ARCHIVED - Ottawa, January 24, 2007

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

“The Role of the Media in Bridging the French-English Divide”
Remarks to the Ottawa Chapter of the Canadian Association of Journalists


Graham Fraser - Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Thank you for the invitation to speak to you today. This is my first time I making a presentation to a group of former colleagues since I became Commissioner of Official Languages three months ago.

I have a warm spot as far as the CAJ is concerned – but a slightly wistful feeling as well. I was part of a group of journalists involved in the early discussions that led to the creation of the Centre for Investigative Journalism – the CIJ – the precursor to the Canadian Association of Journalists – the CAJ. Let me tell you a bit about how the Association got started.

In 1978 and 1979, I was part of a group of journalists who decided that it would be worthwhile to set up an organization of both English-speaking and French-speaking journalists. During a book tour to promote his investigative work on Montreal real estate manoeuvrings entitled City For Sale, Henry Aubin of The Gazette met Jock Ferguson, then a CBC-TV reporter. That encounter, and their common concerns about the state of investigative journalism, led to a wider continuing discussion that included Nick Fillmore of CBC Radio and Jean-Claude Leclerc of Le Devoir. A little later, I joined them, as did Gérald Leblanc of La Presse, Richard Cléroux of The Globe and Mail and a number of other colleagues. Several Quebec journalists doubted the relevance of a new association; they already had La Fédération professionelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), and they did not want to join a parallel organization, nor to see one develop that would siphon members from the Féderation.

What was agreed upon was that the new organization would focus on investigative journalism – investigative in its broadest sense – and as a result the Centre for Investigative Journalism (CIJ) was created. Several annual conferences generated considerable enthusiasm; the contact between English-speaking and French-speaking journalists who were wrestling with many of the same issues seemed constructive. But the original idea did not survive longer than a few years: English-speaking journalists wanted a broader focus for the organization than simply investigation, no matter how that was defined.

Somewhere around 1986, there began to be pressure to change the Centre’s name and its mandate and, after much debate at several conventions, the changes were made. The CIJ became the CAJ. With a sense of regret and of lost opportunities on the part of some of the original organizers of the CIJ but no bitterness or hard feelings, the CAJ and the FPJQ ran along parallel tracks, with amicable but distant relations.

“The FPJQ run their show and we run ours,” Robert Cribb, who was president of the CAJ from 2001-2003, told me, adding “there’s not a hint of ill-will between us.” Alain Gravel, president of the FPJQ, told me that there are almost no day-to day interactions between the two organizations. “They are almost non-existent; we have very very little to do with one another,” he said. “I have no contact with the CAJ, there is no follow-up. It’s a shame. We have contacts with Reporters Without Borders, and we are members of many international organizations; we have connections with groups almost everywhere, but very little contact with the CAJ. It’s a pity; the same laws apply to us, but there is no connection, nobody calls from either group. Mind you,” he added thoughtfully, “I work at Radio-Canada, and it’s the same situation with CBC.”

But when it matters, the two organizations do work closely and effectively together. “Occasionally, issue-based relations bring us together,” Robert Cribb said, describing how the CAJ and the FPJQ worked together when CanWest imposed a single editorial policy on all the members of the newspaper chain. The two groups co-ordinated their efforts, put together a package of material in both languages and sent it to all Members of Parliament. Along the same vein, Alain Gravel recounted that when a reporter for The Hamilton Spectator was fined for refusing to reveal a source, the FPJQ got involved and sent a member of the executive to the CAJ conference in Winnipeg. “Major, overarching national issues bring us together,” Robert Cribb stated. “In such instances, we effectively represent the whole country.”

But the language that English-Canadians use to describe Canadian organizations usually does not reflect the fact that those groups that purport to be national in scope are in fact English-speaking organizations. The CAJ is a good example: its name appears in English and French on its Web site – a stylized lower case caj beside “Canadian Association of Journalists/L’association canadienne des journalistes” – but the rest of the site is entirely in English. In its mission statement, the CAJ says, “The CAJ promotes excellence in journalism, encouraging investigative journalism. We serve as the national voice of Canadian journalists, and we uphold the public’s right to know.” The bilingual title exists as a claim of national representativeness, but there is nothing in the mission statement, the goals, the caucuses or the Web site of the organization that would suggest that journalism in Canada might occur in French.

