ARCHIVED - Ottawa, May 29, 2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Media statement on the occasion of the tabling of the
2007–2008 Annual Report


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Good morning ladies and gentlemen,

When I tabled my first annual report last year, I drew attention to the fact that the government’s actions did not reflect its words. More specifically, I questioned its genuine commitment to the new obligations that have been part of the Official Languages Act since 2005. I then asked the government to show strong political leadership and take concrete measures to reinforce the progress that had been made.

This year, I continued my reflection on leadership and official languages. I have concluded that anyone who wants to play a national leadership role in this country must be able to communicate with all Canadians in both official languages. Therefore, to be a leader in the public service, it is necessary to be able to inform, evaluate, explain, give advice and inspire in both English and French.

One year later, what can be said about the government’s leadership in official languages matters?

The tentativeness and lack of leadership that were suspected last year are now evident. The government continues to support Canada’s linguistic duality in principle; however, this support has not led to a global vision in terms of government policies and the public service.

This lack of leadership has resulted in a plateau being reached and, in some cases, a degredation in the application of the official languages policy.1 I have noted that, yet again this year, very little progress has been made in several areas of activity. In fact, the data in my report show that the language of work situation has even worsened in some institutions.

Ensuring the successor to the Honourable Mr. Justice Bastarache in the Supreme Court of Canada be bilingual is a perfect example of necessary leadership. Canada has adopted not only two official languages, but also a bijural system. As a result, its laws are not translated, but instead written in both official languages, and one version does not take precedence over the other. It is therefore paramount that judges in Canada’s highest court be bilingual and able to understand both versions of the laws as well as counsel and citizen alike, in the language of their choice, without the assistance of an interpreter. Beyond comprising judges of exceptional skill, the Supreme Court of Canada must reflect our values and our Canadian identity as a country that is bijural and bilingual. The government should acknowledge this reality.

The initiative that will replace the Action Plan for Official Languages is an example of a commitment that is slow in being honoured and an example of tentative and uncertain leadership. Despite these commitments, we are still waiting for results.

In the Speech from the Throne of October 16, 2007, the government reiterated its support for Canada’s linguistic duality by stating that it would propose a strategy to implement the next phase of the Action Plan, which came to an end last March 31.2 Yet it did not set aside any funding for this initiative in the February 26 budget.

The deadline of March 31, 2008, for the Action Plan has been known from the outset. Nevertheless, the government has not had the foresight to create a new initiative or a replacement initiative before this deadline.

The Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages has had the report on the consultations undertaken on this subject for several months, but has still not announced any concrete measures.

In fact, the situation almost feels like a Samuel Beckett play, which could be called Waiting for the Action Plan. To be honest, I am not interested in spending another year watching a drama in suspended animation as the government marks time.

The government must establish a clear direction and implement initiatives that will lead to concrete results for all Canadians. The delays have already planted seeds of doubt among some of the partners involved, since they do not know what the objectives of the future initiative will be, or how much funding will be granted.

A clear and strong commitment from the Prime Minister remains an essential condition for good governance. I therefore make seven recommendations in my  report to encourage the government to show stronger leadership.

In particular, I recommend that the Prime Minister create an ad hoc committee of ministers to oversee the full implementation of the new action plan and language requirements in federal institutions.

Similarly, I recommend that Cabinet review official languages matters at least once a year. In order to translate political commitment into action at the administrative level, I recommend that the Official Languages Secretariat be given the authority it needs to fulfill a horizontal coordination role in order to implement the Official Languages Act in its entirety. The goal of these recommendations is to ensure more results are obtained on the ground for Canadians.

A better coordinated effort is required to more effectively intervene in and resolve the problems related to language of work that have plagued the federal government for 40 years. I recommend that deputy heads of all federal institutions report, by December 31, 2008, on the actions they have taken to create a work environment that makes it possible for employees in regions designated by the Act to use the official language of their choice. These regions are New Brunswick, the National Capital Region and several parts of Quebec and Ontario.3

Linguistic duality is a fundamental component of Canada’s public service. In an environment where Anglophones and Francophones work side by side, bilingualism is an essential part of leadership in a modern and efficient public service that reflects our country’s values.

Forty percent of positions are currently designated bilingual, a proportion that has not changed for several years. These positions include those that involve providing service to the public and, in some regions, supervisory positions.

