ARCHIVED - Halifax Robert L. Stanfield International Airport Authority 2006-2007

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Performance Report 2006-2007
Halifax Robert L. Stanfield International Airport Authority

Factors and Criteria

Summary of Substantiating Data

Rating

Management (15%)

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

The Robert L. Stanfield Halifax International Airport Authority (RLSHIAA) does not have an accountability framework or an official languages (OL) action plan. The Authority is not a store front office as such, however, it is accessible to the public. Of the Authority's 158 employees (including seasonal snow removal crews), only one works directly with the public. Other individuals who are in direct contact with the public include volunteers as well as staff of airport tenants (e.g. restaurants, airline companies).

Lessees are held accountable according to the terms of the linguistic clause contained in their contracts with the Authority.

The Customer Relations Manager is responsible for ensuring airport-wide compliance with the Official Languages Act (the Act) and its regulations. The Authority has a contract with the Nova Scotia Visitor Information Centre with regard to the provision of services in both OL on its behalf, for example, airport information and public address announcements. From an accountability point of view, the Customer Relations Manager does sporadic spot-checks with regard to announcements in both OL.

D

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

There is no mention of official languages in the Authority's 2005 Annual Report, or in any strategic plan or documents. The 2004 Annual Review on OL was the most recently issued to the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency Canada (PSHRMAC). The Authority produces an annual report, but does not produce a report on plans and priorities or a performance report Official languages are not integrated in internal audit activities that focus mainly on the safety, security and financial aspects of the Airport.

The Customer Relations Manager plays the role of both the OL Champion and the OL Coordinator. Although she does not sit on the Executive Committee, she discusses OL matters and concerns with the Vice-President, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs, with regard to complaints received from the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL). The Vice-President then discusses these issues with the Management Committee.

The Authority is not subject to Part V (Language of work) or to Part VII (Advancement of English and French) of the Act. The Customer Relation Manager is responsible for the implementation and coordination of Part IV (Communication with and services to the public) and Part VI (Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians) of the Act.

D

c) Complaints (5%)

The Authority has a mechanism in place to handle and resolve complaints filed with OCOL. When a complaint is received, the Customer Service Manager forwards it to the manager responsible, who is personally involved in determining the corrective measures to be taken, under advice and monitoring from the Customer Service Manager. The Customer Service Manager then informs OCOL and conducts a follow-up in order to ensure the implementation of corrective measures.

Senior management members receive a copy of the response letter to OCOL so that they may be informed of the nature of complaints filed against the Authority with OCOL and of measures taken to resolve the problem. This information is not shared internally to prevent a reoccurrence of similar situations.

The Customer Service Manager conducts sporadic spot-checks throughout the airport to put in place corrective measures, if necessary.

C

Sub-total:

D

Service to the Public - Part IV (25%)

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (3%)

The Authority and its services are listed in English only in the white pages of the Halifax Regional Municipality telephone directory and in both OL in Burolis.

The Authority's only staff member who provides direct service to the public can only do so in English (according to information obtained from the Authority on November 30, 2006). The Authority has a contract with the Nova Scotia Tourism Information Centre to provide verbal translations for the Authority and its tenants. Employees contact the Information Centre for this type of service, when required.

D

b) Observations on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to observations of in-person service made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2006, an active visual offer was present in 33% of cases, an active offer by staff was made in 0% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 0% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2006, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 100% of cases.

D

c) Service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

The Authority has set out OL obligations with regard to third-party service delivery in its leases. The OL clauses specify that all verbal, printed and written information including signs, public address announcements, notices and other information in connection with the lessee's operations must be in both OL. It also indicates there should be sufficient staff on duty during every operation shift to provide bilingual services and that the lessee must demonstrate to members of the public that these services are available in the OL of their choice. It also specifies that failure to comply with the provisions of the contract may result in the termination of the lease.

The Customer Service Manager conducts sporadic spot-checks to verify if announcements are made in both OL. However, no checks take place with regard to actual service delivery.

C

d) Policy on service to the public and bilingual services quality monitoring (5%)

The Authority does not have a policy or guidelines on service to the public. It does however take into account its obligations as they are outlined in the Act. Awareness is raised among employees and lessees with regard to communications and service to the public in both OL via annual reminders that reiterate the importance of displaying the active offer pictograph sign and making public announcements in both OL. The Nova Scotia Visitor Information Centre assists both the Authority and the concessionaires in providing services in French, including providing them with translation services.

Except for the sporadic spot-checks done by the Customer Service Manager with regard to announcements in both OL, there is no other monitoring mechanism to verify the quality of service in both OL.

