ARCHIVED - Ottawa, November 30, 2000

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Giving French and English Their Due Place in the Administration of Justice

Notes for a speech to be given at a luncheon of the Association des civilistes


Dr. Dyane Adam - Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Ladies and gentlemen,

I am delighted to speak to you. Your work is not only intrinsically important, but is also essential to effective bilingualism and bijuralism in Canada.

As you must know, my role as Commissioner of Official Languages is to make every effort to ensure recognition and respect for the status of both official languages, the spirit of the Official Languages Act and the legislator's intent as regards the administration of federal institutions, specifically the promotion of English and French in Canada.

I must tell you, it is a formidable challenge.

Some of you may remember that, in November 1995, the Commissioner of Official Languages published a major study entitled The Equitable Use of English and French Before the Courts in Canada.

This study revealed that the right of the accused to receive a trial in the official language of his or her choice, as stipulated in the Criminal Code, was very unevenly enforced from one province or territory to another. It also pointed to weaknesses relating to language in the way provincial courts administer other federal acts, including the Divorce Act and the Family Law Act. We accordingly made 13 recommendations to help the government address these discrepancies, together with the provinces.

In response to these recommendations, the federal Minister of Justice a year later published a working paper entitled Towards a Consolidation of Language Rights in the Administration of Justice in Canada - also known as the Francoeur Report. A subcommittee of the Program for the Integration of Both Official Languages in the Administration of Justice, chaired by Ms. Antoine Hacault, submitted comments on the working paper and on the recommendations found in the Commissioner's study. These comments were very useful in several respects, including observations on:

  • the best way of providing an active offer of service in both languages;
  • the use of both official languages before provincial courts of appeal;
  • the disclosure of evidence in the language used at the hearing;
  • procedural requirements applicable for bilingual proceedings;
  • access to legal aid services in both official languages;
  • improving the quality of interpretation services; and
  • the appointment of judges and the language training provided to them.

The department completed this detailed work in 1998 and then made its own recommendations. The departmental committee on bilingualism and bijuralism endorsed these recommendations in principle in March 1999. The Official Languages Law Group then conducted the appropriate interdepartmental consultations and submitted final recommendations to the Minister. We do not yet know when these proposals for legislative amendments might be submitted to our new elected officials.

Fortunately, the Office of the Commissioner did not wait for the results of this initial study to launch further studies. In the fall of 1996, we undertook a study focussing on The Equitable Use of English and French Before Federal Courts and Administrative Tribunals Exercising Quasi-judicial Powers.

This study was intended above all to provide an overview of the way both official languages are incorporated into federal court mechanisms and to identify problems attributable to bilingualism rules. Completed in 1999, this study provides a series of recommendations designed to enhance the implementation of the rights and responsibilities set out in Part III (Administration of Justice) and Part IV (Communications with and Services to the Public) of the Official Languages Act. In particular, these recommendations include the following:

  • improve the active offer of services in both official languages;
  • from the outset of a case, determine the official language of the parties and witnesses;
  • standardize the procedures for determining the official language to be used by the attorney representing the federal court;
  • rationalize the legislative provisions governing decisions rendered in both official languages; and
  • establish a priority system to determine the order in which decisions are made available to the public in both official languages.

Since the recommendations we made on the basis of that study pertain exclusively to federal organizations, we have every hope that they can be implemented more quickly.

We also noted with interest that the Assemblée régionale Amérique of the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie, in its meeting of September 29 and 30, 2000, considered the issue of access to justice for Francophones in North America. It unanimously adopted a resolution requiring the Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages to hold working sessions on the Office of the Commissioner's 1995 and 1999 studies and on my investigation report dealing with the implementation of the Contraventions Act and the City of Mississauga, made public in March 2000.

The chairman of the Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario, Peter Annis, also expressed to the co-chairs of the Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages his desire to have the committee examine this entire matter. We sincerely hope that new committee members are appointed as soon as Parliament resumes and that they give particular and urgent attention to this issue.

For my part, I will at the first opportunity stress to the next Justice Minister the great importance I attach to the rapid and effective implementation of our recommendations on the administration of justice.

