ARCHIVED - Dublin, August 17, 2009

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Language Rights and the Canadian Model:
Four Decades, Four Cycles of Change

Notes for an address at the Canadian Bar Association’s
Canadian Legal Conference


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

I am pleased to be with you today, in the historic city of Dublin, to take part in the Canadian Bar Association’s Canadian Legal Conference. I am particularly honoured to be sharing this panel with my colleague, An Coimisinéir Teanga Seán Ó Cuirreáin, who will speak about the language regime in Ireland.

I would first like to thank the Organizing Committee, as well as the Conférence des juristes d’expression française de common law, for taking the initiative to put together this workshop on language rights.

The timing for a discussion on the federal language regime in Canada could not be more appropriate as this year marks the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act in Canada.

For most people, forty years is considered a milestone. Some say that life begins at 40. However, in the life of a country, 40 years is not that long. But I believe that the 40th anniversary of our official languages policy marks an important milestone: the end of a cycle. Indeed, it is possible to see the four decades of the Official Languages Act as four distinct cycles.

While much progress has already been made over the past four decades, I believe that we can reach new heights—politically, legally and socially—during the next cycle, in order to fully realize the promise of Canadian linguistic duality.

Today, I have been invited to discuss Canada’s federal language regime, whose history is rich and constantly evolving.

Structure of Canada’s language regime

As lawyers, you don’t need me to tell you that Canada has lived for 250 years under both a bilingual and bijural regime. Although the Official Languages Act is celebrating its 40th anniversary, the regime itself is much older. Only between 1840 and 1848 did French not have official status.

In 1867, this status was enshrined in the Constitution under Section 133 of the British North America Act, which meant that all federal laws had to be written in both languages. “Canada is a bilingual country, and British Columbia can truthfully be called a bilingual province,” wrote constitutionalist F.R. Scott in 1947. “...(T)he actions, rights and duties of all Canadians, in British Columbia as elsewhere, are just as much governed by the French version of the federal law as they are by the English.”1

However, this legal bilingualism remained quite abstract and theoretic until the Quebec nationalist movement came to life in full force at the beginning of the 1960s.

Partly in response to this turn of events, in 1963, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson established the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism in order to re-examine the linguistic duality instituted by the federal pact of 1867. Starting in 1965, the Commission provided a stark assessment of the crisis in which Canada found itself. It shocked many Canadians when it stated in its preliminary report that Canada was going through the greatest crisis in its history.

In 1967, Pierre Elliott Trudeau, then Minister of Justice, defined language rights as two-fold: the right to use and the right to learn. Our concept of linguistic rights, developed over the next four decades, is based on these two pillars.

The federal government’s first Official Languages Act came into effect in 1969. The Act set out that English and French had equal status and that they were the official languages of the federal Canadian state. It thereby granted equal status to English and French not only in Parliament and before federal courts, but also across the federal administration. The Act stipulated, moreover, that the public was entitled to receive services from federal institutions in the official language of their choice depending on certain demographic criteria. It also created the position of Commissioner of Official Languages, a non-partisan ombudsman who was to be the “active conscience” of Canadians in official language matters. I am the sixth person to hold this position, which was created in April 1970. Despite all the efforts, the Act was still inadequate on a number of aspects.

In 1982, the advent of a new constitutional document, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, breathed new life into the language debate.

The Charter reinforced equality and language rights. In terms of education, it introduced a new dimension to language rights by recognizing that English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians in minority communities in a province have the right to have their children receive instruction in their own language at the primary and secondary level. It also recognized that they have the right to manage their education system, where numbers warrant.

Following the adoption of the Charter, the Act was once again amended in 1988 so the two documents would support their respective objectives. Although many parliamentarians criticized the government for having delayed too long in taking such action, the announcement was well received by the majority.

The new Official Languages Act of 1988 sets out the three main objectives of the Government of Canada:

  • To ensure respect for English and French as the official languages of Canada and to ensure equal status and equal rights and privileges as to their use in all federal institutions;
  • To support the development of English and French linguistic minority communities and generally advance the equality of status and use of the English and French languages within the Canadian society;
  • To set out the powers, duties and functions of federal institutions with respect to the official languages of Canada.

In 2005, the Official Languages Act was once again amended in order to strengthen the government’s commitment to linguistic minorities. In fact, the government and federal institutions now have a legal obligation to take positive measures to support the development of linguistic minority communities and promote the use of English and French in Canada. In addition, this provision gives rise to the right to turn to the courts in the event of inaction or failure to meet the stipulated obligations. This provides minority communities with a tool to ensure their rights are respected.

