ARCHIVED - Social Development Canada 2005-2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2005-2006 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

Note: On December 12, 2003, the Government of Canada announced the reorganization of Human Resources Development Canada (HRDC) into two separate departments: Human Resources and Skills Development (HRSDC) and Social Development Canada (SDC).

With the launch of Service Canada on September 14, 2005, HRSDC and SDC were subjected to major changes. SDC's workforce fell from 12,000 employees to approximately 1,400 employees. The Department now focuses its activities on social development policies.

For the purposes of this evaluation, the following information deals with the situation within the Department prior to the launch of Service Canada.

SDC developed a People Component for its Management Accountability Framework. The framework was presented to and approved by the Senior Management Committee. Its aim is to create an enabling workplace that ensures respect and support for official languages. It also states that staff will be required to apply principles that show respect for official languages (OL).

SDC currently uses HRDC's OL action plan. However, the Department intends to update this action plan by the end of the fiscal year.

Senior managers are accountable in their performance agreements for the achievement of OL objectives. For example, they are required to increase linguistic capacity and use of both OL in their workplace. OL responsibilities are set out in the People Component of the Management Accountability Framework, which also includes performance indicators. Complaints also make the Department aware of the degree to which its senior managers are meeting OL objectives.

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

OL are addressed in the 2005-2006 Report on Plans and Priorities. There are also many references to OL in the 2004-2005 Performance Report.

OL are not systematically included in internal audits. However, the People Component of the Management Accountability Framework contains performance indicators and requires that surveys be conducted to report on expected outcomes each year.

The OL champion is a member of the Management Committee, and the committee discusses OL as needed. For example, the OL policy will be discussed by the committee once it is updated.

The OL champion meets regularly with the people in charge of Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Official Languages Act, who work in close cooperation.

c) Complaints (5%)

Complaints are forwarded to the manager responsible, who must resolve the issue and implement lasting solutions. A quarterly report is produced, and complaints are discussed in the monthly conference calls held by the Department's OL Division, which include representatives of all the regions. The conference calls cover a variety of OL issues, as well as new initiatives, priorities and best practices. The people in charge of OL follow up to confirm that the corrective measures have been taken. Complaints are also addressed in the performance indicators included in the People Component of the Management Accountability Framework.

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (4%)

Services to the public are identified in BUROLIS and in the Blue Pages.

94% of incumbents of bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: Position and Classification Information System (PCIS), March 31, 2005)

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to the observations of in-person service made by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) in the fall of 2005, active visual active offer was present in 77% of cases, active offer by staff was made in 31% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 89% of cases.

According to the observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 89% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 94% of cases.

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

Service agreements with third parties contain a clause aimed at ensuring the delivery of services in both OL, and managers are aware of that requirement. However, there is no monitoring of the quality of the services provided by third parties.

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring (4%)

OL are part of new employee orientation and e-learning programs. Staff who serve the public are frequently reminded of their responsibilities through circulars, internal articles, videos, etc. The institution also provides employees with tools and publications that answer their questions about language of service to the public.

Line managers are responsible for the quality of the bilingual services provided. The Department uses client satisfaction surveys and complaints analysis to evaluate the quality of bilingual services. A quarterly report on complaints is sent to senior managers.

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy (12.5%)

84% of senior managers in bilingual positions are bilingual, while 93% of supervisors in bilingual regions meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

SDC currently uses HRDC's language of work policy.

The Department provides language training, and translation and revision services. A language training program for senior management that used one-on-one tutoring and small group sessions was also tested. The Department plans to expand the program over time to make it available to employees who identified language training in their learning plans.

b) Establishment of an environment conducive to both official languages (12.5%)

The Department uses the tools that HRDC developed, such as a brochure on language of work and a guide for managers who work in bilingual regions. The Intranet site covers all aspects of OL, including language of work. It also includes practical second language evaluation tests and links to second language learning sites.

Information sessions for new employees include official languages and language of work.