In this regard, I was pleased to learn that the request for project funding by the Fédération des associations de juristes d'expression française de Common Law for the implementation of recommendations included in the Office of the Commissioner's 1999 study was recently approved by the joint committee on the Canada-national organizations agreement and by the Minister of Canadian Heritage. This federation and its jurists' associations intend to work with the Commissioner and with the Department of Justice's legal counsel on the implementation of these recommendations, as well as with administrators of quasi-judicial tribunals.

Finally, I have the pleasure of announcing that we have just completed another study on the linguistic obligations of federal Crown representatives. It will be released to the public shortly. The recommendations it contains will, I believe, help to better define the linguistic obligations of these officials in their dealings with the public and with the parties and will help them better respect the language rights of all those concerned. We attach particular importance to ensuring that the Crown informs representatives of their linguistic obligations and implements a system for appointing representatives that respects language rights.

We undertook this series of studies because we considered it very important to identify and define as clearly as possible the language rights of our fellow citizens before Canadian courts, and in particular the language rights of Anglophone and Francophone minorities.

The federal government's commitment to promoting the growth and development of these communities, as set out in section 41 of Part VII of the Act, must clearly apply first and foremost in areas unequivocally under its jurisdiction. Just as charity begins at home, so too must the law begin by putting its own affairs in order.

This is why we deplored the fact that the changes made in 1996 to the Contraventions Act and to the regulations and agreements established for their implementation did not include linguistic guarantees similar to those set out in part XVII of the Criminal Code and in Part IV of the Official Languages Act. For those unfamiliar with the 1996 changes, briefly, they allowed the government of Canada to authorize, through regulations, a province, territory or municipality to issue minutes and undertake proceedings for violations of federal acts or regulations in accordance with the penal procedure of the particular province or territory. In our opinion, in view of its commitment to protecting official language minorities, the government must actively ensure that the agreements concluded with provincial, territorial and municipal authorities guarantee respect for these rights. This is after all where it really counts.

With the consent of the Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario, we accordingly took legal action in November 1998. The first part of the hearing for this case was last March. It continued on October 17, 18 and 19. We expect the decisions in a few months.

Issues such as the impact of the changes made to the Contraventions Act are of particular interest to us because they will allow the courts to clarify the scope of the federal government's commitment set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

Recently, in the Beaulac case, the Honourable Justice Bastarache of the Supreme Court of Canada, speaking on behalf of the seven judges in the majority decision, reiterated that language rights "must in all cases be interpreted purposively, in a manner consistent with the preservation and development of official language communities in Canada". Moreover, he stressed the need for language rights to "be interpreted as a fundamental tool for the preservation and protection of official language communities where they apply."

These comments, which echo the provisions of Part VII of the Act, imply that respect for language rights goes far beyond simply improving the bilingual services provided by federal institutions. It requires instead an active commitment to giving minorities reasonable access to institutional resources such as education, health care, culture, economic development, etc. They must be given the scope to live and develop as fully fledged communities.

The same type of issue has been raised at the provincial level, specifically in Ontario. The struggle for the survival of the Montfort Hospital clearly illustrates the active and complementary relationship between the principle of bilingual service guaranteed by law and the pursuit of community development.

In order to develop, a linguistic community needs more than bilingual services. It needs environments conducive to the effective use of its language. In order to survive, a linguistic community needs a network of institutions in which its members can live in their language and culture, a network that anchors their identity.

If you have read the headlines in the media last week, you are aware that we have announced our decision to intervene in the Montfort case. In our opinion, the Ontario Court of Appeal's ruling on fundamental issues of the provinces' obligation to promote the development of official language communities will be crucial.

In the past, we deplored the lack of central co-ordination and planning for the implementation of Part VII. There was a lack of leadership at the highest levels and no overall policy on the participation of federal institutions in community development. There have been numerous signs of progress since that time.

Incidentally, I would like to commend a good many of you for the important work of textual interpretation and explanation you have done to lead these institutions to a better understanding of the scope and range of the federal government's commitment to official language minorities.

