ARCHIVED - Ottawa, January 11, 2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Horizontal Coordination of Research:
Advantages and Benefits

 Symposium: Official Languages Research Issues 


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery 

Good morning ladies and gentlemen,

The Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages is proud to be associated with this symposium which was organized together with the Official Languages Secretariat. I would like to thank the Minister of Official Languages and her team for gathering here today those who are involved in research on official languages.

I attended part of this morning’s session, and was delighted to see that we are going in the same direction,

It's not often that so many researchers, community representatives and decision-makers come together to discuss research issues, especially when it comes to official languages. Yet, research remains one of the driving forces behind linguistic duality. It is essential for the government, both to support and guide policy and program development and to assess the progress made in terms of bilingualism and the vitality of official language communities. It also serves to identify the shortcomings that need to be addressed in these communities.

In the current issue of the Canadian Journal of Political Science, François Rocher of the University of Ottawa presents an analysis of the degree to which English-speaking scholars in Canada take into account the work of French-speaking scholars.1 His premise, or as he puts it, his expectation, “which seems legitimate,” is the following:

To fully understand the social and political Canadian reality implies a deep awareness of its complexity. It also implies that the researcher will take into consideration the works related to the object of research without systematically ignoring a significant proportion of scholarly work, particularly emanating from a different linguistic universe.

He then relates this assumption about research to the country as a whole:

If Canada, as a political community (and a national community, as is used widely in the vocabulary of English Canada) is composed of two global societies [...], scholarly production related to it must reflect this reality if it wishes to be inclusive and comprehensive.

He concludes his normative expectation by writing the following: “Knowledge of the French language, at least the capacity to read it, constitutes a prerequisite for a complete and serious analysis of Canada.”

This statement, Rocher acknowledges, “will be very controversial for some, self-evident for others.”

As far as I am concerned, it is self-evident.

To summarize Rocher’s research, which analyzed the degree to which English-Canadian scholars cite French-language sources, he concluded that there is a very small number of references to works produced in the French-speaking universe by English-speaking scholars writing about Canada: only about five per cent.

This may seem like a digression, but I think it provides a useful framework for discussing the challenges and the stakes for research on official languages.

As you know, we must face many challenges related to official languages. I think one of them is federal institutions’ under-use of research as a tool for developing policies and programs.

Yesterday, you discussed a recent example of this. Statistics Canada recently released data from a post-census survey on community vitality. If no decision-makers, government research officers or researchers take the time to look at this data, we won’t be able to accurately determine what the parameters are for language continuity and maintaining the mother tongue in minority situations. What bases can we use to develop policies? And if the communities do not have access to this research, how can they adequately implement development strategies based on an extensive knowledge of their own situation?

Obviously, researchers, research officers and community representatives who want to conduct studies face tangible obstacles. I will address this topic in a few minutes, when I talk about a study on research funding agencies that we just published.

The role of federal institutions under the amended Part VII

Part VII of the Official Languages Act calls for the promotion of English and French as Canada’s two official languages, languages that we must protect to ensure the future of our country. Part VII reinforces the Act and the advancements that have flowed from the Charter, 25 years ago.  Communities who have fought to have their fundamental rights recognized are now able to manage their own schools, share their culture, have access to the legal system and take their place within Canadian society. Research on official languages is key if we want to stay the course.

Indeed, federal institutions are front row centre in terms of programs, policies and services for official language communities. Their activities must now reflect the 2005 amendments to Part VII of the Act, under which federal institutions are required to take positive measures to promote linguistic duality and enhance the vitality of official language minority communities. In order for institutions to fulfill these new responsibilities, research on official languages that is conducted by federal institutions and universities must provide the raw material to develop public policies that demonstrate sound management of language issues.

Research is an invaluable public asset. We often use the amount of money a country invests in research to measure its openness to creative solutions that address the various challenges facing the diverse societies in which we live. This is why federal institutions must not only facilitate research on official languages but also use and disseminate its results. Such actions, which foster community development or the promotion of official languages, can be considered a positive measure.

Part VII does not mean that the federal government has to take responsibility of communities or become involved in areas under provincial jurisdiction. Nor is it a magic solution. However, it is clear that research on official languages and funding for it can and must play an important role in these positive measures. Now it is up to the federal government to take action.

Partnerships

I am not the first person to emphasize the importance of developing partnerships between post-secondary institutions, researchers and funding agencies involved in research on official languages, communities and federal institutions. This conference is a good example of this. We need to get rid of the “silo” mentality, especially when it comes to official languages.