Interpretation of the language regime in Canada

The linguistic equality of English and French is a fundamental value and a pillar upon which our society is built. This, I believe, is a distinctive feature of our country. Canada’s linguistic duality is reflected not only in our identity but also in our way of living, as illustrated by our bijural justice system, combining both civil and common law traditions. Furthermore, at the core of Canada’s vision of linguistic duality, however, is a strong conviction that the promotion of and respect for official languages can and will foster our country’s growth, harmony and energy.

I would argue that the primary value underpinning the Official Languages Act is respect. The Act implies respect not only for both official languages, but also for unilingual Canadians, official language minority communities, the public as a whole, parliamentarians and public servants. After all, the Act requires that federal institutions be bilingual so that individuals do not have to be.

Also, notwithstanding that language rights are described as individual rights, they are also collective rights. It is evident that an individual needs a community in order to fully exercise his or her rights. This aspect has been reinforced through the adoption of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Their purpose is to ensure Canada’s official language communities are supported and continue to develop. Because certain rights (such as the right to communicate with and obtain services from federal institutions in both official languages) only apply when “significant demand” has been established, it can be said that the rights of individuals depend on the very existence of linguistic minority communities. Without such communities, individuals may lose some of their rights. Hence the importance of ensuring that language rights are in all cases interpreted purposively, in a manner consistent with the preservation and development of official language communities in Canada.

Of course, one cannot describe language rights in Canada without mentioning the influential role that the Supreme Court of Canada has played in their interpretation.

In the past four decades, the Supreme Court has rendered many important judgments in regard to the scope and application of language rights.

In fact, as I reflect on the many judgments, it appears to me that each turn of a decade constitutes a particular defining moment.

First of all, it was in 1969 that the Official Languages Act came into effect. The Act was controversial, but this first decade was relatively calm in terms of legal challenges. One exception remains, however: the Court’s decision that dismissed the Mayor of Moncton Leonard Jones’ appeal and that upheld the federal government’s right to go above and beyond Section 133 and to legislate in regard to language issues. As such, the first cycle was one of acceptance and validation.

Ten years later, on December 13, 1979, the Supreme Court of Canada issued two judgments dealing with the constitutionality of provincial language regimes. In the Forest case,2 the Manitoba Act, 1870—which abolished the status of the French language as a language of the legislature and the courts in Manitoba—was declared unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of Canada. The same day, in the Blaikie case,3 the Supreme Court also overturned the provisions of Quebec’s Charter of the French Language that provided that only the French content of statutes and court judgments was official.

The next decade began with an important case being heard by the Supreme Court in June of 1989, culminating in the landmark decision in the Mahe case,4 which is frequently cited in language rights cases. This decision is instructive in many respects. However, its importance lies in the Court’s definition of the purpose of our language regime, which is to give effect to the concept of the “equal partnership” of the two official language groups in Canada.

Exactly 10 years later, in 1999, another important case went before the Supreme Court: the Beaulac case,5 which again gave rise to a landmark decision in the history of language rights. Under the pen of then Justice Bastarache, the Supreme Court issued a particularly instructive judgment that paved the way for new principles governing the interpretation of all language rights. According to the judgement, language rights are not negative or passive rights; they can only be enjoyed if the means are provided.

In the fall of 1999, the Supreme Court of Canada also heard the Arsenault-Cameron case.6 In its decision a few months later, the Court set out the principle that “substantive equality requires that official language minorities be treated differently, if necessary, according to their particular circumstances and needs, in order to provide them with a treatment equivalent to that of the official language majority.”

Finally, the year 1999 was also the year Ottawa’s Montfort Hospital won its historic battle before the Ontario Divisional Court, which was later upheld by the Court of Appeal. This case not only illustrated the potential strength of a minority-language community, it also crystallized the weight and the application of the unwritten fundamental principle of protection of minorities in language rights cases.

Exactly 10 years later, in 2009, came another precedent-setting decision from the Supreme Court of Canada: the recent unanimous decision in the Desrochers7 case. In my view, this judgment marks another defining moment in the interpretation of language rights. It is the first decision from the Supreme Court of Canada to interpret the scope of the right to receive services from federal institutions in both official languages pursuant to Part IV of the Official Languages Act. In this case, the Court clarifies that, in order to achieve substantive equality, it may not be sufficient to provide identical services for each language community. The content of the principle of linguistic equality in government services is not necessarily uniform. It must be defined in light of the nature and purpose of the service in question and may require access to services with distinct content in certain circumstances.

