ARCHIVED - Montréal, November 21, 2012

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notes for an address at the Discussion Forum on the Perspectives of Canadians of Diverse Backgrounds on Linguistic Duality  

Opening remarks


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Good morning.

First, I would like to welcome you all to the Discussion Forum on the Perspectives of Canadians of Diverse Backgrounds on Linguistic Duality. Thank you for accepting my invitation. Your participation here today will help us to improve our knowledge and understanding of your perspectives on, and your experiences with, linguistic duality and cultural diversity.

This is the fourth forum of its kind that my office has organized. Building on the success of the first three forums, which were held in Toronto, Vancouver, and Halifax, we decided to pursue this initiative in Montréal.

The fact that Canada has two dynamic languages and cultures is a source of creativity, innovation and ongoing dialogue. It can also be, from time to time, a source of tension and disagreement. But the fact that the two language groups must constantly work together has helped Canadian society develop its values, which include respect, compromise, empathy and acceptance.

Exploring the links between cultural diversity and linguistic duality in Canada would not be complete without input from Montréal. Montréal is a buzzing, vibrant multicultural Canadian city and has become an international centre of attraction for a whole series of cultural phenomena, like the independent music and film scenes and the high-tech creative industries. People from all over the world, with all kinds of linguistic backgrounds, are attracted to Montréal because of its cultural vitality, its energy.

Quebec is the only province in Canada where French is the official language, and where English-speaking Canadians are in the minority—the complete opposite of the situation in the rest of Canada, except for New Brunswick, which, as you know, has two official languages—English and French—just like Canada. This can be confusing because of the contradicting messages coming from the Canadian government, which is promoting linguistic duality, and the Quebec government, which emphasizes the importance of using French only.

There has been a long-standing tradition of suspicion in Quebec that learning another language, particularly English, is a slippery slope towards assimilation. I don’t think that’s true. I think this reaction stems from a profound misunderstanding. Montréal has the highest rate of bilingualism in the country, according to the 2011 Census figures, with more than half of the population claiming to be able to have a conversation in both English and French. The Census also revealed that a growing number of immigrants who don’t speak English are becoming bilingual by learning French. In fact, the fastest-growing language group in the province is made up of Quebecers that speak French and another language that is not English, rising from 3.8% of the population in 2006 up to 5% in 2011.1

In short, although French is the common and official language of Quebec, both languages have a place in this province and both are part of the common heritage of Quebecers. Personal bilingualism—although not an obligation—is to be encouraged for all Quebecers in all spheres of their lives. Quebecers of all backgrounds are responding well to that: the province is the most bilingual in Canada.

English and French are Canadian languages, not foreign languages. There is no question that the French language has to be protected in Quebec, but it has to be done while respecting the rights of the English-speaking minority. There is a fundamental difference between the undisputable rise of English—an international language of communication used by industries, businesses, researchers and tourists—and the needs of Quebec’s English-speaking communities.

Gérald Godin, former Quebec minister of cultural communities and immigration, who passed away in 1994, understood this distinction well. Thirty years ago, he stated quite clearly that Quebec’s Anglophone community was very much a minority and posed no threat to French. The threat, he said, came from elsewhere. Three decades later, the impact of globalization shows how right he was.

I knew Gérald Godin personally, and I remember very clearly the role that he played in terms of reaching out to the various cultural communities. He saw the government’s commitment to multiculturalism and ethnic diversity as a chance to articulate deeper goals for Quebec society, and thought that what was missing in Quebec was a social project that was stimulating for the mind and that referred to values that are not materialistic, like fraternity, generosity to others, openness and solidarity.2

I think cultural diversity and linguistic duality are two key Canadian values—values that complement each other. Canada’s cultural diversity is a direct result of the steady growth of its diverse population over the past few decades. Canada’s openness and spirit of accommodation, which are the result of the development of the two major language groups in Canada, have helped to encourage immigration and diversity in the Canadian population. The fact that there are two official languages in Canada helps convey this difference.

It is important, however, not to be led astray by the somewhat idealistic values we convey to our newcomers. In a workshop on Canadian values during the forum in Halifax, I heard an account given by a man originally from Colombia. The participants were all referring to typically Canadian values, good values—tolerance, inclusiveness, cooperation. But when the man from Colombia spoke, he said that this was not at all what he had found when he arrived in Canada. What he noticed was competition, individualism, materialism. Only when he left the city for a small community did he discover that those “good” values, such as solidarity and inclusiveness, really did exist in Canada.

That led me to think about the way in which we welcome new immigrants. We repeat fine words about Canadian values. We promote an idealistic version of Canada as welcoming and inclusive, without necessarily acknowledging that the reality is at times entirely different and that there is enormous variation from province to province and from city to city. Comparing ourselves favourably with other countries can sometimes blind us to what needs to change here.

