ARCHIVED - Montréal, January 25, 2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notes for an address at a meeting
with the Quebec Federal Council


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Good day,

Thank you for inviting me to meet with you. It’s always a pleasure to talk to the people who coordinate what their institutions are doing at the regional level. It lets us both have a look at how linguistic duality should be experienced on a day-to-day basis in the various regions across the country. Meeting with you also gives me a chance to hear about best practices and innovative projects that I can later bring up in other meetings. 

I am especially pleased to be with you at this time, because I am convinced that the federal public service will be facing some special challenges in Quebec in the coming years. These challenges will have an impact on the country as a whole. Let me take a few moments to outline my thinking on this point. 

I wouldn’t want to belittle the importance of the sovereignist movement since everything seems to indicate that Francophone Quebeckers are ready, as a society, to become full partners in Canadian society, to “reconquer Canada” as the title of a recent book puts it. Here are a few examples that support this feeling:

  • Unilingual Francophone soldiers in the Canadian Forces are risking their lives in Afghanistan without waves of protest sweeping through the Quebec citizenry. 
  • The 400th anniversary of the founding of Québec City will have national scope. 
  • A growing number of Francophone Quebeckers are moving westward and joining established Francophone communities in demanding quality services in French. 
  • The current political climate is neither pre-referendum nor post-referendum, but is focussed on totally different considerations. 

Given this context, the Francophones of Quebec are seeing the federal public service in a new light. For the first time in a long time, federal institutions in Ottawa have had to increase the language training available for unilingual Francophones who are joining their ranks. 

Will these new recruits to the public service find a work environment where the rights of each and every individual are fully respected and where Francophones and Anglophones take advantage of their differences to better serve the public? Will they see Canadian bilingualism as an irritant, a deception or a favourable opportunity?

The answer to these questions will have repercussions that go far beyond the daily work environment in your organizations. If the federal public service can show how bridges between Canada’s linguistic communities can enrich the lives of each and every one of us, the impact will be felt throughout Canadian society. 

But how do we do it? In November, when appearing before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages, I mentioned three specific areas where the government would have to act:

  • The government must consider the knowledge of both official languages as a leadership skill during the renewal process for the public service.  
  • It must absolutely take concrete action and develop and implement the next phase of the Action Plan for Official Languages.
  • It must show strong leadership in order to improve the active offer of service to the Canadian public.

Leadership has always been linked to official languages policy at the federal level. Indeed, how can you exercise leadership if you do not understand those you are leading? How can you respect employees if you cannot talk to them in the official language of their choice? How can you respect the public if you ignore their language rights?   

Since I became Commissioner of Official Languages last October, I have had ample opportunity to observe the relationships that exist between leadership and language. To get the “magic” C level in oral interaction, those being assessed have to be able to be persuasive in their second language, able to intervene in a work conflict, able to supervise employees, or, as someone from the Public Service Commission said to me, able to testify in court or give a course. 

It is not a matter of criteria for linguistic assessment, but rather leadership competencies that have a profound effect on the entire organization. 

In June, I heard Jeffrey Gandz of the Ivey Executive Program and the Ivey Leadership Program talk about leadership and the importance of being able to influence and persuade people, i.e. embody, convey, promote and implement values. He said, “If the leaders do not embody the values, they quite simply don’t exist.”

I asked him how important it was for leaders to be able to communicate with the organization as a whole and not only with their direct subordinates. In his view, this was the distinction between being a leader and being a manager. You manage a sector, but you lead the organization as a whole. It all comes down to saying that to be a leader in the public service, you have to be able to influence, persuade, motivate, stimulate and value all employees, in English and in French.  

That is why the issue of official languages is, for me, an important component of public service renewal. This issue takes on a special dimension in Quebec in terms of the participation of the Anglophone minority. I recognize the efforts you have made to date and urge you to continue. Full representation of Anglophones in the federal public service in Quebec is not only possible, it is to everyone’s advantage.