Meeting chairs are bilingual and they encourage their staff to use the OL of their choice. Posters encouraging the use of both OL will also be put up in all conference rooms as was done at the Department's previous offices.

Reminders about OL, including language of work, are made to all staff (circulars distributed in the regions, reminders to visit the official languages Intranet site, orientation and awareness sessions).

Management Committee meetings are conducted in both OL. Senior managers' performance agreements include standing commitments against which the following performance measurement criteria are evaluated: increase in linguistic capacity and use of both OL in the workplace.

SDC's Accountability Framework aims to create an enabling workplace that respects and supports OL. One of the indicators planned for assessing the situation is employee satisfaction with use of the OL of their choice in their workplace. Complaints are one of the factors considered in measuring senior managers' performance with regard to OL. The Department also relies on feedback from employees to assess the language of work situation. For example, the "Dear Denise" e-mail gives staff an open forum in which to express their opinions, report situations or ask questions about OL. (The answers are posted for everyone to read and anonymity is assured for employees who do not wish to be identified.) Public Service Surveys and discussions during information sessions are other mechanisms used to determine whether the workplace is conducive to use of both OL.

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Francophones account for 32.4% of SDC's work force as a whole. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

Anglophones account for 3% of SDC's work force in Quebec. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic uality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities (12.5%)

The Department's OL Division reviews Treasury Board submissions in order to identify any impact on the development of OL communities.

In April 2004, the Department designated the Director, Horizontal Initiatives and International Relations, as the person responsible for Part VII of the Act. This is a good fit with the other horizontal issues he handles.

Since his appointment, the Director has put together his team and established a network in the regions. He has emphasized the following elements: knowing and understanding communities and establishing productive relationships in order to listen more closely to communities and become truly aware of their needs. He has also raised awareness of the needs of OL communities within the institution and works closely with the Privy Council Office and Canadian Heritage. He has met with representatives of the Commission nationale des parents francophones regarding early childhood programs and the Fédération des aînés francophones du Canada regarding the New Horizons program.

SDC is proud of its accomplishments related to early childhood and daycare agreements, two areas that are currently of particular interest to the OL communities consulted.

Although the institution does not have its own communications policy, it does comply with the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada and purchases space and time from media outlets that serve OL communities. That requirement is addressed in information sessions on OL.

Staff are informed of OL communities' needs in meetings, in orientation sessions for new employees and in training sessions.

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

Treasury Board submissions are reviewed by the Department's OL Division in order to take the promotion of linguistic duality into account.

During celebrations related to Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie 2005, the Department organized an interdepartmental event (in cooperation with HRSDC and Public Works and Government Services Canada) in order to enhance the visibility of the French language within the institution.

OVERALL RATING

ARCHIVÉE - Développement social Canada 2005-2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2005-2006

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Note : Le 12 décembre 2003, le gouvernement du Canada annonçait la scission de Développement des ressources humaines Canada (DRHC) en deux ministères distincts : Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) et Développement social Canada (DSC).

Avec le lancement de Service Canada le 14 septembre 2005, RHDCC et DSC ont subi d'importantes modifications. L'effectif de DSC est passé de 12 000 personnes à environ 1 400 employés, et le Ministère se concentre maintenant sur les politiques de développement social.

Aux fins de la présente évaluation, l'information qui suit a trait à la situation qui prévalait avant le lancement de Service Canada.

DSC a élaboré un Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion liée aux personnes. Ce cadre a été présenté et entériné par le comité de la haute gestion. Il vise à créer un milieu de travail habilitant qui assure le respect et le soutien des langues officielles (LO). Il prévoit également que les effectifs seront dotés de principes démontrant le respect à l'égard des LO.

Le Ministère utilise présentement le Plan d'action en matière de LO de DRHC. Le Ministère prévoit toutefois faire la mise à jour de ce plan d'action d'ici la fin de l'année financière.

