ARCHIVED - Public Works and Government Services Canada 2005-2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2005-2006 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

In September 2005, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) published the findings of its audit on the management of the Official Languages Program (OLP) at the Department of Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC).

In response to this audit, PWGSC is in the process of developing an official languages (OL) accountability framework, which is expected to come into effect in June 2006. PWGSC will also update its Strategic Action Plan for 2006-2009. This plan will include expected outcomes and will be discussed by the Executive Committee (chaired by the Deputy Minister) and approved by its members. The institution's annual reviews will henceforth, be approved by this same governance committee. The Department is continuing its analysis, with the aim of recommending performance objectives for executives.

Although "The [current] plan does not provide for any control measures to ensure that objectives are achieved" (page 9 of the OCOL audit), PWGSC has committed to implementing effective OL monitoring and control mechanisms in 2006. The current Strategic Action Plan has made it possible to implement a certain number of initiatives, such as development of a sectoral OL plan by each branch.

The Department conducts an analysis of all its positions to determine the organization's linguistic capacity. Over the past three years, this analysis has made it possible to measure the yearly progress achieved in terms of the linguistic capabilities of the incumbents of bilingual positions.

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

The OCOL audit report notes problems with the visibility of the OLP, including "...a lack of leadership from senior management in the OLP. " (page 1)

The current Strategic Action Plan is designed to enhance communications and managers' commitment, and to integrate OL into everyday management. Following the implementation of the plan and publication of the OCOL report, OL now enjoy a certain (and increasing) degree of visibility among managers. However, the OCOL audit demonstrated that until the fall of 2005, senior management had not granted sufficient visibility to OL in the organization.

The 2005-2006 Report on Plans and Priorities and the
2004-2005 Performance Report deal mainly with departmental support for implementation of the Government of Canada's Action Plan for Official Languages (Dion Plan). However, the emphasis is placed solely on the Translation Bureau and there is no mention of the other sectors of the Department.

PWGSC has not yet done an internal OL audit. However, PWGSC's OL Directorate is conducting an analysis to help identify the areas where the Department must make greater efforts to increase its bilingual capacity and to ensure the delivery of quality service in both OL and to correct anomalies in departmental OL data.

The Official Languages Program is increasingly the subject of discussions by the various governance committees. In future, the annual reviews of OL submitted to PSHRMAC and to Canadian Heritage will be discussed by various management committees. The OL champion and the Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for the OLP sit on the Executive Committee. Although the OCOL audit revealed that, "...the OL champion and her role were not known within the Department," the accountability framework currently being developed will correct this deficiency, so that the OL champion is able to exercise more influence on senior management. The OL Director participates in the discussions concerning OL.

Management of Part VII of the Official Languages Act (the Act) is integrated with organization-wide objectives. The Executive Committee will be responsible for coordination of Part VII, as it will be for Parts IV, V and VI.

c) Complaints (5%)

Complaints to OCOL are recorded in an official register and a follow-up is conducted. Managers are responsible for analysing complaints and taking the necessary corrective measures in consultation with persons in charge of OL. The Director General, OL Staffing, Employment Equity and Learning immediately informs the Assistant Deputy Minister of the sector concerned when a new complaint is received. Throughout the complaint resolution process, the Assistant Deputy Minister of the organization is informed of the corrective action taken. When there are repeated complaints, the Assistant Deputy Minister sends reminder e-mails to his/her staff in order to eliminate the deficiencies.

However, given the fact that complaints about language of work persist, OCOL considers that there is a very serious problem in this area.

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (4%)

Points of service are listed in BUROLIS. All the points of service have been reviewed by the Department. Following this review, the Department identified new points of service. The directors of these organizations have been advised in order to ensure adequate linguistic capacity.

86% of incumbents of bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: Position and Classification Information System (PCIS), March 31, 2005) 

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to observations of in-person service made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active visual offer was present in 67% of cases, active offer by staff was made in 17% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 75% of cases.

According to observations of telephone service made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 62% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 69% of cases.

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

PWGSC uses standard language clauses in the agreements (for example, for building maintenance or travel services for public servants).

The March 2004 study on leases conducted by OCOL, indicated that only 18% of the leases for which PWGSC is responsible contained language clauses informing its tenants of the official languages requirements. Since the release of the report, the Department has been ensuring that appropriate clauses are systematically inserted in lease contracts (in certain cases, it may be necessary to wait until the renewal of multi-year leases).

To date, there are no examples of regular monitoring of services provided by third parties in PWGSC's own contracts.

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring (4%)

Managers must ensure that the spirit of the Act is respected. PWGSC provides tools to designated bilingual offices so they can fulfill their obligations, while a network of part-time OL coordinators handles regional initiatives. A presentation on service to the public has been developed and sent to all regional coordinators to help them better understand their obligations and provide informed advice to managers.

