ARCHIVED - Ottawa, May 28, 2009

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notes for an appearance before the House of Commons
Standing Committee on Official Languages


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Parliamentarians, members of the Standing Committee on Official Languages, good morning.

To present the findings of my third annual report, I am accompanied today by Johane Tremblay, Acting Assistant Commissioner, Policy and Communications; Ghislaine Charlebois, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Assurance; Pascale Gigučre, Attorney and Acting Director of Legal Affairs; and Lise Cloutier, Assistant Commissioner, Corporate Services.

The Official Languages Act is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. Clearly, the parliamentarians who worked on its development, culminating in its royal assent in 1969, were visionaries. This legislative framework was absolutely necessary for the future of the country.

The language guarantees contained in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms provided a valuable basis that supported a review of the Official Languages Act. Many benefits arose from the Charter in terms of human rights, culture, workforce mobility and the economy. They benefit all Canadians, regardless of their mother tongue.

Nonetheless, the time has come to eliminate the roadblocks and contradictions related to the implementation of Canada's language policy and to attain a certain level of coherence between the various government policies, programs and initiatives.

This year, my report aims to measure the distance between the road that has been travelled and how far we have left to go with regard to three components: the learning of the official languages, the quality of services provided by federal institutions and the organization of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

Learning the official languages

Despite the significant investment that it represents for our country's future, access to official languages learning opportunities remains limited.1

By enabling young Canadians to acquire skills that will benefit them professionally, personally and culturally, we are contributing to their professional mobility. In the current economic climate, I find it unfortunate that governments and post-secondary institutions are not focusing enough on second-language learning programs.

Although students are encouraged to take the bilingual path throughout their academic career, post-secondary institutions seldom provide them with opportunities to continue studying in their second language. After 40 years of language policy, it is high time that we remove the last roadblocks on this path. The federal government should bring together the various players in order to create a true second-language learning continuum.

Services of equal quality

According to our observations of institutions, government services are offered in the minority language, when there is significant demand, 75% of the time. Very often, federal institutions do not actively offer their services in the language of the minority, and citizens hesitate to ask for these services in their language. Moreover, we are too quick to settle on providing the linguistic minority with a translated version of the services provided to the majority.

However, in an important judgment rendered on February 5, 2009, in the Desrochers case, the Supreme Court declared that federal institutions must consider both the nature of services and the specific needs of official language communities. In other words, the obligation to provide services "of equal quality" in both official languages does not necessarily mean "identical" services.

The Olympic Games

Finally, the organization of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games clearly illustrates some obstacles to incorporating linguistic duality into our Canadian reality.2 I continue to be concerned that our country finds it difficult to meet the challenges related to official languages at the Games in an exemplary manner—especially considering its 26 million Anglophone and 9 million Francophone inhabitants.

As indicated by the study I released in December and by the results of the awareness campaign subsequently conducted among federal institutions, the organizing committee and federal institutions must do more to ensure that the Canadian public and visitors have access to services in both of our country's official languages.

I am still hoping that the Games will reflect linguistic duality before, during and after the athletes' arrival. There is little time left to solve the most pressing problems, namely those pertaining to translation, interpretation and signage. Federal institutions that have a specific role to play must realize that the arrival of thousands of additional visitors will lead to an increased demand for bilingual services. This is especially important in terms of services provided at the Games venues and services provided to the travelling public, mainly in the Vancouver and Toronto airports.

The Olympic Games is proof of the need to better integrate official languages into federal institutions, not only in terms of services, but also in terms of support for official language committees and the promotion of linguistic duality.

In 2010, it will be five years since Parliament strengthened Part VII of the Official Languages Act. I am not very impressed with how the government has managed the implementation of the provisions in this part of the Act. The response has been slow and minimal. My staff and I will therefore be paying special attention to this issue in 2009–2010.

To foster linguistic duality in Canadian society, I call upon new stakeholders to get involved. As I will explain in a forthcoming presentation, I encourage post-secondary institutions to forge close ties between the second-language programs offered and the need for bilingual staff from employers such as the federal public service. I also encourage young people to continue improving their second language by taking advantage of opportunities offered by the other language community. Finally, I encourage public sector leaders and managers of public services to show leadership and commitment in to make linguistic duality a value in federal institutions.

Public service renewal should facilitate the training of future leaders who are committed to promoting linguistic duality as a value, both through their day-to-day actions and through the implementation and management of language programs and policies.

Naturally, all of this must be supported by sustained leadership on the part of the federal administration, based on a dynamic vision of linguistic duality that is characterized by respect, dialogue and partnership. For this to happen, the federal government's ongoing commitment is necessary.