Official languages affect many aspects of public service renewal and not only the equitable representation of both linguistic groups. They have an impact on recruitment, employee retention and staff training, as well as on leadership development. That’s why official languages are on the agenda of the interdepartmental committee that is currently studying the issue.

Let’s agree on one thing from the outset. Not all of us have to be bilingual. However, the public service must have a good number of qualified employees who can communicate in both official languages. And I would add that this is a minimum. Some are already bilingual when they are hired. Others become bilingual over the course of their careers. This means we have to ensure the survival and development of our language training programs so that in future these employees can access a wider range of positions, including those that require supervising employees in both official languages. 

Earlier, I mentioned the importance of building bridges between public servants in both linguistic groups. That also applies to relationships between those who work in Montréal, Jonquière or Sherbrooke and their colleagues in Ottawa or elsewhere in the country. I know perfectly well that this is quite often a problem, as evidenced by the studies on the language of work published in recent years.

It’s an issue that I bring up on a regular basis with the leaders of federal institutions and public service managers. They recognize the problem, but it is all a bit abstract for them. I think that there are opportunities for more in-depth discussion on this issue between managers in Quebec and elsewhere.

Naturally, an organization that is taking full advantage of its employees’ ability to function in both official languages is well positioned to offer better services to Canadians. However, according to the observations made by my staff, there are still major obstacles to overcome in this regard. 

I am thinking specifically about the active offer of service in both languages by front-line employees. It’s an issue that the public service across the board seems to be having difficulty in dealing with. Given its importance, I must admit that the situation leaves me somewhat perplexed.

Active offer in bilingual points of service is not incidental. It’s an essential component of quality service everywhere where services have to be offered in both languages. When you greet someone with a “Bonjour / Good morning,” you are opening the door to communication in the language of his or her choice. Without bilingual greetings, service in the minority language may just as well not exist. Worse, it might seem that we are embarrassed to offer it and that the public should be just as embarrassed to request it. That is why we track active offer in our performance report cards for federal institutions. If you haven’t already done so, I urge you to make active offer of service a priority in your organization and implement measures that will allow you to track your progress in this area.

On another front, Mr. Moisan, from Canadian Heritage, will be addressing you later on how to follow up on the Action Plan for Official Languages, which expires on March 31, 2008. This project is very dear to me and will have an impact on several of your organizations and especially on Quebec’s Anglophone community. 

This Plan, which came into effect in 2003, provided for additional transfers to provincial governments and minority community school systems for second language teaching, but also for direct investment by the federal government in the areas of immigration, health, and early childhood, and for the use of official languages in the public service. A total of 751 million dollars was to be spent over five years. At the national level, some of your organizations played a role in the development and implementation of the Plan. 

Minister Josée Verner will soon be looking at Bernard Lord’s consultation report into what form this intervention might take. Quebec’s Anglophone community has expressed a great deal of interest in the Plan’s renewal. 

Like the Francophone minority communities across Canada, Anglo-Quebeckers hope that the impetus gained from the first five-year plan will be maintained and the initiatives that have been launched will fully achieve the desired outcomes in health, education and immigration. I have also been told repeatedly that the Action Plan should have a broader reach and also focus on areas such as arts and culture, to provide for the development of all aspects of the Anglophone community in Quebec. It has been two years now since the Official Languages Act was amended to strengthen this legislative obligation. 

To this end, I urge you to reach out to community organizations in a spirit of cooperation and to be enterprising and imaginative when doing so. The “positive measures” provided for in the Act are not defined, so you have free rein in terms of the action you could undertake. It is therefore up to the institutions, together with the local and provincial communities, to explore how they can provide support, based on their specific mandate and the means and expertise at their disposal.

This new Action Plan had been developed when Statistics Canada released new language data from the 2006 census, including a major study on aspects affecting the vitality of official language communities. The census results have been highly politicized. Some politicians and mathematicians use them to show that French is losing ground in Canada and that the commitment to official language minority communities as defined in the Official Languages Act in 2005 should be reconsidered. When given the figures on the vitality of Quebec’s Anglophone community, some suggest that that it might be better to stop supporting its development. In this context, the renewal of the Action Plan is an opportunity to point out that the official language communities make an important contribution to Canadian society in every region of the country and in all fields.