Developing a collaborative, inclusive that stresses partnerships approach such as this one can be positive in several respects. For researchers, partnerships can mean greater financial support, the creation of a research team, networking opportunities with other researchers, more action-research within communities, the establishment of research centres or even increased productivity in terms of research, but above all, better quality research. Of course, the pursuit of research work is an essential step, but the results must also be disseminated. Transferring knowledge requires explaining the research results so that community members and public service decision-makers can have access to them and use them.

There are currently some shortcomings in official languages research because of the absence of partnerships lack of funding, and often a shortage of human resources to conduct the research. At the Office of the Commissioner, we are increasing our focus on research and trying to make up for these shortcomings by conducting research that would not necessarily be undertaken by others.

Study on funding agencies

This week, we published a study on the role of federal research funding agencies. In it, we made recommendations and suggested courses of action to improve research conditions, both when the research is carried out in minority-language post-secondary institutions and when it deals with official languages issues.

The study allowed us to identify a number of barriers faced by researchers in small universities in minority situations. It shows that a low priority is given to official languages research and that Francophone researchers from these types of universities face additional obstacles:  the predominance of English as the language of publication, and peer committee members’ limited ability to evaluate applications submitted in French. Also, Francophone or bilingual universities are, for the most part, small institutions with a very different mandate than that of large, urban majority-language universities. As a result, they must overcome other obstacles, including the lack of research infrastructure, researchers’ physical and intellectual isolation from the scientific community as well as greater teaching and administrative responsibilities.

Researchers, whether they come from small institutions or are studying official languages, are also unhappy about the lack of consideration for their particular situation shown by peer committees that evaluate funding applications. Under current conditions, researchers in small universities are at a disadvantage when they compete with large universities, and their success rate is not very encouraging. They even claim that they refrain from submitting funding applications for this very reason.

In order to ensure that they are treated fairly, researchers must have access to tools and resources that are adapted to their particular situation. In this respect, federal research funding agencies,  governments and post-secondary institutions all have important roles to play. For its part, official languages research must be better integrated into the research programs, plans and priorities of universities, research funding agencies and the government.

Fortunately, progress can be made and a willingness to work together is evident. During the course of this study, and more specifically at a discussion forum in November 2006, researchers and funding agencies proposed innovative ideas and practices in order to encourage research in official language minority institutions and to promote research on linguistic duality.

After analyzing the challenges that were raised and taking into account the best practices that were described, we made nine recommendations, eight of which were addressed to federal research funding agencies:

  1. Develop a strategy to promote the different types of research programs offered;
  2. Ensure adequate evaluation in both official languages;
  3. Establish a specific funding mechanism for small bilingual and official language minority universities to help sustain research capacity at the professor and student levels, and increase research infrastructure in these establishments;
  4. Set aside a funding envelope to encourage small official language minority universities to create research centres and increase their capacity to partner with existing networks;
  5. Continue to streamline their funding application processes in consultation with university researchers;
  6. Develop a strategy to increase the awareness, knowledge and comprehension of peer review committee members about the particular circumstances and obstacles of researchers at small official language minority universities;
  7. Set aside stable funding for research on official languages issues and for disseminating the results of the research;
  8. Keep disaggregated data on funding to official language minority institutions and for research on official languages issues.

In my final recommendation I asked the Canada Research Chairs Program to encourage universities to create and fund research chairs on official languages issues.

Future outlook

This study was conducted because we wanted to help research funding agencies fulfill their new responsibilities under Part VII of the Act. By describing the research conditions in official language minority communities and research on official languages issues, in addition to compiling a list of existing initiatives, we think we have established a solid basis that you can rely on to support your future actions in order to improve the situation.

The federal department representatives who are with us today will have a crucial role to play in this regard. I hope that the question of research and the need for departments to work together on this issue and provide the necessary resources will be an important part of the new action plan. It is a vicious cycle.

Conclusion

Why is research on official languages important? We are gathered at this conference today because together we form a circle. Researchers study official language minorities, governments need solid research to base their policies and programs on in order to better serve all Canadians and the communities depend on these programs in order to flourish.

Therefore, I encourage you to keep working together and developing partnerships between the main players.

Thank you.


