ARCHIVED - Ottawa, April 2, 2009

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Blue Metropolis Foundation President recipient of the Award of Excellence – Promotion of Linguistic Duality

The Commissioner of Official Languages, Graham Fraser, is proud to announce today that Linda Leith, President and Artistic Director of Blue Metropolis Foundation of Montréal is the first recipient of the Award of Excellence – Promotion of Linguistic Duality. 

The Award of Excellence is given to an individual or an organization in Canada that is not subject to the federal Official Languages Act but that makes a difference by promoting linguistic duality in Canada or abroad or by contributing to the development of official language minority communities.  

“Since the beginning of my mandate in 2006, I have examined the existing links between linguistic duality and leadership. By taking innovative measures to promote linguistic duality, Linda Leith is contributing to the national conversation through the ownership of English and French as Canadian languages,” says Commissioner Fraser. 

Blue Metropolis Foundation, a non-profit organization, is dedicated to bringing people from different cultures together to share the pleasures of reading and writing. Its events, offered in both official languages, provide unique opportunities for new interactions between communities of different languages and diverse cultures. 

 “I believe that, through your actions and achievements to promote linguistic duality, Blue Metropolis Foundation reflects fundamental Canadian values, including respect, generosity, linguistic duality and cultural diversity, through literary expression,” Mr. Fraser told Ms. Leith. 

The Award of Excellence will be presented to Linda Leith by the Commissioner on April 22, 2009, during the opening ceremonies of the 11th Blue Metropolis Montreal International Literary Festival.  

- 30 - 

For more information, please contact:   

Robin Cantin
Manager, Media Relations
Telephone: 613-995-0374
Cellular: 613-324-0999
Toll-free: 1-877-996-6368

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 2 avril 2009

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

La présidente de la Fondation Metropolis bleu reçoit le Prix d’excellence – Promotion de la dualité linguistique 

Graham Fraser, le commissaire aux langues officielles, est fier d’annoncer aujourd’hui que Linda Leith, présidente et directrice artistique de la Fondation Metropolis bleu de Montréal, devient la première lauréate du Prix d’excellence – Promotion de la dualité linguistique. 

Le Prix d’excellence est remis à une personne ou à une organisation au Canada qui n’est pas assujettie à la loi fédérale sur les langues officielles, qui fait une différence en promouvant la dualité linguistique au pays ou à l’étranger ou en contribuant au développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.  

« Depuis le début de mon mandat, en 2006, j’ai examiné les liens entre la dualité linguistique et le leadership. En faisant preuve d’innovation dans sa façon de promouvoir la dualité linguistique, Linda Leith contribue à la conversation nationale en s’appropriant le français et l’anglais comme langues canadiennes », a déclaré le commissaire Fraser.   

La Fondation Metropolis bleu est un organisme à but non lucratif voué au rapprochement des différentes cultures grâce au partage du plaisir de lire et d’écrire. Ses événements, présentés dans les deux langues officielles, sont des occasions uniques d’interaction entre les communautés linguistiques et les diverses cultures.   

« Je crois que, grâce à vos réalisations liées à la promotion de la dualité linguistique, la Fondation Metropolis bleu a adopté des valeurs canadiennes fondamentales, dont le respect, la générosité, la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle, par l’entremise de l’expression littéraire », a confié M. Fraser à Mme Leith. 

Le 22 avril 2009, le Prix d’excellence sera présenté à Linda Leith par le commissaire au cours des cérémonies d’ouverture de la 11e édition du Festival littéraire international de Montréal Metropolis bleu. 

- 30 - 

Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec :  

Robin Cantin
Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias
Téléphone : 613-995-0374
Téléphone cellulaire : 613-324-0999
Sans frais : 1-877-996-6368