The FPJQ has a larger membership than the CAJ – over 1800 as compared to 1500 – due to the fact that the employees of a number of media organizations become FPJQ members automatically, while every CAJ member is a member by choice. On its Web site – which is in French only – the FPJQ has a link to the CAJ site, which it describes as “a kind of equivalent to the FPJQ, whose 1500 members come, in the great majority, from English Canada.”

It is, in fact, a form of sovereignty-association: two groups that have evolved with different cultural approaches and different structures, but come together on occasion when their common interests are affected.

Over the past 21 years, since I moved to Ottawa and joined the Press Gallery, I have observed a similar kind of “linguistic divide.” In these two decades, every Prime Minister was from Quebec: Brian Mulroney until 1993, Jean Chrétien and Paul Martin from 1993 until 2006 – with the exception of Kim Campbell’s summer and Stephen Harper. During that time, a remarkable number of members in the Gallery (including senior columnists) at times have been unable to cover the Prime Minister speaking to Canadians.

I remember when I first started working at the Globe and Mail’s Ottawa bureau, that when Mulroney would fly to Baie Comeau to visit his constituency, or elsewhere in the province, a small group of reporters would gather at Hangar 11 to cover his departure. We were always the same ones – and we used to quip that the fact that we were able to cover the Prime Minister speaking French was a kind of employment insurance.

Things have improved somewhat – I don’t think we would see a repeat of the scene captured in a documentary on the 1979 federal election campaign, where Pierre Trudeau’s press secretary, Suzanne Perry gave a running simultaneous translation of what the PM was saying to a group of unilingual Ottawa reporters.

Brian Mulroney used to take advantage of the unilingualism of the English gallery. When Lucien Bouchard was given responsibility for looking at party practices and fundraising when he was sworn into cabinet in March 1988, Mulroney only mentioned it in French. As a result, there was almost no mention of this in the English media.

Similarly, during the 2000 election campaign, while campaigning in southern Ontario, Jean Chrétien made a highly provocative remark about Stockwell Day, saying that the latter wanted to destroy Canada. A wire service representative transmitted this information immediately – and two hours later, all the reporters on the campaign bus got calls from their editors, asking about the comment. Most of them had neither reacted to Mr. Chrétien’s remarks nor considered including them in their stories – because he had been speaking French, and they hadn’t understood him.

Need I remind you of the embarrassment, in the fall of 2005, when CTV reported that Lucien Bouchard had died? A network staff member had come across the documentary on the 1995 referendum, “Point de Rupture,” when it was playing on RDI – and thought that it was a live report on the former Premier’s death.

Given the current context of a Parliament where an English-speaking Prime Minister is able to deliver clear messages in French to Quebec voters, and where the leaders of the other parties are all bilingual – Stéphane Dion, leader of the Liberal Party, as well as Bloc leader Gilles Duceppe and NDP leader Jack Layton both in key positions to affect the future of a minority government – shouldn’t the members of the Press Gallery reflect on their ability to explain the thinking, the influences, the friends and acquaintances of Canada’s political leaders? Without putting too fine a point on it, I think one of the primary requirements for any national reporter is to be able to understand the Prime Minister when he speaks to Canadians. Unfortunately, that standard, which I see as fundamental, is still not always met.

I can tell you that the particular importance Stephen Harper places on meeting with reporters in the foyer of the House of Commons – where there is no simultaneous interpretation – has proven problematic for some members of the Gallery. However, in terms of his public behaviour, Stephen Harper has been exemplary in his respect of linguistic duality. In all parts of Canada, on foreign visits, and in international gatherings, he has taken care to use both French and English in his oral communications.

However, his government has given conflicting messages on language policy. It is thanks to the support of the Conservative Party, under his leadership, that Parliament passed the amendments to the Official Languages Act in December 2005. Josée Verner, the minister responsible for official languages, was truly proud when she appeared before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages last spring.

But last September, the Harper government abolished the Court Challenges Program and the Innovation Fund. When I assumed my present job as Commissioner of Official Languages, dozens of complaints had already been filed on this subject; we have now received over a hundred. We are conducting a full investigation into these complaints, and I don’t want to say anything that would compromise the integrity of that investigation – but as I said when I appeared before Parliamentary Committees that were assessing my suitability for the job, I have trouble reconciling the words of the Harper government with its acts.

I have talked about the need for journalists to be able to understand the Prime Minister – but what about public servants?

The language policy in the public service – which was first announced by Lester Pearson 40 years ago, in 1966, before Pierre Trudeau was even in the federal cabinet – was based on the principles that the federal government should be able to serve Canadians in the official language of their choice, and that federal public servants should be able to work in their choice of English or French.

