ARCHIVED - Ottawa, May 1, 2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notes for an Appearance before
the Standing Committee on the Status of Women


Graham Fraser – Commissioner of Official Languages

Check against delivery

Madam Chair and members of the Standing Committee on the Status of Women, 

Thank you for inviting me to talk to you about the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages and to explain to you my mandate as an Officer of Parliament. 

Joining me today are Catherine Scott, Acting Director General, Policy and Communications Branch, and Dominique Lemieux, Director General, Compliance Assurance Branch. 

The past few decades have witnessed the creation of a series of specialized agencies to support Parliament in its role of overseer of public administration.

I would like to commend you for examining the role of agents—also often called Officers—of Parliament. In his recent book The People's House of Commons (University of Toronto Press, 2007) the political scientist David E. Smith notes that there has been little study of our role. "Officers of Parliament either singly or as a collective are largely unexplored phenomena," he writes. (p. 64) 

He points out that there are two broad features that we share: "first, independence from the executive, and second, accountability—this last itself manifested in contrasting ways: officers are accountable through their reports to Parliament, and government's accountability to Parliament is heightened as a result of the officers' activities." (p. 64) In addition, as Smith underscores, I also have the role of "ensuring that language equality remains a defining principle of the constitutional architecture of Canada, its Parliament and its government." (p. 63) 

The institution of Ombudsman has out of necessity grown since its creation.

The factors that have led to the further development of the institution of Ombudsman are well known. Within the last generation or two, the size and complexity of government have increased considerably as much in quality as in quantity.  

Parliament appoints Officers of Parliament to work that is crucial to ensuring the integrity of our democratic system. The Canadian parliamentary agencies led by these Officers are the guardians of the fundamental values of our society. 

Parliament has assigned the Commissioner of Official Languages the role of ombudsman to allow the fulfillment of the mission of protecting language rights and promoting linguistic duality within Canadian society. So that this mission could be fully carried out, Parliament granted him the status of Officer of Parliament and set out the necessary conditions to ensure independence from the government, namely regarding the appointment process and compensation. 

Appointment process and remuneration 

As stated in the Official Languages Act, the Commissioner of Official languages is appointed for seven years by the Governor in Council, by commission under the Great Seal after approval by resolution of the Senate and House of Commons. The nomination can be revoked by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner has the rank and the powers of a deputy head of a department and benefits from the same protections and benefits as a Federal Court judge. 

While the independent status of an Officer of Parliament should also be reflected in the budget process and the accountability process, Officers of Parliament currently do not experience this kind of independence. The budget approval process puts Officers of Parliament in the position of having to request funding from the government, the very entity whose performance they are supposed to be reviewing. This situation, which we believe weakens the independent status of Officers of Parliament, has led a number of us, including the Auditor General, the Chief Electoral Officer, the Privacy Commissioner and myself, to propose the creation of a Parliamentary Panel. This advisory group of parliamentarians, which is currently a pilot project, would be responsible for reviewing our budget applications and how we are carrying out our mandate and managing public funds.  

The other aspect of the Officer of Parliament role that we believe should be reviewed from the perspective of independence is current staffing mechanisms and processes, which are governed and regulated by the Public Service Commission, meaning that the Treasury Board has a certain degree of control over the approval of resource allocation.  

As you can see, the conditions of independence related to Officer of Parliament status raise complex issues and should be clarified and defined in terms of the ultimate goal, which is to enable Officers of Parliament to carry out their social mission with all the credibility and authority that Canadians expect of them.  

As Officers of Parliament, we are working with Treasury Board to develop guidelines that define our relationship. I foresee a productive relationship and hope that this pilot project will become a permanent instrument of Parliament.

Acting independently 

As set out in subsection 56(1) of the Official Languages Act, it is my responsibility to take all actions and measures within my authority with a view to ensuring recognition of the status of each of the official languages and compliance with the spirit and intent of this Act in the administration of the affairs of federal institutions, including any of their activities relating to the advancement of English and French in Canadian society.  Our organization has over 175 employees spread throughout 4 branches and 5 regional offices.  Our annual budget is approximately $19 million. 

