ARCHIVED - Ottawa, December 6, 2007

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Official Languages: A Leadership Skill for the Public Service

 Notes for an address to senior management and employees of the
Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery 

Good afternoon,

Just over a year ago, after a 35-year career in journalism, I became the Commissioner of Official Languages. I thus went from being an interested—and passionate—observer of the Canadian language debate to being an agent of Parliament.

In my many meetings with Canadians over the last year, I have often found it useful to look back on how Canada came to develop its language policy. I would therefore like to start with a brief historical overview.

I'd like to take you back 45 years—to 1962.

In 1962, a number of factors converged to make language policy an issue. In the spring, the first terrorist bombs exploded in Quebec, set off by the FLQ—the Front de libération du Québec.

In Ottawa, as is the case today, there was a minority Conservative government led by a prime minister from the West. Neither the Conservatives nor the Liberals had managed to win a majority because of their failure to win more than a handful of seats in French-speaking Quebec.

To add to the mix, there was a group of 26 MPs from Quebec—who were almost all unilingual Francophones—and they began to shake up the quiet, but almost universal assumption that everything that mattered happened in English.

The president of Canadian National Railways, then a government-owned railway, told a House of Commons committee that none of his 17 vice-presidents were French-Canadians, suggesting that it was impossible to find any Francophones who were competent. This resulted in massive demonstrations at every French-language university in Quebec.

In this context, on December 18, 1962, Lester B. Pearson, then Liberal leader and Leader of the Opposition, called for the creation of a royal commission. “Are we ready,” he asked, “to give all young Canadians a real opportunity to become truly bilingual?”

In 1963, the Pearson government created the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism, which, in its preliminary report published in 1965, shocked many English-speaking Canadians by stating that Canada was passing through one of the greatest crises in its history.

In its recommendations, the Commission proposed a new partnership between English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians. In the future, the Government of Canada would function in both languages, and the provinces would be encouraged to offer services to the public in the language of the minority, where demand was sufficient. Additional measures would also be taken to recognize the contribution and heritage of other cultural communities.

In 1967, Pierre Trudeau, then Minister of Justice, defined language rights as two-fold: the right to learn and the right to use. The entire edifice of language rights constructed over the four decades since then rests on these two pillars.

The first federal official languages act was adopted in 1969. It proclaimed the equal status of English and French in all federal institutions and spelled out the demographic criteria for the delivery of service in both languages. It also created the position of Commissioner of Official Languages, an ombudsman above politics who was to be the “active conscience” of Canadians in official languages matters. I was the sixth.

The Act was amended in 1988, specifically to guarantee federal employees in certain regions the right to work in their language of choice. Today, it also includes a commitment to support official language minority communities and promote linguistic duality.

Finally, in November 2005, the Canadian Parliament strengthened Part VII of the Act. This part deals with the federal government’s commitment to fostering the full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society. It also commits the government to supporting the development of official language minority communities.

These facts remind us that, beyond the standards, directives and tests, Canadian linguistic duality is first and foremost one of the country’s fundamental values.

This statement has specific repercussions on all institutions seeking to play a leading national role in their areas of activity. This is as true in the business world as it is in sports and culture. And it is especially true for federal institutions, which are at the public's service.

That is why the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation is subject to the Official Languages Act. You are national leaders and innovators in the housing sector. I find it interesting that, when it was founded in 1946, CMHC's initial mission was to support military personnel returning from Europe with the hope of going back to their civilian lives. Today, you help Canadians, whether they were born here or somewhere else in the world, build lives for themselves and set up a home.

In short, you help these people build a country. Yet Canada was built in English and in French. Even today, these two languages are a bridge between us all, the two languages of communication of a diverse and ever-changing population.

According to the Census data released Tuesday, there are still eight million Francophones in Canada, including seven million in Quebec, and four million of them do not speak any English. Federal institutions must be able to communicate with these people and understand the world in which they live.