The original Action Plan also included funding for the development of official language initiatives in the public service. It is true that this funding was relatively modest and that subsequent cutbacks were detrimental to initiatives that were underway. I hope that special attention will be paid to this component so that you can benefit from the support you need. 

In closing, I would like to congratulate you on the efforts you have made together to improve the linguistic environment in the federal public service in Quebec. It seems to me that your group is ready to take on a special leadership role with the other federal councils across the country.  

You have developed a number of best practices that could very well be applied elsewhere, such as the official languages recognition awards that were given at the follow-up training session you held last fall. It would also be a good thing to let members of other federal councils see for themselves what you were doing, if you would be agreeable to inviting them.

Outside Quebec, and to a too great extent in Ottawa as well, the public service has been suffering from a certain weariness when it comes to language issues. This can be explained by the fact that people have too little exposure to the French fact on a day-to-day basis. However, it also has to do with a misguided conception of the language debate by the general public. 

I am talking about the tenacious myth according to which Canadian language policy was supposed to put an end to the language debate. Because the debate continues, people think the policy has failed. However, the language debate is an integral part of what Canada is. So it’s a matter of benefiting from it as much as possible. This is what I am trying to show Canadians, as well as the federal public service. I believe that you, as a group of leaders of federal institutions in Quebec, also have a role to play through your actions and relationships with your colleagues in other regions in Canada.

My staff and I are always available to support your initiatives. Obviously, you already know that you can count on a committed and very resourceful colleague in the person of Eva Ludvig.

Thank you for your attention.

ARCHIVÉE - Montréal, le 25 janvier 2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notes pour une allocution à une rencontre
avec le Conseil fédéral du Québec


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Bonjour,

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invité à venir vous rencontrer. C’est toujours un plaisir d’échanger avec les gens qui coordonnent l’action de leur institution au plan régional. Cela me permet de voir avec vous comment la dualité linguistique devrait être vécue au quotidien dans les différentes régions du pays. Vous me donnez également la chance d’entendre parler de pratiques exemplaires et de projets novateurs que je peux ensuite aborder lors d’autres rencontres.

Je suis particulièrement heureux de me trouver avec vous à ce moment-ci, car j’ai la conviction que la fonction publique fédérale au Québec sera appelée à faire face à des défis particuliers au cours des prochaines années. Ces défis auront une incidence sur l’ensemble du pays. Je voudrais donc prendre quelques minutes pour préciser ma pensée sur ce point.

Je ne voudrais pas minimiser l’importance du mouvement souverainiste puisqu’il y a des indications qu’actuellement, les Québécois et les Québécoises francophones sont prêts, comme société, à s’engager pleinement dans l’ensemble canadien. À « reconquérir le Canada », pour reprendre le titre d’un ouvrage récent. Voici quelques éléments qui renforcent cette conviction :

  • Des soldats francophones unilingues risquent leur vie en Afghanistan, au sein des Forces canadiennes, sans que cela provoque une vague de mécontentement dans la population québécoise.
  • Le 400e anniversaire de la fondation de la ville de Québec prendra une envergure nationale.
  • Un nombre grandissant de Québécois francophones sont en train de s’installer dans l’Ouest du pays et se joignent aux communautés francophones déjà établies pour réclamer des services de qualité en français.
  • Le climat politique actuel n’est ni pré-référendaire, ni post-référendaire, mais s’articule autour de considérations totalement différentes.

Dans ce contexte, les francophones du Québec perçoivent la fonction publique fédérale d’un nouvel œil. Pour la première fois depuis longtemps, les institutions fédérales à Ottawa se voient forcées d’augmenter les cours de formation linguistique à l’intention des francophones unilingues qui joignent leurs rangs.

