ARCHIVED - Gatineau, May 2, 2007

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notes for an address at the conference

Terminologie : approches transdiciplinaires

 


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery 

Ladies and gentlemen,

I am happy to be with you tonight and to join in honouring the work that you do. As language specialists, and in particular as terminologists, you are the ones who make the language evolve and contribute to its transformation, so that it remains the reflection of a continuously evolving culture and society.

I think it is entirely appropriate that your French-language conference on terminology is being held in Canada. To say that Canada is a bilingual country has almost become a cliché, but I think it is useful to review certain facts about our linguistic duality, not only for those of you who are here from abroad, but also for my fellow Canadians, who may not be aware of the statistics and certain events.

First, let’s not forget that French is the mother tongue of 23% of Canadians, including four out of five Quebeckers. Canada has more Francophones1 than Belgium and Switzerland combined.2

About four million unilingual Francophones live in Quebec, the only Canadian province that has a Francophone majority. However, there is also large population of Anglophones there, as English is the language of choice of some 900,000 people in the province.

About one million Francophones live outside Quebec. Three-quarters of them live in Ontario and New Brunswick. Francophones make up a third of the population of New Brunswick, while in the rest of the country they represent less than 5% of the population. As a result, the National Capital Region is one of the important places in Canada where English and French are in daily contact, but it is not the only one.

In addition, more than 50 Aboriginal languages are also spoken in Canada. The three most widely spoken Aboriginal languages are Cree (80,000 people), Inuktitut (30,000 people) and Ojibway (23,500 people). In the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, several Aboriginal languages have official status equivalent to that of English and French.

Canada is a country of immigrants. Today, nearly one in five Canadians was born outside of the country and one in six speaks neither English nor French as a mother tongue. However, nine out of ten Canadians speak either English or French at home.

In 1969, after becoming aware of these realities, the Canadian government adopted the Official Languages Act, which was later amended in 1988 and 2005. Among its key elements, this legislation: 

  • Declares that English and French have equal status in all federal institutions;
  • Creates the position of Commissioner of Official Languages, a non-partisan ombudsman who is to be the “active conscience” of Canadians in official language matters;
  • Provides for the use of English or French in federal courts and criminal proceedings;
  • Gives citizens the right to receive all or key services from the federal government in their official language of choice, under a 5% sliding scale based on the relative and absolute size of the local minority population. There are also special requirements regarding the travelling public, health and safety;
  • Gives federal government employees the right to work in the official language of their choice in designated regions;
  • Ensures the equitable participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians in federal institutions; and
  • Finally, sets out the federal government’s commitment to promote linguistic duality and support the development of official language communities.

These are ambitious objectives and 40 years later the federal government is still not keeping all of its promises. Nevertheless, the adoption of the Act has forced the government, educational institutions and business to find innovative ways to meet a variety of new challenges related to language.

These include, for example, French immersion programs, created in 1965, in which there are now 300,000 students enrolled across Canada. There is also the “language industry,” a field in which Canada has now become a world leader thanks to a number of major accomplishments.

In addition, there is the federal government’s Translation Bureau,3 with some 1,750 employees, including 1,150 translators, interpreters and terminologists across the country. The Bureau offers a complete range of linguistic products and services: interpretation, translation and multilingual services. Most of you probably know about the TERMIUM4 terminology bank, which contains 3.5 million terminological and linguistic records. 

I would also like to mention the remarkable work of the Office québécoise de la langue française5 for its research on language and terminology.

Of course, there is also the new Language Technologies Research Centre. The Centre’s research will benefit from the language processing activities undertaken by the National Research Council’s Institute for Information Technology.6

According to a recent study by Statistics Canada, published in March 2006, the Canadian language industry is made up of more than 600 private companies, with revenues of over $400 million a year. All signs indicate that this industry will continue to grow.

As Canadians, we are well aware of the value, in terms of economic benefits, of having two official languages of international importance. As a bilingual and multicultural society, we also understand we cannot be fair to everyone if we do not ensure fairness and respect between the two major language groups.