Obviously, this brief overview has skipped over many other important decisions. But, in looking back over the past four decades, I am struck by the fact that each decade seems to carry us yet another step forward in our interpretation of the language regime in Canada. I am already looking forward to the next decade, when we will celebrate the Official Languages Act’s 50th anniversary and, hopefully, another defining moment in the interpretation of language rights.

Conclusion

On this 40th anniversary of the Act, the time is right to reflect on the federal language regime, look back at the progress made by Canadian society and attempt to identify future challenges.

For my part, I believe that Canada has put in place a robust language regime and that we are well on the way to achieving substantive equality. Our goal is within sight.

From the last four decades of judicial interpretations, the following four principles have emerged that could serve as an interpretive framework for analyzing rights: the remedial aspect of language rights, the cultural objectives of rights, the principle of substantive equality of the two official languages and the unwritten constitutional principle of protection of minorities.

These four principles, which underlie the broad and liberal interpretation of language rights in Canada, will serve as our guide over the next 40 years. As Canadians, we are proud of our constitutional and legislative foundations, which make our language regime an essential component of social cohesiveness. Because of this, it is apparent that the Supreme Court of Canada will continue to play a key role in the interpretation of language rights and that it will continue to lead the way towards substantive equality.

Thank you.



1.  “Canada, Quebec and Bilingualism”, Queen's Quarterly, 54, 1947, included in Essays on the Constitution: Aspects of Canadian law and politics, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 1977, p. 197

2. Attorney General of Manitoba v. ForestExternal site, [1979] 2 S.C.R. 1032; (December 13, 1979)

3. Att. Gen. of Quebec v. Blaikie et al.External site, [1979] 2 S.C.R. 1016; (December 13, 1979)

4. Mahe v. Alberta, [1990] 1 S.C.R. 342 (heard June 14, 1989)

5. R. v. Beaulac, [1999] 1 S.C.R. 768 (heard February 24, 1999; judgment rendered on May 20, 1999)

6. Arsenault-Cameron v. Prince Edward Island, [2000] 1 S.C.R. 3 (heard November 4, 1999)

7. DesRochers v. Canada (Industry), 2009 SCC 8 (judgment delivered on February 5, 2009)

ARCHIVÉE - Dublin, le 17 août 2009

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les droits linguistiques et le modèle canadien :
quatre décennies, quatre cycles de changement

Notes pour une allocution à la Conférence juridique canadienne
de l’Association du Barreau canadien


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

C’est un plaisir pour moi d’être parmi vous aujourd’hui, dans la ville historique de Dublin, pour participer à la Conférence juridique canadienne de l’Association du Barreau canadien. Je suis particulièrement honoré de partager la tribune avec mon collègue, An Coimisinéir Teanga Seán Ó Cuirreáin, qui nous décrira le régime linguistique irlandais.

J’aimerais tout d’abord remercier le Comité organisateur ainsi que la Conférence des juristes d’expression française de common law d’avoir pris l’initiative de mettre sur pied cet atelier sur les droits linguistiques.

Cet examen du régime linguistique fédéral du Canada ne pouvait tomber à un moment plus propice, puisque nous fêtons cette année le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles au Canada.

Pour la plupart des gens, cet anniversaire marque une étape importante. Certains affirment que la vie commence à 40 ans. Dans la vie d’un pays, toutefois, 40 ans, ce n’est pas très long. Je pense que le 40e anniversaire de nos politiques linguistiques marque un moment important : la fin d’un cycle. Car je pense qu’on peut voir les quatre décennies de la Loi sur les langues officielles comme quatre cycles distincts.

Nous avons accompli de grands progrès au cours des quatre dernières décennies, mais je crois que nous pouvons atteindre de nouveaux sommets – sur les plans politique, juridique et social – pendant le prochain cycle, afin de concrétiser pleinement la promesse de la dualité linguistique au Canada.

J’ai été invité aujourd’hui afin de vous entretenir du régime linguistique canadien. C’est une histoire riche en évolution continuelle.

Structure du régime linguistique au Canada

Comme avocats, vous n’avez pas besoin de moi pour vous  dire que le Canada a vécu 250 ans de régime non seulement bilingue, mais bijuridique. La Loi sur les langues officielles a seulement 40 ans, mais le régime est beaucoup plus vieux. Ce n’est qu’entre 1840 et 1848 que le français n’a pas eu de statut officiel.

