ARCHIVED - Montreal, June 6, 2001

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Importance of Languages in the New Economy Convocation Address

Centre for Continuing Education


Dr. Dyane Adam – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Dear Principal and Vice-Chancellor,
Dear Dean,
Dear Colleagues,
Dear Friends, Guests and Parents,

Dear Graduates,

It is an honour to be here today to mark this important moment that represents the culmination of several years of hard work and sacrifice for you, but it also the beginning of new challenges that will lead you through a dramatically changing labour market.

The new economy and the globalization of markets leaves very little unchanged around us. Whether in terms of technology, the economy or socially, we constantly face realities and rules that will certainly be different than those of tomorrow.

Since the creation of wealth will henceforth involve the development and use of knowledge, our human capital has clearly become the key to our prosperity. And it is undoubtedly the principal factor in the economic revival of Montreal, making this city a hub of the new economy.

Why has Montreal's human capital made such a difference? There are in my opinion two decisive factors that concern you directly.

First of all, there is the caliber of university research and teaching at four first rate institutions, which are highly esteemed by both linguistic groups for their excellence and among which McGill has been a cornerstone for many years.

In addition to the advantages of a highly qualified labour force, Montreal also benefits from the cultural diversity of a population that works, studies and lives in an environment featuring a unique synergy between two major international languages, English and French.

Montreal is of course the second most important French city in the world. The unique context of French in North America also means that special attention must be devoted to its protection and promotion in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada. This crucial fact is however in no way incompatible with the equally unique realities of Montreal's openness to the world, its role as an economic engine and the importance of the English-speaking community in its development.

This unique context means instead that Montreal is a centre of cultural vitality, at the cutting edge, that draws inspiration from the meeting of America and Europe. This is another facet of the city's special character, giving its residents a unique ease in our continent. It also represents a major asset economically in the context of the new economy and the globalization of markets.

Several sociologists and economists have considered the economic benefits of bilingualism or multilingualism to individuals and to society as a whole. This is a relatively new field of study and the research findings are still preliminary, but one recurring observation is that the acquisition of language skills and abilities has a decisive and positive effect on a person's financial prospects and on society in general.

Not only does it indicate a worker's superior abilities and greater adaptability, knowledge of another language helps increase an individual's opportunities to play a larger role in society. From this point of view, an individual's participation in society can increase considerably as a result of language skills. As the author Julien Green noted, the more languages we know, the more human we become.

I would imagine that many of you are already fluent in English and French. Montreal is after all the city with the greatest number of bilingual workers and students in Canada, more than 50% in fact. Montreal also has the highest concentration of people in America who speak at least three languages. Nearly half (47%) of allophones in Quebec indicate that they are trilingual, as reported in Statistics Canada data in 1996, as compared to 5% of allophones in all other provinces. The rate of trilingualism in Quebec is therefore nine times higher than elsewhere in the country. And so one cannot be surprised by one of the most evident signs of these statistics, namely, that Montreal has become the leader in language industries in North America.

Speaking at the Estates General on the Future of the French Language last January, Patricia Lamarre, Education Professor at the Université de Montréal, noted in this regard that "multilingualism is as valuable a resource in the context of globalization as it is rare in North America. We must recognize (this resource) and make the necessary efforts to develop it". (La Presse, January 27, 2001, p. A6)

This is all the more important, I would add, as the future free trade area of the Americas is now beginning to emerge on the horizon, a change that will bring millions of speakers of Spanish and Portuguese into our continental market. With its four major official languages, there is no doubt that our language industries will have to expand tremendously in the coming years. In more general terms, however, the expansion of our trade with the Americas will diminish the current influence of English and give a competitive advantage to those who are sensitive to linguistic and cultural diversity. Montreal and Canada are already well positioned in this regard.

The value of our linguistic duality is therefore much more than merely symbolic or a question of identity. Taking a step back, one can reflect that Trudeau and Pearson, the fathers of official bilingualism, were ahead of their times. Thirty years after it was passed, the Official Languages Act and the resulting culture of respect for linguistic minorities has become a legacy whose value is constantly increasing, especially in this era of globalization and the new economy.

Feeling the full impact of this new force and the intensification of international competition, we have just barely begun to recognize what an asset our linguistic duality can be for the expansion of trade and the strengthening of our collective well-being. It gives Canada a broader vision of the world and a unique approach that has become our trademark in an ever more competitive environment.

Thank you. Best of luck to all the graduates here today.

ARCHIVÉE - Montréal, le 6 juin 2001

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'importance des langues dans la nouvelle économie

Allocution prononcée à l'occasion de la Collation des grades
du Centre d'éducation permanente


Madame Dyane Adam – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Monsieur le Recteur,
Madame la Doyenne,
Chers collègues,
Chers amis, invités et parents,

Chers finissants et finissantes,

C'est pour moi un honneur d'être ici aujourd'hui afin de souligner ce moment important qui marque pour vous l'aboutissement de plusieurs années d'efforts et de sacrifices, mais aussi le début de nouveaux défis qui vous mèneront dans un marché du travail en profonde mutation.

La vague de la nouvelle économie et de la mondialisation des marchés laisse en effet bien peu de choses inchangées autour de nous. Que ce soit au niveau technologique, économique ou social, nous nous retrouvons à composer sans cesse avec des réalités et des règles qui sont nécessairement différentes de celles d'hier.

La création de la richesse passant désormais par le développement et l'utilisation du savoir, il est devenu évident que c'est dans notre capital humain que se situe la clé de notre prospérité. C'est sans doute le principal facteur qui a conduit à la renaissance économique de Montréal et qui en a fait une plaque tournante de la nouvelle économie.