In June 2008, the government released its Roadmap for Canada's Linguistic Duality. I am still concerned about the delay in the implementation of this initiative, the lack of information on certain projects and the uncertainty that stems from the elimination of programs in some areas targeted by the Roadmap 2008–2013. The lack of specific objectives pertaining to the government Roadmap does little to assure us that it will be implemented effectively.

Community organizations, the education community and provincial governments are concerned because they do not have a clear vision of the federal government's actions. While the investments allocated to various programs are certainly welcome, the government would do well to outline an overall vision and specific objectives that it intends to achieve.

The parliamentarians’ vision in 1969 was bold, ambitious and above all crucial to the future of this country. Forty years later, other challenges lie ahead. At the time, this vision was a way to bring Canadians together and to ensure that the State could serve them in the official language of their choice; now, it is a way to help them reach their full potential.

Thank you for your attention. I would now like to take the remaining time to answer any questions you may have.



1. The 5th recommendation in Chapter 3 discusses the learning continuum.

2. The organization of the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games in Vancouver is dealt with in the 4th recommendation, related to Chapter 2.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 28 mai 2009

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notes pour une comparution devant le Comité permanent des langues officielles
de la Chambre des communes


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Mesdames et Messieurs les parlementaires, membres du Comité permanent des langues officielles, bonjour.

Pour vous présenter les conclusions de mon troisième rapport annuel, je suis accompagné aujourd’hui de Johane Tremblay, commissaire adjointe par intérim, Politiques et Communications, de Ghislaine Charlebois, commissaire adjointe, Assurance de la conformité, de Pascale Giguère, directrice par intérim et avocate, Affaires juridiques, et de Lise Cloutier, commissaire adjointe, Services corporatifs.

La Loi sur les langues officielles célèbre ses 40 ans cette année. Manifestement, les parlementaires qui ont œuvré à son élaboration, menant à sa sanction royale en 1969, étaient des visionnaires. Cet encadrement législatif était absolument nécessaire pour l’avenir du pays.

Comme balises importantes, les garanties linguistiques contenues dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés ont appuyé la révision de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Les avantages qui en ont découlé sont nombreux, sur le plan des droits de la personne, de la culture, de la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre et de l'économie. Ils profitent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes, quelle que soit leur langue maternelle.

Néanmoins, le temps est venu de faire disparaître les irritants et les contradictions de la mise en œuvre du régime linguistique canadien. Plutôt, nous devons atteindre une certaine cohérence entre les politiques, programmes et initiatives variés du gouvernement.

Mon rapport de cette année vise à évaluer la distance entre le chemin parcouru et le chemin qu’il nous reste à parcourir. Et ce, dans le cadre de trois volets : l’apprentissage des deux langues officielles, la qualité des services offerts par les institutions fédérales et l’organisation des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2010 à Vancouver.

Apprentissage des langues officielles

Malgré l’investissement important qu’il représente pour l’avenir du pays, l’accès à l’apprentissage des deux langues officielles reste limité1.

En permettant aux jeunes Canadiens d'acquérir des compétences utiles sur les plans professionnel, personnel et culturel, on facilite leur mobilité professionnelle. Dans le contexte économique actuel, je trouve déplorable que les gouvernements et les établissements postsecondaires ne mettent pas suffisamment l’accent sur des programmes d’apprentissage de la langue seconde.

Bien qu’on encourage les étudiants à emprunter la voie du bilinguisme tout au long de leur parcours scolaire, les établissements postsecondaires leur offrent rarement l’occasion de poursuivre leurs études dans leur langue seconde. Après 40 ans de politique linguistique, il est grand temps d’ouvrir les derniers tronçons de cette route. Le gouvernement fédéral doit faciliter la rencontre des différents acteurs pour créer un véritable continuum d’apprentissage en langue seconde.

Services de qualité égale

Selon nos observations effectuées auprès des institutions, les services gouvernementaux sont offerts dans la langue de la minorité, lorsque la demande est importante, dans 75 p. 100 des cas. Bien souvent, les institutions fédérales n’offrent pas de façon active leurs services dans la langue de la minorité, et les citoyens hésitent à les demander dans leur langue. De plus, on se contente trop souvent d’offrir à la minorité linguistique une version traduite des services offerts à la majorité.

Pourtant, dans un jugement important rendu le 5 février 2009 dans l’affaire Desrochers, la Cour suprême déclare que les institutions fédérales doivent tenir compte de la nature des services et des besoins spécifiques des communautés de langue officielle. Bref, l'obligation d'offrir des services « de qualité égale » dans les deux langues officielles peut ne pas se traduire par des services « identiques ».