Yet all too often, language requirements in federal institutions are seen as a burden rather than an opportunity to show leadership, as boxes to be ticked rather than an essential skill, as hoops to be jumped through rather than the ability to communicate.

My message is this: linguistic duality is a value that must be embodied by all levels of your organization. It has always been a part of your mission and your role as a national leader.

In their recent book entitled Made in Canada Leadership, a study of leadership in Canada, Amal Henein and Françoise Morissette identify what they call the five cornerstones of the Canadian leadership brand: harmony, integrity, quality, resourcefulness and  inclusiveness.1 Serving Canadians and managing public servants in the language of their choice is fully consistent with these values.

Interestingly, Henein and Morissette’s selection of leaders from the public, private and co-op sectors was both wide-reaching and representative: 27% of those interviewed were French-speaking, but only 10% indicated that they were bilingual. In other words, at least 17% of the leaders, and therefore over half of the Francophones, were unilingual French-speakers. This reality, that there is a solid number of highly successful unilingual French-speaking Canadians, is often overlooked in English-speaking Canada. But this is one of the fundamental reasons for federal language policies: to ensure that French-speaking Canadians, whether they are bilingual or unilingual, are served by their federal government as effectively as English-speaking Canadians are.

Although this is an essential component of high-quality service, the value of linguistic duality has yet to be fully integrated into federal institutions. It remains a source of untapped potential and in my opinion a critical aspect in the renewal of an organization such as yours.

Put differently, every time a citizen has trouble getting service in the language of his or her choice, or is told “would you like someone who speaks French,” the perception grows that linguistic duality at the institution stops with the little blue sign advertising bilingual service.

You have already had considerable success in this area. The Office of the Commissioner is here to help you continue your efforts.

My role as language ombudsman involves ensuring that the Government and federal public service abide in a proactive way by the Official Languages Act. I receive complaints directly from members of the public concerning federal institutions. I investigate them and recommend corrective action when necessary. My office receives almost 1,000 complaints every year. Most come from people who did not receive service in the official language of their choice when they were entitled to it, but we also investigate complaints relating to language of work and the federal government's obligation to support the development of official language communities.

In a spirit of supporting federal institutions in the implementation of their obligations, and in order to ensure that the language rights of citizens, employees and communities are fully respected, I am reviewing other methods that could be added to the investigations, audits and report cards that we already use. I plan on expanding this role through intervention mechanisms that are based on a more effective dispute resolution process and the prevention of problems that cause these disputes. Through co-operation initiatives and a comprehensive approach, we can deal with the issues at federal institutions and, I hope, get better results.

But linguistic duality is not limited to service to the public. So then, what are the other characteristics of an organization that fully respects linguistic duality?

There are obvious things, of course: interacting with Francophone co-workers in French and vice versa; ensuring all communications to staff are in both languages; taking the same care in both languages when preparing memos and other documents.

There is also the ability to communicate in either language, depending on the need, between the different regions and Ottawa, or even discussing with “stakeholder groups,” to use a term that is widely used and understood in the federal government, in their language.

I would like to elaborate on this last point.

Since 2005, Part VII of the Official Languages Act now stipulates that institutions must consult official language minority communities to propose “positive measures” to support their development and promote linguistic duality. Cases of non-compliance may be subject to investigations by my office and, eventually, legal remedy.

That seems to be clear enough. Except that the expression “positive measures” has never been used before in legislation, and the Act does not provide a definition. Some people think this is a problem, but I don’t. On the contrary, this leaves the door wide open for a wide range of initiatives adapted to the mission and resources of each federal institution. The only criterion to which I refer in my annual report is that positive measures have to produce real results.