D

Sub-total:

D

Language of Work - Part V (25%)

a) Language of work policy and adequate bilingual supervision (12.5%)

The Robert L. Stanfield Halifax International Airport Authority does not have any obligation with regard to Part V of the Act as its only office is in Nova Scotia, a region not designated bilingual for language of work purposes.

 

N/A

b) Use of each official language in the workplace (12.5%)

The Robert L. Stanfield Halifax International Airport Authority does not have any obligation with regard to Part V of the Act as its only office is in Nova Scotia, a region not designated bilingual for language of work purposes.

 

N/A

Sub-total:

N/A

Equitable Participation  - Part VI (10%)

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Overall, the workforce is 4.5% Francophone. (Source: Data from Official Languages Information System (OLIS II), March 31, 2006)

A

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

There are no employees in Quebec. All personnel is located in Nova-Scotia.

N/A

Sub-total:

A

Development of Official Language Minority Communities and Promotion of Linguistic Duality - Part  VII (25%)

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of official language minority communities (12.5%)

The Halifax International Airport Authority is not subject to Part VII of the Act and therefore has no legal obligations in this regard.

 

N/A

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take linguistic duality into account (12.5%)

The Halifax International Airport Authority is not subject to Part VII of the Act and therefore has no legal obligations in this regard.

 

N/A

Sub-total:

N/A

OVERALL RATING

D

ARCHIVÉE - Administration de l'aéroport international Robert L. Stanfield d‘Halifax 2006–2007

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2006-2007
Administration de l'aéroport international Robert L. Stanfield d‘Halifax

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion (15 %)

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

L'Administration de l'aéroport international Robert L. Stanfield d‘Halifax (AAIRLSH) n'a pas de cadre de responsabilisation ou de plan d'action pour les langues officielles (LO). L'Administration ne constitue pas un comptoir de services comme tel, mais elle est accessible au public. Sur les 158 employés de l'Administration (y compris les équipes de déneigement saisonnières), un seul employé travaille directement auprès du public. Parmi les autres personnes qui sont en contact direct avec le public, on trouve les bénévoles et les employés des locataires à l'aérogare (par exemple, les restaurants ou les compagnies aériennes).

Les locataires sont tenus de se conformer aux modalités de la clause linguistique de leur contrat avec l'Administration.

La gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle est responsable de l'application de la Loi sur les langues officielles (la Loi) et des règlements associés à celle-ci dans tout l'aéroport. L'Administration a conclu une entente avec le Centre d'information touristique de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour offrir, en son nom, des services dans les deux LO, par exemple, les informations relatives à l'aéroport et les communications aux passagers. Du point de vue de la responsabilisation, la gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle effectue des vérifications ponctuelles sporadiques des communications dans les deux LO.

D

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation
(5 %)

Les langues officielles ne sont pas mentionnées dans le Rapport annuel de l'Administration, ni dans ses plans et documents stratégiques. Le Rapport annuel sur les LO 2004 est le plus récent à avoir été remis à l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada (AGRHFPC). L'Administration ne produit pas de rapport sur les plans et les priorités ni de rapport sur le rendement, mais elle publie un rapport annuel. Les LO ne sont pas intégrées aux activités de vérification interne qui portent surtout sur la sûreté, la sécurité et les aspects financiers de l'aéroport.

La gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle joue à la fois le rôle de championne et de coordonnatrice des LO. Elle ne siège pas au Comité exécutif. Elle transmet les questions et préoccupations liées aux LO, ainsi que les plaintes acheminées par le Commissariat aux langues officielles, au vice-président des communications générales et affaires publiques. Ce dernier est responsable de discuter de ces questions avec le Comité de gestion.

Comme l'Administration n'est pas assujettie à la partie V (Langue de travail) ni à la partie VII (Promotion du français et de l'anglais) de la Loi, la coordination se limite donc aux questions liées à la partie IV (Communications avec le public et prestation des services) et à la partie VI (Participation des Canadiens d'expression française et d'expression anglaise). La gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle est responsable de la mise en œuvre de ces deux parties de la Loi.

D

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

L'Administration dispose d'un mécanisme pour traiter et régler les plaintes déposées auprès du Commissariat aux langues officielles. À la réception d'une plainte, le gestionnaire du service à la clientèle la communique au gestionnaire concerné, qui est principalement chargé de déterminer les mesures correctives à prendre, sous les conseils et la surveillance du gestionnaire du service à la clientèle. Par la suite, ce dernier informe le Commissariat aux langues officielles et effectue un suivi pour s'assurer de la mise en œuvre des mesures correctives.

