ARCHIVED - Vancouver, December 2, 2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notes for a media statement on the occasion of the launch of the study
Raising our Game for Vancouver 2010: Towards a Canadian Model of
Linguistic Duality in International Sport


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Good morning.

Today, I am pleased to be launching the study Raising our Game for Vancouver 2010: Towards a Canadian Model of Linguistic Duality in International Sport.

Given the nature of my work as Commissioner of Official Languages, my interventions are often in response to a problem that has been identified within the federal government or federal institutions.

This study is different. It examines, from an official languages perspective, the preparations for the Olympic Winter Games that will be held here in Vancouver. The purpose of the study is to make recommendations to the Organizing Committee for the 2010 Games, to the City of Vancouver and to Canadian Heritage, while there is still time to make adjustments. I did not want simply to arrive at the scene after the Games saying “this is what they should have done.”

Such a study would not have been possible without the cooperation of VANOC and its CEO, as well as Canadian Heritage. Mr. Furlong’s commitment was apparent from my first meeting with him, and the eagerness of the team he has working with him has been striking. The study also shows that VANOC has developed a sound vision of linguistic duality that accurately reflects Canada’s character.

VANOC must now put in place the necessary resources in order to make this vision a reality next year: for the public, the athletes and the media from around the world. Only through a great deal of effort and attention to detail will VANOC succeed in making the Games truly bilingual.

Why is language so important in the context of these Olympic Games?

English and French are our two official languages, but they are also the official languages of the Olympic Movement. These two languages are spoken every day from coast to coast, as mother tongues and as second languages. It’s up to us to offer visitors a truly Canadian experience of the Olympic Winter Games, enhanced by the warmth of British Columbians, in the heart of one of the most majestic regions on the planet.

The 2010 Games are a golden opportunity for Canada to show an image of linguistic duality to the world and to showcase our success and pride in being a country with two official languages. The expectations are high, and we want to show ourselves at our best, from every angle.

My team and I have therefore looked at the state of VANOC’s preparation while considering several aspects:

  • bilingual services to the public;
  • bilingual services to the athletes, coaches, officials and other members of the delegations;
  • the reflection of Canada’s linguistic duality in the hosting of the Games.

The results of the study are encouraging. Collaboration agreements have been established with partners from the Canadian Francophonie, namely the Fédération des francophones de la Colombie-Britannique, the Canadian Foundation for Cross-Cultural Dialogue and the governments of Quebec and New Brunswick. The relationship with Francophone communities is solid and fruitful. The linguistic aspect of the Games was taken into account throughout the planning process.

Organizing the Olympic Games is a colossal task, fraught with considerable obstacles. The study highlights some major challenges that need to be closely monitored, and proposes 18 measures to ensure that VANOC and Canadian Heritage can hit the ground running on February 12, 2010. These recommendations mainly address the recruitment of bilingual volunteers, simultaneous interpretation and translation services, and signage.

It is crucial that sufficient resources be devoted to translation and simultaneous interpretation services, especially since the need for these services will continue to grow as we approach the Games. VANOC must also develop an effective strategy for recruiting a high number of bilingual volunteers in British Columbia and in other parts of the country as well. Achieving critical mass is crucial to ensuring efficient bilingual service while also addressing needs in other languages.

This report is a snapshot of a work in progress. While it was being drafted, I had the opportunity to share ideas with Mr. Furlong on the challenges that my office has identified. I will let Mr. Furlong tell you what his organization has already done to follow up on the discussions that led to the drafting of this report. I want to acknowledge the work that has already been accomplished, and to stress that the steps taken thus far bode well for the future.

Other organizations besides VANOC are also responsible for ensuring the success of the Games in terms of quality service.

As an officer of the Canadian parliament, I have reviewed VANOC’s obligations in light of the Multiparty Agreement of which Canadian Heritage, as the federal government’s representative, is a signatory. This is why some of my recommendations are directed at Canadian Heritage’s Games Secretariat, which must work with the federal public service, and also at its provincial, municipal and community partners. Specifically, I ask the Secretariat to facilitate VANOC’s access to the resources of the federal government’s Translation Bureau.

