ARCHIVED - Ottawa, November 21, 2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 Notes for an address at the national conference of the
Canadian Association of Immersion Teachers


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Mr. Karsenti, Ms. Logie, Ms. Larivière, ladies and gentlemen,

I want to start off by thanking you for having me here today. I commend the Canadian Association of Immersion Teachers for their continued hard work, which has led to the current popularity of immersion programs.

Right now, across Canada, immersion programs continue to be an unparalleled success. Thanks to these programs, many young Canadians have the opportunity to learn their second official language, and this is largely due to your commitment, to your work and to the contribution of your members.

Each one of you plays an important role in our youth’s immersion learning process, whether as a teacher, a principal, a school counsellor or in some other capacity. Together, you can continue to breathe new life into the immersion programs so that our youth can identify with them. In your reflections, I encourage you to consider the following questions:

  1. How can we improve and build on the success of immersion programs?
  2. How can we encourage students to continue their education in these programs?
  3. And finally, how can we ensure that immersion programs continue to be relevant?

I’m not claiming to have all the answers, but I hope to give you some insight into the Canadian experience.

1. Current situation

First off, I would like to recognize your association’s contribution to the Canadian immersion community. The support you grant teachers, the opportunities for training that you provide and the research you conduct are essential and continue to be of great relevance. Your members are spokespersons for the French language to over 300,000 young people across the country.

Among other things, I would like to recognize the exemplary practices taking place in British Columbia and Saskatchewan, where ties have been forged with Francophone communities. Strong links have also been established between teachers and the French-language school boards in these provinces. Such partnerships are an asset in your work, and I encourage you to continue to find opportunities for similar ones.

Despite there being a high level of interest in immersion programs, some challenges need to be tackled if we want to increase the level of proficiency in both official languages in the near future.

At a conference organized by the Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute at the University of Ottawa last June, I touched on the role of diversity and multilingualism in our society. In light of current Canadian trends, both of these issues also have an impact on your work, as student learning styles change and will continue to evolve in step with our population.

2. The truth about immersion programs

I often worry that unilingual parents see the various French second-language programs as a system that produces perfectly bilingual graduates, and as the one and only way to learn French. These expectations are both unrealistic and counter-productive.

In immersion programs, the emphasis is on speaking skills, sometimes to the detriment of writing skills. In core and intensive French programs, students have many opportunities to practise grammar and verb tenses, but may continue to struggle when speaking the language. Still, there are many learning opportunities and success stories. I will talk more about this later.

As ambassadors of the French language in the English majority communities, you have one of the most difficult jobs in education. You must make the most of the little time you have with students so that they leave with as much knowledge as possible.

As so many of you have gathered here today, I am convinced of your commitment to continued immersion program improvement, which will help you better meet the needs of your students.

In this time of increased immersion program popularity, I am counting on your determination and your continued roles as ambassadors and defenders of the French language. As front-line professionals, you are the ones who are best suited to advocate for increased support—not only from all levels of government, but also from both the majority and minority language communities.

Finally, and most importantly, I encourage you to expose your students to the learning opportunities available in post-secondary education. Many post-secondary institutions, such as the University of Ottawa, Université Sainte-Anne and Glendon College at York University, now offer immersion courses and programs. Eight hundred students are presently enrolled in the University of Ottawa’s immersion program. These students take courses in their second language and receive additional support in the form of tutoring. I am told the program is a great success. The director of the program, Marc Gobeil, is here with us today and I’m sure he would be happy to provide you with more information.

Your extra investment continues to pay off, in that students feel motivated to pursue higher education in their second official language.

Faculté Saint-Jean at the University of Alberta is an interesting example: many students come from immersion programs and choose to continue their education in French there.

All this did not come about by accident, nor did it solely result from the exemplary work of the Faculty and its dean, Marc Amal. This success stems from the efforts made by Edmonton Public Schools over the last eight years to improve the immersion programs being offered, and, on the strength of this success, of other language programs as well.