Part VII offers many ways to consolidate the foundations of linguistic duality by multiplying the opportunities for minority communities to develop, grow and evolve in as many areas as possible, in their own language. A community is essentially a group of people who talk to each other, who work together and share the same ambitions and dreams.

At a time when the federal government has undergone profound changes, Anglophone and Francophone minorities, more than ever before, recognize Part VII as an essential tool for their development. These transformations, brought about by financial constraints, technological progress and the desire to serve citizens more directly, have created a new order for these communities.

The federal government has to rally its forces and once again assert, loud and clear, its commitment to linguistic duality. This is the essential message of our recent Annual Report, which stresses the glaring lack of commitment and firm leadership.

I note however that, even before my report appeared, a shift seems to have begun, thanks in part to the renewal of the Committee of Deputy Ministers Responsible for Official Languages and other co-ordination mechanisms.

Following our forceful intervention and that of other interested groups, the federal government decided that the regional carriers of Air Canada and future regional subsidiaries would be subject to the provisions of the Act with respect to service to the public.

This decision could be interpreted as an indication of federal government's renewed interest in ensuring the equal status of both official languages in areas under its jurisdiction. I hope that the long period of withdrawal and offloading has come to an end.

The protection of language rights, like the protection of all human rights, is everyone's business. Your presence here today is a sign that you are committed individuals who take your work to heart. I know you work very hard to give English and French their due place in the administration of justice.

Still, I must ask you to redouble your efforts. I need your help to nurture a renewed vision of Canada's linguistic duality. The federal government needs all of your talents to ensure that the principles of the Act are fully integrated into the organizational culture of all federal institutions. This Act is fair and necessary in human terms. It reflects the reality of Canada today and tomorrow. May you continue to be its leading defenders.

Thank you.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 30 novembre 2000

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Donner au français et à l'anglais la place qui leur revient
dans l'administration de la justice

Allocution prononcée à un déjeuner-causerie de l'Association des civilistes


Madame Dyane Adam - Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Mesdames et Messieurs,

Je suis heureuse de m'adresser à vous. Vous faites un travail non seulement important en soi, mais également essentiel au bon fonctionnement du bilinguisme et du bijuridisme canadien.

Comme vous le savez, ma mission en tant que Commissaire aux langues officielles est de prendre toutes les mesures possibles pour assurer la reconnaissance du statut de chacune des langues officielles et faire respecter l'esprit de la Loi sur les langues officielles ainsi que l'intention du législateur en ce qui touche l'administration des affaires des institutions fédérales, notamment la promotion du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne.

Je vous dirai très familièrement que c'est tout un contrat.

Ceux qui ont des mémoires d'éléphant se souviendront qu'en novembre 1995, le Commissariat aux langues officielles avait rendu publique une importante étude sur L'utilisation équitable du français et de l'anglais devant les tribunaux fédéraux.

Cette étude soulignait que le droit d'un accusé de subir son procès dans la langue officielle de son choix, comme le prévoit le Code criminel du Canada, était appliqué de façon très inégale d'une province ou d'un territoire à l'autre. Elle relevait également des carences linguistiques dans l'administration, par les tribunaux provinciaux, de certaines autres lois fédérales, telles la Loi sur le divorce et la Loi sur la faillite. Nous avons formulé 13 recommandations pour amener le gouvernement fédéral à rectifier le tir, en collaboration avec les provinces.

En réponse à ces recommandations, le ministère de la Justice fédérale publiait, un an plus tard, un document de travail intitulé Vers une consolidation des droits linguistiques dans l'administration de la justice au Canada, document également connu sous le nom « Rapport Francoeur ». Un sous-comité du Programme d'administration de la justice dans les deux langues officielles, présidé par Me Antoine Hacault, a présenté des observations sur ce document de travail ainsi que sur les recommandations contenues dans l'étude du Commissaire. Ces observations ont fourni des indications utiles sur de nombreuses questions telles que :

  • la meilleure formule pour instituer une offre active des services dans les deux langues;
  • l'usage des deux langues officielles devant les tribunaux d'appel provinciaux;
  • la divulgation des éléments de preuve dans la langue utilisée durant l'audience;
  • les obligations d'ordre procédural qui devraient s'appliquer dans les cas d'instances menées dans les deux langues;
  • l'accès aux services d'aide juridique dans les deux langues officielles;
  • l'amélioration de la qualité des services d'interprétation;
  • le processus de nomination des juges et la formation linguistique qui leur est dispensée.