Les cadres sont responsables de l'atteinte des objectifs de LO dans leurs ententes de rendement. À titre d'exemple, ils doivent augmenter la capacité linguistique et l'utilisation des deux LO dans leur milieu de travail. Les responsabilités à l'égard des LO sont précisées dans le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion liée aux personnes et des indicatifs de rendement y figurent. Les plaintes permettent aussi au Ministère de connaître le degré de mise en oeuvre des objectifs de LO par ses cadres.

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation (5 %)

Les LO sont abordées dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2005-2006. Il y a également de nombreuses références aux LO dans le Rapport sur le rendement 2004-2005.

Les LO ne sont pas systématiquement intégrées à la vérification interne. Toutefois, le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion liée aux personnes contient des indicateurs de rendement et prévoit la tenue de sondages qui permettront de faire rapport sur les résultats escomptés à chaque année.

La championne des LO est membre du comité de gestion, et les LO y sont discutées au besoin. Par exemple, la Politique en matière de LO, une fois mise à jour, y sera discutée.

La championne des LO rencontre régulièrement les responsables des parties IV, V, VI et ceux de la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO), qui travaillent en étroite collaboration.

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Les plaintes sont acheminées au gestionnaire responsable qui doit résoudre le cas et mettre en oeuvre des solutions durables. Il y a un rapport préparé à tous les trois mois et les plaintes sont discutées lors des téléconférences mensuelles tenues par la Division ministérielle des LO et auxquelles participent les représentants de toutes les régions. On y discute également de divers sujets touchant les LO, de même que des nouvelles initiatives, priorités et meilleures pratiques. Les responsables des LO font un suivi pour confirmer la mise en oeuvre des mesures correctrices. Les plaintes font également partie des indicateurs de rendement prévus dans le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion liée aux personnes.

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (4 %)

Les services au public sont annoncés dans Burolis et dans les pages bleues.

94 % des titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC), 31 mars 2005)

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles (CLO) à l'automne 2005, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 77 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 31 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 89 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 89 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 94 % des cas.

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

Les ententes de services avec les tiers contiennent une clause visant à assurer la prestation de services dans les deux LO, et les gestionnaires sont au fait de cette exigence. Il n'y a toutefois pas de contrôle de la qualité des services fournis par les tiers.

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (4 %)

Les LO font partie de l'orientation des nouveaux employés et des programmes électroniques d'apprentissage. On rappelle souvent au personnel affecté au service au public leurs responsabilités en la matière au moyen de circulaires, d'articles internes, de vidéos, etc. L'institution fournit également aux employés des outils et des publications utiles qui servent à répondre à leurs questions relativement à la langue des services au public.

Les gestionnaires hiérarchiques sont responsables de la qualité des services bilingues fournis. Le Ministère évalue la qualité des services bilingues au moyen de sondages portant sur la satisfaction de la clientèle et de l'analyse des plaintes. Un rapport sur les plaintes est transmis aux cadres à tous les trois mois.

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail (12,5 %)

84 % des cadres titulaires de postes bilingues sont bilingues alors que 93 % des surveillants en région bilingue satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

DSC utilise présentement la Politique sur la langue de travail de DRHC.

Le Ministère offre de la formation linguistique et des services de traduction et de révision. Il y a également eu la mise à l'essai d'un programme de formation linguistique à la haute direction qui misait sur des services de tutorat individuel et des séances en petits groupes. Le Ministère prévoit, au fil du temps, élargir ce programme pour le rendre accessible aux employés qui ont inscrit la formation linguistique dans leurs plans d'apprentissage.

b) Création d'un milieu propice aux deux langues officielles (12,5 %)

Le Ministère utilise les outils qui avaient été élaborés par DRHC, comme par exemple une brochure traitant de la langue de travail et un guide à l'intention des gestionnaires qui travaillent dans des régions bilingues. Le site intranet traite de tous les aspects touchant les LO, incluant la langue de travail. On y trouve également des tests pratiques pour l'évaluation de la langue seconde et des liens menant vers des sites d'apprentissage de la langue seconde.