A year later, when he was Justice Minister, Pierre Trudeau described language rights as two-fold: the right to learn a language and the right to use it. The entire edifice of language rights that has been built since then – the Official Languages Act of 1969, the Charter of Rights and Freedoms of 1982 and the amendments to the Official Languages Act in 1988 and 2005 – are based on those two pillars. Linguistic policy in Canada has two essential goals: to protect the rights of the unilingual – to ensure that the 4 million unilingual French-speaking Canadians have the same level of service as the 20 million unilingual English-speaking Canadians – and to help the growth and development of Canada’s minority language communities.

As Commissioner of Official Languages, I want to build bridges – and to make Canadians aware that French and English are Canadian languages, not foreign ones – and remind them that these languages belong to all Canadians. Mastery of both languages is already a key factor in political leadership; I think it should be understood as a core value and a key factor in leadership throughout the public sector.

I have only been in this job for three months but already I’ve learned that under the influence of bureaucracy, a value can easily become a burden. So if transparency creates a burden on access to information, and if responsible management of taxpayers’ dollars creates a burden on internal auditing, linguistic duality creates a burden associated with levels, imperative staffing, training and testing.

Our challenge is to shift linguistic duality from being a burden to being an asset. There are only four reasons for a public servant to speak both languages: to serve the public, to manage people who have a right to work in both languages, to serve a minister who has a right to be briefed in the language that he or she chooses, and to understand the country as a whole.

In some ways, that last reason is the most significant one for journalists to consider. We have a French-speaking community in this country of some 8 million people. Over 60% of the Francophones in Quebec speak no English. There is a dynamic, exciting French-speaking culture, society and economy in this country – and I don’t know how we can claim to understand Canada as a whole if we don’t understand the two official languages of its people.

Thank you.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 24 janvier 2007

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le rôle des médias dans le rapprochement entre francophones et anglophones


Allocution prononcée devant l’Association canadienne des journalistes,
section d’Ottawa


Graham Fraser - Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

 

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invité à vous parler aujourd’hui. C’est la première fois que j’ai l’occasion de faire une présentation devant un groupe d’anciens collègues depuis ma nomination au poste de commissaire aux langues officielles, il y a trois mois.

L’Association canadienne des journalistes occupe, selon moi, une place importante, mais elle m’inspire aussi de légers regrets. Je faisais partie des journalistes qui ont participé aux discussions préliminaires ayant mené à la création du Centre pour le journalisme d’enquête, le CJE, précurseur de l’Association canadienne des journalistes, ou ACJ. Permettez-moi de vous parler brièvement des débuts de l’Association.

En 1978 et 1979, un groupe de journalistes, dont moi-même, a décidé qu’il serait utile de mettre sur pied un organisme réunissant des journalistes francophones et anglophones. Durant une tournée pour promouvoir son ouvrage d’investigation portant sur les tractations dans le secteur immobilier de Montréal, intitulé Les vrais propriétaires de Montréal, Henry Aubin, du journal The Gazette, a fait la connaissance de Jock Ferguson, qui était alors journaliste de télévision à la CBC. Cette rencontre et leurs préoccupations communes au sujet de la situation du journalisme d’enquête ont donné lieu à une discussion élargie à laquelle ont pris part Nick Fillmore, de la radio de la CBC, et Jean-Claude Leclerc, du Devoir. Un peu plus tard, je me suis joint à eux, à l’instar de Gérald Leblanc, de La Presse, de Richard Cléroux, du Globe and Mail, et de nombreux autres collègues. Plusieurs journalistes du Québec doutaient de la pertinence d’une nouvelle organisation, car ils étaient déjà membres de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ) et ne voulaient pas adhérer à un organisme ayant des fonctions parallèles ni voir la Fédération perdre des membres au profit d’un autre groupe.

Il a donc été convenu d’orienter le nouvel organisme vers le journalisme d’enquête – enquête dans toute l’acception du terme – ce qui a mené à la création du Centre pour le journalisme d’enquête (CJE). La tenue de plusieurs congrès annuels a permis de soulever un enthousiasme considérable, et les contacts entre journalistes francophones et anglophones, qui étaient aux prises avec des problèmes similaires, semblaient constructifs. Toutefois, l’idée initiale n’a survécu que quelques années : des journalistes anglophones souhaitaient que l’organisme adopte une orientation plus large que celle du journalisme d’investigation, peu importe la définition qu’on en donnait. Vers 1986, on a commencé à exercer des pressions pour changer le nom et le mandat du Centre et, après maints débats à plusieurs congrès, le changement a été apporté. Le CJE est alors devenu l’ACJ. Bien qu’avec un certain regret devant tant d’occasions perdues chez certains des fondateurs du CJE, mais sans amertume ni ressentiment, l’ACJ et la FPJQ ont évolué dans deux voies parallèles, tout en entretenant des relations amicales, mais distantes.