PWGSC offers a workshop for middle managers on the expectations of supervisors in terms of service (value-based approach). This workshop deals with Part IV. Those employees who deal with the public attend a briefing session on the impact of the Act. The publication of new OL policies by the Treasury Board caused the Department to offer numerous sessions aimed at the various departmental levels of management.

There does not appear to be any particular monitoring of the quality of services in both OL provided to the public at bilingual points of service (monitoring, audits, special studies, surveys, reports on successes and deficiencies, etc.).

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy (12.5%)

91% of EX incumbents of bilingual positions are bilingual, while 84% of supervisors and EXs in bilingual regions meet the language requirements of their position.
(Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

A language of work policy was being developed in December 2005. PWGSC offers manager awareness and training workshops on OL values. Most of the usual support measures for a department are available, such as translation and revision service, language training, etc.

In order to encourage managers to improve their command of both OL, the Translation Bureau offers The Language Nook/Le Coin linguistique, a user-friendly Extranet site offering language advice to public servants. Messages from OCOL are also disseminated on the departmental Intranet.

A $300,000 budget is granted to the "La Relève" group (employees who have strong potential) to help them reach the C level in oral interaction (non-mandatory full-time training).

b) Establishment of an environment conducive to both official languages (12.5%)

PWGSC does not consistently take advantage of opportunities to issue reminders to employees encouraging them to use the language of their choice. It is up to managers to make these reminders. All boardrooms have a sign inviting employees to use the language of their choice. The Department reports that it uses different occasions to remind managers that they must inform employees that they can use the official language of their choice at meetings involving members of both language groups.

Both OL are used in the Senior Management Committee meetings.

There are no examples of regular monitoring to determine if the language of work policy is being appropriately implemented. The Department plans to establish OL monitoring and control mechanisms as part of the development of its accountability framework.

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Francophones account for 45.2% of PWGSC's workforce as a whole. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

Anglophones account for 3.7% of PWGSC's workforce in Quebec. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities (12.5%)

The Department does not systematically review all memoranda to Cabinet or Treasury Board submissions with official language minorities in mind, but such a practice is being considered.

As a key department, PWGSC produces an annual summary of activities carried out under section 41. This summary is tied to a three-year plan (currently 2005-2008), a component of which deals with enhancing the economic development of official language minority communities. When Bill S-3 was passed, it was expected that a PWGSC officer would be assigned to Part VII of the Act on a full-time basis (requests for assistance from volunteer organizations, etc.). The Department has a network of regional section 41 coordinators who work on this file on a part-time basis.

According to its 2004-2005 annual report on OL submitted to Canadian Heritage, PWGSC took part in various meetings at which representatives of official language minority communities explained their priorities, thereby enabling the Department to better understand these communities' realities. PWGSC has undertaken its own consultations of minority communities in order to determine how the Department can better meet their needs in keeping with its mandate. During the mid-term consultations for the Action Plan for Official Languages, PWGSC participated in the discussions between representatives of Quebec's Anglophone communities and the federal departments in Ottawa.

The OL Director sits on Canadian Heritage's minority press committee. As a central agency with a responsibility for government communication practices, PWGSC's policies and practices are consistent with the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. In order to ensure transparency, PWGSC has also implemented new information management systems, which will enable it to monitor, track and make public its advertising spending in minority official language media in 2006-2007.

Employees (other than those involved in section 41 activities) are made aware, to some degree, of the needs of the minority communities during orientation sessions whose content is posted on the Intranet. Regular meetings are also held with the Human Resources directors to make them aware of their overall obligations, including that of enhancing the vitality of the OL minorities.

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

The section 41 Action Plan attests to the Department's significant commitment in this respect, but the Department does not systematically review all memoranda to Cabinet or Treasury Board submissions in terms of the promotion of linguistic duality.

PWGSC has established a partnership with the City of Ottawa in the context of the City's Business Assistance Project, sponsored by the Department of Canadian Heritage, with the aim of helping businesses to improve services to clients in both OL. The project offers City and PWGSC commercial tenants a range of services that will allow them to offer more services in French to their clients and improve the delivery of these services. Project managers have developed tool kits, which have been sent to PWGSC's commercial tenants.

The following are a few initiatives taken by PWGSC that have continued this year to promote linguistic duality: active participation of the Translation Bureau in the establishment of the new language technology centre (Gatineau); a joint venture with the Université du Québec en Outaouais and the National Research Council; co-operation between the Translation Bureau and the universities that offer translation programs in order to train the next generation of translators (CO-OP program); and presentations in the context of Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie on the importance of Canada's Francophone heritage and on the importance of honouring the French language and culture.

Each year, PWGSC offers some hundred used and surplus computers to minority associations and distributes some 50 hotel discount cards which allow official language minority communities to take advantage of reduced rates at a number of participating hotels. A departmental communication officer is a member of the Chambre économique de l'Ontario. PWGSC offers the software Termium (terminology database) to non-profit official language minority groups free of charge. The Department participated in the 2005 Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie and supported the Jeux de la francophonie canadienne in Winnipeg by providing funding to cover translation costs.