En 1867, ce statut a été constitutionnalisé dans l’article 133 de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, ce qui a voulu dire que toute loi fédérale devait être rédigée dans les deux langues. « Canada is a bilingual country, and British Columbia can truthfully be called a bilingual province », écrivait le constitutionnaliste F. R. Scott en 1947. « ...(T)he actions, rights and duties of Canadians, in British Columbia as elsewhere, are just as much governed by the French version of the federal law as they are by the English1. »

Mais ce bilinguisme juridique est resté assez abstrait et théorique jusqu’à l'émergence en force du nationalisme québécois au début des années 1960.

C’est en partie parce qu’il réagissait à cet état de fait qu’en 1963, le premier ministre Lester B. Pearson a créé la Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme. Il voulait réévaluer la dualité linguistique instituée par le pacte fédératif de 1867. La Commission dégage, à partir de 1965, un bilan saisissant de la situation de crise dans laquelle se trouve le Canada et choque de nombreux citoyens en déclarant, dans son rapport préliminaire, que le Canada vit la plus grande crise de son histoire.

En 1967, Pierre Elliott Trudeau, alors ministre de la Justice, classe les droits linguistiques en deux catégories : le droit d’utiliser et le droit d’apprendre. Notre conception des droits linguistiques, élaborée au fil des quatre décennies suivantes, repose sur ces deux piliers.

La première Loi sur les langues officielles du gouvernement fédéral est entrée en vigueur en 1969. Elle proclame alors que le français et l’anglais ont un statut égal et qu’elles sont les langues officielles de l’État fédéral canadien. La Loi accorde ainsi l’égalité de statut du français et de l’anglais non seulement au Parlement et devant les tribunaux fédéraux, mais également dans toute l’administration fédérale. Elle prévoit en outre que le public a le droit de recevoir des services des institutions fédérales dans la langue officielle de son choix selon certains critères démographiques. De plus, elle crée le poste de commissaire aux langues officielles, ombudsman tenu à la neutralité politique et chargé d’être la « conscience active » des Canadiens en matière de langues officielles. Je suis le sixième à occuper ce poste, qui existe depuis avril 1970. Malgré tout, à l'époque, cette loi demeure incomplète à plusieurs égards. 

En 1982, l’avènement d’un nouveau document constitutionnel, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, ranime le débat linguistique.

La Charte renforce les droits en matière d’égalité et de langue. En matière d’éducation, elle ajoute une nouvelle dimension aux droits linguistiques en reconnaissant que les citoyens francophones et anglophones en situation minoritaire d’une province ont droit de faire instruire leurs enfants au primaire et au secondaire dans leur langue. Elle indique également qu’ils ont droit à la gestion de leur système scolaire, là où le nombre le justifie.

Suivant l’adoption de la Charte, la Loi est modifiée de nouveau en 1988, afin que les deux documents s’appuient mutuellement dans leurs objectifs. Bien que plusieurs parlementaires critiquent le gouvernement d’avoir trop tardé à mettre de l’avant un tel projet, l’annonce est bien reçue par la majorité.

La nouvelle Loi sur les langues officielles de 1988 fait valoir trois grands objectifs du gouvernement du Canada :

  • assurer le respect du français et de l’anglais à titre de langues officielles du Canada, leur égalité de statut et l’égalité de droits et de privilèges quant à leur usage dans les institutions fédérales;
  • appuyer le développement des communautés francophones et anglophones en situation minoritaire et favoriser la progression vers l’égalité de statut et d’usage du français et de l’anglais au sein de la société canadienne;
  • préciser les obligations et les rôles des institutions fédérales en matière de langues officielles. 

En 2005, la Loi sur les langues officielles est de nouveau modifiée pour renforcer l’engagement du gouvernement à l’égard des minorités linguistiques. En effet, le gouvernement fédéral et ses institutions ont maintenant une obligation légale de prendre des mesures positives pour favoriser l’épanouissement des communautés linguistiques en situation minoritaire et pour promouvoir l’utilisation du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne. De plus, cette disposition donne ouverture au droit de recourir aux tribunaux en cas d’inaction ou de manquement aux obligations prévues. Les communautés minoritaires obtiennent ainsi un outil nécessaire pour assurer le respect de leurs droits.