There is no question that the creation of immersion programs at Simon Fraser University and at the University of British Columbia is directly related to the growing number of students from the immersion programs being offered in the province.

The Office of the Commissioner is presently undertaking a study on French-language learning opportunities at the post-secondary level. This study could serve as a tool to help you target post-secondary institutions that offer not only French programs, but also exchanges, learning support, inter-institutional coordination and the organization of social activities.

We decided to undertake this study because it is so important to identify the many options available to students. This study will also help raise users’ awareness of the different majority and minority communities across the country.

3. Partnerships with official language minority communities

While they may vary in size, there are Francophone minority communities in all provinces and territories. While speaking with immersion students, I often found that these young people were not always aware that French-speaking communities existed outside of Quebec—despite the fact that these communities can play a vital role in their learning process. These communities can also be a source of support for you, the teachers.

As you all play a key role in immersion education, I encourage you to look to these communities for the tools and support you need in order to build on existing programs, and to give immersion programs more relevance and exposure.

Why not take part in debates? Watch movies? Go to shows, plays or touring performances? Recently, at the National Arts Centre here in Ottawa, I was very pleased to see a group of students, clearly from an immersion program, enjoy a French-language performance of Samuel Beckett’s play Happy Days.

I continue to express the need for Canadians to better understand their own country. To do so, it is important for them to have a greater knowledge and a better understanding of our majority-and minority-language communities. To accomplish this, Canadians must understand the language as well as the culture.

Earlier this year, I took part in a French for the Future conference in London, Ontario, which brought together youth from immersion and French-language programs. While preparing to speak to participating students, and to their parents and teachers, I learned that London has a thriving Francophone population with its own community centre and radio station. I found out that several big names in French-Canadian music, among others, had been to the city. But I was saddened by the fact that few immersion students were taking advantage of the services being offered and the cultural activities taking place.

Our two communities live side by side, often intertwined in the same city. The days of the two solitudes should be behind us. Today, we must show that we are united and that we share a common objective: bilingualism, or at the very least, an understanding of the other group’s language and culture.

All across the country, Francophiles have shown their appreciation for the French culture by participating in cultural events in large numbers. Francophone communities are not private clubs that are open to “true” Francophones only. They are communities open to all those who love the French language. More and more, Francophiles are playing influential roles in these communities. The most well-known example is probably that of Tory Colvin, who was president of the Fédération des associations de juristes d’expression française de common law. Justice Colvin is now a judge at the Ontario Court of Justice. Anglophones who have learned French also play a key role in the Association des juristes d’expression française across the country.

In addition, Minister James Moore, who is 32 years old, is the first of his cohort of immersion students to become a minister.

4. Diversity

We are also seeing changes in our communities’ demographics in terms of diversity. Immigrants have also carved a place for themselves within the Francophone community.

Of course, diversity affects both language communities in Canada, and can pose a challenge—but also an opportunity—for immersion teachers. Newcomers in Canada often already have one or two other languages under their belts before setting foot in the country, which means that English and French tend to become their third and fourth languages.

It is therefore our responsibility to ensure that the programs we offer meet their particular needs. We must ensure that these children and their parents understand the importance of English and French in our schools.

We must clearly show that there is a mutually beneficial relationship between diversity and linguistic duality, and that these two concepts are not contradictory. By the same token, knowledge of both official languages can be used as a gateway to multilingualism, which would be very beneficial for Canada.

Conclusion

It has never been Canada’s goal to make all its citizens bilingual, nor is there a need to do so. But in this global economy, the opportunity to learn other languages is in itself an advantage. It opens doors to a multitude of opportunities around the world. In Canada, learning French can be a stepping stone not only towards bilingualism, but also towards multilingualism.

Whatever path your students take once they leave your classrooms, you can be proud in the knowledge that they will at least have the basics they need to appreciate the French language and culture. And for this, they have you to thank.