1 “The End of the ‘Two Solitudes’? The Presence (or Absence) of the Work of French-speaking Scholars in Canadian Politics,” Canadian Journal of Political Science / Revue canadienne de science politique, 40, 4 (December 2007): 833–857.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 11 janvier 2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La coordination horizontale de la recherche :
avantages et retombées

 Symposium : Les enjeux de recherche sur les langues officielles


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi 

Mesdames et Messieurs, bonjour,

Le Commissariat est fier d’être associé à ce symposium organisé en collaboration avec le Secrétariat des langues officielles. J’aimerais remercier la ministre des Langues officielles et son équipe d’avoir réuni tous ceux et celles qui ont un rôle à jouer à l’égard de la recherche en matière de langues officielles.

J’ai participé à la session de ce matin, et je suis heureux de constater que nous avançons dans la même direction.

Il est rare qu’autant de chercheurs, de représentants communautaires et de décideurs se réunissent pour discuter d‘enjeux de recherche, surtout en matière de langues officielles. Pourtant, la recherche demeure une des forces motrices de la dualité linguistique. Elle est essentielle au gouvernement, tant pour appuyer et orienter le développement des politiques et des programmes que pour évaluer les progrès réalisés en matière de bilinguisme et de vitalité des communautés de langues officielles. Elle sert aussi à cerner les lacunes à combler au sein de ces communautés.

Dans le dernier numéro de la Revue canadienne de science politique, François Rocher, de l’Université d’Ottawa, présente une analyse du degré de prise en compte des travaux des universitaires francophones par les universitaires anglophones1. Son hypothèse, ou plutôt ses attentes, qui « paraissent légitimes », sont les suivantes :

Pour comprendre pleinement la réalité canadienne sociale et politique, on doit avoir conscience de sa complexité. Dans ce contexte, les chercheurs doivent prendre en compte les travaux effectués sur un sujet donné sans systématiquement ignorer un nombre important d’œuvres savantes, particulièrement lorsque celles-ci proviennent d’un milieu linguistique différent [traduction].

M. Rocher rattache ensuite l’hypothèse suivante sur la recherche à l’ensemble du pays :

Si le Canada, en tant que communauté politique (et communauté nationale, comme il est souvent qualifié par le Canada anglais), est composé de deux sociétés planétaires [...], la production d’œuvres savantes doit refléter cette réalité afin d’être englobante et complète [traduction].

Il termine son hypothèse normative en affirmant que la connaissance de la langue française, tout au moins la capacité de la lire, constitue un préalable pour une analyse sérieuse et approfondie du Canada.

Selon M. Rocher, ce passage sera très controversé pour certains, mais ira de soi pour d’autres.

À mon avis, ça va de soi.

En bref, M. Rocher a analysé le taux de citation de sources francophones par des universitaires anglophones, ce qui lui a permis de conclure que très peu d’ouvrages francophones sont cités par les universitaires anglophones dont les sujets d’études portent sur le Canada. En fait, ce taux est de cinq pour cent.

Vous avez peut-être l’impression que je m’écarte de mon sujet, mais je crois qu’il s’agit d’un bon cadre de référence pour discuter des défis et des enjeux liés à la recherche en matière de langues officielles.

Comme vous le savez, nous devons relever de nombreux défis en ce qui a trait aux langues officielles. La sous-utilisation de la recherche comme outil dans le processus d’élaboration de politiques et de programmes par les institutions fédérales m’apparaît être un de ces défis.

Vous avez discuté hier d’un exemple récent : Statistique Canada vient de rendre publiques certaines données de l’enquête post censitaire sur la vitalité des communautés. Si aucun décideur, agent de recherche au gouvernement ou chercheur ne s’y attarde, nous ne pourrons convenablement déterminer les paramètres à partir desquels se fait la continuité linguistique et le maintien de la langue maternelle en situation minoritaire. Sur quelles bases pouvons-nous élaborer des politiques? De même, si les communautés n’ont pas accès à cette recherche, comment pourront-elles adéquatement mettre en œuvre des stratégies de développement qui s’appuient sur une connaissance approfondie de leur propre situation?

Évidemment, les chercheurs, les agents de recherche et les représentants communautaires qui veulent effectuer des études rencontrent des obstacles concrets. J’aborderai ce sujet dans quelques minutes en vous présentant une étude sur les organismes subventionnaires de la recherche que nous venons tout juste de publier.

Le rôle des institutions fédérales au regard de la nouvelle partie VII

La partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles exige la promotion du français et de l’anglais comme les deux langues officielles du Canada; langues que nous devons protéger pour assurer l’avenir de notre pays. La partie VII renforce la Loi et les réalisations qui découlent de l’adoption de la Charte, il y a 25 ans. Les communautés qui ont lutté pour faire reconnaître leurs droits fondamentaux peuvent gérer leurs écoles, partager leur culture, avoir accès au système judiciaire et prendre leur place au sein de la société canadienne. Si nous voulons maintenir le cap, la recherche sur les langues officielles est primordiale.