Le Ministère a terminé ce travail minutieux en 1998 et a procédé à l'élaboration de ses propres recommandations. Le Comité sur le bilinguisme et le bijuridisme du Ministère a endossé le principe de ces recommandations en mars 1999. Enfin, le Groupe du droit des langues officielles a mené les consultations interministérielles appropriées et puis a saisi la Ministre des recommandations finales. Nous ignorons toujours cependant à quel moment des projets de modifications législatives pourraient être présentés à nos nouveaux élus.

Fort heureusement, le Commissariat n'a pas attendu les résultats de cette première étude pour en lancer d'autres. C'est ainsi qu'à l'automne 1996, nous avons entrepris une étude qui portait exclusivement sur l'Utilisation équitable du français et de l'anglais devant les tribunaux judiciaires fédéraux et devant les tribunaux administratifs fédéraux exerçant des fonctions quasi judiciaires.

Cette étude visait avant tout à donner un aperçu de la manière dont les deux langues officielles sont intégrées dans les mécanismes des tribunaux fédéraux et à cerner les problèmes liés aux règles du bilinguisme. Complétée en 1999, cette étude contient une série de recommandations qui visent à améliorer la mise en oeuvre des droits et des responsabilités énoncés à la partie III (Administration de la justice) et à la partie IV (Communications et Services au public) de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Ces recommandations comprennent, entre autres, les propositions suivantes :

  • améliorer l'offre active de services dans les deux langues;
  • déterminer dès le début d'une affaire la langue officielle des parties et des témoins;
  • régulariser les procédures pour déterminer la langue officielle qu'utilisera l'avocat représentant le tribunal fédéral;
  • rationaliser les dispositions législatives régissant les décisions qui seront rendues dans les deux langues officielles;
  • établir un système de priorités permettant de déterminer dans quel ordre les décisions seront mises à la disposition du public dans les deux langues officielles.

Puisque les recommandations que nous avons formulées à la suite de cette dernière étude ne touchent que des organismes fédéraux, nous avons bon espoir qu'elles pourront être mises en oeuvre avec célérité.

Par ailleurs, nous avons noté avec intérêt que lors de sa réunion des 29 et 30 septembre dernier, l'Assemblée régionale Amérique de l'Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie s'est penchée sur l'accessibilité des francophones à la justice en Amérique du Nord. Elle a adopté à l'unanimité une résolution demandant au Comité mixte permanent des langues officielles de tenir des séances de travail sur les études du Commissariat de 1995 et de 1999, de même que sur mon rapport d'enquête visant la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur les contraventions et la ville de Mississauga, rendu public en mars 2000.

Le président de l'Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario, Me Peter Annis, a également fait part aux coprésidents du Comité mixte permanent des langues officielles de son désir de voir tout ce dossier abordé par le Comité. Nous espérons vivement que les nouveaux membres du Comité seront nommés dès la reprise des travaux parlementaires et qu'ils accorderont une attention particulière et urgente à cette problématique.

Pour ma part, je ne manquerai pas, à la première occasion, de signaler au prochain ministre de la Justice toute l'importance que j'attache à une mise en oeuvre rapide et efficace de nos recommandations relatives à l'administration de la justice.

Dans ce contexte, j'ai été heureuse d'apprendre que la demande de financement de projet de la Fédération des associations de juristes d'expression française de common law, pour la mise en oeuvre des recommandations du Commissariat contenues dans l' étude de 1999, a été acceptée récemment par le comité conjoint de l'entente Canada-organismes nationaux et la ministre du Patrimoine canadien. Cette Fédération et ses associations de juristes se proposent de collaborer avec la Commissaire et les conseillers juridiques du ministère de la Justice dans la mise en oeuvre des recommandations, de même qu'avec les administrateurs et les administratrices des tribunaux quasi judiciaires.