Jeux olympiques

Finalement, l’organisation des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2010 à Vancouver illustre bien certains obstacles à l’intégration de la dualité linguistique dans notre réalité canadienne2. Je continue d’être préoccupé par le fait que notre pays a des difficultés à relever de façon exemplaire les défis liés aux langues officielles dans le cadre des Jeux. Et ce bien qu’on y retrouve 26 millions d’anglophones et 9 millions de francophones.

Comme l’indiquent mon étude présentée en décembre dernier et les conclusions de la campagne de sensibilisation auprès des institutions fédérales entreprise depuis, le comité organisateur et les institutions fédérales devront faire davantage pour s’assurer que le public canadien et les visiteurs ont accès à des services dans les deux langues officielles du pays.

J’espère toujours que les Jeux reflèteront la dualité linguistique avant, pendant et après l’arrivée des athlètes. Il reste peu de temps pour régler les problèmes les plus pressants, notamment à l’égard de la traduction, de l’interprétation et de la signalisation. Les institutions fédérales qui ont un rôle particulier à jouer doivent réaliser que la venue de milliers de visiteurs additionnels entraînera une demande accrue de services bilingues. Cela est particulièrement important pour ce qui est des services offerts sur les sites des Jeux et des services au public voyageur, notamment offerts dans les aéroports de Vancouver et de Toronto.

L’exemple des Jeux olympiques témoigne du besoin de mieux ancrer les langues officielles au sein des institutions fédérales, non seulement sur le plan des services mais aussi en ce qui concerne l’appui aux communautés de langue officielle et la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

En 2010, cinq ans se seront écoulés depuis que le Parlement a bonifié la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Je ne suis pas très impressionné par la façon dont le gouvernement a géré la mise en œuvre de cette partie de la Loi. La réponse a été lente et minimaliste. Mon personnel et moi porterons donc une attention particulière à cet enjeu au cours de l’année 2009-2010.

Pour dynamiser la dualité linguistique au sein de la société canadienne, je tiens à inviter de nouveaux joueurs à s’engager. Comme je le décrirai lors d’une présentation subséquente, j’invite les établissements postsecondaires à établir un lien étroit entre l’offre de programmes en langue seconde et les besoins en main-d’œuvre bilingue des employeurs, telle la fonction publique fédérale. J’invite aussi les jeunes à perfectionner leur apprentissage de la langue seconde en ciblant les occasions offertes par l’autre communauté linguistique. Finalement, j’encourage le leadership et l’engagement des dirigeants du secteur public et des gestionnaires des services publics, qui doivent être ravivés pour faire de la dualité linguistique une valeur omniprésente dans les institutions fédérales.

L’exercice de renouvellement de la fonction publique doit faciliter la formation de futurs dirigeants engagés à promouvoir la dualité linguistique en tant que valeur, tant par leurs gestes quotidiens que par la mise en œuvre et la gestion de programmes et de politiques linguistiques.

Bien sûr, le tout devra être appuyé par un leadership soutenu de l’appareil fédéral, basé sur une vision dynamique de la dualité linguistique empreinte de respect, de dialogue et de partenariat. Pour ce faire, un engagement soutenu du gouvernement fédéral est nécessaire.

Au mois de juin 2008, le gouvernement a rendu publique sa Feuille de route pour la dualité linguistique canadienne. Je m’inquiète toujours des délais de mise en œuvre de cette initiative, du peu d’information disponible quant à certains projets et de l’incertitude que génère la disparition de programmes dans certains domaines visés par la Feuille de route 2008-2013. L’absence d’objectifs précis rattachés à la Feuille de route du gouvernement n’a rien pour nous assurer d’une mise en œuvre optimale.

Les organismes communautaires, le milieu de l’enseignement et les gouvernements provinciaux sont préoccupés, car ils n’ont pas une vision claire de l’action du gouvernement fédéral. Si les investissements engagés dans divers programmes sont certainement les bienvenus, le gouvernement gagnerait à énoncer une vision globale et des objectifs précis de ce qu’il compte accomplir.

La vision des parlementaires de 1969 était ambitieuse, audacieuse et surtout cruciale pour l’avenir du pays. Après 40 ans, d’autres défis nous attendent. Si, à l’époque, il s’agissait d’un moyen pour rassembler les Canadiens et faire en sorte que l’État puisse les servir dans la langue officielle de leur choix, il s’agit maintenant de les aider à réaliser leur plein potentiel.

Merci de votre attention. J’aimerais prendre le temps qu’il nous reste pour répondre à vos questions.



1. La 5e recommandation, au chapitre 3, aborde le continuum d’apprentissage.

2. L’organisation des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2010 à Vancouver fait l’objet de la 4e recommandation, liée au chapitre 2.