Thank you.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 21 novembre 2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notes pour une allocution au Congrès national de
l’Association canadienne des professeurs d’immersion


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Monsieur Karsenti, Madame Logie, Madame Larivière, Mesdames et Messieurs,

Je désire d’abord vous remercier de m’accueillir ici aujourd’hui. Je suis très reconnaissant du travail que fait l’Association canadienne des professeurs d’immersion, et l’envergure de ce travail se manifeste dans la popularité actuelle des programmes d’immersion.

En ce moment, partout au Canada, les programmes d’immersion continuent de connaître un succès sans pareil. Grâce à ces programmes, de nombreux jeunes Canadiens et Canadiennes ont l’occasion d’apprendre leur deuxième langue officielle, et c’est en grande partie grâce à votre engagement, à votre travail et à la contribution de vos membres.

Chacun d’entre vous joue un rôle important dans le processus d’apprentissage en immersion de nos jeunes, que ce soit en tant qu’enseignant, directeur, conseiller pédagogique ou autre. Ensemble, vous pouvez continuer d’actualiser les programmes d’immersion afin que tous nos jeunes puissent s’y identifier. Dans vos réflexions, je vous encourage à répondre aux questions suivantes :

  1. Comment pouvons-nous améliorer et prolonger le succès des programmes d’immersion?
  2. Comment pouvons-nous encourager les élèves à poursuivre leurs études dans ces programmes?
  3. Et, enfin, comment pouvons-nous nous assurer que les programmes d’immersion demeurent pertinents?

Je ne prétends pas détenir toutes les réponses, mais j’espère vous offrir un aperçu des particularités de la situation canadienne.

1. Situation actuelle

Premièrement, je tiens à reconnaître la contribution de l’ACPI au milieu canadien de l’immersion. L’appui que vous accordez aux enseignants, les occasions de formation que vous offrez et les recherches que vous effectuez sont essentiels et continuent d’être d’une grande pertinence. Vos membres sont les porte-parole de la langue française chez plus de 300 000 jeunes dans l’ensemble du pays.

Entre autres, je remarque des pratiques exemplaires en Colombie-Britannique et en Saskatchewan, où des liens ont été tissés avec les communautés francophones. Il existe également dans ces provinces des liens forts entre les enseignants et les conseils scolaires francophones. Ces partenariats sont un atout dans votre travail et je vous encourage à continuer à trouver de nouvelles occasions de partenariats de ce genre.

Malgré le haut niveau d’intérêt que suscitent les programmes d’immersion, il existe encore certains défis à surmonter pour que nous puissions atteindre une maîtrise accrue des deux langues officielles dans un avenir proche.

En juin dernier, lors d’un colloque organisé par l’Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme de l’Université d’Ottawa, j’ai abordé le rôle de la diversité et du multilinguisme au sein de notre société. À la lumière des tendances canadiennes actuelles, ces deux enjeux ont également une incidence sur votre travail, car les styles d’apprentissage des élèves changent et continueront d’évoluer, tout comme notre population.

2. La réalité des programmes d’immersion

Je m’inquiète souvent du fait que les parents unilingues considèrent les divers programmes de français langue seconde comme un système qui produit des diplômés parfaitement bilingues, et comme la seule et unique façon d’apprendre le français. Ces attentes sont à la fois irréalistes et inefficaces.

Dans les programmes d’immersion, l’accent est mis sur les aptitudes orales, parfois au détriment des compétences écrites. Dans les programmes de base et les programmes intensifs de français, les élèves ont de nombreuses occasions de pratiquer la grammaire et la conjugaison, mais peuvent éprouver des difficultés à l’oral. Mais il y a des succès et occasions d’apprentissage. J’en parle plus loin.

Comme ambassadeurs de la langue française dans les communautés à majorité anglophone, vous avez l’une des tâches les plus difficiles du domaine de l’éducation. Vous devez utiliser le temps dont vous disposez avec les élèves de façon à ce que ces derniers repartent avec autant de connaissances que possible.