Public service renewal must make it possible to better anchor Canada’s linguistic duality at the heart of the values and priorities of federal institutions. It is difficult to see how the public service can continue to serve all Canadians if the recruitment, training and upgrading of skills of the approximately 15,000 people who will be joining the public service every year are carried out without taking this factor into account.4 Canada’s linguistic duality must be a consideration in the recruitment, training and upgrading of skills of new recruits for the public service to be able to continue serving all Canadians.

Policies on service to the public and language of work cannot lead to satisfactory results if employees do not have access to quality language training from the beginning of their careers in the federal government.5 All too often we are content to send an employee on language training only once they have obtained a supervisor position. This way of doing things does not seem to me to be rational, or effective.

I therefore call on the government to show more coherence and put their good intentions into practice. In short, I ask the government to show leadership instead of simply managing the file.

Through stronger leadership and a more coherent way of doing things, the government will also have an influence on the changes that may affect Canada’s linguistic duality. Studies published over the last few months by Statistics Canada describe how vibrant the official language communities are, but also describe the many challenges that must be met in a changing social context.6

The objective of the Official Languages Act has never been to make all Canadians bilingual. However, opportunities to learn both of the country’s official languages are a source of enrichment for our society as a whole. In cooperation with all those involved, the federal government must take action so that Canadians who want to take advantage of the two languages and two cultures have access to stimulating and rewarding learning opportunities.

Before concluding, I would like to note that some federal institutions are making a concerted effort to ensure both official languages can be used in the workplace, provide services in both languages and implement positive measures to enhance the vitality of official language minority communities. I would also like to mention that I have observed significant support for linguistic duality, and I congratulate the public servants who have worked hard in this respect. Their work deserves to be recognized. I give several examples in my annual report, and I invite the heads of institutions to draw inspiration from them.

A clear vision and strong leadership are nevertheless necessary if federal institutions are to meet some of the challenges related to official languages. My  report is intended to provide an overview of these challenges, and my recommendations should be considered as ways for the government to meet them.

Federal institutions obtain better and longer lasting results for Canadians when the government, senior management and public servants show strong leadership by recognizing the rights and values related to official languages and linguistic duality and by ensuring these rights and values are respected. The 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act, which will be celebrated in 2009, seems to me to be an ideal time to turn this vision into action.

Thank you for your attention. I would like to take the remaining time to answer any questions you may have.

 


Notes

1 Overall findings of the government’s performance: Chapter I, part 1, p. 4–13.

2 Action Plan for Official Languages: Chapter I, part 2, p. 16–29.

3 Language of work: Chapter I, part 1, p. 5–6, and Chapter IV, part 3, p. 125–135.

4 Public service renewal: Chapter I, part 2, p. 36–43.

5 Language training: Chapter I, part 2, p. 42-43.

6 Changing demographics and community vitality: Chapter II, part 2, p. 80–94.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 29 mai 2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Déclaration aux médias à l’occasion du dépôt du
Rapport annuel 2007-2008


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Mesdames et Messieurs, 

Bonjour,

Lors du dépôt de mon premier rapport annuel l’an dernier, j’avais souligné que les actions du gouvernement ne reflétaient pas ses paroles. En particulier, j’avais remis en question son engagement véritable à l’égard des nouvelles obligations imposées par la Loi sur les langues officielles depuis 2005. J’avais alors demandé au gouvernement d’exercer un leadership politique solide et de prendre des mesures précises pour consolider les acquis.

Cette année, j’ai approfondi ma réflexion sur le leadership et les langues officielles. J’en suis arrivé à la conclusion qu’il faut pouvoir communiquer avec l’ensemble de la population dans les deux langues officielles si l’on veut jouer un rôle de leadership national dans ce pays. Donc, pour être un leader au sein de la fonction publique, il est nécessaire de pouvoir informer, évaluer, expliquer, conseiller et inspirer tant en anglais qu’en français.

Un an plus tard, qu’en est-il donc du leadership du gouvernement en matière de langues officielles?

L’hésitation et le manque de leadership que l’on pouvait soupçonner l’année dernière sont maintenant évidents. Le gouvernement continue d’appuyer en principe la dualité linguistique canadienne, mais cet appui ne se manifeste pas par une vision d’ensemble à l’égard des politiques gouvernementales et de la fonction publique.

