ARCHIVED - Ottawa, May 28, 2009

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Second-language learning opportunities in Canada’s universities 

Notes for an appearance before the House of Commons
Standing Committee on Official Languages


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Parliamentarians, members of the Standing Committee on Official Languages, good morning.

I am pleased to have this occasion to present the preliminary results of our study on second-language learning opportunities in Canada’s universities. This issue has long held great interest for me, and I believe that it is an important question for Canadians. I am accompanied today by Carsten Quell, Director, Policy and Research; Mylène Thériault, Team Leader, Policy and Research; and Mark Goldenberg, the consultant who is working closely with members of my office on this study.

While we have extensive knowledge and information about second-language learning at the elementary and secondary levels, I believe that this additional piece is essential in order for Canadians to have a complete continuum in second-language learning.

In fact, one of the recommendations included in my annual report is that the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages quickly implement the commitments announced in the Roadmap for Canada’s Linguistic Duality to support second official language learning by bringing together all partners involved in this issue.

Knowledge of our two official languages is important for our young people’s development, especially considering increased international competition and the global knowledge economy.

Knowledge of both English and French by more Canadians is also important as part of Canada’s commitment to linguistic duality, and for the effective functioning of our country in many different sectors. And, in the context of the renewal of the public service, it is important for our national government to have access to a larger pool of bilingual recruits.

Today, I have provided you with the preliminary findings of this major study that we are undertaking.

As part of our study, an extensive survey was conducted of second-language programs and courses currently offered at Canada’s universities.

How are Canadian universities doing?

Access to second-language courses at universities is generally good. However, opportunities for students to study in their second language are quite limited.

We found that there is generally good access to “regular” programs and courses for students to learn their second language, but that there are relatively few opportunities to do so more intensively, such as taking academic subjects taught in the second language. Only a very limited number of courses in a very narrow range of subjects are being offered in the second language.

Very few universities have any second-language policies or requirements. Those that exist are rather minimal and usually only apply to a few courses in a language “other than French” in Quebec and “other than English” throughout the rest of Canada.

There is little formal collaboration between English- and French-language institutions in Canada that would give students greater second-language exposure. While many Canadian universities offer or facilitate exchange opportunities with other countries, exchange opportunities between institutions within Canada are quite limited.

One finding that might interest you is that only a handful of public administration programs in Canada offer courses in the other language, have language requirements or offer exchange-type activities.

What works? How can we improve second-language learning in university?

Students said that the professor is the most important factor and that smaller classes provide for greater interaction in the second language. They find that content-rich second-language courses—including more cultural and targeted subject-matter content—makes the experience more stimulating. They believe that they would benefit from taking at least some subject-matter courses in the second language to deepen their learning of it.

Language-learning experts agree on the effectiveness of content-based learning, and that a range of learning supports has to be available and tailored to the particular situations and needs of institutions and students. They told us that recognition and accreditation are important motivators for students, and that language-learning opportunities should be provided early at the university level.

Professors and university administrators involved in second-language programs say that leadership and commitment “from the top” are critical; that the university has to signal that it values second-language learning. It requires planning, coordinating, organizing and “negotiating” with other faculties and institutions. It also means additional costs to universities and faculties, costs that are not adequately recognized by the usual per capita funding formula.

And students, professors, administrators, experts and government officials all agree real-life opportunities to use and practise the second language, exchanges and other opportunities for interaction with people who speak the other language are vital. You cannot fully learn another language simply by taking a course.

Finally, we know of some interesting initiatives and “good practices” out there, as well as possible models and approaches that are effective and that can point the way.

These include the expertise and experience of bilingual institutions like the University of Ottawa and York’s Glendon College; the efforts by Campus Saint-Jean and the Collège universitaire Saint-Boniface to attract English-language students and offer an immersion-type learning experience; initiatives to offer second-language courses tailored to specific disciplines such as Business English at the Université de Montréal and French for Business or Law at the University of Western Ontario; Simon Fraser University’s Office of Francophone and Francophile Affairs; Memorial University’s one-semester immersion program in Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon; and others.

Conclusion

So where do we go from here?

We know that more and better second-language learning opportunities at university are important—for young people and for Canada. We know that opportunities for intensive exposure to the second language are limited. We know that there is a growing need and demand. And we know what works to make students more proficient.