Enfin, j'ai le plaisir de vous annoncer que nous venons de compléter une étude portant sur les obligations linguistiques des représentants de la Couronne fédérale. Celle-ci sera rendue publique incessamment. Les recommandations que nous y formulons permettront, je crois, de mieux définir les obligations linguistiques de ces agents dans leurs relations avec le public et les parties et de mieux respecter les droits linguistiques de toutes les personnes intéressées. Nous insistons particulièrement sur l'importance de s'assurer que la Couronne informe les représentants de leurs obligations linguistiques et mette en place un système de nomination des représentants qui permette le respect des droits linguistiques.

Si nous avons entrepris cette série d'études, c'est que nous étions convaincus de l'importance de cerner et de définir le plus étroitement et le plus clairement possible les droits linguistiques de nos concitoyens devant les tribunaux au Canada, notamment les droits linguistiques des minorités francophones et anglophones.

En fait, l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral de favoriser l'épanouissement de ces minorités, énoncé à l'article 41 de la partie VII de la Loi, doit en toute logique s'appliquer en priorité dans les domaines relevant clairement de sa compétence. Comme la charité bien ordonnée, le droit bien ordonné commence chez soi.

C'est également pourquoi nous avons déploré le fait que les modifications apportées en 1996 à la Loi sur les contraventions, de même que la réglementation et les ententes établies pour leur mise en oeuvre, ne comprenaient pas de garanties linguistiques semblables à celles prévues à la partie XVII du Code criminel et à la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Pour ceux et celles qui sont moins familiers avec les modifications de 1996, rappelons simplement qu'elles permettent au gouvernement du Canada d'habiliter, par voie réglementaire, une province, un territoire ou une municipalité à délivrer des procès-verbaux et à engager des poursuites pour des infractions à des lois ou à des règlements fédéraux selon la procédure pénale propre à la province ou au territoire. À notre avis, en raison de son engagement à protéger les minorités de langue officielle, le gouvernement se doit de veiller activement à ce que les ententes conclues avec les autorités provinciales, territoriales et municipales garantissent le respect de ces droits. En fait, c'est là que le bât blesse.

C'est pourquoi, avec le consentement de l'Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario, nous avons déposé un recours judiciaire en novembre 1998. La première partie de l'audition de cette affaire a été entendue en mars dernier. Elle s'est poursuivie les 17, 18 et 19 octobre derniers. Nous attendons les jugements dans quelques mois.

Des questions comme celle de l'impact des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les contraventions nous intéressent particulièrement parce qu'elles permettront aux tribunaux d'éclairer la portée de l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral inscrite à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Récemment, dans l'affaire Beaulac, l'honorable Bastarache de la Cour suprême du Canada, au nom des sept juges de la majorité, rappelait que les droits linguistiques « doivent dans tous les cas être interprétés en fonction de leur objet, de façon compatible avec le maintien et l'épanouissement des collectivités de langue officielle du Canada ». De plus, il soulignait l'importance « [...] d'interpréter les droits linguistiques comme un outil essentiel au maintien et à la protection des collectivités de langue officielle là où ils s'appliquent ».

Ces remarques, qui sont en quelque sorte l'écho des dispositions de la partie VII de la Loi, laissent entendre que le respect des droits linguistiques s'étend bien au-delà d'une simple amélioration des services bilingues dispensés par les institutions fédérales. Il s'agit d'un engagement dynamique qui vise à procurer aux minorités un accès raisonnable aux ressources institutionnelles telles que l'éducation, la santé, la culture, le développement économique, etc. Il s'agit de leur permettre de vivre et de se développer comme des communautés à part entière.

Par ailleurs, le même genre de questionnement se pose au niveau provincial, notamment en Ontario. Le cas de la lutte pour la préservation de l'hôpital Montfort démontre bien la complémentarité active qui peut exister entre la prestation de services bilingues garanties par la loi et la recherche de l'épanouissement d'une communauté.