Mandate of the Commissioner of Official Languages 

As Commissioner of Official Languages, I see my role as that of a bridge builder between the various actors. Linguistic duality is an essential component of our national identity. I therefore approach my mandate with the objective of encouraging dialogue and creating synergies between Francophone and Anglophone Canadians, citizens of all origins, and federal institutions.  

As my mission is to take every measure necessary to achieve the objectives of the Act, I am taking specific actions in three clearly-defined areas: protection, promotion, and prevention. Under the protection component, I conduct audits, monitor the advancement of English and French, I receive complaints and, as needed, conduct investigations and intervene before the courts. Under promotion, I inform Canadians of their language rights, conduct research and publish studies. I make the public aware of the benefits of linguistic duality, work with federal, provincial and territorial governments, I work closely with official language minority communities and I ensure government takes appropriate measure in support of their development. Under prevention, I develop strategic approaches to finding sustainable solutions.  

Our mandate is to see to the full implementation of the Act while considering in particular the major amendment to Part VII of the Act adopted by Parliament in 2005. All federal institutions are now required to take positive measures to support the development of official language minority communities and promote linguistic duality. 

As ombudsman, I receive close to 1,000 complaints a year. I review them and conduct investigations were warranted. For example, the administrative changes to Status of Women Canada announced in 2006, as part of the expenditure review, resulted in a significant increase in complaints to the Office of the Commissioner by citizens concerned about the impact of budget cuts on agencies that support women in official language minority communities.

Accountability 

The Office of the Commissioner has for many years readily adhered to basic principles such as transparency and accountability to Parliament. An excellent example of our practices is our annual report to Parliament. This report discusses the status of the implementation of the Official Languages Act as well as compliance by the government and institutions subject to the Act. The report also contains recommendations to the government. Regarding internal audits, we have developed our own internal audit policy and we are now subject to the Access to Information Act. 

Challenges awaiting the Office of the Commissioner

In the mid term, the Office of the Commissioner will face new challenges that will lead us to revisit our ongoing operational needs. I am currently reviewing how the Commissioner plays the ombudsman role and studying the effectiveness of this role in contributing to attaining the Act’s objectives. 

To ensure that section 41 (2) of the Official Languages Act is respected, we will have to monitor the level of government commitment to linguistic duality and community participation in drafting government policy. It will therefore be important to call on official language majority communities for participation.  

As an Officer of Parliament, like the other commissioners before me, I fully respect the principles of government policies aimed at ensuring good practices in the management of public funds. I am also determined to ensure that the Office of the Commissioner retains its independence from government and continues to be accountable to Parliament.  

I would be pleased to answer any questions.

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 1er mai 2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comparution devant le Comité permanent de la Condition féminine


Graham Fraser – Commissaire aux langues officielles

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi

Madame la Présidente et membres du Comité permanent de la condition féminine, 

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invité pour vous parler du Commissariat aux langues officielles et pour vous expliquer mon mandat, en tant que haut fonctionnaire du Parlement. 

Je suis accompagné aujourd’hui de Catherine Scott, directrice générale intérimaire à la Direction générale des politiques et des communications, et de Dominique Lemieux, directrice générale à la Direction générale de l’assurance et la conformité. 

Depuis quelques décennies, on a assisté à l’établissement d’institutions spécialisées pour appuyer le Parlement dans son rôle de surveillance de l’administration publique.  

J’aimerais vous féliciter d’examiner le rôle des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement –souvent aussi appelés agents du Parlement. Dans son livre récent, The People’s House of Commons, le politologue David E. Smith note qu’il n’existe que très peu d’études de notre rôle. « Les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, individuellement ou collectivement, demeurent un phénomène peu étudié [traduction] », écrit-il. (p. 64) 

Il souligne qu’il y a deux caractéristiques que nous partageons, « premièrement, l’indépendance de l’exécutif et deuxièmement la reddition de comptes – cette dernière se manifestant de différentes façons : les hauts fonctionnaires doivent répondre de leurs activités par le biais de leurs rapports au Parlement, et la responsabilité du gouvernement envers le Parlement s’en trouve alors renforcée [traduction] »  (p. 64) 