Interprétation du régime linguistique au Canada

L’égalité linguistique du français et de l’anglais est une valeur fondamentale et l’un des piliers de notre société. C’est là, selon moi, un trait distinctif de notre pays, trait qui se reflète non seulement dans notre identité, mais aussi dans notre mode de vie, comme en témoigne notre régime bijuridique qui allie le droit civil et la common law. D’ailleurs, au cœur de la vision canadienne de la dualité linguistique réside la ferme conviction que la promotion et le respect des langues officielles peuvent stimuler la croissance, l’harmonie et le dynamisme de notre pays.

Je suis convaincu que la valeur première qui sous-tend la Loi sur les langues officielles est le respect. La Loi commande le respect non seulement des deux langues officielles, mais aussi des Canadiens unilingues, des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, de la population dans son ensemble, des parlementaires et des fonctionnaires. En fait, la Loi oblige les institutions fédérales à être bilingues, pour éviter que les individus ne soient obligés de l’être.

Par ailleurs, les droits linguistiques sont en même temps, et des droits individuels, et des droits collectifs. Évidemment, un individu a besoin d’une collectivité pour utiliser pleinement ses droits linguistiques. C’est un aspect que l’adoption de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés est venue renforcer. La Loi et la Charte ont pour objectif de faire en sorte que les communautés canadiennes de langue officielle soient soutenues et continuent de s’épanouir. Comme certains droits ne s’appliquent que lorsqu’il existe une « demande importante » (notamment de communiquer avec les institutions fédérales et d’obtenir des services de leur part dans les deux langues officielles), on peut dire que les droits individuels dépendent de l’existence même des minorités linguistiques. En l’absence de ces dernières, les individus risqueraient de perdre certains de leurs droits. Il est donc important de s’assurer que les droits linguistiques sont toujours interprétés d’une manière positive, de façon à favoriser la préservation et l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle au Canada.

Bien sûr, il est impossible de parler des droits linguistiques au Canada sans mentionner le rôle prépondérant que la Cour suprême du Canada a joué en ce qui concerne leur interprétation.

Au cours des quatre dernières décennies, la Cour suprême a rendu de nombreux jugements importants concernant la portée et l’application des droits linguistiques.

En réfléchissant à ces nombreux arrêts, je constate, en fait, que chaque nouvelle décennie constitue un tournant décisif en ce sens.

D’abord, c’est en 1969 que la Loi sur les langues officielles est entrée en vigueur. La Loi était controversée, mais cette première décennie a été plutôt calme en matière de contestations judiciaires. Une exception demeure cependant, soit la décision de la Cour qui a débouté la contestation de Leonard Jones, maire de Moncton, et a maintenu le droit du gouvernement fédéral d’aller au-delà de l’article 133 et de légiférer en matière linguistique. Donc, le premier cycle en était un d'acceptation et de validation.

Dix ans plus tard, le 13 décembre 1979, la Cour suprême du Canada a rendu deux jugements concernant la constitutionnalité des régimes linguistiques provinciaux. Dans l’arrêt Forest2, elle a déclaré inconstitutionnel l’Acte du Manitoba, 1870, qui abolissait le statut de la langue française comme langue du Parlement et des tribunaux de la province. Le même jour, dans l’arrêt Blaikie3, la Cour suprême a également infirmé les dispositions de la Charte de la langue française du Québec en vertu desquelles seul le contenu rédigé en français des lois et des jugements des tribunaux était officiel.

Au début de la décennie suivante, en juin 1989, la Cour suprême a été saisie d’une importante cause qui a donné lieu à sa décision historique Mahe4, fréquemment citée dans les causes en matière de droits linguistiques. Cette décision est instructive à maints égards. Son importance réside cependant dans la définition que donne la Cour de l’objectif de notre régime linguistique : appliquer la notion de « partenaires égaux » des deux groupes linguistiques officiels au Canada.

En 1999, dix ans plus tard, la Cour suprême a été saisie d’une autre cause importante : l’affaire Beaulac5 qui, elle aussi, a donné lieu à une décision historique en matière de droits linguistiques. Sous la plume du juge Bastarache, la Cour suprême a rendu un jugement particulièrement instructif qui a pavé la voie à de nouveaux principes régissant l’interprétation des droits linguistiques. Dans son jugement, la Cour affirme que les droits linguistiques ne sont pas des droits négatifs, ni des droits passifs; ils ne peuvent être exercés que si les moyens en sont fournis.