Pour se développer, une communauté linguistique a besoin de beaucoup plus que des services bilingues. Elle a besoin de milieux propices à l'utilisation effective de sa langue. Autrement dit, pour survivre, une communauté linguistique a besoin d'un réseau d'institutions où ses membres peuvent vivre dans leur langue et dans leur culture, un réseau qui ancre leur identité.

Si vous avez lu les manchettes dans la presse, la semaine passée, vous savez que nous avons communiqué notre décision d'intervenir dans l'affaire Montfort. À notre avis, la réponse que la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario apportera aux questions fondamentales touchant l'obligation des provinces à favoriser le développement des communautés de langue officielle sera cruciale.

Par le passé, nous avons déploré un manque de coordination et de planification centrales relativement à la mise en oeuvre de la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Il ne s'exerçait pas assez de leadership aux plus hauts niveaux et il n'existait pas de politique d'ensemble sur la participation des institutions fédérales au développement communautaire. Depuis, il y a eu de nombreux signes de progrès.

Je voudrais saluer au passage l'important travail d'interprétation et d'explication de texte que bon nombre d'entre vous avez effectué pour amener ces institutions à mieux saisir l'ampleur et la richesse de la portée de l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral vis-à-vis les minorités de langue officielle.

La partie VII offre de grandes possibilités pour consolider les assises de la dualité linguistique en multipliant les occasions pour les communautés minoritaires non seulement de se développer, mais aussi de s'épanouir, c'est-à-dire d'évoluer dans le plus grand nombre de contextes possibles dans leur langue. Une communauté, au fond, c'est d'abord des gens qui se parlent, qui travaillent ensemble et qui partagent les mêmes ambitions et les mêmes rêves.

Si plus que jamais les minorités francophones et anglophones estiment que la partie VII est un outil essentiel à leur développement, c'est qu'elles sont pleinement conscientes du fait que le gouvernement fédéral a subi de profondes transformations. Ces transformations, qui ont été motivées tantôt par des contraintes budgétaires ou des avancées technologiques et tantôt par un désir de rapprocher les services du citoyen, ont changé la donne pour ces communautés.

Il est primordial que le gouvernement fédéral se ressaisisse et affirme de nouveau, haut et fort, son engagement envers la dualité linguistique. C'est d'ailleurs l'essentiel du message de notre récent Rapport annuel qui souligne un manque évident d'engagement et de leadership ferme.

Je constate cependant que même avant la parution de mon rapport, on avait amorcé un virage, grâce, entre autres, à la revitalisation du Comité des sous-ministres responsable des langues officielles et d'autres mécanismes de coordination.

Ainsi, dans la foulée de notre intervention vigoureuse et de celle d'autres groupes intéressés, le gouvernement fédéral a décidé d'assujettir les transporteurs régionaux d'Air Canada et les autres filiales éventuelles aux dispositions de la Loi en ce qui a trait au service au public.

Cette décision pourrait être interprétée comme un signal annonciateur de l'intérêt renouvelé que le gouvernement fédéral portera au respect du statut de nos deux langues officielles dans les domaines qui relèvent de sa juridiction. J'espère que la lourde période de désengagement et de délestage est terminée.

En fait, la protection des droits linguistiques, comme la protection de tous les droits de la personne, est l'affaire de tout le monde. Votre présence aujourd'hui nous permet de croire que vous êtes des personnes engagées qui prenez votre travail à coeur. Je suis consciente que vous faites beaucoup d'efforts pour donner au français et à l'anglais la place qui leur revient dans l'administration de la justice.

Je voudrais toutefois vous demander de redoubler vos efforts. Je sollicite votre aide afin d'alimenter une vision renouvelée de la dualité linguistique canadienne. L'administration fédérale a besoin de tous vos talents pour que les principes de la Loi soient pleinement intégrés à la culture organisationnelle de chacune des institutions fédérales. C'est une loi juste et nécessaire sur le plan humain. C'est une loi qui correspond à la réalité du Canada d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Continuez d'en être les premiers défenseurs.

Merci.