ARCHIVED - Ottawa, June 22, 2001

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Making education rights the primary focus in the promotion of official languages

Notes for a speech delivered at the symposium: A National Strategy for Achieving Education Rights, hosted by the Canadian Centre for Linguistic Rights, at the Conference of the Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario


Dr. Dyane Adam – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

It is a real pleasure to join you at this symposium, which is very sure to be a success. I would like to draw attention to the cooperative work that went into preparing this symposium and the AJEFO Conference, and to the ten or so organizations who contributed. These efforts are symbolic of the cooperation that will be needed in the future to ensure the full implementation of minority language rights. I must also mention the outstanding contribution of the Canadian Centre for Linguistic Rights for its coordination work and for contributing to our collective reflection on the implementation of education rights. Finally, I would like to mention that a great many jurists, parents, school trustees and administrators are here today to evaluate the fruit of their efforts and to discuss the future of section 23.

Before I get to the heart of my subject, allow me first to advertise the fact that I am launching a new publication at this symposium, Language Rights in 1999-2000.  Copies will be available at the exit.  This document summarizes and analyzes key court decisions relating to language rights in Canada between January 1999 and December 2000.  The range of the issues examined in these cases attests to the courts' active role in the implementation of linguistic duality in Canada.  Developments in case law over the last two years seem to indicate, I hope, that we are gradually moving from a theoretical equality of our two official languages to a practical and remedial equality.

I hope therefore that these recent decisions will encourage governments to more fully respect the language rights of Canadians and to more actively foster the growth and development of minority Anglophone and Francophone communities. Language rights are a mere illusion without concrete government action that facilitates the exercise of these rights.

The symposium hosted by the Canadian Centre for Linguistic Rights is intended to give an update on the current status of education rights in Francophone communities, ten years after the Supreme Court rendered its decision in the Mahé case.

The future of Francophone communities in Canada depends on their schools.  We all know that there are many pressing needs as regards French-language education. It is time to shift from discourse on rights to discourse on responsibility.  That means it is time for reflection and new directions.  It is time to define a strategy and objectives to ensure the full realization of education rights.

This symposium also celebrates ten years of tireless work by parents, educators, school trustees, members of community associations, jurists and politicians.  Each person has a duty, each person has contributed a brick to build the large structure that now houses Canada's Francophonie.  Congratulations on your courage, determination and vision.

Finally, this symposium is also a reflection of the ongoing and exceptional contribution of the Canadian Centre for Linguistic Rights to our common reflection on the scope and implementation of language rights in Canada.  These rights are, let there be no doubt, a well-known type of human rights.

We might also ponder whether a symbiotic relationship exists between language rights and the other rights entrenched in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, that is to say, a lasting, essential and mutually beneficial relationship. Do these rights not in fact reinforce each other?  I will leave it to the jurists among you to answer this puzzling question. It is clear however that linguistic duality is one of the great symbolic spaces of our nation. 

The fruit of your labours

As you know, the Supreme Court decided in Mahé  -  and I quote, with special emphasis -  that section 23 of the Charter is "designed to correct, on a national scale, the progressive erosion of minority official language groups and to give effect to the concept of the 'equal partnership' of the two official language groups in the context of education."

Section 23 thus imposes positive obligations on the provinces to change their educational structures in order to ensure the implementation of education rights for official language minorities.  It is not a question of simply patching up the plaster on the facade of the education system; we must start anew, from the ground up.

The federal government must also ensure that these education rights become the principal focus in the promotion of official languages, both morally and financially.  The worst mistake with regard to linguistic duality would be to respond inadequately to these needs.  Without reducing the problem of linguistic and cultural reparation to a purely financial issue, adequate funding for French-language school systems right across Canada must clearly be the starting point for any truly effective and equitable reform.

As I see it, the Court in Mahé stated that reparation was necessary because minority French-language schools had in the past been the preferred targets of others wishing to destroy the linguistic and cultural identity of these communities.  We must therefore rebuild Canada's fundamental values, in particular by supporting the foundations of our shared history, the equality of our two major linguistic communities.