Ces nouvelles recrues trouveront-elles dans la fonction publique un milieu de travail où les droits de chacun sont pleinement respectés et où francophones et anglophones profitent de leurs différences pour mieux servir le public? Verront-elles le bilinguisme canadien comme un irritant, une déception ou une occasion favorable?

La réponse à cette question aura des répercussions qui vont bien au-delà du travail quotidien dans vos organisations. Si la fonction publique fédérale illustre comment les ponts qui existent entre les communautés linguistiques canadiennes enrichissent la vie de chacun, l’effet se fera sentir dans l’ensemble de la société canadienne.

Comment cela peut-il s’accomplir? Au mois de novembre, j’ai insisté sur trois enjeux spécifiques auprès des membres du Comité permanent des langues officielles de la Chambre des communes :

  • Le gouvernement doit tenir compte des langues officielles en tant que compétence inhérente au leadership pour ce qui est du processus de renouvellement de la fonction publique.
  • Il doit absolument passer aux actes en ce qui concerne l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de la prochaine phase du Plan d'action pour les langues officielles.
  • Il doit exercer un leadership ferme pour améliorer l'offre de services au public canadien.

Le leadership a toujours été lié aux politiques des langues officielles dans l’appareil fédéral. En effet, comment est-il possible d’exercer un leadership si on ne comprend pas ceux que l’on dirige? Comment est-il possible de respecter un employé si on est incapable de lui parler dans la langue officielle de son choix? Comment est-il possible de respecter le public si l’on bafoue ses droits linguistiques?

Depuis que je suis entré en fonction comme commissaire aux langues officielles, en octobre dernier, j’ai amplement eu l’occasion d’observer les liens qui existent entre le leadership et la langue. Le fameux niveau C à l’interaction orale exige que la personne évaluée sache persuader les autres dans sa langue seconde, qu’elle puisse intervenir dans un conflit au travail, superviser un employé ou, comme me le disait quelqu’un de la Commission de la fonction publique, qu’elle puisse témoigner en cour ou donner un cours.

Il ne s’agit pas de critères d’évaluation linguistique, mais plutôt de composantes du leadership qui ont un effet profond sur toute organisation.

En juin, j’ai entendu Jeffrey Gandz de l’Ivey Executive Program et de l’Ivey Leadership Program parler de leadership et de l’importance d’être capable d’influencer et de persuader des gens, c’est‑à‑dire d’incarner des valeurs, de les transmettre, d’en faire la promotion et de les mettre en pratique. « Si les leaders n’incarnent pas les valeurs, c’est bien simple, les valeurs n’existent pas », a-t-il déclaré.

Je lui ai demandé à quel point il était important pour les leaders d’être en mesure de communiquer avec l’ensemble de l’organisation et non seulement avec leurs subordonnés directs. Selon lui, c’est la distinction à faire entre un leader et un gestionnaire. On gère un secteur, mais on exerce un leadership dans l’ensemble de l’organisation. Tout cela revient à dire que pour être un leader dans la fonction publique, il faut pouvoir influencer, persuader, motiver, stimuler et valoriser tous les employés, en français et en anglais.

C’est pourquoi la question des langues officielles représente pour moi une composante importante du renouvellement de la fonction publique. Cette question prend d’ailleurs une dimension particulière au Québec en ce qui concerne la participation de la minorité anglophone. Je reconnais les efforts que vous avez faits jusqu’à maintenant et je vous invite à les poursuivre. Que les anglophones soient pleinement représentés dans la fonction publique fédérale au Québec n’est pas seulement possible, mais à l’avantage de tous.

Les langues officielles touchent de nombreux aspects du renouvellement de la fonction publique, pas seulement la participation équitable des deux groupes linguistiques. Elles ont une incidence sur le recrutement, le maintien en poste et la formation du personnel ainsi que sur le développement du leadership. C’est pourquoi les langues officielles font partie des sujets dont discute le comité interministériel qui étudie actuellement la question.