Robert Cribb, qui a été président de l’ACJ de 2001 à 2003, m’a expliqué que ses membres menaient leur barque et que la FPJQ menait la sienne séparément. Il n’y a aucune mauvaise volonté de part et d’autre, m’a-t-il précisé. Alain Gravel, président de la FPJQ, m’a indiqué qu’il n’y a pratiquement aucune relation au quotidien entre les deux organismes, que leurs rapports sont extrêmement limités, voire presque inexistants. M. Gravel a dit n’entretenir aucun rapport avec l’ACJ ni effectuer de suivi auprès d'elle. C’est une situation des plus regrettables, selon lui. La FPJQ, qui est en relation avec Reporters sans frontières et membre d’une multitude d’organisations internationales, entretient donc des rapports avec des organismes de presque partout au monde, mais très peu avec l’AJC. Il est dommage, de poursuivre Alain Gravel, qu’il en soit ainsi puisque les deux organismes sont assujettis aux mêmes lois. « Personne n’appelle personne, dans un camp comme dans l’autre. » Après un moment de réflexion, il a ajouté que la situation est la même en ce qui concerne les relations entre la CBC et Radio-Canada, où il travaille.

Toutefois, lorsque surviennent des questions d’importance, les deux organismes travaillent en étroite collaboration et efficacement ensemble. Robert Cribb a expliqué que l’AJC et la FPJQ collaborent occasionnellement à des dossiers particuliers. Ainsi, il a décrit comment les deux organismes ont fait front commun lors de l’imposition, par CanWest, d’une politique éditoriale commune à toute la chaîne de journaux. Les deux groupes ont coordonné leurs efforts, élaboré divers documents dans les deux langues et les ont fait parvenir à tous les députés. Dans le même ordre d’idées, Alain Gravel a indiqué que lorsqu’un reporter du journal The Hamilton Spectator s’était vu imposer une amende pour avoir refusé de révéler une source, la FPJQ était intervenue et avait délégué un membre de sa direction à la conférence de l’ACJ, à Winnipeg. Selon Robert Cribb, les grandes questions nationales amènent les deux organismes à travailler ensemble et, ainsi, à représenter efficacement le pays tout entier.

Cependant, le langage qu’utilisent les Canadiens anglais pour décrire les organismes canadiens ne reflète généralement pas le fait que les groupes qui prétendent avoir une portée nationale sont en réalité des organismes anglophones. L’ACJ en est un bon exemple : son nom est présenté en français et en anglais sur son site Web – le sigle « CAJ » est, lui, écrit en lettres minuscules à côté de « The Canadian Association of Journalists/L’Association canadienne des journalistes » –, mais le reste du site est entièrement en anglais. Son énoncé de mission se lit comme suit : « The CAJ promotes excellence in journalism, encouraging investigative journalism. We serve as the national voice of Canadian journalists, and we uphold the public’s right to know. » Ce qui pourrait se traduire ainsi : « L’ACJ favorise l’excellence en journalisme et appuie le journalisme d’enquête. Elle se fait le porte-parole national des journalistes canadiens et défend le droit de savoir du public. » Le nom bilingue de l’ACJ figure comme une affirmation de sa représentativité nationale, mais rien n’indique dans l’énoncé de mission ni dans les objectifs, les groupes ou le site Web que le journalisme au Canada peut s’exercer en français.

La FPJQ compte davantage de membres que l’ACJ – plus de 1 800 comparativement à 1 500 – ce qui s’explique par le fait que les employés de plusieurs organismes de presse deviennent automatiquement membres de la Fédération, tandis que l’adhésion à l’ACJ se fait de façon volontaire. Le site Web de la FPJQ – qui est uniquement en français –, comporte un lien vers celui de l’ACJ, décrite comme « une sorte de pendant de la FPJQ, dont les 1 500 membres se recrutent en grande majorité au Canada anglais ». Il s’agit de fait d’une forme de souveraineté-association : deux groupes qui, évoluant chacun en fonction de sa culture et de sa structure, unissent occasionnellement leurs efforts pour défendre des intérêts communs.