Ce manque de leadership cause un plafonnement et, à certains égards, une dégradation de l’application de la politique des langues officielles1. Cette année encore, j’ai constaté très peu de progrès dans plusieurs domaines d’activités. En fait, les données présentées dans mon rapport indiquent que la situation de la langue de travail se serait même détériorée dans certaines institutions.

Remplacer l’honorable Juge Bastarache à la Cour suprême du Canada par un autre juge bilingue, est un parfait exemple du leadership nécessaire. Le Canada est le bénéficiaire non seulement de deux langues officielles, mais d’un système bijuridique. C’est pourquoi les lois du Parlement ne sont pas traduites mais bien écrites dans les deux langues officielles. Les deux versions ont égale force de loi. Il est donc essentiel que les juges de la plus haute cour du pays soient bilingues afin d’être en mesure de comprendre les deux versions des lois, mais aussi afin de comprendre les avocats et les citoyens dans la langue officielle de leur choix, et ce, sans l’aide d’un interprète. La Cour suprême du Canada doit non seulement être formée de juges ayant des compétences juridiques exceptionnelles, mais elle doit aussi être le reflet de nos valeurs et de notre identité canadienne en tant que pays bijuridique et bilingue. Le gouvernement devrait reconnaître cette réalité.

L’initiative destinée à succéder au Plan d’action pour les langues officielles est un exemple d’engagement qui tarde à se réaliser et de leadership hésitant et incertain. On attend toujours des résultats malgré les engagements.

Dans son discours du Trône du 16 octobre 2007, le gouvernement a souligné son appui à la dualité linguistique canadienne en affirmant qu’il proposerait une stratégie destinée à concrétiser la phase suivante du Plan d’action, qui est arrivé à échéance le 31 mars dernier2. Toutefois, il n’a réservé à cette initiative aucune enveloppe dans son budget du 26 février dernier.

Pourtant, la date d’échéance du 31 mars 2008 a toujours été inscrite dans le Plan d’action. Or, le gouvernement n’a pas eu la prévoyance de lancer une initiative de renouvellement ou de remplacement avant cette échéance.

Depuis plusieurs mois, la ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles a en main le rapport sur les consultations entreprises sur le sujet, mais elle n’a encore annoncé aucune mesure concrète.

En fait, on se croirait dans une pièce de Samuel Beckett, qui pourrait s’intituler « En attendant le Plan d’action ». Bien franchement, je ne tiens pas à passer une année de plus à assister à une pièce de théâtre, alors que tout le monde attend, pendant que le gouvernement fait du surplace.

Le gouvernement doit établir une orientation claire et mettre en œuvre des initiatives qui produiront des résultats concrets pour l’ensemble de la population canadienne. Les retards ont déjà semé le doute chez les différents partenaires concernés puisqu’ils ne connaissent ni les objectifs de l’initiative à venir ni l’ampleur du financement qui sera alloué.

Le leadership doit provenir d’en haut. Un engagement clair, fort et soutenu du premier ministre reste une condition essentielle à une bonne gouvernance. Je formule donc dans mon rapport sept recommandations en vue d’inciter le gouvernement à exercer un leadership ferme.

Je recommande notamment que le premier ministre crée un comité spécial de ministres qui guiderait la pleine mise en œuvre du nouveau plan d’action et des obligations linguistiques au sein de toutes les institutions fédérales.

Dans la même veine, je recommande que le Cabinet dresse le bilan du dossier des langues officielles au moins une fois par année. Pour que l’engagement politique se concrétise sur le plan administratif, je recommande que le Secrétariat des langues officielles dispose de l’autorité dont il a besoin pour assumer un rôle de coordination horizontale en vue de mettre en œuvre l’ensemble de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Ces recommandations visent à ce que davantage de résultats soient obtenus sur le terrain pour la population canadienne.

Il faut un effort mieux coordonné pour intervenir plus efficacement dans le but de régler les problèmes de langue de travail qui persistent depuis 40 ans au sein du gouvernement fédéral. Je recommande donc que les administrateurs généraux de toutes les institutions fédérales fassent rapport, en date du 31 décembre 2008, des mesures concrètes qu’ils auront prises en vue de créer un milieu de travail qui permettrait aux employés des régions désignées par la Loi d’utiliser la langue officielle de leur choix. Il s’agit du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la région de la capitale nationale et de plusieurs régions du Québec et de l’Ontario3.