Entendons-nous tout de suite sur une chose. Il n’est pas nécessaire que nous soyons tous bilingues. Cependant, la fonction publique doit compter un bon nombre d’employés qualifiés qui sont en mesure de communiquer dans les deux langues officielles. Et j’ajouterai que cela représente un minimum. Certains seront déjà bilingues à l’embauche. D’autres le deviendront durant leur carrière. Cela veut dire que nous devons assurer la survie et le développement de nos programmes de formation linguistique pour permettre à ces employés d’accéder dans l’avenir à une plus vaste gamme de postes, y compris ceux qui exigent de superviser des employés dans les deux langues officielles.

Il y a un instant, j’ai mentionné l’importance de créer des ponts entre les fonctionnaires des deux groupes linguistiques. Cela s’applique aussi aux relations entre ceux qui travaillent à Montréal, à Jonquière ou à Sherbrooke, et leurs collègues d’Ottawa ou d’ailleurs au pays. Je sais pertinemment qu’il y a très souvent un problème dans ce domaine, comme l’illustrent nos études sur la langue de travail publiées ces dernières années.

C’est une question que j’aborde régulièrement avec les dirigeants d’institutions fédérales et les gestionnaires de la fonction publique. Ils reconnaissent le problème, mais cela demeure un peu abstrait pour eux. Je pense qu’il y a des possibilités d’échanges plus serrés sur cet enjeu entre les gestionnaires du Québec et d’ailleurs.

Bien sûr, une organisation tirant pleinement profit du bilinguisme de ses employés est bien positionnée pour offrir de meilleurs services aux citoyens canadiens. Or, les observations de mon personnel indiquent qu’il reste des obstacles importants à surmonter à ce propos.

Je pense en particulier à l’offre active de services dans les deux langues par les employés de première ligne. C’est un enjeu que l’ensemble de la fonction publique semble avoir du mal à aborder. Étant donné son importance, j’avoue que cela me laisse un peu perplexe.

L’offre active dans les points de service bilingues n’est pas accessoire. C’est une composante essentielle d’un service de qualité partout où des services doivent être offerts dans les deux langues. En accueillant une personne en lui disant « Bonjour / Good morning », on ouvre la porte à une communication dans la langue de son choix. Sans cet accueil bilingue, on dirait que le service dans la langue de la minorité n’existe pas. Ou pire encore, que cela nous embarrasse de l’offrir et qu’on devrait être tout aussi embarrassé de le demander. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous en tenons compte dans les bulletins de rendement des institutions fédérales. Si ce n’est déjà fait, je vous invite à considérer l’offre active de services comme une priorité au sein de votre organisation et à prendre les moyens qui vous permettront de mesurer vos progrès dans ce domaine.

Pour aborder un autre sujet, M. Moisan de Patrimoine canadien vous parlera plus tard des suites à donner au Plan d’action pour les langues officielles dont l’échéance arrive le 31 mars 2008. Il s’agit d’un projet qui me tient à cœur et qui aura des répercussions sur plusieurs de vos organisations et, surtout, sur la communauté anglophone du Québec.

En vigueur depuis 2003, ce Plan prévoyait des transferts additionnels aux gouvernements provinciaux et aux systèmes scolaires de la minorité pour l’enseignement de la langue seconde, mais aussi des investissements directs du gouvernement fédéral dans les domaines de l’immigration, de la santé, de la petite enfance et pour l’usage des langues officielles dans la fonction publique. En tout, on avait prévu 751 millions de dollars sur cinq ans. Au plan national, certaines de vos organisations ont joué un rôle dans l’élaboration du Plan et dans son application.

La ministre Josée Verner étudiera bientôt le rapport de consultation de Bernard Lord sur la forme que pourrait prendre cette intervention. La communauté anglophone du Québec a manifesté beaucoup d’intérêt pour le renouvellement du Plan.