Following this decision, section 23 was the subject of further fundamental Supreme Court of Canada decisions.  In 1993, in the Reference re Public Schools Act (Manitoba), the Court underscored the great emphasis that must be placed on the provision of instruction in distinct and separate institutions.

In January 2000, in Arsenault-Cameron, the Supreme Court once again stressed the remedial nature of section 23, confirming the approach taken in the Beaulac case, according to which language rights must in all cases be interpreted purposively, in a manner consistent with the preservation and development of official language communities in Canada.  In this case, the Court defined the respective powers of parent and community representatives and of the Ministry of Education.

The Supreme Court of Canada did not however in its wisdom venture to define specific implementation methods.  It recognized that it would be pointless to impose a single, perhaps magical, solution to a multitude of different situations.  Disputes can be resolved gradually only through legal action and in some cases by cooperation and mediation.

Current status

It is thus reasonable to see the Mahé decision as something that accelerated history.  Section 23 is now recognized and codified in legislation.  The most noteworthy achievement in this regard is no doubt that new French-language school boards have been created in various parts of Canada.

These school boards, elected and representative, stand as fortresses for the communities in their struggle for equality. Communities must be able to rely on the leadership of these institutions to promote the influence of their language and culture.  Management independence and freedom in these school boards are however still the source of numerous problems, both legally and practically in several jurisdictions.

There are many questions, as I said earlier, about funding methods.  Often the planned funding is insufficient to meet the additional cost of French-language programs and the specific and pressing needs of French-language welcoming classes and daycare centres.  Moreover, some educations reforms directly affect parents' exclusive management and control powers and methods of representation.

I cannot now list all the challenges that lie ahead.  I mention them merely to illustrate the huge task that awaits parents and their school boards.

Under these circumstances, legal action will necessarily remain one of the main avenues for achieving education rights, for a few years to come. This also means that the Court Challenges Program will continue to serve as an essential engine in order to ensure progress toward equality.

Toward a national strategy

The main issue for the coming decade is therefore clear. It will be to make minority French-language schools centres of renewal, excellence and growth.

You have no doubt heard in the media that we published last March a second study on the scope of section 23.  This report is entitled Rights, Schools and Communities in Minority Contexts: 1986-2002.  Toward the Development of French Through Education, An Analysis.  Like the 1991 study, this one was prepared by Angéline Martel, professor of sociolinguistics and language teaching at the Télé-université du Québec.

Ms. Martel, who must no doubt be more familiar with the scope of the Mahé case than anyone else, did a province by province analysis of current school populations and considered ways of increasing them.  Using tables specially compiled by Statistics Canada, she calculated, by way of projections, the "target school population" from 1986 to 2002.

The target school population refers to children aged 0 to 17 years with at least one parent who is a Canadian citizen and native speaker of French. These children could accordingly attend a French-language school.

The data shows that only about one half of the target student population was in fact enrolled in French-language schools.  Moreover, if nothing is done, student enrolment will drop significantly within the next few years.

Demographics are unforgiving.  This decline is inevitable.  It will occur primarily as a result of the low birth rate among Francophones, the ageing population and the fact that French is not taught at home.

This loss of students will sooner or later result in an unavoidable decline of French-language school systems outside Quebec.  Moreover, the effects of this decline will be felt throughout the community, on its services, its institutions and its culture.  Depriving a community of the means to ensure its growth or even maintenance is like cutting its life-giving oxygen supply.

The study also examines the issue of student retention.  It confirms that students generally leave a school 1) between Grade 1 and Grade 2, 2) between Grade 8 and Grade 9 and 3) between Grade 11 and Grade 12.

In the first case, parents apparently decide to move their child to another school after an initial trial period.  This calls into question the quality of the welcome extended by the school.  In the second case, the loss of students coincides with the transition to high school.  This might suggest poor recognition of school completion certificates.  The loss of students near the end of high school seems to confirm the above assumption.