De plus, comme le souligne Smith, j’ai aussi le rôle « d’assurer que l’égalité linguistique demeure un principe déterminant de l’architecture constitutionnelle du Canada, de son Parlement et de son gouvernement [traduction] ». (p. 63)  

Aussi, on note que l'institution d'ombudsman a connu un essor depuis sa création. Les facteurs qui ont contribué à l'essor de l'institution d'ombudsman sont bien connus. Depuis une ou deux générations, la taille et la complexité du gouvernement ont augmenté considérablement, tant du point de vue qualitatif que quantitatif. 

Le Parlement a donc désigné des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement qui exercent des fonctions cruciales, afin d’assurer l’intégrité de notre système démocratique. Ces organismes parlementaires canadiens sont des gardiens de valeurs fondamentales dans notre société. 

Le Parlement a investi le commissaire aux langues officielles du rôle d’ombudsman, afin de lui permettre de remplir sa mission, de protection des droits linguistiques et de la promotion de la dualité linguistique dans la société canadienne. Afin de lui permettre de s’acquitter pleinement de cette mission, le Parlement lui a attribué le statut de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement et a prévu certaines conditions nécessaires visant à assurer son indépendance vis-à-vis du gouvernement, notamment en ce qui concerne le processus de nomination et la rémunération. 

Processus de nomination et rémunération

Tel qu’enchâssé dans la Loi sur les langues officielles, le Commissaire aux langues officielles est nommé pour une période de sept ans par le gouverneur en conseil par commission sous le grand sceau, après approbation par résolution de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat. Sa nomination peut être révoquée par le gouverneur en conseil. Le Commissaire a rang et pouvoirs d’administrateur général de ministère et les modalités salariales du Commissaire sont fixées de sorte à lui procurer les mêmes protections et avantages qu’un juge à la Cour fédérale. 

Bien que le statut d’indépendance d’un haut fonctionnaire du Parlement devrait aussi se manifester dans le cadre du processus budgétaire, et aussi le processus de reddition de comptes, les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement ne bénéficient pas en ce moment d’une telle indépendance. Le processus d’approbation des budgets a pour effet de placer le commissaire et les autres hauts fonctionnaires dans la situation où ils doivent demander des fonds à l’entité même dont ils sont censés examiner le rendement. Cette situation qui, selon nous, affaiblit le statut d’indépendance des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, a amené un certain nombre d’entre nous tels la vérificatrice générale , le directeur général des élections, le commissaire à l’information, la commissaire à la protection de la vie privée et moi-même à proposer l’établissement d’un panel parlementaire. Ce groupe consultatif de travail composé de parlementaires, qui est un projet pilote pour l’instant, serait responsable d’examiner nos demandes budgétaires et la façon dont nous nous acquittons de notre mandat et gérons les fonds publics.  

L’autre aspect du fonctionnement des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement qui, selon nous, devrait être examiné sous le prisme de l’indépendance, est le processus et les mécanismes de dotation actuels qui sont régis et réglementés par la Commission de la fonction publique et qui prévoient que le Conseil du Trésor exerce un certain contrôle sur l’approbation des ressources.  

Comme vous pouvez le constater, les conditions d’indépendance liées au statut de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement soulèvent des questions complexes et méritent d’être clarifiées et définies en fonction de l’objectif ultimement recherché, c’est-à-dire, de permettre aux fonctionnaires du Parlement de remplir la mission sociale dont ils ont été investis avec toute la crédibilité et l’autorité que le public canadien attend d’eux.   

En tant que hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, nous travaillons de concert avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor pour développer des principes directeurs qui définiront notre relation. J’envisage une relation productive et je souhaite que ce projet pilote devienne un instrument permanent du Parlement. 