For example, Parks Canada in Jasper, Alberta gives free access to its facilities to the local Francophone association, and in exchange the association offers French courses to Parks Canada employees and members of the community. This is a good example of what can be done at the local level. Here are a few more:

  • The National Film Board offers training workshops to up-and-coming Francophone filmmakers in Ontario. A similar program exists in Acadia for animated films.
  • In Winnipeg, bilingual service centres have been set up in co-operation with municipal, provincial and federal governments to offer a range of French-language services under one roof.
  • At the national level, VIA Rail wanted to do its part as well. As a result, this Crown corporation ended up becoming one of the main sponsors of this summer’s Francophone and Acadian Community Summit.
  • And we can’t forget about the initiatives to promote linguistic duality. Already in 1999, well before the Act was amended, Revenue Canada published and distributed to the general public a series of fact sheets that contained information on the Francophone communities in each province.

It can be as simple as providing access to meeting rooms or telecommunications equipment from time to time, or providing distribution lists, locations where they can promote events, or access to data or expertise your organization possesses.

In short, any action that promotes community development or official languages can be considered a positive measure.

Part VII may require some institutions to modify their policies and programs so the official language communities are treated fairly, rather than simply treated in the same way. But in many cases where the institution's programs have no direct impact on official language communities, taking positive measures is not necessarily difficult or complicated. This seems to be the case for CMHC.

I think that you have already understood this quite well. When I attended the Francophone and Acadian Community Summit this summer, the CMHC logo was prominent, identifying you as one of the major sponsors of this great event. I know that you also have ties with the Quebec Community Groups Network, which is the major round table for Anglophone community organizations in Quebec. I have no doubt that you will be able to build on this co-operation and continue doing what you have always done: help people build communities.

I would therefore like to use our remaining time to discuss how you incorporate linguistic duality into your activities at CMHC and the actions you can take to better achieve your goals. I hope that today’s meeting will mark the start of a closer relationship between your organization and the Office of the Commissioner.

Thank you!


1 Amal Henein and Françoise Morissette, Made in Canada Leadership: Wisdom from the Nation's Best and Brightest on the Art and Practice of Leadership (Canada: John Wiley and Sons, 2007).

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 6 décembre 2007

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les langues officielles, une compétence de leadership
pour la fonction publique

 Notes pour une allocution à la haute direction et aux employés de
la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement 


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Bonjour,

Il y a un peu plus d’un an, après une carrière de 35 ans en journalisme, je suis devenu commissaire aux langues officielles. Je suis donc passé du statut d’observateur intéressé – passionné! – du débat linguistique canadien à celui d’agent du Parlement.

Au cours de mes nombreuses rencontres avec des Canadiens et des Canadiennes  au cours de la dernière année, j’ai souvent trouvé utile de rappeler comment le Canada en était venu à élaborer sa politique linguistique. J’aimerais donc commencer par faire un très bref rappel historique.

Retournons 45 ans en arrière, soit en 1962.

En 1962, un certain nombre de facteurs ont contribué à faire de la politique linguistique un enjeu.

Au printemps, le FLQ, le Front de libération du Québec, faisait exploser les premières bombes terroristes au Québec.

À Ottawa, comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui, le pays était dirigé par un gouvernement minoritaire conservateur dont le chef provenait de l’Ouest. Ni les Conservateurs ni les Libéraux n’avaient réussi à obtenir la pluralité des votes en raison de leur incapacité à remporter plus que quelques sièges dans le Québec francophone.

Pour ajouter à cela, un groupe de 26 députés du Québec—presque tous des francophones unilingues—ont commencé à remettre en question l’hypothèse discrète mais acceptée par la grande majorité que ce qui compte se déroule en anglais.

Le président des Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada, une société d’État à l’époque, déclarait devant un comité de la Chambre des communes qu’aucun de ses 17 vice­‑présidents n’étaient Canadiens français, laissant entendre qu’il était impossible de trouver des francophones compétents. Cette déclaration a déclenché de massives manifestations dans toutes les universités francophones du Québec.

Dans ce contexte, Lester B. Pearson, alors chef du Parti libéral et chef de l’opposition, demandait, le 18 décembre 1962, la création d’une commission d’enquête. « Sommes‑nous prêts à donner à tous les jeunes Canadiens une véritable occasion de devenir vraiment bilingues? », demandait‑il.