On the strength of these findings, the report proposes a national recovery plan to achieve the target student population within ten years.  In particular, it sets enrolment levels that reflect the relative demographic weight of each Francophone community.

The study therefore confirms what we already knew: that we must roll up our sleeves.  In the future, no Francophone parents should say that they did not enrol their child in French-language school because they were not aware of the issues.

The approach we propose can be summarized in a few key principles:

  • Partnerships between the school, parents and the community must form the basis of any program to increase school populations.
  • French-language education must be seen as an indivisible whole. A broad view of the learning of French and of francization is needed, extending from early childhood to adulthood.
  • A full and proven communications plan is needed.  We must explain in clear terms the numerous benefits to parents of having their children educated in an environment featuring the French language and culture.
  • Schools and school boards must be able to quickly identify any problems that arise, to concretely measure their success in attracting the target student population, and to provide first-rate education.

We must begin at the grassroots to attract new students to French-language school.  Francization, as you can appreciate, must be a community undertaking.  It is especially urgent to develop an integrated network of French-language services for early childhood by improving and harmonizing services for children from birth to the age of five.       

In order to achieve such ambitious goals, clearly we must all, within our own sphere of activity, pursue our efforts with the federal and provincial governments to obtain the support needed to establish or expand such services.  This also means developing a national francization policy.  As you know, the Commission nationale des parents francophones and the Fédération canadienne pour l'alphabétisation en français are working actively on this.

The recovery of eligible students also poses a number of challenges for teachers. Programs must be adapted and the means found not only to measure progress, but also to identify problems very early on in order to prevent them from leading to learning difficulties. Finally, we must fight ruthlessly to prevent students from dropping out.

For a good many mixed or exogamous families, providing for the learning of French and passing on of French culture is first and foremost a question of means.  The issues here pertain to teaching methods and social inclusion.

I believe that a great deal of analysis and communication is required in order to better inform parents who hesitate on the kind of school that is best for their children.  They must be convinced that a French-language school is not only a community school, but a place where they will be welcomed, experience openness, diversity and excellence.

Finally, we must also consider access to French-language postsecondary education. Management, funding, human resources, complementarity and competition among programs are just some of the subjects to be debated and resolved.  If we want the Canada of tomorrow to be not only a knowledge-based society, but also a society that fosters equality of opportunity, the doors to French-language postsecondary education must be open to all Francophones in minority communities.

Conclusion

In Arsenault-Cameron, the Supreme Court of Canada very clearly recognized the specific nature of education rights.

"Section 23 is premised on the fact that substantive equality requires that official language minorities be treated differently, if necessary, according to their particular circumstances and needs, in order to provide them with a standard of education equivalent to that of the official language majority."

Nearly twenty years after the Charter was passed, we have a right to question the adequacy of the remedial measures taken in the past by the federal government and the provinces in implementing section 23.  We must look squarely at the harsh realities. Then we can make a qualitative and quantitative assessment of the road that lies ahead in order to achieve real linguistic equality in education. Finally, we must demand greater effectiveness, more vitality and better funding. In short, let us demand greater responsibility and more respect for our rights.

Schools anchor in our children's hearts the values and traditions that form the basis of our identity and belonging.  Exercising education rights means building the Francophone community of tomorrow.  Let me congratulate you in advance on the significant contribution you will make here to this key element in the building of Canada's Francophonie.  This work is at the very heart of our identity and our strength as Canadians.  Thank you.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 22 juin 2001

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Vers une stratégie nationale pour la réalisation des droits scolaires :
Faire des droits scolaires l'axe principal de la promotion des langues officielles

Notes pour une allocution prononcée à l'occasion du colloque organisé par le Centre canadien des droits linguistiques, dans le cadre du Congrès de l'Association des juristes d'expression française de l'Ontario


Madame Dyane Adam – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Introduction