This is why it is particularly useful for us to hear about your experiences directly from you, which may be quite the opposite of what we want to hear. We like to think of Canada as a welcoming country, but it is often useful to be told that this is not always the case. Only you, who have personal experience, can tell us that, so we can gain a better understanding of the challenges that we must overcome in order to live up to our image as a country that truly embraces its diversity.

Linguistic duality and cultural diversity are central elements in Canada’s history, and now constitute two fundamental values of Canadian society. Canadians of diverse backgrounds adopt one – or even both – of the official languages and contribute to the vitality of linguistic duality, and this allows people of all backgrounds to participate fully in Canadian society and to enrich it in all respects.

In the coming decades, Canadian society will continue to see significant socio‑demographic changes. Recent projections by Statistics Canada show that, by 2031, between 25% and 28% of the population will have been born outside Canada,3 which means we can expect to see an increase in the proportion of Canadians whose mother tongue is neither English nor French.

Linguistic duality will also continue to evolve. All English- and French-speaking Canadians, regardless of their origins, must have the opportunity to learn the other official language, and federal government services need to be available in both official languages in many regions of the country.

In reality, there are still some obstacles to overcome before we can take full advantage of the complementary nature of our linguistic and cultural diversity policies. One of these obstacles is most definitely the disconnect between our aspirations for linguistic duality, as expressed by our laws and political discourse, and our present reality, in which linguistic duality is absent from the day-to-day life of many Canadians. By participating in this forum, you can help bridge that gap.

As we have witnessed in other parts of the country, newcomers and cultural communities seem to have a complex relationship with Canada’s official languages. The discussions you are about to take part in are about the future of Canada as a multicultural country where the national dialogue takes place in two languages.

Before you start, I would like to remind you of a few historical facts.

In 1963, the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism proposed a new partnership between English- and French-speaking Canadians. In the future, the Government of Canada would function more effectively in both official languages.

In 1969, the Trudeau government passed the Official Languages Act. This legally established the obligation of the federal government to serve Canadians in English or French, as they wished.

Just two years after the Official Languages Act, in 1971, the Government of Canada developed a multiculturalism policy within the general framework of linguistic duality. This led to the adoption of the Canadian Multiculturalism Act in 1988.

The main goal of today’s discussion is to get a better understanding of your perceptions of linguistic duality and the links that exist between linguistic duality and cultural diversity. We want to connect with you in order to continue and enrich the dialogue we began a few years ago with the Vancouver, Toronto and Halifax forums.

I encourage you to share your experiences and perceptions in your own communities, and to discuss your role in relation to Canada’s linguistic duality. Feel free to make suggestions and propose action plans. Your point of view counts, and I would like to thank you in advance for sharing it with us.

I look forward to hearing what you have to say, and will be happy to answer any questions you might have.

Thank you.

Notes

1 http://news.nationalpost.com/2012/10/24/census-canada-2011-french-remains-dominant-in-quebec-despite-immigration/External site

2 Graham Fraser, “Godin leads the push for a Quebec open to diversity,” The Gazette, September 1, 1981.

3 Statistics Canada, Projections of the Diversity of the Canadian Population: 2006 to 2031, Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 99-551-X, Ottawa, 2010, p. 16 (www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/91-551-x/2010001/ana-eng.htm#a1Government site).

ARCHIVÉE - Montréal, le 21 novembre 2012

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notes pour une allocution à prononcer au Forum de discussion
sur les perceptions des Canadiens de diverses origines envers la dualité linguistique 

Discours d’ouverture


Graham Fraser - Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Bonjour,

Tout d’abord, permettez-moi de vous souhaiter la bienvenue au Forum de discussion sur les perceptions des Canadiens de diverses origines envers la dualité linguistique. Merci d’avoir accepté mon invitation. Votre participation aujourd’hui nous aidera à mieux connaître et comprendre comment vous voyez la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle, et comment vous les avez vécues.

C’est le quatrième forum du genre qu’organise le Commissariat. Forts du succès des trois premiers forums, tenus successivement à Toronto, Vancouver et Halifax, nous avons décidé de poursuivre l’initiative à Montréal.

Notre pays possède deux langues et deux cultures dynamiques, ce qui est source de créativité, d’innovation et de dialogue permanent, mais peut aussi être de temps en temps une source de tension et de désaccord. Par contre, le fait que les deux groupes linguistiques doivent toujours travailler ensemble a aidé le pays et la société canadienne à développer des valeurs tels que le respect, le compromis, l’empathie et l’acceptation.

On ne saurait analyser à fond les liens entre la diversité culturelle et la dualité linguistique au Canada sans considérer l’apport de Montréal. Montréal est une ville multiculturelle vivante, bourdonnante, qui est devenue un pôle d’attraction international grâce à toute une série de phénomènes culturels, tant sur les scènes musicales et cinématographiques indépendantes que dans le domaine des industries créatives de haute technologie. Montréal attire les gens venant de tous les coins du monde et de différents antécédents linguistiques par sa vitalité culturelle et par son énergie unique.

