriptive, se fait annuellement, lors de la préparation de l'État des réalisations qui sera soumis à Patrimoine canadien. Un rapport sera également présenté au Comité des politiques de SC et indiquera les forces et les lacunes de même que les obstacles et les éléments facilitateurs rencontrés lors de la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 à SC.

A

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

SC élabore un plan d'action pour la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi et soumet à Patrimoine canadien un rapport annuel sur l'état des réalisations à cet égard. Le Comité sur l'information statistique relative aux CLOSM s'assure que les enquêtes font la promotion de la dualité linguistique. SC reconnaît que les besoins des deux groupes linguistiques sont différents et il s'assure que les enquêtes revêtant un intérêt pour les CLOSM tiennent compte des besoins spécifiques propres à chaque groupe linguistique.

Les présentations faites au Comité des LO en juin et septembre 2006 sur le Plan d'action et l'État des réalisations liées à la mise en œuvre de l'article 41, ainsi que la présentation sur les répercussions de la mise en œuvre de la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les langues officielles ont servi à sensibiliser les membres de la haute gestion à la nécessité de prendre des mesures positives pour promouvoir la dualité linguistique.

En plus du Comité des LO, l'institution bénéficie, dans chaque division, du travail d'un coordonnateur des LO. Le Comité des LO est aussi appuyé par un sous-comité des coordonnateurs des LO qui agit comme intermédiaire entre le Comité des LO et les coordonnateurs des LO. Les membres du Comité des LO et les coordonnateurs sont également responsables de faire la promotion des deux LO et de la dualité linguistique et sont sensibilisés à l'obligation de prendre des mesures positives à l'égard de la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

Les enquêtes et les activités de recensement sont périodiquement examinées pour évaluer leur répercussion sur la promotion et l'usage de l'anglais et du français. La tenue d'ateliers de formation portant sur le CD-ROM Portrait des CLOSM au Canada, la participation à une rencontre du Réseau Santé en français pour discuter du concept de « francophone », la participation au Réseau de recherche sur la francophonie canadienne et l'organisation d'activités dans le cadre des Rendez-vous de la Francophonie sont des mesures positives prises pour promouvoir l'égalité de statut et l'usage du français et de l'anglais.

Le Plan d'action 2005-2008 soumis à Patrimoine canadien décrit plusieurs activités de promotion de la dualité linguistique. Ces activités comportent des indicateurs de rendement descriptifs.

A

Sous-total : 

A

NOTE GLOBALE

B