C'est pour moi un réel plaisir d'être parmi vous à ce colloque, un colloque dont le succès ne fait déjà aucun doute. Aussi, j'aimerais souligner tout le travail de collaboration qui a permis de préparer ce colloque et le congrès de l'AJEFO, de même que la dizaine d'organisations qui y ont contribué, un symbole de la concertation qui sera nécessaire dans l'avenir pour une pleine mise en oeuvre des droits des minorités linguistiques. Il me faut également souligner la contribution remarquable du Centre canadien des droits linguistiques qui, par son travail de coordination, a contribué à notre réflexion collective sur la mise en oeuvre des droits scolaires. J'aimerais enfn saluer le fait que des juristes, des parents, des conseillers scolaires et des fonctionnaires se soient réunis aujourd'hui en aussi grand nombre pour évaluer le fruit de leurs efforts et discuter de l'avenir de l'article 23.

Avant d'aborder l'essentiel de mon propos, j'espère que vous me permettrez de faire une petite pub car j'aimerais profiter de ce colloque pour lancer une publication : Les droits linguistiques en 1999-2000. Des exemplaires seront d'ailleurs disponibles à la sortie. Ce document résume et analyse les principales décisions des tribunaux relatives aux droits linguistiques au Canada entre janvier 1999 et décembre 2000. La diversité des questions qui sont examinées atteste du rôle actif que les tribunaux jouent dans la mise en oeuvre de la dualité linguistique canadienne.   L'évolution de la jurisprudence au cours de ces deux dernières années semble démontrer, du moins je l'espère, que nous sommes tranquillement en passe de substituer à l'égalité théorique de nos deux langues officielles une égalité dans les faits, une égalité réparatrice.

J'espère donc que ces récentes décisions inciteront les gouvernements à mieux respecter les droits linguistiques des Canadiens et des Canadiennes et à assurer plus activement le développement et l'épanouissement des communautés anglophones et francophones vivant en situation minoritaire. Un droit linguistique n'est qu'illusion sans une action gouvernementale concrète pour en faciliter l'exercice.

Le colloque organisé par le Centre canadien des droits linguistiques souhaite faire le point sur l'état actuel des droits scolaires des communautés francophones, dix ans après que la Cour suprême ait rendu son jugement dans l'affaire Mahé.

L'avenir des communautés francophones du Canada dépend de ses écoles. Nous savons tous que les besoins en matière d'éducation en langue française sont nombreux et pressants. Le temps est venu de passer d'un discours de droit à un discours de responsabilité. C'est donc l'heure de la réflexion, le temps de nouvelles orientations. C'est le moment de définir une stratégie et des objectifs pour la pleine réalisation des droits scolaires.

Ce colloque célèbre aussi dix ans de travail acharné accompli par des parents, des éducateurs, des conseillers scolaires, des membres d'associations communautaires, des juristes et des hommes et des femmes politiques. Chacun a fait son devoir, chacun a apporté sa pierre à la construction du grand édifice où loge désormais la francophonie canadienne. Je vous félicite de votre courage, de votre ténacité et de votre clairvoyance.

Enfin ce colloque témoigne de la contribution remarquable et constante du Centre canadien des droits linguistiques à notre réflexion commune sur la portée et la mise en oeuvre des droits linguistiques au Canada. Ces droits sont - il importe de le souligner - un genre bien connu des droits de la personne.

La question se pose d'ailleurs à savoir si les droits linguistiques et les autres droits inscrits dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ne vivent pas en symbiose, c'est-à-dire dans une association durable, essentielle et réciproquement profitable. En fait, ces droits ne se renforcent-ils pas mutuellement ? Je laisse aux juristes parmi vous le plaisir de trouver la réponse à cette question de sphinx. Chose certaine, la dualité linguistique constitue un des grands espaces symboliques de notre nation.

Les fruits de l'engagement

Comme vous le savez, dans Mahé, la Cour suprême du Canada a décidé - je cite en soulignant oralement à doubles traits rouges - que l'article 23 de la Charte est « destiné à remédier, à l'échelle nationale, à l'érosion progressive des minorités parlant l'une ou l'autre langue officielle et appliquer la notion de partenaires égaux des deux groupes linguistiques officiels dans le domaine de l'éducation.