À l’automne 1999, la Cour suprême du Canada entend également l’affaire Arsenault‑Cameron6. Dans son jugement quelques mois plus tard, elle énonce le principe suivant : « l’égalité réelle exige que les minorités de langue officielle soient traitées différemment, si nécessaire, suivant leur situation et leurs besoins particuliers, afin de leur assurer un niveau d’éducation équivalent à celui de la majorité de langue officielle ».

Finalement, c’est aussi en 1999 que l’hôpital Montfort d’Ottawa a gagné sa bataille historique devant la Cour divisionnaire de l’Ontario dont la décision a par la suite été confirmée par la Cour d’appel. Cette affaire a non seulement démontré le pouvoir potentiel d’une minorité linguistique, mais elle a également confirmé la portée et l’application du principe fondamental non écrit de la protection des minorités dans les causes portant sur les droits linguistiques.

Dix ans plus tard, en 2009, la Cour suprême rend également une décision unanime qui crée un précédent : l’arrêt Desrochers7. Ce récent arrêt constitue, à mon avis, un autre tournant décisif en matière d’interprétation des droits linguistiques. Pour la première fois, la Cour suprême du Canada interprète la portée du droit de recevoir des services des institutions fédérales dans les deux langues officielles, en vertu des dispositions de la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Dans son jugement, la Cour précise qu’il se peut que l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de services identiques pour chacune des communautés linguistiques ne permettent pas de réaliser l’égalité réelle. Le contenu du principe de l’égalité linguistique en matière de services gouvernementaux n’est pas forcément uniforme. Il doit être défini en tenant compte de la nature du service en question et de son objet et, dans certaines circonstances, il peut nécessiter l’accès à des services ayant un contenu distinct.

Il va sans dire que ce bref survol passe sous silence de nombreuses autres décisions importantes. Ce qui me frappe, dans cette rétrospective des quarante dernières années, c’est le fait que chaque décennie semble nous faire avancer dans notre interprétation du régime linguistique canadien. Il me tarde de franchir le cap de la prochaine décennie qui marquera le cinquantième anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles. J’ose espérer qu’elle constituera un nouveau tournant décisif en ce qui concerne l’interprétation des droits linguistiques.

Conclusion

En ce 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles, le moment est propice pour réfléchir au régime linguistique fédéral, prendre note du chemin parcouru, en tant que société canadienne, et tenter de cerner les défis qui restent à venir.

Pour ma part, je crois que le Canada a mis sur pied un régime linguistique étoffé et que nous sommes présentement sur la voie de l’égalité réelle. Nous nous rapprochons de notre destination.

Des quatre dernières décennies d’interprétation judiciaire se dégagent quatre principes qui pourront servir de cadre interprétatif à l’analyse des droits : l’objet réparateur des droits linguistiques, l’objectif culturel des droits, le principe de l’égalité réelle des deux langues officielles et le principe constitutionnel non écrit de protection des minorités.

Ces quatre principes, qui sous-tendent l’interprétation large et libérale des droits linguistiques au Canada, nous serviront de guide au cours des 40 prochaines années. À titre de Canadiens et Canadiennes, nous sommes fiers de nos assises, constitutionnelles et législatives, qui font de notre régime linguistique un élément essentiel de cohésion sociale. En raison de cela, il semble évident que la Cour suprême du Canada continuera de jouer un rôle primordial dans l’interprétation des droits linguistiques et qu’elle continue de tracer la voie de notre parcours vers l’égalité réelle.

Je vous remercie de votre attention.


1.  « Canada, Quebec and Bilingualism », Queen’s Quarterly, 54, 1947, dans Essays on the Constitution: Aspects of Canadian law and politics, University of Toronto Press, Toronto, 1977, p. 197

2. Procureur général du Manitoba c. ForestSite externe [1979], 2 R.C.S. 1032 (13 décembre 1979)

3. Procureur général du Québec c. Blaikie et autresSite externe [1979], 2 R.C.S. 1016 (13 décembre 1979)

4. Mahe c. Alberta [1990], 1 R.C.S. 342 (cause entendue le 14 juin 1989)

5. R. c. Beaulac [1999], 1 R.C.S. 768 (cause entendue le 24 février 1999; jugement rendu le 20 mai 1999)

6. Arsenault-Cameron c. Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard [2000], 1 R.C.S. 3 (cause entendue le 4 novembre 1999)

7. Desrochers c. Canada (Industrie) [2009], R.C.S. 8 (jugement rendu le 5 février 2009)