Une copie de la lettre envoyée au Commissariat est également envoyée aux membres de la haute direction afin de les informer de la nature des plaintes déposées auprès du Commissariat et des mesures prises pour régler le problème. Ces renseignements ne sont toutefois pas partagés dans l'ensemble de l'organisation afin d'éviter la récurrence de situations semblables.

La gestionnaire du service à la clientèle effectue des vérifications ponctuelles sporadiques un peu partout dans l'aéroport afin de mettre en œuvre les mesures correctrices, le cas échéant.

C

Sous-total :

D

Service au public - Partie IV (25 %)

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (3 %)

L'aéroport d'Halifax et ses services sont répertoriés en anglais seulement dans les pages blanches de l'annuaire téléphonique de la Municipalité régionale d'Halifax et dans les deux langues officielles dans Burolis.   

Le seul membre du personnel de l'Administration qui offre des services directs au public est seulement en mesure de le faire en anglais (selon des renseignements reçus de l'Administration le 30 novembre 2006). L'Administration a conclu une entente avec le Centre d'information touristique de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour offrir des traductions verbales à l'Administration et ses locataires. Les titulaires communiquent avec le Centre d'information pour obtenir ce type de service, le cas échéant.

D

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2006, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 33 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 0 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 0 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2006, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 100 % des cas.

 D

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

L'Administration a défini les obligations relatives aux LO concernant la prestation de services par des tiers dans ses baux. Les clauses sur les LO précisent que toute information verbale, imprimée et écrite, y compris les panneaux, les communications aux passagers, les avis et autres renseignements portant sur les activités du locataire, doivent être diffusés dans les deux LO. Elle indique également qu'il faut prévoir un nombre suffisant d'employés pour chaque quart de travail afin de pouvoir offrir des services dans les deux LO et que le locataire doit démontrer aux membres du public que ces services sont offerts dans la LO de leur choix. Elle précise également que le non-respect des conditions du contrat pourrait entraîner la résiliation du bail.

Le gestionnaire du service à la clientèle effectue des vérifications ponctuelles sporadiques afin de vérifier si les communications sont faites dans les deux LO. Aucune vérification n'est faite quant à la prestation des services.

C

d) Politique sur le service au public et surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (5 %)

L'Administration n'a pas de politique ni de lignes directrices sur le service au public. Elle tient toutefois compte de ses obligations mentionnées dans la Loi. Les employés et les locataires sont sensibilisés à la question des communications et du service au public dans les deux LO grâce à des rappels annuels qui réitèrent l'importance d'afficher le pictogramme d'offre active et de faire les communications aux passagers dans les deux LO. Le Centre d'information touristique de la Nouvelle-Écosse aide l'Administration et les concessionnaires à fournir des services en français, y compris en lui accordant des services de traduction.

À l'exception des vérifications ponctuelles sporadiques effectuées par le gestionnaire du service à la clientèle en ce qui concerne les annonces dans les deux LO, il n'y a aucun autre mécanisme de surveillance permettant de vérifier la qualité du service dans les deux LO.

D

Sous-total :

D

Langue de travail - Partie V (25 %)

a) Politique sur la langue de travail et surveillance bilingue adéquate (12,5 %)

L'Administration de l'aéroport international Robert L. Stanfield d‘Halifax n'a pas d'obligation en vertu de la partie V de la Loi puisque son seul bureau est en Nouvelle-Écosse, région non désignée bilingue aux fins de la langue de travail.

S/O

b) Utilisation de chaque langue officielle au travail (12,5 %)

L'Administration de l'aéroport international Robert L. Stanfield d‘Halifax n'a pas d'obligation en vertu de la partie V de la Loipuisque son seul bureau est en Nouvelle-Écosse, région non désignée bilingue aux fins de la langue de travail.

 

 

S/O

Sous-total : 

S/O

Participation équitable - Partie VI (10 %)

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

Dans l'ensemble du Canada, l'effectif est composé à 4,5 % de francophones. (Source : Données du Système d'information sur les langues officielles [SILO II], 31 mars 2006)

A

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

Il n'y a pas de bureau au Québec. Tout l'effectif est situé en Nouvelle-Écosse.

S/O

Sous-total :

A

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII (25 %)

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

L'Administration de l'aéroport international Robert L. Stanfield d‘Halifax n'est pas assujettie à la partie VII de la Loi; elle n'a donc aucune obligation juridique à cet égard.

S/O

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

L'Administration de l'aéroport international Robert L. Stanfield d‘Halifax n'est pas assujettie à la partie VII de la Loi; elle n'a donc aucune obligation juridique à cet égard.

S/O

Sous-total : 

S/O

NOTE GLOBALE

D