L'article 23 impose donc des obligations positives aux provinces de changer leurs structures en matière d'éducation afin d'assurer la mise en oeuvre des droits scolaires des minorités de langue officielle. Il ne s'agit pas simplement de ravaler avec un peu de ciment la façade du système scolaire, mais bien de construire du neuf et du beau.

Il impose également au gouvernement fédéral de faire de ces droits scolaires l'axe principal de la promotion des langues officielles, tant sur le plan moral que financier. La pire erreur sur le plan de la dualité linguistique serait de ne pas répondre adéquatement aux besoins. Sans vouloir transformer le problème de la réparation linguistique et culturelle en une question purement de gros sous, il ne fait aucun doute que le financement adéquat des systèmes scolaires francophones à travers le Canada est le point de départ de toute réforme qui se veut réellement efficace et équitable.

À mon sens, dans Mahé, la Cour a dit qu'une réparation était nécessaire parce que par le passé les écoles des minorités francophones avaient été les cibles privilégiées de ceux qui voulaient détruire l'identité linguistique et culturelle de ces communautés. Il faut donc rebâtir les valeurs canadiennes fondamentales, notamment en étayant les bases de notre histoire commune, l'égalité de nos deux grandes communautés linguistiques.

À la suite de ce jugement, l'article 23 a fait l'objet d'autres décisions de fond de la Cour suprême du Canada. En 1993, dans le Renvoi relatif à la Loi sur les écoles publiques (Manitoba), la Cour a souligné toute l'importance qu'il faut donner à la prestation de l'enseignement dans des institutions distinctes et séparées.

En janvier 2000, dans Arsenault-Cameron, la Cour suprême a de nouveau insisté sur le caractère réparateur de l'article 23 en confirmant l'approche adoptée dans l'affaire Beaulac, selon laquelle les droits linguistiques doivent dans tous les cas être interprétés en fonction de leur objet, de façon compatible avec le maintien et l'épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle au Canada. En l'occurrence, la Cour a délimité les pouvoirs respectifs des représentants des parents et de la communauté ainsi que du ministre de l'Éducation.

Par contre, la Cour suprême du Canada, dans sa sagesse, ne s'est jamais aventurée à définir des modalités particulières d'application. Elle a compris qu'il serait futile d'imposer une solution unique, voire magique, à une multitude de situations différentes. Ce sont les litiges et dans certains cas les efforts de concertation et de médiation qui permettent de résoudre au fur et à mesure les différends.

État de la situation

Il n'est donc pas illégitime de voir en la décision Mahé la cause d'une certaine accélération de l'histoire. Aujourd'hui, l'article 23 est reconnu et codifié tant bien que mal dans des textes de loi. La réalisation la plus remarquable à cet égard est sans doute la création un peu partout au Canada de nouveaux conseils scolaires de langue française.

Ces conseils, élus et représentatifs, sont les citadelles des communautés dans leur lutte pour l'équité. Elles doivent pouvoir compter sur le leadership de ces institutions pour assurer le rayonnement de leur langue et de leur culture. Cependant, l'indépendance et la liberté de gestion de ces conseils soulèvent encore de nombreuses difficultés tant sur le plan juridique que sur le plan pratique dans plusieurs juridictions.

Il se pose, comme je le suggérais tantôt, beaucoup de questions relatives aux modes de financement. Souvent, les fonds prévus ne tiennent pas suffisamment compte du coût supplémentaire des programmes en français et des besoins précis et urgents de classes d'accueil et de garderies de langue française. Par ailleurs, certaines réformes scolaires portent carrément atteinte aux pouvoirs exclusifs de gestion et de contrôle des parents ainsi qu'aux modes de représentation.

Je n'ai pas l'intention, bien sûr, de faire ici une énumération complète des défis qui se profilent à l'horizon. Je les mentionne simplement pour illustrer combien les parents et leurs conseils scolaires ont une lourde tâche à accomplir.