Vu le grand nombre d’entre vous rassemblés ici aujourd’hui, je témoigne de votre engagement envers l’amélioration constante des programmes d’immersion, ce qui permettra de mieux répondre aux besoins de vos élèves.

Pendant cette période de popularité accrue des programmes d’immersion, je compte sur votre persévérance et sur le maintien de vos rôles d’ambassadeurs et de défenseurs de la langue française. À titre de professionnels de première ligne, vous êtes les mieux placés pour promouvoir un soutien accru, non seulement auprès de tous les ordres de gouvernement, mais aussi auprès des communautés de langue tant majoritaire que minoritaire.

Enfin et surtout, je vous encourage à présenter à vos élèves les occasions d’apprentissage qui existent au niveau postsecondaire. De nombreux établissements postsecondaires, comme l’Université d’Ottawa, l’Université Sainte-Anne et le Collège Glendon de l’Université York, offrent aujourd’hui des cours et des programmes d’immersion. Huit cent étudiants sont présentement inscrits au programme d’immersion de l’Université d’Ottawa. Ces étudiants suivent des cours dans leur langue seconde et reçoivent un soutien supplémentaire sous forme de tutorat additionnel. On me dit que c’est un grand succès. D’ailleurs, le directeur du programme, Marc Gobeil, est ici aujourd’hui et sera ravi de vous en parler davantage.

Votre investissement additionnel continue alors à se manifester, en ce sens que les élèves sont incités à poursuivre leurs études supérieures dans leur deuxième langue officielle.

La Faculté Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta est un exemple intéressant : de nombreux étudiants proviennent de programmes d’immersion et choisissent d’y poursuivre leurs études en français.

Ce n’est pas par accident, ni uniquement le résultat du travail exemplaire de la Faculté et de son doyen Marc Arnal. C’est la preuve du succès des efforts qu’a fait Edmonton Public Schools depuis huit ans pour améliorer les programmes d’immersion offerts et, fort de ce succès, l’enseignement d’autres langues.

La création de programmes d’immersion à l’Université Simon Fraser et à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique est sans aucun doute directement liée au nombre croissant d’étudiants issus de programmes d’immersion offerts dans la province.

Le Commissariat entreprend présentement une étude sur les occasions d’apprentissage en français au niveau postsecondaire. Cette étude pourra vous servir d’outil pour cibler les établissements postsecondaires offrant des programmes de français, mais aussi pour les échanges, le soutien à l’apprentissage, la coordination interétablissements et l’organisation d’activités sociales.

Si nous avons décidé d’entreprendre une telle étude, c’est en raison d’un besoin inhérent de connaître les nombreuses options qui s’offrent aux étudiants. Cette étude permettra également de sensibiliser les utilisateurs aux différentes communautés majoritaires et minoritaires de l’ensemble du pays.

3. Partenariats avec les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

Des communautés francophones en situation minoritaire existent dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires, quoique leur taille puisse varier. En discutant avec des élèves d’immersion, j’ai souvent constaté que ces jeunes ne sont pas toujours conscients de la présence de ces communautés francophones à l’extérieur du Québec, malgré le fait qu’elles peuvent jouer un rôle vital dans leur processus d’apprentissage. Ces communautés peuvent également être une source d’appui pour vous, les enseignants.

Comme vous jouez toutes et tous un rôle crucial dans l’enseignement immersif, je vous encourage à vous tourner vers ces communautés afin d’obtenir les outils et le soutien nécessaires pour mettre à profit les programmes existants ainsi que pour rehausser la pertinence et le rayonnement des programmes d’immersion.

Pourquoi ne pas participer à des débats? Visionner des films? Assister à des spectacles, pièces de théâtre ou représentations d’interprètes en tournée?  Récemment, au Centre national des arts ici à Ottawa, j’étais ravi de constater qu’un groupe d’élèves, de toute évidence de l’immersion, étaient présents à une représentation de la pièce Oh les beaux jours, de Samuel Beckett.