En 1963, le gouvernement de Lester Pearson crée la Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme qui, dans un rapport préliminaire publié en 1965, choque de nombreux Canadiens anglophones en déclarant que le Canada vit l’une des plus grandes crises de son histoire.

Dans ses recommandations, la Commission propose un nouveau partenariat entre les Canadiens francophones et anglophones. Le gouvernement du Canada fonctionnerait désormais dans les deux langues et les provinces seraient encouragées à offrir des services au public dans la langue de la minorité, là où la demande le justifie. On prendrait aussi des mesures supplémentaires pour reconnaître la contribution et le patrimoine des diverses communautés culturelles.

En 1967, Pierre Trudeau, alors ministre de la Justice, classe les droits linguistiques en deux catégories : le droit d’apprendre et le droit d’utiliser. Toute notre conception des droits linguistiques, bâtie au fil des 40 années qui suivront, repose sur ces deux piliers.

La première Loi sur les langues officielles du gouvernement fédéral entre en vigueur en 1969. Elle proclame que le français et l’anglais ont un statut égal au sein de toutes les institutions fédérales et énonce les critères démographiques qui déterminent l’offre de services bilingues. De plus, elle crée le poste de commissaire aux langues officielles, ombudsman neutre sur le plan politique, chargé d’être la « conscience active » des Canadiens en matière de langues officielles. Je suis le sixième à occuper ce poste.

La Loi est amendée en 1988, notamment pour garantir aux employés fédéraux dans certaines régions le droit de travailler dans leur langue. Aujourd’hui, elle inclut également un engagement à appuyer les communautés de langue officielle et la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

Enfin, en novembre 2005, le Parlement du Canada renforce la partie VII de la Loi. Cette section traite de l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral à promouvoir la pleine reconnaissance et l’usage du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne. Elle engage d’autant plus le gouvernement de soutenir l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

Ces quelques faits nous rappellent que, au-delà des normes, des directives et des tests, la dualité linguistique canadienne est d’abord une valeur fondamentale du pays.

Cette affirmation a des répercussions particulières sur toute institution qui cherche à exercer un rôle de chef de file national dans son domaine d’activités. Cela est vrai dans le milieu des affaires et dans le sport autant que sur le plan culturel. Cela est doublement vrai pour les institutions fédérales, qui sont au service du public.

C’est pour cela que la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement est soumise à la Loi sur les langues officielles. Vous êtes les leaders nationaux, des innovateurs dans le domaine de l’habitation. Je trouve intéressant qu’à sa fondation, en 1946, la SCHL ait d’abord eu comme mission d’appuyer les militaires qui revenaient d’Europe avec l’espoir de reprendre leur vie civile. Vous aidez aujourd’hui les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à construire leur vie et à fonder un foyer, qu’ils soient nés ici ou ailleurs dans le monde.

Bref, vous aidez ces gens à se construire un pays. Or, le Canada s’est construit en français et an anglais. Encore aujourd’hui, ces deux langues sont un pont entre nous tous, les deux langues de communication d’une population diversifiée et en constante évolution.

Selon les données du recensement qui ont été rendues publiques mardi, on compte toujours huit millions de francophones au Canada, dont sept millions au Québec. De ceux-ci, quatre millions d’entre eux ne parlent pas du tout l’anglais. Les institutions fédérales doivent être capables de communiquer avec ces gens et de comprendre le monde dans lequel ils vivent.

Pourtant, les exigences linguistiques en vigueur dans les institutions fédérales sont trop souvent perçues comme des fardeaux plutôt que comme des occasions d’exercer son leadership. On les voit comme des lacunes à combler et non comme des atouts à acquérir, comme des obstacles à franchir au lieu d’outils de communication.

Mon message est celui-ci : la dualité linguistique est une valeur qui doit être vécue à tous les niveaux de votre organisation. Elle a toujours fait partie de votre mission et de votre rôle de chef de file national.