Dans de telles circonstances, pour quelques années encore l'action judiciaire demeurera nécessairement un des principaux piliers de la réalisation des droits scolaires. C'est dire aussi combien le Programme de contestation judiciaire continuera d'être un moteur essentiel pour assurer la progression vers l'égalité.

Pour une stratégie nationale

Le principal enjeu de la prochaine décennie est donc évident : il faut faire des écoles de langue française en milieu minoritaire des foyers de renouveau, d'excellence et de croissance.

Vous aurez sans doute appris par les médias que nous avons rendu publique en mars dernier une seconde étude sur la portée de l'article 23. Ce rapport s'intitule : Droits, écoles et communautés : 1986-2002 (analyse pour un aménagement du français par l'éducation en milieu minoritaire au Canada). Tout comme celle de 1991, cette étude a été préparée par Angéline Martel, professeure de sociolinguistique et de didactique des langues à la Télé-université du Québec.

Madame Martel, qui connaît sans doute mieux que quiconque la portée de l'affaire Mahé, a analysé province par province la situation actuelle des inscriptions scolaires et s'est penchée sur les moyens d'en augmenter le nombre. À partir de tableaux spécialement compilés par Statistique Canada, elle a calculé, à l'aide de projections, « l'effectif scolaire cible » de 1986 à 2002.

L'effectif scolaire cible, ce sont les enfants de 0 à 17 ans dont au moins un parent, citoyen canadien, est de langue maternelle française. Ces enfants pourraient donc fréquenter une école de langue française.

Les données révèlent qu'environ la moitié seulement de l'effectif scolaire cible s'inscrit en fait à l'école de langue française. De plus, si rien n'est fait, les inscriptions chuteront de façon importante d'ici quelques années.

La démographie ne pardonne pas. Ce déclin est inexorable. Il aura lieu surtout en raison du faible taux de fécondité des francophones, du vieillissement de la population et de la non-transmission du français au foyer.

Cette perte de clientèle se traduira à plus ou moins brève échéance par le déclin inéluctable des systèmes scolaires de langue française à l'extérieur du Québec. Qui plus est, les effets de ce déclin se répercuteront sur toute la communauté, sur les services, sur les institutions et sur la culture. Couper une communauté des moyens d'assurer sa croissance ou du moins son maintien, c'est la priver de l'oxygène qui lui permet de vivre.

L'étude examine également la question de la rétention des élèves. Elle confirme qu'en règle générale, les « décrochages » ont lieu : 1) entre la première et la deuxième année du primaire, 2) entre la huitième et la neuvième année et 3) entre la onzième et la douzième année.

Dans le premier cas, il semble que les parents aient décidé de retirer leur enfant de l'école après une période d'essai. Il y a donc lieu de s'interroger sur la qualité de l'accueil. Dans le deuxième cas, le retrait se fait au moment de la transition vers le secondaire. Cela pourrait indiquer une faible valorisation des diplômes de fin d'études. En ce qui a trait aux départs vers la fin du secondaire, ils seraient peut-être la preuve de ce désenchantement.

Fort de ces constats, le rapport propose un plan national de récupération de l'effectif scolaire cible sur dix ans. Il fixe notamment des taux d'inscriptions qui tiennent compte du poids démographique relatif de chaque communauté francophone.

L'étude confirme donc ce que nous savions : qu'il faut se retrousser les manches. Il faut à l'avenir qu'aucun parent francophone ne puisse dire qu'il n'a pas inscrit son enfant à l'école française parce qu'il ne connaissait pas les enjeux.

La démarche que nous proposons se résume à quelques principes essentiels :

  • Les partenariats entre l'école, les parents et la communauté doivent être à la base de tout programme d'augmentation de la clientèle des écoles.
  • La formation en français est un tout. Une vision globale de l'apprentissage du français et de la francisation, qui va de la très petite enfance à l'âge adulte, est nécessaire.
  • Il faut un programme de communications bien rodé et complet. Nous devons pouvoir expliquer en des termes clairs les nombreux avantages que les parents trouveront à faire instruire leurs enfants dans un milieu de langue et de culture françaises.
  • Les écoles et les conseils scolaires doivent être en mesure de dépister rapidement les problèmes qui surgissent, de mesurer concrètement le degré de réussite de leurs efforts visant l'inscription de l'effectif scolaire cible et d'assurer une éducation de première qualité.