Au cours des 21 dernières années, c’est-à-dire depuis mon arrivée à Ottawa et mon entrée à la Tribune de la presse, j’ai remarqué ce même type de « scission linguistique ». Pendant ces quelque 20 années, tous les premiers ministres étaient originaires du Québec – Brian Mulroney jusqu’en 1993, Jean Chrétien et Paul Martin, de 1993 à 2006 – à l’exception de Kim Campbell, le temps d’un été, et Stephen Harper. Au cours de cette période, de nombreux membres de la Tribune (y compris des chroniqueurs chevronnés) n’étaient pas en mesure de rapporter certains propos du premier ministre lorsqu’il s’adressait aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes.

Je me rappelle, à l’époque où j’ai commencé à travailler au bureau d’Ottawa du Globe and Mail, qu’un petit groupe de journalistes se rendait au hangar 11 pour couvrir le départ de Mulroney chaque fois qu’il se rendait à Baie-Comeau, sa circonscription, ou à d’autres endroits de la province. Nous étions toujours les mêmes et nous nous disions, à la blague, que notre capacité de relater les propos en français du Premier Ministre représentait une sorte d’assurance-emploi.

La situation s’est quelque peu améliorée : je ne crois pas que l’on assistera de nouveau à la scène présentée dans un documentaire sur la campagne électorale fédérale de 1979, où l’attachée de presse de Pierre Trudeau, Suzanne Perry, fait la traduction simultanée des propos du Premier Ministre à l’intention de journalistes unilingues d’Ottawa.

Brian Mulroney savait bien tirer profit de l’unilinguisme de la presse anglophone. Lors de l’assermentation de Lucien Bouchard au Cabinet, en mars 1988, Mulroney s’était exprimé uniquement en français pour annoncer que ce dernier avait été mandaté pour examiner les pratiques et le financement des partis. Conséquemment, les médias anglophones n’en ont presque pas parlé.

De même, durant la campagne électorale de 2000, Jean Chrétien avait fait une remarque fort provocante à l’endroit de Stockwell Day lors de son passage dans le Sud de l’Ontario, accusant ce dernier de vouloir détruire le Canada. Un représentant d’une agence de presse avait immédiatement transmis cette information et, deux heures plus tard, tous les journalistes à bord de l’autobus de campagne ont reçu un appel de leur rédacteur en chef leur demandant des précisions sur cette remarque. La plupart d’entre eux n’avaient pas réagi aux propos de M. Chrétien ou n’avaient pas cru bon de les mentionner dans leurs reportages puisque le Premier Ministre s’était exprimé en français et qu’ils ne l’avaient pas compris.

Dois-je vous rappeler l’embarras causé par l’annonce de la mort de Lucien Bouchard, à l’automne 2005, par le réseau CTV ? Un membre du personnel du réseau avait vu à RDI un documentaire sur le référendum de 1995 intitulé Point de rupture, et avait cru, à tort, qu’il s’agissait d’un reportage en direct sur la mort de l’ex-premier ministre.

Étant donné le contexte actuel, c’est-à-dire un Parlement où le premier ministre, anglophone, est capable de s’exprimer clairement en français devant l’électorat québécois, et où les chefs des autres partis sont tous bilingues – Stéphane Dion, chef du Parti libéral, Gilles Duceppe, chef du Bloc Québécois, et Jack Layton, chef du NPD, tous deux en bonne posture pour modifier le sort du gouvernement minoritaire –, les membres de la Tribune de la presse ne devraient-ils pas réfléchir à leur capacité de rendre compte de la pensée, des influences, des amis et des connaissances des dirigeants politiques du pays? Sans vouloir m’attarder sur le sujet, j’aimerais dire qu’à mon avis, l’une des compétences essentielles chez tout correspondant national est la capacité de comprendre le premier ministre lorsqu’il parle aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes. Malheureusement, cette exigence que je juge fondamentale n’est pas toujours respectée.

Je peux affirmer que l’importance toute particulière qu’accorde Stephen Harper au foyer de la Chambre des communes pour rencontrer les journalistes – endroit où il n’y a pas de service d’interprétation simultanée – a causé de véritables problèmes à certains membres de la Tribune. Mais en ce qui concerne ses interventions publiques, Stephen Harper a fait preuve, jusqu’à présent, d’une attitude exemplaire pour ce qui a trait au respect de la dualité linguistique. Dans ses communications orales, dans toutes les régions du Canada, à l’occasion de visites de dignitaires étrangers, ou même dans le cadre de rencontres internationales, il s’est employé à utiliser à la fois le français et l’anglais.