Dans leur récent livre intitulé Leadership : sagesse, pratique, développement, une étude sur le leadership au Canada, Amal Henein et Françoise Morissette cernent ce qu’ils appellent les cinq piliers du leadership canadien : l’harmonie, l’intégrité, la qualité, l’esprit d’initiative et l’inclusivité1. Le fait de servir les Canadiens et les Canadiennes et de superviser les fonctionnaires dans la langue de leur choix est tout à fait conforme à ces valeurs.

Fait intéressant, le choix de leaders provenant des secteurs public et privé, et des coopératives qu’ont fait Henein et Morissette était vaste et représentatif : 27 p. cent des personnes interrogées étaient francophones, mais seulement 10 p. cent d’entre ont indiqué qu'elles étaient bilingues. En d’autres mots, au moins 17 p. cent des leaders, et donc plus de la moitié des francophones, étaient des francophones unilingues. Cette réalité, c’est-à‑dire le nombre important de Canadiens francophones unilingues ayant réussi, passe souvent inaperçue au Canada anglais. Mais c’est l’une des raisons fondamentales des politiques linguistiques fédérales : faire en sorte que les Canadiens francophones, qu’ils soient bilingues ou unilingues, obtiennent d’aussi bons services du gouvernement fédéral que les Canadiens anglophones.

Même s’il s’agit d’une composante essentielle d’un service de qualité, la valeur de la dualité linguistique ne fait pas encore partie intégrante des institutions fédérales. Elle demeure un potentiel peu exploité alors qu’à mon avis elle constitue un aspect fondamental du renouvellement d’une organisation comme la vôtre.

Autrement dit, chaque fois qu’un citoyen a de la difficulté à obtenir des services dans sa langue, qu’on lui demande « s’il désire s’adresser à quelqu’un qui parle français », la perception s’accentue que la dualité linguistique de l’institution s’arrête à la petite affiche bleue annonçant un service bilingue.

Vous connaissez déjà un succès considérable sur ce plan. Le personnel du Commissariat est là pour vous aider à poursuivre vos efforts

Mon rôle d’ombudsman linguistique consiste à veiller à ce que le gouvernement et la fonction publique fédérale se conforment de façon proactive à la Loi sur les langues officielles. Je reçois des plaintes directement du public concernant les institutions fédérales. Je fais enquête, puis je recommande des mesures correctives au besoin. Le Commissariat reçoit quelque 1000 plaintes par année, la plupart provenant d’individus qui n’ont pas obtenu de services dans la langue officielle de leur choix, alors qu’ils y avaient droit. Nous examinons aussi des plaintes qui concernent, entre autres, la langue de travail et l’obligation de soutenir l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle.

Soucieux d’appuyer les institutions fédérales dans la mise en œuvre de leurs obligations et de voir les droits linguistiques du public, des employés et des communautés pleinement respectés, j’examine d’autres façons de faire qui pourraient s’ajouter aux enquêtes, aux vérifications et aux bulletins de rendement existants. J’envisage d’étoffer ce rôle au moyen de mécanismes d’intervention axés sur une résolution plus efficace des différends et la prévention des problèmes qui suscitent ces différends. Grâce à des initiatives de collaboration et à l’adoption d’une approche globale, nous pourrons traiter les enjeux au sein des institutions fédérales et obtenir, je l’espère, davantage de résultats.

Mais la dualité linguistique ne se limite pas au service au public. Quelles sont donc les autres caractéristiques d’une organisation qui respecte pleinement la dualité linguistique?

Il y a, bien sûr, les gestes évidents : les superviseurs entretiennent des rapports en français avec les collègues francophones et vice versa; toutes les communications à l’intention du personnel sont transmises dans les deux langues; la rédaction des notes de service et des autres documents reçoit la même attention dans les deux langues.

Il y a aussi la capacité  de communiquer dans l’une ou l’autre langue, selon les besoins, entre les différentes régions et Ottawa. Ou encore celle d’échanger dans leur langue avec les « groupes d’intervenants », pour employer une expression largement utilisée et comprise au fédéral.