We live in a democratic, officially bilingual society, which is committed to providing everyone with equal rights and opportunities. Canada’s language policy is based on this spirit of respect: respect for the public, which has the right to be served in their official language of choice in certain federal offices; respect for employees, who have the right to work in their language; and respect for our country’s two language communities, which contribute to Canada’s prosperity.

This is a large part of the message that I am trying to send to Canadians. It is also an ideal that has had an important place in our history and that will continue to bear fruit in the future.

Thank you.


1 The terms “Francophone” and “Anglophone” refer to individuals who have either of the two official languages of Canada as their mother tongue, regardless of their ethnic origins.

2 There are approximately 6.7 million Francophones in Canada, 4.2 million in Belgium and 1.3 million in Switzerland.

3 www.translationbureau.gc.ca/index.php?lang=english&cont=001Government site

4 http://www.termium.gc.ca/Government site

5 http://www.oqlf.gouv.qc.ca/External site

6 http://www.iit-iti.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/Government site

ARCHIVÉE - Gatineau, le 2 mai 2007

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notes pour une allocution au colloque

Terminologie : approches transdisciplinaires

 


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Mesdames les Présidentes, Monsieur le Doyen,

Mesdames et Messieurs,

Je suis heureux de me joindre à vous ce soir et d’honorer le travail que vous faites. Comme spécialistes de la langue et, en particulier, en tant que terminologues, vous êtes de ceux qui font évoluer la langue et qui contribuent à la transformer. Ainsi, la langue demeure le reflet d’une culture et d’une société en constante évolution.

Que votre colloque en français sur la terminologie ait lieu au Canada me semble tout à fait approprié. De dire que le Canada est un pays bilingue est presque devenu un cliché, mais il me semble utile de rappeler certains faits sur lesquels s’appuie la dualité linguistique. Je le fais pour ceux d’entre vous qui arrivent de l’étranger, mais aussi pour mes concitoyens qui seraient peu au fait des statistiques et de certains événements.

Pour commencer, il faut savoir que le français est la langue maternelle de vingt-trois pour cent des Canadiens, y compris de quatre Québécois sur cinq. Le Canada compte d’ailleurs plus de francophones1 que la Belgique et la Suisse réunies2.

Environ 4 millions de francophones unilingues vivent au Québec, l’unique province canadienne où la majorité est francophone. Une population importante d’anglophones y habite néanmoins, puisque l’anglais est la langue de choix de quelque 900 000 personnes dans la province.

Environ un million de francophones vit à l’extérieur du Québec. Les trois quarts d’entre eux demeurent en Ontario et au Nouveau-Brunswick. Les francophones constituent le tiers de la population du Nouveau-Brunswick, tandis qu’ailleurs au pays, ils représentent moins de 5 % de la population. Ainsi, la région de la capitale nationale est l’un des endroits importants au pays où le français et l’anglais sont en contact quotidien, mais il n’est pas le seul.

Par ailleurs, il existe aussi au Canada plus de 50 langues autochtones. Les trois langues autochtones parlées par le plus de locuteurs sont le cri (80 000 personnes), l’inuktitut (30 000 personnes) et l’ojibwa (23 500 personnes). Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, plusieurs des langues autochtones ont un statut officiel équivalant à celui de l’anglais et du français.

Le Canada est un pays d’immigrants. Aujourd’hui, près d’un Canadien sur cinq est né hors du Canada et une personne sur six n’a ni l’anglais ni le français comme langue maternelle. Toutefois, neuf Canadiens sur dix parlent l’anglais ou le français à la maison.

Après avoir pris acte de ces réalités, le gouvernement canadien a adopté en 1969 la Loi sur les langues officielles, qui a par la suite été modifiée en 1988, puis en 2005. Entre autres, cette loi : 