Pourtant, son gouvernement a envoyé des messages contradictoires en matière de politique linguistique. C’est bien grâce au soutien du Parti conservateur, alors sous sa direction, que le Parlement a adopté les modifications à la Loi sur les langues officielles en décembre 2005. Josée Verner, ministre responsable des Langues officielles, s’en est d’ailleurs enorgueillie lors de son allocution devant le Comité permanent des langues officielles de la Chambre des communes, au printemps dernier.

Cependant, en septembre 2006, le gouvernement Harper a supprimé le Programme de contestation judiciaire et le Fonds d’innovation en matière de langues officielles. Lorsque je suis entré en fonction en tant que commissaire aux langues officielles, des dizaines de plaintes avaient déjà été déposées à ce sujet, et nous en avons maintenant reçues plus d’une centaine. Nous menons une enquête approfondie sur ces plaintes, et je ne peux rien dire qui pourrait en compromettre l’intégrité, mais comme je l’ai indiqué aux commissions parlementaires chargées de déterminer si j’étais apte à remplir mes fonctions, j’ai beaucoup de difficulté à faire coïncider les gestes et les paroles du gouvernement Harper.

J’ai parlé de l’importance pour les journalistes d’être en mesure de comprendre le premier ministre, mais qu’en est-il des fonctionnaires? La politique linguistique au sein de la fonction publique – qui a été annoncée, pour la première fois, par Lester Pearson il y a 40 ans, en 1966, avant même que Pierre Trudeau ne soit membre du Cabinet fédéral – était basée sur les principes que le gouvernement fédéral devait être capable de servir les Canadiens et les Canadiennes dans la langue officielle de leur choix, et que les fonctionnaires devaient pouvoir travailler en français ou en anglais, selon leur choix.

Un an plus tard, Pierre Trudeau, alors ministre de la Justice, a précisé les deux volets des droits linguistiques : le droit d’apprendre une langue et le droit d’utiliser cette langue. Notre conception des droits linguistiques, qui s’est bâtie au fil des années suivantes – et qui s’est concrétisée dans la Loi sur les langues officielles de 1969, dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés de 1982 et dans les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les langues officielles en 1988 et en 2005 –, repose sur ces deux piliers. La politique linguistique du Canada a deux objectifs essentiels : protéger les droits des citoyens canadiens unilingues – c’est-à-dire veiller à ce que les 4 millions de francophones unilingues reçoivent le même niveau de service que les 20 millions d’anglophones unilingues –, et soutenir la croissance et le développement des communautés linguistiques minoritaires du Canada.

En tant que commissaire aux langues officielles, je veux construire des ponts, sensibiliser les Canadiens et les Canadiennes au fait que le français et l’anglais sont des langues canadiennes – et non pas des langues étrangères –, et leur rappeler que ces langues leur appartiennent. La maîtrise des deux langues est déjà un facteur essentiel pour les dirigeants politiques. Selon moi, elle devrait également être considérée comme une valeur fondamentale et un élément-clé de leadership dans l’ensemble du secteur public.

Je suis entré en fonction il n’y a que trois mois, mais j’ai déjà eu le temps d’apprendre que, sous l’influence de la bureaucratie, une valeur peut facilement se transformer en fardeau. En effet, si la transparence crée le fardeau des procédures pour l’accès à l’information, et si la gestion responsable de l’argent des contribuables crée le fardeau de la vérification interne, la dualité linguistique crée, quant à elle, le fardeau associé aux niveaux, à la dotation impérative, à la formation et à l’administration de tests.

Le défi que nous devons relever est de faire de la dualité linguistique non pas un fardeau, mais bien une valeur. Un fonctionnaire n’a que quatre raisons de parler les deux langues officielles : servir le public; gérer des personnes qui ont le droit de travailler dans les deux langues; travailler pour un ou une ministre qui a le droit de recevoir de l’information dans la langue de son choix, et comprendre le pays dans son ensemble.

D’une certaine manière, cette dernière raison est peut-être celle qui importe le plus dans le cas des journalistes. La communauté francophone du Canada compte quelque huit millions de personnes. Plus de 60 p. 100 des francophones du Québec ne parlent pas anglais. Notre pays abrite une culture, une société et une économie francophones, stimulantes et dynamiques, et je ne peux pas concevoir comment nous pouvons prétendre comprendre le Canada dans son ensemble si nous ne sommes pas en mesure de comprendre les deux langues officielles de sa population.

Je vous remercie de votre attention.