En effet, les institutions fédérales sont aux premières loges des programmes, des politiques et des services aux communautés de langue officielle. Leurs activités doivent maintenant refléter les modifications apportées en 2005 à la partie VII de la Loi, selon lesquelles les institutions fédérales sont tenues de prendre des mesures positives pour promouvoir la dualité linguistique et assurer l’épanouissement des communautés de langues officielles en situation minoritaire. Afin que les institutions s’acquittent de ces nouvelles responsabilités, les recherches sur les langues officielles effectuées au sein des institutions fédérales et des universités doivent constituer la matière première pour façonner des politiques publiques témoignant d’une gestion éclairée de la question linguistique.

La recherche est une richesse et un bien public indispensable. On utilise souvent les fonds investis dans la recherche par un pays pour mesurer sa volonté d’ouverture à des solutions créatives répondant aux différents défis posés par les sociétés diversifiées dans lesquelles nous vivons. C’est pourquoi les institutions fédérales doivent non seulement faciliter les recherches sur les langues officielles, mais aussi les utiliser et en faire la diffusion. De telles actions, qui favorisent le développement des communautés ou la promotion des langues officielles, peuvent être considérées comme une mesure positive.

La partie VII ne signifie pas que le gouvernement fédéral doit prendre en charge les communautés. Ce n’est pas une ingérence dans les champs de compétence provinciale. Ce n’est pas non plus une utopie. Cependant, il est certain que la recherche en matière de langues officielles et son financement peuvent et doivent occuper une place importante dans ces mesures positives. Il revient maintenant au gouvernement fédéral de passer à l’action.

Partenariats

Je ne suis pas le premier à souligner l’importance d’établir des partenariats entre les établissements postsecondaires, les chercheurs et les organismes de financement de la recherche en matière de langues officielles, les communautés et les institutions fédérales. Le présent symposium en est un bon exemple. Il faut éliminer la mentalité du travail en silos, surtout en ce qui a trait aux langues officielles.

Une démarche inclusive de collaboration qui encourage les partenariats s’avère positive à plusieurs niveaux. Pour les chercheurs, un partenariat peut signifier un plus grand soutien financier, la mise en place d’une équipe de recherche, la possibilité de réseautage avec d’autres chercheurs, davantage de recherche-action au sein des communautés, l’établissement de centres de recherche ou même une productivité accrue quant aux recherches, mais surtout une plus grande qualité des recherches produites. Bien entendu, la poursuite de travaux de recherche est une étape indispensable, mais il faut également que les résultats soient diffusés. La transmission du savoir nécessite la vulgarisation des résultats de recherche afin que les membres des communautés aussi bien que les décideurs de la fonction publique, y aient accès et les utilisent.

À l’heure actuelle, il existe certaines lacunes quant aux recherches en matière de langues officielles en raison de l’absence de partenariats, du manque de fonds et, souvent aussi, de l’absence de ressources humaines pour les effectuer. De son côté, le Commissariat s’intéresse de plus en plus à la recherche et tente de combler les écarts en effectuant des recherches qui n’auraient pas nécessairement été entamées par d’autres.

Étude sur les organismes subventionnaires

D’ailleurs, cette semaine, nous avons publié une étude sur le rôle des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche. Nous y avons formulé des recommandations et suggéré des pistes d’action dans le but d’améliorer les conditions dans lesquelles se produit la recherche; tant celle issue des établissements postsecondaires en situation linguistique minoritaire que celle portant sur des questions liées aux langues officielles.

L’étude a permis de recenser plusieurs obstacles que doivent surmonter les chercheurs des petites universités en milieu minoritaire. Elle montre qu’une faible priorité est accordée à la recherche sur les langues officielles et que les chercheurs francophones issus de ce type d’universités rencontrent des obstacles supplémentaires : la prédominance de l’anglais comme langue de publication et la capacité limitée des membres des comités de pairs à évaluer les demandes soumises en français. De plus, les universités francophones ou bilingues sont, pour la plupart, de petits établissements possédant un mandat très différent de celui des grandes universités urbaines et de langue en situation majoritaire. Par conséquent, elles doivent surmonter d’autres embûches dont l’absence d’infrastructures de recherche, l’isolement physique et intellectuel des chercheurs par rapport à la communauté scientifique ainsi que les charges d’enseignement et de gouvernance plus importantes.