Our study points to a number of potential broad directions for intervention:

  • We need to offer more intensive second-language learning opportunities;
  • We need to make better use of the potential of institutions that teach in the other official language, through collaboration and partnerships and the use of technology;
  • We need to offer students more exchanges and real-life opportunities to use their second language in Canada; and
  • We need to look again at second-language policies and requirements and how they can be used to improve second-language learning at university.

The final report, including recommendations, will be available in the fall. Moving forward in these and other areas will require the commitment and collaboration of all interested parties—universities, educational organizations, government and others.

I look forward to answering any questions you may have.

Thank you.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 28 mai 2009

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités canadiennes  

Notes pour une comparution devant le Comité permanent des langues officielles
de la Chambre des communes


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Mesdames et Messieurs les parlementaires, membres du Comité permanent des langues officielles, bonjour.

Je suis heureux d’avoir cette occasion de présenter les résultats préliminaires de notre étude sur les possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde dans les universités canadiennes. Cette question m’a toujours grandement intéressé et je pense qu’elle revêt aussi une grande importance pour les Canadiens. Je suis accompagné aujourd’hui de Carsten Quell, directeur, Politiques et recherche, Mylène Thériault, chef d'équipe, Politiques et recherche, et Mark Goldenberg, le consultant qui collabore étroitement avec le personnel de mon bureau pour cette étude.

Bien que nous ayons déjà une vaste connaissance et que nous disposions d’une grande quantité de données sur l’apprentissage en langue seconde au primaire et au secondaire, je crois que cette composante essentielle est indispensable afin que les Canadiens et Canadiennes aient accès à un véritable continuum d’apprentissage en langue seconde.

Mon rapport annuel comprend certaines recommandations, entre autres celle faite au ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles de mettre en œuvre rapidement les engagements annoncés dans la Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne. Une telle mesure aurait pour but de soutenir l’apprentissage de la seconde langue officielle en réunissant tous les partenaires concernés.

La connaissance de nos deux langues officielles est primordiale pour l’épanouissement de notre jeunesse, surtout si l’on tient compte de l’économie mondiale du savoir et de l’intensification de la concurrence internationale.

De plus, la connaissance du français et de l’anglais par un plus grand nombre de Canadiens fait preuve de l’engagement du Canada envers la promotion de la dualité linguistique et du bon fonctionnement de notre pays dans de multiples secteurs. Dans le contexte du renouvellement de la fonction publique, il est essentiel que notre gouvernement dispose d’un plus vaste bassin de recrues bilingues.

Aujourd’hui, je vous livre les premières constatations de l’étude majeure que nous entreprenons.

Dans le cadre de cette étude, nous avons procédé à un vaste sondage sur les cours et programmes en langue seconde actuellement offerts dans les universités canadiennes.

Où en sont les universités canadiennes?

Les universités offrent en général un bon accès aux cours de langue seconde. Cependant, les possibilités pour les étudiants de faire leurs études dans la langue seconde sont plutôt limitées.

Nous avons constaté qu’en général les étudiants ont facilement accès aux cours et programmes « réguliers » d’apprentissage de la langue seconde, mais qu’ils ont relativement peu de possibilités de le faire de façon plus intensive, par exemple en suivant certains cours de leur programme dans leur langue seconde. Seulement un nombre très limité de cours dans une gamme très restreinte de matières sont offerts dans la langue seconde.

Très peu d’universités ont une politique ou des exigences en matière de langue seconde. Celles qui existent sont plutôt minimes et s’appliquent habituellement à de rares cours offerts dans une langue « autres que le français » au Québec et « autre que l’anglais » ailleurs au pays.

Par ailleurs, il existe nettement peu de collaboration entre les établissements anglophones et francophones du Canada qui permettrait aux étudiants d’avoir plus d’occasions d’être exposés à la langue seconde. Beaucoup d’universités canadiennes offrent ou facilitent des occasions d’échange avec d’autres pays, mais les occasions d’échange entre établissements situés au Canada sont très limitées.

Voici une constatation qui pourrait vous intéresser : seuls quelques programmes d’administration publique offerts au Canada comportent des cours dans l’autre langue, des exigences linguistiques ou des activités intégrées de type « échange ».