  • Proclame que le français et l’anglais ont un statut égal au sein de toutes les institutions fédérales;
  • Crée le poste de commissaire aux langues officielles, ombudsman tenu à la neutralité politique, chargé d’être la « conscience active » des Canadiens en matière de langues officielles;
  • Permet l’usage du français ou de l’anglais dans les tribunaux fédéraux et lors des procès au criminel;
  • Donne le droit aux citoyens de recevoir tous les services ou les services principaux du gouvernement fédéral dans la langue officielle de leur choix, selon une échelle progressive de 5 p. 100 fondée sur la population relative et absolue de la minorité locale. Il y a également des exigences particulières en ce qui a trait aux voyageurs, à la santé et à la sécurité;
  • Permet aux employés du gouvernement fédéral de travailler dans la langue officielle de leur choix dans les régions désignées;
  • Garantit la participation équitable des Canadiens francophones et anglophones au sein des institutions fédérales;
  • Enfin, elle souligne l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral à faire la promotion de la dualité linguistique et à appuyer le développement des communautés de langue officielle.

Ce sont là des objectifs ambitieux et quarante ans plus tard, le gouvernement fédéral remplit encore ses promesses bien imparfaitement. Néanmoins, l’adoption de la Loi a forcé le gouvernement, les établissements d’enseignement et les entreprises à trouver des moyens novateurs de relever une gamme de nouveaux défis liés à la langue.

On pense notamment aux programmes d’immersion française, créés en 1965, auxquels sont inscrits aujourd’hui 300 000 élèves du pays. Citons aussi ce qu’on appelle les « industries de la langue », domaine où le Canada s’affirme maintenant comme chef de file mondial grâce à plusieurs grandes réalisations.

Mentionnons également le Bureau de la traduction3 du gouvernement fédéral, qui compte quelque 1 750 employés, dont 1 150 traducteurs, interprètes et terminologues répartis dans tout le pays. Le Bureau offre une gamme complète de produits et de services linguistiques : l’interprétation, la traduction et des services multilingues. La plupart d’entre vous connaissent probablement la banque terminologique TERMIUM4, qui contient 3,5 millions de fiches terminologiques et linguistiques.

Je m’en voudrais de ne pas souligner le travail remarquable de l’Office québécois de la langue française5 dans le domaine de la recherche sur la langue et de la terminologie.

Bien sûr, il y a le nouveau Centre de recherche en technologies langagières. Les recherches du Centre tireront profit, entre autres, des activités de traitement des langues entreprises par l’Institut de technologie de l’information du Conseil national de recherches du Canada6.

Selon une enquête récente de Statistique Canada publiée en mars 2006, l’industrie canadienne de la langue est composée de plus de 600 entreprises privées, qui encaissent des recettes de plus de 400 millions de dollars par année. Tout laisse présager que cette industrie continuera son essor.

Comme Canadiens, nous sommes très conscients de l’importance, au chapitre des échanges commerciaux, des avantages économiques dont jouit une société qui possède deux langues officielles au rayonnement international. Comme société bilingue et multiculturelle, nous comprenons aussi que nous ne pourrons être justes envers tous si nous n’arrivons pas à instaurer l’équité et le respect entre nos deux grands groupes linguistiques.

Nous vivons dans une société démocratique, officiellement bilingue, qui s’est engagée à accorder à tous les mêmes droits et des chances égales. La politique linguistique du Canada s’inscrit dans cet esprit de respect : le respect du public qui a droit d’être servi dans la langue officielle de son choix dans certains bureaux fédéraux, le respect des employés qui ont le droit de travailler dans leur langue ainsi que le respect des deux communautés linguistiques du pays qui contribuent à la prospérité du Canada.

C’est une partie importante du message que je tente de transmettre aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes. C’est aussi un idéal qui a pris une grande place dans notre histoire et qui continuera à porter ses fruits à l’avenir.

Je vous remercie.  



1 Les termes « francophones » et « anglophones » renvoient aux individus ayant pour langue maternelle l’une ou l’autre des deux langues officielles du Canada, et ce, peu importe leur origine ethnique. 

2 Il y a environ 6,7 millions de francophones au Canada; 4,2 millions en Belgique et 1,3 million en Suisse.

3 www.translationbureau.gc.ca/index.php?lang=francais&cont=001Site du gouvernement

4 www.termium.gc.caSite du gouvernement

5 www.oqlf.gouv.qc.caSite externe

6 www.iit-iti.nrc-cnrc.gc.caSite du gouvernement