My staff will continue to monitor progress on the Games’ preparations, so as to advise the Organizing Committee and the Games Secretariat. I will be reporting on the outcome after the Games. Our hope is that the 2010 Vancouver Games will be so successful that other Canadian cities will soon be chosen to host other Games down the road.

In the coming months, the Office of the Commissioner will undertake an awareness campaign within federal institutions, to encourage them to take the necessary steps to promote linguistic duality. Linguistic duality must be regarded as a fundamental Canadian value at the 2010 Games. It is also critical that everyone—athletes, their families, visitors, journalists, and so on—are given the opportunity to live the Games in the official language of their choice, particularly in their dealings with federal institutions.

I hope that the Organizing Committee, with the cooperation of its government, community and private partners, succeeds in delivering Games that fully respect the official languages of the Olympic Movement and of our country. The praise it would then receive from Canadians and from its many visitors would be most highly deserved.

Thank you.

ARCHIVÉE - Vancouver, le 2 décembre 2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notes pour une déclaration aux médias dans le cadre du lancement de l’étude
Vancouver 2010, une occasion en or : Viser un modèle canadien
de la dualité linguistique dans le sport international


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Bonjour,

Je suis heureux de lancer aujourd’hui l’étude Vancouver 2010, une occasion en or : Viser un modèle canadien de la dualité linguistique dans le sport international.

De par la nature même de mon travail de commissaire aux langues officielles, mes interventions sont souvent un constat après coup d’un problème survenu au gouvernement fédéral ou au sein des institutions fédérales.

Cette étude est différente. Elle examine les préparatifs des Jeux olympiques d’hiver qui auront lieu ici à Vancouver, sous l’angle des langues officielles. Elle a comme objectif de faire des recommandations au Comité organisateur des Jeux de 2010, à la Ville de Vancouver et à Patrimoine canadien, alors qu’il est encore temps d’apporter des correctifs. Je ne voulais pas simplement arriver sur la scène après les Jeux en affirmant : « Voici ce qu’ils auraient dû faire. »

Une telle étude aurait été impossible sans la collaboration du COVAN et de son directeur général, de même que Patrimoine canadien. L’engagement de Monsieur Furlong m’est apparu évident dès ma première rencontre avec lui, et la bonne volonté de son équipe de collaborateurs a été sans pareille. L’étude démontre d’ailleurs que le COVAN s’est doté d’une vision solide de la dualité linguistique qui reflète bien la nature du Canada.

Il doit maintenant mettre en place les ressources nécessaires pour que cette vision devienne réalité l’année prochaine : pour le public, les athlètes et les médias du monde entier. Ce n’est qu’en y mettant les efforts nécessaires et en assurant une préparation minutieuse que le COVAN réussira à offrir des Jeux véritablement bilingues.

Pourquoi donner autant d’importance à la question linguistique dans le cadre de ces Jeux olympiques?

Le français et l’anglais sont nos deux langues officielles, mais elles sont aussi les langues officielles du mouvement olympique. Ces deux langues sont parlées quotidiennement d’un bout à l’autre de notre pays, comme langues maternelles et comme langues secondes. Il n’en tient qu’à nous d’offrir aux visiteurs des Jeux olympiques d’hiver véritablement canadiens, rehaussés de la chaleur des habitants de la Colombie-Britannique, au cœur de l’une des régions les plus majestueuses de la planète.

Les Jeux de 2010 sont une occasion en or pour le Canada de montrer une image de notre dualité linguistique au monde entier, de souligner notre réussite et notre fierté en tant que pays avec deux langues officielles. Les attentes sont grandes, et nous voulons nous montrer sous notre meilleur jour, à tous points de vue.

Mon équipe et moi avons donc examiné l’état de préparation du COVAN sous plusieurs angles :

  • Les services bilingues au public;
  • Les services bilingues aux athlètes, entraîneurs, officiels et autres membres des délégations;
  • Le reflet de la dualité linguistique canadienne dans la présentation des Jeux. 