Tout comme les communautés francophones de l’ensemble du pays, les Anglo-Québécois espèrent que la force d’impulsion acquise avec le premier Plan de cinq ans se maintiendra et que les initiatives amorcées atteindront pleinement les résultats escomptés, que ce soit en santé, dans l’enseignement ou en immigration. On m’a aussi souligné à maintes reprises que le Plan d’action devra comporter un champ d’intervention plus vaste touchant des domaines comme les arts et la culture, pour assurer un développement réellement global de la communauté anglophone du Québec. Cela fait maintenant deux ans que la Loi sur les langues officielles a été modifiée pour renforcer cette obligation législative.

À cet égard, je vous invite à faire preuve d’initiative, d’imagination et d’esprit de concertation envers les organismes de la communauté. Les « mesures positives » prévues par la Loi n’y sont pas définies, ce qui laisse le champ libre à une grande variété d’interventions. Les institutions ont donc le loisir de voir, de concert avec les communautés locales et provinciales, de quelle façon elles peuvent offrir leur appui en fonction de leur mandat spécifique et des moyens ou expertises à leur disposition.

Ce nouveau Plan d’action était élaboré alors que Statistique Canada rendait publiques de nouvelles données linguistiques tirées du recensement de 2006, y compris une importante étude détaillant plusieurs facteurs de vitalité des communautés de langue officielle. Les résultats du recensement ont d’ailleurs été largement politisés. Certains politiciens et mathématiciens les utilisent pour montrer que le français est en perte de vitesse au Canada et que l’engagement envers les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, telles que définies par la Loi sur les langues officielles de 2005, devrait être repensé. Placés devant les chiffres démontrant la vitalité de la communauté anglophone du Québec, d’autres laissent entendre qu’il vaudrait mieux cesser d’appuyer son développement. Dans ce contexte, le renouvellement du Plan d’action est une occasion de rappeler que les communautés de langue officielle apportent une contribution importante à la société canadienne dans chaque région du pays et dans tous les domaines.

Le Plan d’action original comprenait aussi des fonds spécifiquement alloués au développement d’initiatives en matière de langues officielles dans la fonction publique. Il est vrai que ce financement demeurait relativement modeste et que les compressions effectuées depuis ont nui à des initiatives en cours. Je souhaite qu’une attention particulière soit accordée à ce volet, pour que vous puissiez tirer profit de l’appui dont vous avez besoin.

En terminant, j’aimerais souligner les efforts que vous avez faits ensemble pour améliorer l’environnement linguistique dans la fonction publique fédérale au Québec. Il me semble que votre groupe est à même d’assumer un leadership particulier auprès des autres conseils fédéraux du pays.

Vous avez développé plusieurs pratiques exemplaires susceptibles d’être reprises ailleurs. Pensons notamment au prix de reconnaissance pour les langues officielles remis lors de la séance de perfectionnement que vous avez tenue l’automne dernier. Il serait aussi souhaitable que les membres des autres conseils fédéraux profitent du contexte de vos activités, si vous voulez bien les inviter.

À l’extérieur du Québec, et dans une trop large mesure à Ottawa aussi, la fonction publique souffre d’une certaine lassitude quant aux questions linguistiques. Cela s’explique par le fait que les gens sont trop peu exposés au fait français dans leur vie quotidienne. Mais cela tient aussi à une conception erronée du débat linguistique qui persiste dans la population.

Je parle du mythe tenace selon lequel la politique linguistique canadienne était censée faire disparaître le débat linguistique. Parce que le débat existe encore, on conclut que la politique s’est soldée par un échec. En fait, le débat linguistique fait partie intégrante de la nature du Canada. Il s’agit donc d’en tirer le maximum de bénéfices. C’est ce que je m’emploie à démontrer aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes, de même qu’à la fonction publique fédérale. Je crois que vous avez également un rôle à jouer comme groupe de dirigeants des institutions fédérales au Québec. Selon moi, ce rôle se traduit par l’exemple, par vos gestes et dans vos relations avec vos collègues des autres régions du Canada.

Mon personnel et moi sommes toujours à votre disposition pour appuyer vos initiatives. Évidemment, vous savez déjà que vous pouvez compter sur une collègue engagée et pleine de ressources en la personne d’Eva Ludvig.

Je vous remercie de votre aimable attention.