Je continue à exprimer le besoin des Canadiens et des Canadiennes de mieux comprendre leur propre pays. Pour ce faire, il est important qu’ils aient une meilleure connaissance et une meilleure compréhension des communautés canadiennes, tant de langue majoritaire que de langue minoritaire. À cette fin, ils doivent comprendre la langue ainsi que la culture.

Plus tôt cette année, j’ai participé à une conférence organisée par Le français pour l’avenir à London, en Ontario, qui réunissait des jeunes de milieux immersifs et francophones. En me préparant à parler aux élèves participants, à leurs parents et à leurs enseignants, j’ai appris que London compte une population francophone prospère, qui a son propre centre communautaire et sa propre station de radio. J’ai découvert que plusieurs interprètes de la chanson francophone du Canada, entre autres, y étaient passés. Par contre, j’ai été attristé du fait que peu d’élèves d’immersion tiraient profit des services offerts et des activités culturelles qui s’y déroulaient.

Nos deux communautés vivent côte à côte et sont souvent inextricablement liées dans la même ville. L’époque des deux solitudes devrait être révolue. Aujourd’hui, nous devons montrer que nous sommes unis et que nous poursuivons le même objectif – soit celui du bilinguisme, ou, à tout le moins, la compréhension de la langue et de la culture de l’autre.

Dans tout le pays, les francophiles ont démontré leur amour de la culture française en participant en grand nombre aux événements culturels. Les communautés francophones ne sont pas des clubs privés auxquels seulement  les « vrais » francophones peuvent adhérer. Ce sont des communautés ouvertes à tous ceux qui aiment la langue française. Des francophiles y jouent de plus en plus des rôles importants. L’exemple le plus célèbre est probablement celui de Tory Colvin, qui a été président de la Fédération des associations de juristes d’expression française de common law. Le juge Colvin est maintenant juge à la Cour de justice de l’Ontario. Des anglophones ayant appris le français jouent également un rôle d’importance auprès de l’Association des juristes d’expression française dans l’ensemble du pays.

En plus, le ministre James Moore, qui a 32 ans, est le premier de sa cohorte d’élèves en immersion à devenir ministre.

4. Diversité

Nous constatons également des changements démographiques dans nos communautés sur le plan de la diversité. Les immigrants se sont aussi taillés une place au sein de la communauté francophone.

La question de la diversité touche, bien sûr, les deux communautés linguistiques canadiennes et peut représenter un défi – mais aussi une occasion – pour les enseignants des programmes d’immersion. Les nouveaux arrivants au Canada connaissent souvent déjà une ou deux langues, ce qui signifie que l’anglais et le français ont tendance à devenir leurs troisième et quatrième langues.

Nous sommes donc responsables de nous assurer que les programmes que nous offrons répondent à leurs besoins particuliers. Nous devons nous assurer que ces enfants, et leurs parents, comprennent pourquoi nous mettons l’accent sur le français et l’anglais dans nos écoles.

Nous devons démontrer clairement qu’il existe une relation mutuellement avantageuse entre la diversité et la dualité linguistique, et que ces deux éléments ne sont pas contradictoires. Dans ce même ordre d’idées, la connaissance des deux langues officielles peut servir de tremplin au multilinguisme, ce qui serait très avantageux pour le Canada.

Conclusion

Le Canada ne s’est jamais donné pour objectif de rendre bilingues tous ses citoyens, et il n’en a pas non plus besoin. Dans notre économie mondiale, cependant, l’occasion d’apprendre d’autres langues est en soi un avantage. Elle permet d’avoir accès à une multitude de possibilités partout dans le monde. Au Canada, l’apprentissage du français peut être un point de départ, non seulement vers le bilinguisme, mais également vers le multilinguisme.

Quoi qu’il advienne de vos élèves une fois qu’ils quittent vos salles de classe, soyez fiers qu’ils aient du moins acquis les bases nécessaires pour apprécier la langue et la culture qui l’accompagne. Pour cela, vous méritez toutes et tous des remerciements.

Merci.