Le bilan que fait l’étude est encourageant. Des ententes de collaboration ont été établies avec des partenaires de la francophonie canadienne, soit la Fédération des francophones de la Colombie-Britannique, la Fondation canadienne pour le dialogue des cultures et les gouvernements du Québec et du Nouveau-Brunswick. Les relations avec les communautés francophones sont soutenues et fructueuses. Tout le processus de planification tient compte de l’aspect linguistique des Jeux.

Organiser des Jeux olympiques est une tâche colossale, et les défis sont considérables. L’étude met en lumière certains défis importants à surveiller avec attention et propose 18 mesures à prendre pour que le COVAN et Patrimoine canadien soient fin prêts lorsque le signal du départ retentira, le 12 février 2010. Ces recommandations concernent notamment le recrutement de bénévoles bilingues, les services d’interprétation simultanée et de traduction, et la signalisation.

Il est essentiel que les ressources affectées à la traduction et à l’interprétation simultanée soient suffisantes, d’autant plus que les besoins ne cesseront d’augmenter à l’approche des Jeux. Le COVAN doit aussi se doter d’une stratégie efficace qui lui permettra de recruter un grand nombre de bénévoles bilingues en Colombie-Britannique, mais aussi dans les autres régions du pays. L’atteinte d’une certaine masse critique est nécessaire pour assurer un service bilingue efficace, en plus des besoins linguistiques dans d’autres langues.

Ce rapport est un aperçu d’un projet en cours. Lors de la rédaction de ce dernier, j’ai eu l’occasion d’échanger des idées avec Monsieur Furlong sur les défis que mon bureau a recensés. Je laisserai Monsieur Furlong vous dire ce que son organisation a déjà entrepris pour donner suite aux discussions qui ont mené à la rédaction de ce rapport. Je tiens à reconnaître le travail qui a déjà été accompli et à souligner que les gestes posés à ce jour sont de bon augure pour l’avenir.

En plus du COVAN, d’autres organismes ont également des responsabilités pour faire des Jeux un succès au chapitre d’un service de qualité.

En tant que haut fonctionnaire du Parlement canadien, j’ai examiné les obligations du COVAN sous l’angle de l’Entente multipartite dont Patrimoine canadien, à titre de représentant du gouvernement fédéral, est signataire. C’est pourquoi certaines de mes recommandations s’adressent au Secrétariat des Jeux à Patrimoine canadien, qui doit travailler avec la fonction publique fédérale, mais aussi à ses partenaires au niveau provincial, municipal et communautaire. Je demande notamment au Secrétariat de faciliter l’accès du COVAN aux ressources du Bureau de la traduction du gouvernement fédéral.

Mon personnel continuera à surveiller l’évolution des préparatifs, afin de conseiller le Comité organisateur et le Secrétariat des Jeux. Je ferai rapport du résultat après les Jeux. Nous espérons tous que les Jeux de Vancouver en 2010 connaissent un tel succès que d’autres villes canadiennes seront bientôt sélectionnées pour d’autres Jeux dans les années à venir.

Au cours des prochains mois, le Commissariat entreprendra une campagne de sensibilisation des institutions fédérales pour les encourager à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour faire la promotion de la dualité linguistique. Cette dualité doit être perçue comme une valeur canadienne fondamentale dans le contexte des Jeux de 2010. Il est également primordial d’offrir à chacun – athlètes, leurs familles, visiteurs, journalistes, etc. – la chance de vivre les Jeux dans la langue officielle de son choix, particulièrement lors d’entretiens avec des institutions fédérales.

J’espère qu’avec ses partenaires gouvernementaux, communautaires et privés, le Comité organisateur arrivera à livrer des Jeux qui respectent pleinement les langues officielles du mouvement olympique et de notre pays. Les éloges qu’il recevra alors de la part des Canadiens et des nombreux visiteurs seront bien méritées.

Merci.