La dualité linguistique est un élément fondamental de la fonction publique canadienne. Dans un milieu où francophones et anglophones travaillent côte à côte, le bilinguisme est une composante clé du leadership au sein d’une fonction publique contemporaine et efficace qui serait le reflet des valeurs de notre pays.

À l’heure actuelle, 40 p. 100 des postes sont désignés bilingues, une proportion qui reste stable depuis plusieurs années. Il peut s’agir de postes de service au public et, dans certaines régions, de postes de supervision.

Le renouvellement de la fonction publique doit permettre de mieux ancrer la dualité linguistique canadienne au cœur des valeurs et des priorités des institutions fédérales. Quelque 15 000 personnes vont bientôt se joindre à la fonction publique chaque année. Pour que la fonction publique continue d’être en mesure de servir l’ensemble de la population, il est nécessaire de prendre compte de la dualité linguistique canadienne dans les activités de recrutement, de formation et de perfectionnement de ces milliers de nouveaux fonctionnaires4.

Les politiques de service au public et de langue de travail ne peuvent pas donner de bons résultats si les employés n’ont pas accès à de la formation linguistique de qualité dès le début de leur carrière au sein du gouvernement fédéral5. À l’heure actuelle, on se contente trop souvent d’envoyer un employé en formation linguistique seulement lorsqu’il obtient un poste de supervision. Une telle façon de faire ne me semble ni rationnelle ni efficace.

Je demande donc au gouvernement de faire preuve d’une plus grande cohérence, et de mettre en pratique ses bonnes intentions. En un mot, je lui demande de faire preuve de leadership plutôt que de seulement gérer le dossier.

Grâce à un meilleur leadership et à une façon de faire plus cohérente, le gouvernement influera aussi sur les changements qui touchent la dualité linguistique canadienne. À preuve, des études publiées au cours des derniers mois par Statistique Canada font état de la vigueur des communautés de langue officielle, mais aussi des nombreux défis à relever dans un contexte social en transformation6.

La Loi sur les langues officielles n’a jamais eu pour objectif de faire en sorte que toute la population canadienne soit bilingue. Cependant, les occasions d’apprendre les deux langues officielles de notre pays sont une source d’enrichissement pour  l’ensemble de notre société. En collaboration avec tous les partenaires intéressés, le gouvernement fédéral doit agir pour que les Canadiens et les Canadiennes qui veulent tirer avantage des deux langues et des deux cultures aient accès à des occasions d’apprentissage stimulantes et enrichissantes.

En terminant, je tiens à souligner que certaines institutions fédérales déploient des efforts vigoureux pour permettre l’usage des deux langues officielles au travail, offrir des services dans les deux langues et mettre en œuvre des mesures positives afin de favoriser l’épanouissement et l’essor des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Je dois aussi préciser que j’ai constaté un appui important à la dualité linguistique, et je tiens à féliciter les fonctionnaires qui ont travaillé fort en ce sens. Le travail de ces derniers est digne de mention. J’en donne des exemples dans mon rapport annuel, et j’invite les administrateurs généraux à s’en inspirer.

Une vision claire et un leadership ferme sont toutefois nécessaires si l’on veut permettre aux institutions fédérales de relever certains défis en matière de langues officielles. Mon rapport se veut un recensement de ces défis, et mes recommandations devraient être considérées comme des moyens que le gouvernement peut utiliser pour les relever.

Les institutions fédérales obtiennent des résultats supérieurs et durables pour la population canadienne lorsque le gouvernement, la haute direction et les employés de la fonction publique font preuve d’un leadership ferme en reconnaissant les droits et les valeurs inhérents aux langues officielles et à la dualité linguistique et en veillant à leur respect. Le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles qui sera célébré en 2009 me semble être l’occasion idéale de concrétiser cette vision.

Merci de votre attention. J’aimerais prendre le temps qu’il nous reste pour répondre à vos questions.


 


Notes

1 Constat général du rendement du gouvernement : chapitre I, partie 1, p. 4-13.

2 Plan d’action pour les langues officielles : chapitre I, partie 2, p. 16-29.

3 Langue de travail : chapitre I, partie 1, p. 5-6, et chapitre IV, partie 3, p. 127-137.

4 Renouvellement de la fonction publique : chapitre I, partie 2, p. 36-43.

5 Formation linguistique : chapitre I, partie 2, p. 42-43.

6 Changements démographiques et vitalité des communautés : chapitre II, partie 2, p. 80-93.