Agir avec indépendance 

Tel qu’il est défini dans la Loi sur les langues officielles au paragraphe 56(1), il m’incombe de prendre, dans le cadre de ma compétence, toutes les mesures visant à assurer la reconnaissance du statut de chacune des langues officielles et à faire respecter l’esprit de la Loi et l’intention du législateur en ce qui touche l’administration des affaires des institutions fédérales, et notamment la promotion du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne. Notre organisme compte plus de 175 employés répartis entre 4 directions générales et 5 bureaux régionaux. Nous disposons d’un budget annuel d’environ 19 millions de dollars.  

Mandat du commissaire aux langues officielles 

En tant que commissaire aux langues officielles, je considère mon rôle comme celui d’un bâtisseur de ponts entre les divers acteurs. La dualité linguistique constitue une composante essentielle de notre identité nationale. J’aborde donc mon mandat avec l’objectif de favoriser les rapprochements. J’encourage le dialogue et la création d’une synergie entre les Canadiens et les Canadiennes francophones et anglophones, les citoyens de toutes les origines et les institutions fédérales. 

Ayant comme mission de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires en vue de la réalisation des objectifs de la Loi, j’exerce des moyens d’action précis dans trois axes d’activité bien définis : la protection, la promotion et la prévention. Ainsi, sous le volet protection, j’effectue des vérifications, je surveille l’avancement du français et de l’anglais, je reçois des plaintes et, au besoin, je mène des enquêtes et j’interviens devant les tribunaux. Sous le volet promotion, j’informe le public canadien de ses droits linguistiques, j’effectue des recherches et publie des études. Je sensibilise la population aux avantages de la dualité linguistique, j’agis auprès des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, et j’entretiens des liens avec les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et je veille à ce que le gouvernement prenne des mesures pour soutenir leur développement. Dans un esprit de prévention, je développe des approches stratégiques pour arriver à des solutions durables.  

Nous devons veiller à la pleine mise en œuvre de la Loi tout en considérant la dernière modification importante apportée en 2005. En effet, le Parlement a adopté à ce moment une modification à la partie VII de la Loi. Toutes les institutions fédérales ont maintenant l’obligation de prendre des mesures positives pour appuyer le développement des communautés de langue officielle et promouvoir la dualité linguistique. 

En tant qu’ombudsman, je reçois près de 1 000 plaintes par année. Je les examine et, s’il y a lieu, je fais enquête. À titre d’exemple, les changements administratifs annoncés en 2006 à Condition féminine Canada, dans le cadre de l’examen des dépenses, ont donné comme résultat une augmentation importante des plaintes au Commissariat de citoyens préoccupés par l’impact des coupures sur les organismes qui soutiennent les femmes des communautés de langue officielle.

Reddition de comptes 

Le Commissariat adhère d’emblée depuis longtemps à des principes fondamentaux telles la transparence et la reddition de comptes au Parlement. Un exemple éloquent de nos pratiques est le rapport annuel présenté au Parlement. Ce rapport traite de l’état de la mise en œuvre de la Loi ainsi que du respect de celle-ci par le gouvernement et les institutions qui y sont assujetties. Il contient aussi des recommandations à l’intention du gouvernement.

Au sujet de la vérification interne, nous avons développé notre propre politique et sommes désormais assujettis à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.  

Défis qui attendent le Commissariat

À moyen terme, le Commissariat devra relever de nouveaux défis qui nous amèneront à reconsidérer nos besoins opérationnels habituels. Je revois présentement la manière dont le commissaire exerce le rôle d’ombudsman et examine l’efficacité du Commissariat à favoriser la réalisation des objectifs de la Loi. 

Afin de veiller au respect du paragraphe 41(2) de la Loi sur les langues officielles, nous devrons également surveiller l’engagement du gouvernement à l’égard de la dualité linguistique et de la participation des communautés à l’élaboration des politiques gouvernementales. Il sera donc important d’interpeller les communautés majoritaires de langue officielle.  

À titre de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement, à l’instar des commissaires précédents, je respecte pleinement les principes des politiques gouvernementales visant à assurer de bonnes pratiques de gestion des fonds publics. Je suis aussi déterminé à faire en sorte que le Commissariat conserve son indépendance vis-à-vis du gouvernement et continue de rendre des comptes au Parlement.  

C’est avec plaisir que je répondrai à vos questions.