Laissez-moi élaborer sur ce dernier point.

Depuis 2005, la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles prévoit que les institutions doivent consulter les communautés de langue officielle, entre autres, en vue de proposer des « mesures positives » pour appuyer leur développement et promouvoir la dualité linguistique. Les cas de non-conformité peuvent faire l’objet d’enquêtes du Commissariat et, éventuellement, de recours judiciaires.

Cela paraît clair. Sauf que l’expression « mesures positives » n’a jamais été utilisée auparavant par le législateur et que la Loi n’en fournit pas la définition.

Certains voient cela comme un problème. Pas moi. Au contraire, cela laisse la porte grande ouverte à une vaste gamme d’initiatives, adaptées à la mission et aux moyens de chaque institution fédérale. Le seul critère auquel je fais référence dans mon rapport annuel, c’est qu’une mesure positive doit produire un effet réel.

C’est ainsi que Parcs Canada à Jasper, en Alberta, donne gratuitement accès à des locaux à l’association francophone locale, en échange de quoi cette association offre des cours de français aux employés de Parcs Canada et aux membres de la collectivité. C’est un bon exemple de ce qui peut être fait au niveau local. En voici d’autres que j’aime bien citer :

  • L’Office national du film offre des ateliers de formation aux cinéastes francophones de la relève de l’Ontario. Un programme semblable existe en Acadie pour les films d’animation.
  • À Winnipeg, des centres de services bilingues ont été mis sur pied grâce à une collaboration entre les gouvernements municipal, provincial et fédéral, afin d’offrir sous un même toit une gamme de services en français.
  • À l’échelle nationale, Via Rail se demandait bien comment faire sa part. La société d’État a fini par devenir l’un des principaux commanditaires du Sommet des communautés francophones et acadiennes cet été.
  • N’oublions pas les initiatives de promotion de la dualité linguistique. Déjà, en 1999, bien avant l’amendement de la Loi, Revenu Canada avait publié et distribué au grand public une série de fascicules offrant des informations sur les communautés francophones de chaque province.

Il peut simplement s’agir de donner accès à des salles de réunion ou à de l’équipement de télécommunication. Ou bien de fournir des listes de distribution ou des lieux où accueillir des événements de la communauté. Ou encore, de fournir l’accès à des données ou à des connaissances spécialisées.

En somme, toute action qui favorise le développement de la communauté ou la promotion des langues officielles peut être considérée comme une mesure positive.

La partie VII peut obliger certaines institutions à ajuster leurs politiques et leurs programmes de façon à ce que les communautés de langue officielle soient traitées de façon équitable, plutôt que simplement de la même façon. Mais dans beaucoup de cas où les programmes de l’institution n’ont pas un impact direct sur les communautés de langue officielle, il n’est pas nécessairement lourd ou compliqué de prendre des mesures positives. Cela me semble être le cas pour la SCHL.

Je pense que vous l’avez déjà bien compris. Lors de mon passage au Sommet des communautés francophones et acadiennes cet été, le logo de la SCHL était en évidence, vous identifiant comme l’un des commanditaires majeurs de ce grand événement. Je sais que vous entretenez également des liens avec le Quebec Community Groups Network, qui est la grande table de concertation des organismes communautaires anglophones du Québec. Je n’ai aucun doute que vous saurez bâtir sur cette collaboration pour continuer à faire ce que vous avez toujours fait : aider les gens à construire des communautés.

J’aimerais donc prendre le temps qu’il nous reste pour discuter de comment vous intégrez la dualité linguistique au sein de vos activités à la SCHL et des gestes que vous pouvez poser pour mieux atteindre vos objectifs. J’espère que la rencontre d’aujourd’hui marquera le début d’une relation plus soutenue entre votre organisme et le Commissariat.

Merci!



1 Amal Henein et Françoise Morissette, Leadership : sagesse, pratique, développement : une recherche d’envergure sur l’exercice et le développement du leadership au Canada, Éditions de l’Université de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, 2007.