Pourquoi le capital humain de Montréal fait-il tant la différence? Vous me permettrez de retenir deux facteurs qui sont à mon avis déterminants et qui vous concernent directement.

Il y a d'abord la qualité de la recherche et de l'enseignement universitaires qui est tributaire de quatre institutions de premier plan reconnues parmi les deux groupes linguistiques pour leur excellence et dont McGill constitue depuis longtemps une des assises.

Outre les avantages offerts par une main-d'oeuvre hautement qualifiée, il y a aussi le fait que Montréal tire profit de la diversité culturelle d'une population qui travaille, qui étudie et qui vit dans un milieu où existe une synergie unique entre deux grandes langues internationales, le français et l'anglais.

Montréal, c'est bien sûr la deuxième ville française en importance dans le monde. Aussi, le contexte unique du français en Amérique du Nord rend il nécessaire une attention particulière quant à sa protection et à sa promotion au Québec, mais aussi ailleurs au Canada. Ce fait crucial ne saurait toutefois être incompatible avec les réalités toutes aussi uniques de Montréal, comme son ouverture particulière sur le monde, son rôle de moteur économique et l'importance de la communauté anglophone pour son développement.

Ce contexte unique fait au contraire de Montréal un lieu d'avant-garde et de bouillonnement culturel qui s'abreuve au confluent de l'Amérique et de l'Europe. C'est là aussi une source qui donne à cette ville sa personnalité particulière et à ses habitants un « savoir-être » unique sur notre continent. C'est enfin un atout majeur sur le plan économique dans le contexte de la nouvelle économie et de la mondialisation des marchés.

Plusieurs sociologues et économistes se sont penchés sur la question des avantages économiques que procurent à tout individu et à toute société son caractère bilingue ou multilingue. Malgré la nouveauté relative de ce champ d'étude et le caractère préliminaire des recherches réalisées jusqu'ici, il y a une observation qui revient invariablement, soit le fait qu'acquérir des connaissances et des aptitudes linguistiques exerce un effet positif déterminant sur le potentiel économique d'une personne et sur la société en général.

En plus du fait qu'elle témoigne d'aptitudes supérieures et d'une plus grande souplesse d'adaptation du travailleur, la connaissance d'une autre langue contribue à accroître les chances qu'a l'individu de jouer un rôle plus grand dans la société. Vu sous cet angle, la participation sociale d'une personne peut devenir considérablement plus importante du fait de son bagage linguistique. En plus, comme le disait l'écrivain Julien Green, « nous sommes autant de fois humains que nous connaissons de langues ».

J'imagine que plusieurs d'entre vous maîtrisez déjà l'usage du français et de l'anglais. Montréal est après tout la ville où l'on retrouve le plus grand nombre de travailleurs et d'étudiants bilingues au Canada, avec un taux supérieur à 50 %. C'est également à Montréal que l'on retrouve la plus forte concentration de personnes parlant au moins trois langues en Amérique. Ainsi, selon les données de 1996 de Statistiques Canada, près de la moitié (47 %) des allophones québécois se déclarent trilingues, contre 5 % des allophones dans l'ensemble des autres provinces. Le taux québécois est donc neuf fois plus élevé qu'ailleurs au pays. Aussi, ne faut-il pas s'étonner qu'une des manifestations les plus visibles de ces statistiques est le fait que Montréal soit devenu le leader nord-américain des industries de la langue.

Prenant la parole à l'occasion des États généraux sur l'avenir de la langue française en janvier dernier, Patricia Lamarre, professeure au département de didactique de l'Université de Montréal, déclarait à ce sujet que :  « le plurilinguisme est une ressource d'autant plus précieuse dans un contexte de mondialisation qu'il est plutôt rare en Amérique du Nord. À nous de reconnaître (cette ressource) et de consacrer les efforts requis à son épanouissement ». (La Presse, le 27 janvier 2001, p. A6)

Ceci est d'autant plus important, ajouterais-je, que nous commençons à voir poindre à l'horizon la future zone de libre-échange des Amériques qui fera entrer des millions de locuteurs hispanophones et lusophones dans notre marché continental. Avec ces quatre grandes langues officielles, nul doute que nos industries de la langue seront un des secteurs appelés à connaître une forte croissance au cours des prochaines années. Mais de façon plus générale, l'expansion de notre commerce aux Amériques est appelée à relativiser l'influence actuelle de la langue anglaise et à donner un avantage concurrentiel à ceux qui sauront être sensibles à la diversité linguistique et culturelle des autres. Montréal, mais aussi le Canada, sont déjà bien positionnés à cet égard.

On le voit, la valeur de notre dualité linguistique se mesure bien plus qu'au niveau des valeurs simplement symboliques ou identitaires. Avec un certain recul, il est permis de penser que les pères du bilinguisme officiel que furent Trudeau et Pearson étaient en avance sur leur époque. Trente ans après sa promulgation, la Loi sur les langues officielles et la culture de respect des minorités linguistiques qui en a découlé apparaissent comme un héritage dont la valeur ne cesse de s'apprécier, surtout à l'heure de la nouvelle économie et de la mondialisation.

Étant bousculés de toutes parts par cette nouvelle dynamique et par l'intensification de la concurrence internationale, nous commençons à peine à réaliser à quel point notre dualité linguistique peut être un atout précieux pour l'expansion de notre commerce et pour le renforcement de notre bien-être collectif. Elle donne au Canada une vision élargie du monde et une façon de faire unique qui fait notre marque de commerce dans un environnement de plus en plus compétitif.

Je vous remercie et souhaite profiter de l'occasion pour souhaiter bonne chance à tous les diplômés.