Le Québec est la seule province où le français est la langue officielle et où les Canadiens anglophones sont minoritaires. C’est exactement l’inverse de ce qu’on voit ailleurs au pays (sauf au Nouveau‑Brunswick qui, comme vous le savez, a deux langues officielles, comme le gouvernement fédéral). Cette situation risque de créer de la confusion puisqu’il y a contradiction entre le message du gouvernement canadien, favorable à la dualité linguistique, et celui du gouvernement québécois, soucieux d’utiliser uniquement le français.

Il y a au Québec une longue tradition de méfiance voulant que l’apprentissage d’une autre langue, en particulier l’anglais, soit une pente glissante vers l’assimilation. Je ne pense pas que ce soit vrai. Cette réaction, d’après moi, vient d’un profond malentendu. Montréal présente le plus haut taux de bilinguisme au pays. Selon le recensement de 2011, plus de la moitié des Montréalais se disent capables de tenir une conversation en français comme en anglais. Ce recensement a aussi révélé qu’un nombre croissant d’immigrants qui ne parlent pas anglais deviennent bilingues en apprenant le français. En fait, le groupe linguistique qui augmente le plus vite dans la province est celui des Québécois parlant français et une autre langue que l’anglais. Entre 2006 et 2011, en effet, ce groupe est passé de 3,8 p. 100 à 5 p. 100 de la population.

En somme, même si le français est la langue courante et officielle au Québec, les deux langues y ont leur place et toutes deux font partie du patrimoine commun des Québécois. Le bilinguisme personnel – bien que non obligatoire – doit être encouragé, non seulement chez l’élite et les milieux d’affaires, mais aussi chez tous les Québécois dans leurs activités personnelles, sociales, économiques et culturelles. Les Québécois de toutes origines réagissent bien au fait que leur province soit la plus bilingue au Canada.

Le français et l’anglais sont des langues canadiennes, et non des langues étrangères. Sans l’ombre d’un doute, il faut protéger le français au Québec, mais on doit le faire dans le respect des droits de la minorité anglophone. Il existe une différence fondamentale entre la montée incontestable de l’anglais – langue de communication internationale dans l’industrie, les entreprises, la recherche et le tourisme – et les besoins des collectivités anglophones du Québec.

Gérald Godin, ancien ministre québécois des Communautés culturelles et de l’Immigration qui est décédé en 1994, avait bien compris cette distinction. Il y a 30 ans, il déclarait sans ambages que la communauté anglophone au Québec, très minoritaire, ne représentait aucune menace pour le français. La menace, disait-il, venait d’ailleurs. Trois décennies plus tard, l’impact de la mondialisation montre combien il avait raison.

J’ai connu Gérald Godin personnellement, et je me souviens très bien du rôle qu’il a joué en tendant la main aux différentes communautés culturelles. Il voyait dans l’engagement du gouvernement envers le multiculturalisme et la diversité ethnique une chance pour la société québécoise de définir des objectifs plus profonds. Selon lui, ce qui manquait au Québec, c’était un projet social stimulant qui porte des valeurs non matérialistes comme la fraternité, la générosité envers autrui, l’ouverture et la solidarité1.

D’après moi, la diversité culturelle et la dualité linguistique s’imposent comme deux grandes valeurs canadiennes, des valeurs complémentaires. La diversité culturelle de la société canadienne découle directement de la croissance continue de la population immigrante qui s’est produite au cours des dernières décennies. On peut affirmer que c’est en partie l’ouverture et l’esprit d’accommodement canadien, issus de l’évolution des deux grands groupes linguistiques du Canada, qui ont favorisé l’immigration et la diversité au sein de la population canadienne. Le fait qu’il y ait deux langues officielles au Canada contribue à l’expression de la différence.

Il importe cependant de ne pas nous laisser égarer par les valeurs quelque peu idéalistes que nous préconisons auprès des nouveaux arrivants. Au forum de Halifax, lors d’un atelier sur les valeurs canadiennes, j’ai entendu le témoignage d’un homme originaire de la Colombie. Tous les participants mentionnaient des valeurs typiquement canadiennes, de belles valeurs : la tolérance, l’inclusion, la coopération. Lorsque cet homme a pris la parole, il a déclaré que ce n’est pas du tout ce qu’il avait constaté lorsqu’il est arrivé au Canada. Ce qu’il avait remarqué, c’était la compétition, l’individualisme, le matérialisme. Ce n’est qu’après avoir quitté la ville pour une petite communauté qu’il a découvert que les « bonnes valeurs », comme la solidarité et l’inclusion, existaient vraiment au Canada.