Qu’est-ce qui marche? Comment améliorer l’apprentissage en langue seconde à l’université?

Les étudiants estiment que le professeur est le facteur le plus important et que les classes plus petites favorisent plus d’interactions dans la langue seconde. D’après eux, des cours de langue seconde plus étoffés – à contenu précis ou de nature culturelle – rendent l’apprentissage plus exaltant. Ils trouvent qu’il serait à leur avantage de prendre au moins quelques cours dans leur domaine dans la langue seconde afin d’approfondir leur connaissance de celle-ci.

Les spécialistes de l’apprentissage linguistique s’entendent tous sur l’efficacité de l’apprentissage fondé sur le contenu. Ils sont aussi d’avis qu’il faut offrir une gamme de mesures de soutiens à l’apprentissage adaptés aux situations particulières ainsi qu’aux besoins des établissements et des étudiants. Ils nous ont affirmé que la reconnaissance et l’accréditation sont des facteurs importants de motivation pour les étudiants et que des possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde doivent être offertes dès le début des études universitaires.

Les professeurs et administrateurs d’universités qui s’occupent des programmes en langue seconde disent que le leadership et l’engagement des échelons supérieurs sont indispensables; que l’université doit indiquer clairement qu’elle valorise l’apprentissage en langue seconde. Cela exige de la planification, de la coordination, de l’organisation et des négociations avec d’autres facultés et établissements. Cela signifie également des coûts additionnels pour les universités et les facultés, coûts dont ne tient pas suffisamment compte la formule de financement par habitant.

Étudiants, professeurs, administrateurs, experts, représentants gouvernementaux, tous s’entendent pour dire que les occasions concrètes d’utiliser la langue seconde, les échanges et les autres possibilités d’interaction avec des gens qui parlent cette langue sont d’une importance capitale. On ne peut pas apprendre parfaitement une autre langue simplement en suivant un cours.

Enfin, nous savons qu’il existe quelques initiatives intéressantes, « bonnes pratiques », modèles et approches possibles qui sont efficaces et peuvent nous montrer la voie à suivre.

Citons par exemple le savoir-faire et l’expérience d’établissements bilingues comme l’Université d’Ottawa et le Collège Glendon de l’Université York, les efforts déployés par le Campus Saint-Jean et le Collège universitaire Saint-Boniface pour attirer des étudiants anglophones et leur offrir une expérience d’apprentissage du genre « immersion », les formules de cours de langue seconde adaptés à des disciplines particulières, comme l’anglais des affaires à l’Université de Montréal et le français des affaires ou juridique à l’Université de Western Ontario, le Bureau des affaires francophones et francophiles de l’Université Simon Fraser, le programme d’immersion d’un semestre à Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon de l’Université Memorial, et bien d’autres encore.

Conclusion

Et maintenant, où allons-nous?

Nous savons qu’un plus grand nombre de possibilités d’apprentissage en langue seconde à l’université, ainsi que des possibilités de meilleure qualité, sont importantes – pour les jeunes et pour le Canada. Nous savons que les occasions d’être exposé de façon intensive à la langue seconde sont limitées. Nous savons également que les besoins et la demande dans ce domaine augmentent de plus en plus. Et nous savons ce qui rendrait nos étudiants plus compétents.

Notre étude fait ressortir certaines grandes avenues possibles d’intervention :

  • Nous devons offrir davantage de possibilités d’apprentissage intensif en langue seconde.
  • Nous devons mieux utiliser le potentiel des établissements qui enseignent dans l’autre langue officielle, par la collaboration, les partenariats et le recours à la technologie.
  • Nous devons offrir aux étudiants plus d’échanges et de possibilités concrètes d’utiliser leur langue seconde au Canada.
  • Nous devons enfin revoir les politiques et les exigences en matière de langue seconde et la manière dont elles peuvent servir à améliorer l’apprentissage en langue seconde à l’université.

Le rapport final, avec ses recommandations, sera rendu public à l’automne. Aller de l’avant dans ces domaines et dans d’autres exigera l’engagement et la collaboration de toutes les parties intéressées – universités, organismes à vocation éducationnelle, gouvernement et autres.

Je me ferai maintenant un plaisir de répondre à toutes vos questions.

Merci.