Il faut travailler d'abord en amont pour attirer une nouvelle clientèle à l'école française. La francisation, vous le comprendrez facilement, doit être une entreprise communautaire.

Il est urgent en particulier de développer un réseau intégré de services en français pour la petite enfance en améliorant et en harmonisant les services aux enfants depuis leur naissance jusqu'à l'âge de cinq ans.

Évidemment, pour atteindre des objectifs aussi ambitieux nous devons tous, chacun dans notre sphère, poursuivre nos démarches auprès du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux pour obtenir l'appui nécessaire à l'établissement ou à l'expansion de tels services. Cela implique également l'élaboration d'une politique nationale de francisation. Comme vous le savez, la Commission nationale des parents francophones et la Fédération canadienne pour l'alphabétisation en français y travaillent activement.

La récupération des enfants admissibles comporte également de nombreux défis pédagogiques. Il faut adapter les programmes et trouver le moyen de non seulement mesurer les progrès, mais de dépister très tôt les problèmes avant qu'ils ne conduisent à des difficultés d'apprentissage. Enfin, il faut mener une lutte sans merci contre le décrochage.

Pour bon nombre de familles mixtes ou exogames, assurer l'apprentissage du français et la transmission de la culture française, c'est avant tout une question de moyens. Chez elles, les questions se posent tantôt sur le plan pédagogique, tantôt sur le plan de l'inclusion sociale.

Je crois qu'il y a tout un travail d'analyse et de communication à faire effectuer pour mieux renseigner les parents qui hésitent sur l'orientation scolaire à offrir à leurs enfants. Il faut les convaincre que l'école française est non seulement une école communautaire, mais un lieu d'accueil, d'ouverture, de diversité et d'excellence.

Enfin, il faut en même temps penser à l'accès à l'enseignement postsecondaire en langue française. Gestion, financement, ressourcement, complémentarité et concurrence des programmes, inégalités régionales, éducation à distance et apport des nouvelles technologies, voilà autant de sujets à débattre et à régler. Si nous voulons faire de la société canadienne de demain non seulement une société du savoir, mais une société qui fait la promotion de l'égalité des chances, les portes de l'enseignement postsecondaire en français devront s'ouvrir à tous les francophones vivant en milieu minoritaire.

Conclusion

Dans Arsenault-Cameron, la Cour suprême du Canada a très bien reconnu la spécificité des droits scolaires :

« L'article 23 repose sur la prémisse que l'égalité réelle exige que les minorités de langue officielle soient traitées différemment, si nécessaire, suivant leur situation et leurs besoins particuliers, afin de leur assurer un niveau d'éducation équivalent à celui de la majorité de langue officielle. »

Il me semble que près de vingt ans après l'adoption de la Charte, nous sommes en droit de nous interroger sur l'adéquation des mesures réparatrices adoptées par le passé par le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces pour mettre en oeuvre l'article 23. Faisons les constats sévères qui s'imposent. Dressons ensuite un bilan qualitatif et quantitatif du chemin qu'il reste à parcourir pour instaurer une réelle égalité linguistique en matière d'éducation. Exigeons enfin plus d'efficacité, plus de dynamisme et un meilleur financement. Exigeons en somme plus de responsabilité et un meilleur respect de nos droits.

L'école enracine dans le coeur de nos enfants les valeurs et les traditions qui sont le fondement de notre identité et notre appartenance. Réaliser les droits scolaires, c'est bâtir la communauté francophone de demain. Je vous félicite d'avance de la contribution importante que vous apporterez à cette composante centrale de l'édification de la francophonie canadienne. C'est une oeuvre qui se situe au coeur de notre identité et de notre force en tant que Canadiens et Canadiennes. Merci.