Cela m’a porté à réfléchir sur la façon dont nous accueillons les nouveaux immigrants. Nous répétons de belles phrases au sujet des valeurs canadiennes. Nous faisons la promotion d’une vision idéaliste du Canada en tant que pays accueillant et inclusif, sans nécessairement reconnaître que la réalité est parfois totalement différente et qu’il y a des différences énormes d’une province et d’une ville à l’autre. Nous comparer avantageusement à d’autres pays peut parfois nous rendre aveugles à ce qui doit changer chez nous.

C’est pourquoi il vaut la peine que vous nous racontiez vous-mêmes vos expériences, qui risquent de différer grandement de ce que nous voulons entendre. On se plaît à considérer le Canada comme un pays accueillant, mais il est souvent utile de se faire dire que ce n’est pas toujours le cas. Vous êtes les mieux placés pour nous expliquer votre vécu personnel. Vous nous permettrez ainsi de mieux comprendre les obstacles que nous devons surmonter pour être dignes de notre image de pays qui épouse vraiment sa diversité.

La dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle sont au cœur de l’histoire du Canada et constituent maintenant deux valeurs fondamentales de la société canadienne. Les Canadiens de diverses origines adoptent l’une des langues officielles et contribuent à faire vivre la dualité linguistique, ce qui permet aux gens de toutes les origines de participer pleinement à la société canadienne et de l’enrichir sur tous les plans.

Dans les prochaines décennies, notre société continuera de connaître d’importants changements sociodémographiques. À titre d’exemple, des projections récentes de Statistique Canada montrent que d’ici 2031, entre 25 et 28 p. 100 des Canadiens seront nés à l’étranger2. On peut donc s’attendre à une augmentation constante de la proportion de Canadiens qui n’ont ni le français ni l’anglais comme langue maternelle.

La dualité linguistique continuera elle aussi d’évoluer. Tous les Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise, peu importe leur origine, doivent avoir la possibilité d’apprendre l’autre langue officielle et de recevoir des services gouvernementaux fédéraux dans la langue officielle de leur choix, et ce, dans beaucoup de régions du pays.

En réalité cependant, il reste des obstacles à aplanir avant de pouvoir tirer pleinement avantage de la nature complémentaire de nos politiques sur les langues officielles et sur la diversité culturelle. L’un de ces obstacles est certainement l’écart qui existe entre nos aspirations en matière de dualité linguistique, dont font état nos lois et le discours politique, et notre réalité actuelle, qui montre que la dualité linguistique est absente de la vie quotidienne de nombreux Canadiens. En participant à ce forum, vous pouvez aider à combler cet écart.

Comme nous l’avons observé dans d’autres régions du pays, les nouveaux arrivants et les communautés culturelles semblent avoir un rapport complexe avec les langues officielles du Canada. Les discussions auxquelles vous allez participer portent sur l’avenir du Canada en tant que pays multiculturel, où le dialogue national se déroule dans les deux langues officielles.

Avant de commencer, j’aimerais vous rappeler quelques faits historiques.

En 1963, la Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme a proposé un nouveau partenariat entre les Canadiens francophones et les Canadiens anglophones. Dorénavant, le gouvernement du Canada fonctionnerait plus efficacement dans les deux langues officielles.

En 1969, le gouvernement Trudeau a adopté la Loi sur les langues officielles. Celle-ci établit l’obligation du gouvernement fédéral de fournir des services aux Canadiens en français ou en anglais, tel qu’ils le souhaitaient.

Tout juste deux ans après l’adoption de la Loi sur les langues officielles, soit en 1971, le gouvernement du Canada élaborait une politique sur le multiculturalisme qui s’inscrivait dans le contexte général de la dualité linguistique. Cette mesure a mené à l’adoption de la Loi sur le multiculturalisme canadien en 1988.

Aujourd’hui, la discussion vise principalement à mieux comprendre vos perceptions de la dualité linguistique et les liens qui existent entre la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle. Nous voulons échanger avec vous pour continuer et enrichir le dialogue entamé il y a quelques années lors des forums de Vancouver, Toronto et Halifax.

Je vous encourage à faire connaître l’expérience et les perceptions de votre communauté et à discuter de votre rôle relativement à la dualité linguistique du Canada. N’hésitez pas à faire des suggestions et à proposer des plans d’action. Votre opinion est importante, et je vous remercie à l’avance de nous en faire part.

Je serais heureux d’entendre vos points de vue à ce sujet et de répondre aux questions que vous souhaiteriez poser.

Merci.

Notes

1 Graham Fraser : « Godin leads the push for a Quebec open to diversity », The Gazette, 1er septembre 1981.

2 Statistique Canada, Projections de la diversité de la population canadienne, 2006 à 2031, no 99-551-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada, Ottawa, 2010, p. 18 (www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/91-551-x/2010001/ana-fra.htmSite du gouvernement).