Les chercheurs, tant ceux issus de petits établissements que ceux qui étudient les langues officielles, déplorent également que les comités de pairs qui évaluent les demandes de subventions sont peu sensibilisés à leurs réalités particulières. Dans les conditions actuelles, les chercheurs des petites universités sont désavantagés par rapport à la concurrence des grandes universités et connaissent un taux de succès peu encourageant. Ils soutiennent même qu’ils s’abstiennent de soumettre des demandes de financement pour cette raison.

Si l’on veut s’assurer que ces chercheurs sont traités de manière équitable, ils doivent avoir accès à des outils et à des ressources adaptés à leur situation particulière. À cet égard, les agences fédérales de subventions de recherche, les gouvernements et les établissements postsecondaires ont tous des rôles importants à jouer. Pour sa part, la recherche en matière de langues officielles doit être mieux intégrée aux programmes de recherche, aux plans et aux priorités des universités, des agences de financement de la recherche et du gouvernement. 

Heureusement, les progrès sont possibles et la volonté de travailler conjointement est évidente. Dans le cadre de cette étude, et plus particulièrement lors d’un forum de discussion en novembre 2006, les chercheurs et les organismes subventionnaires ont proposé des idées et des pratiques novatrices destinées à encourager la recherche dans les établissements de langue officielle minoritaire et à favoriser la recherche en lien avec la dualité linguistique.

En analysant les défis soulevés et en tenant compte des pratiques exemplaires énoncées, nous avons formulé neuf recommandations, dont huit à l’intention des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche :

  1. Élaborer une stratégie pour faire la promotion des différents types de programmes de recherche offerts.
  2. Veiller à ce que l’évaluation soit adéquate dans les deux langues officielles.
  3. Établir un mécanisme de financement particulier à l’intention des petites universités bilingues et de langue officielle en situation minoritaire en vue de soutenir les capacités de recherche des professeurs et des étudiants, en plus d'accroître l'infrastructure de recherche de ces établissements.
  4. Réserver une enveloppe budgétaire pour encourager les petites universités de langue officielle en situation minoritaire à créer des centres de recherche et accroître leur capacité de conclure des partenariats et de travailler en réseau.
  5. Continuer à simplifier leurs processus de demande de financement en consultation avec les chercheurs universitaires.
  6. Mettre en place un mécanisme afin que les membres des comités d’examen par les pairs connaissent et comprennent mieux la réalité particulière des chercheurs dans les petites universités de langue officielle en situation minoritaire ainsi que les obstacles auxquels ils se heurtent.
  7. Prévoir un financement stable réservé à la recherche sur des questions liées aux langues officielles et en diffuser les résultats.
  8. Tenir des données non regroupées sur les fonds versés aux établissements de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et à la recherche sur des questions liées aux langues officielles.

Finalement, comme dernière recommandation, je demande au Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada d’inviter les universités à créer et financer des chaires vouées à la recherche sur des questions liées aux langues officielles.

Perspectives d’avenir

Cette étude a été menée parce que nous avons voulu aider les organismes de financement de recherche à s’acquitter de leurs nouvelles responsabilités en vertu de la partie VII de la Loi. En peignant le portrait du contexte de la recherche dans des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et de la recherche sur les questions liées aux langues officielles, de même qu’en faisant l’inventaire des initiatives déjà existantes, nous pensons avoir fourni une base solide sur laquelle vous pourrez appuyer vos prochaines démarches visant à améliorer la situation.

Les représentants des ministères fédéraux qui sont ici aujourd’hui auront à jouer un rôle primordial à cet égard. J’espère que le nouveau Plan d’action accordera une place importante à la question de la recherche et à la nécessité que les ministères se concertent par rapport à cet enjeu et qu’ils y accordent les ressources nécessaires.

Conclusion

Pourquoi la recherche sur les langues officielles est-elle importante? Ce symposium nous a réunis parce que nous formons ensemble une boucle. Les chercheurs étudient la situation des minorités de langue officielle, les gouvernements ont besoin de recherches solides sur lesquelles fonder leurs politiques et leurs programmes pour mieux desservir l’ensemble de la population canadienne et les communautés dépendent de ces programmes pour s’épanouir. C’est un cercle vicieux.

Je vous encourage donc à continuer de travailler de concert et d’établir des partenariats entre les principaux intervenants.

Merci.


1 « The End of the “ Two Solitudes ”? The Presence (or Absence) of the Work of French-speaking Scholars in Canadian Politics », Canadian Journal of Political Science / Revue canadienne de science politique, 40:4 (décembre 2007) 833-857