Les séances d'information à l'intention du nouveau personnel incluent la sensibilisation à l'égard des LO et de la langue de travail.

Les présidents de réunion sont bilingues et ils encouragent le personnel à utiliser la LO de son choix. Des affiches encourageant l'utilisation des deux LO seront également installées dans toutes les salles de conférence, tout comme c'était le cas dans les anciens locaux qu'occupait le Ministère.

Des rappels traitant de LO, y compris de la langue de travail, sont faits à l'ensemble du personnel (distribution de circulaires dans les régions, encouragements à visiter le site intranet sur les LO, séances d'orientation et de sensibilisation).

Les rencontres du comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO. Les ententes de rendement des cadres incluent des engagements permanents à l'égard desquels les critères de mesure du rendement suivants sont mesurés : augmenter la capacité linguistique et l'utilisation des deux LO dans le milieu de travail.

Le Cadre de responsabilisation de DSC vise la création d'un milieu de travail habilitant qui respecte et soutient les LO. L'un des indicateurs prévus pour évaluer la situation à cet égard est la satisfaction des employés relativement à l'utilisation de la LO de leur choix dans leur milieu de travail. Les plaintes sont l'un des éléments considérés dans la mesure du rendement des cadres à l'égard des LO. Le Ministère compte également sur la rétroaction des employés pour connaître l'état de la situation à l'égard de la langue de travail. Par exemple, le courriel Chère Denise offre au personnel une tribune libre où il peut exprimer son opinion, signaler une situation ou poser des questions à l'égard des LO. (Les réponses sont affichées pour le bénéfice de tous, et on s'assure de respecter l'anonymat des employés qui ne désirent pas donner leur identité.) Les sondages de la fonction publique et les discussions lors des séances d'information sont d'autres mécanismes qui servent à déterminer si le milieu de travail est propice à l'utilisation des deux LO.

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

L'effectif de DSC est composé à 32,4 % de francophones dans l'ensemble du Canada. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

L'effectif de DSC est composé à 3 % d'anglophones au Québec. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

La Division ministérielle des LO revoit les présentations au Conseil du Trésor pour y reconnaître toute répercussion sur les LO et tenir compte du développement des communautés de LO.

Depuis avril 2004, le Ministère a nommé le directeur, Initiatives horizontales et Relations internationales responsable de la partie VII de la LLO. Ceci cadre bien avec les autres dossiers horizontaux qu'il traite.

Depuis sa nomination, le directeur a procédé à la constitution de son équipe et a établi un réseau dans les régions. Il a mis l'accent sur les éléments suivants : connaître et comprendre les communautés, établir des relations fructueuses pour être davantage à leur écoute et connaître véritablement leurs besoins. Il a aussi accru la sensibilisation au sein de l'institution à l'égard des besoins des communautés de LO et travaille étroitement avec le Bureau du Conseil privé ainsi qu'avec Patrimoine canadien. Dans le cadre des programmes de la petite enfance, il a rencontré des représentants de la Commission nationale des parents francophones et ceux de la Fédération des aînés francophones du Canada pour ce qui est du programme Nouveaux Horizons.

DSC est fier de ses accomplissements en matière de petite enfance et des ententes touchant les services de garde, deux domaines qui, présentement, intéressent particulièrement les communautés de LO consultées.

Bien que l'institution n'ait pas sa propre politique en matière de communication, elle se conforme à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada et effectue l'achat d'espace et de temps dans les organes d'information qui desservent les communautés de LO. Cette exigence est abordée dans le cadre des séances d'information sur les LO.

Le personnel est informé des besoins des communautés lors des réunions, dans l'information qui est transmise aux nouveaux employés et lors des séances de formation.

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

Les présentations au Conseil du Trésor sont revues par la Division ministérielle des LO afin de tenir compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

Durant les célébrations entourant les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie 2005, le Ministère a organisé un événement interministériel (en collaboration avec RHDCC et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada) dans le but de rehausser la visibilité du fait français au sein de l'institution.

NOTE GLOBALE