PWGSC has assigned a full-time resource on a term basis to the Regroupement de développement économique et d'employabilité (RDÉE) [coordinating group on economic development and employability]. PWGSC supports efforts to maximize the economic development of the communities and the language industries through its student translation partnership program offered by the Translation Bureau.

OVERALL RATING

ARCHIVÉE - Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 2005-2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2005-2006

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Le Commissariat aux langues officielles (CLO) a publié en septembre 2005 les conclusions de sa vérification portant sur la gestion du Programme des langues officielles (PLO) au sein du ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux du Canada (TPSGC).

À la suite de cette vérification, TPSGC est en train de se doter d'un cadre de responsabilisation en langues officielles (LO). Ce cadre de responsabilisation devrait entrer en vigueur en juin 2006. D'ailleurs, TPSGC mettra à jour son plan d'action stratégique pour les années 2006-2009. Ce plan inclura les résultats visés et sera discuté au comité de direction (que dirige le sous-ministre), et approuvé par ses membres. Les bilans annuels de l'institution seront dorénavant approuvés par ce même comité de gouvernance. Le Ministère poursuit son analyse en vue de suggérer des objectifs de rendement pour les cadres.

Bien que «  Le plan [actuel] ne prévoit aucune mesure de contrôle pour assurer l'atteinte des objectifs » (page 9 de la vérification du CLO), TPSGC s'est engagé à se doter de mécanismes de surveillance et de contrôle efficaces en matière de LO en 2006. Le Plan d'action stratégique actuel a toutefois permis la mise en oeuvre d'un certain nombre d'initiatives, telles que l'élaboration d'un plan sectoriel sur les LO par chaque direction générale.

TPSGC effectue toutefois une analyse de tous ses postes pour déterminer la capacité linguistique de l'organisation. Depuis trois ans, cette analyse permet de mesurer les progrès accomplis chaque année en ce qui concerne la capacité linguistique des titulaires de postes bilingues.

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation (5 %)

Le rapport de vérification du CLO note des problèmes avec la visibilité du PLO dont «  le manque de leadership des membres de la haute gestion vis-à-vis du programme des langues officielles » (page I).

Le Plan d'action stratégique actuel vise à améliorer les communications et l'engagement des gestionnaires de même qu'à intégrer les LO à la gestion courante. En raison de la mise en oeuvre du plan et de la publication du rapport du CLO, le dossier des LO bénéficie maintenant d'une certaine visibilité (grandissante) auprès des gestionnaires. Toutefois, la vérification du CLO a démontré que jusqu'à l'automne 2005, la haute gestion n'avait pas accordé suffisamment de visibilité aux LO dans l'organisation.

Le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2005-2006 et le Rapport sur le rendement 2004-2005 traitent surtout du soutien ministériel à la mise en oeuvre du Plan d'action pour les langues officielles du gouvernement du Canada (Plan Dion). Toutefois, l'accent est mis uniquement sur le Bureau de traduction et on ne mentionne pas les autres secteurs de TPSGC.

Aucune vérification interne n'a encore été menée sur les LO par le TPSGC. Toutefois, la Direction des LO de TPSGC effectue des analyses qui lui permettent de localiser les endroits où le Ministère doit mettre davantage d'efforts pour accroître sa capacité bilingue et assurer la prestation de services de qualité dans les deux LO et de corriger des anomalies au niveau des données ministérielles en matière de LO.

Le Programme des langues officielles (PLO) fait de plus en plus l'objet de discussions aux différents comités de gouvernance. Les bilans annuels sur les LO présentés à l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada et à Patrimoine canadien seront désormais discutés à divers comités de gestion. La championne des LO et la sous-ministre adjointe responsable du PLO sont membres du comité de direction. Bien que la vérification du CLO a révélé que « la championne des langues officielles et son rôle ne sont pas connus au sein du Ministère », le cadre de responsabilisation en élaboration corrigera cette lacune, afin que la championne des LO puisse exercer plus d'influence auprès des membres de la haute gestion. Le directeur des LO se joint aux discussions portant sur les LO.

La gestion de la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) est intégrée aux objectifs organisationnels d'ensemble. Désormais le comité de direction en assurera la coordination comme il le fera pour les parties IV, V et VI de la LLO.

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Les plaintes à la commissaire aux langues officielles sont consignées dans un registre officiel et font l'objet d'un suivi. Les gestionnaires sont responsables d'analyser les plaintes et de prendre les correctifs nécessaires en consultation avec les responsables des LO. La directrice générale des LO, de la dotation, de l'équité en matière d'emploi et de l'apprentissage avise le sous-ministre adjoint dont le secteur est mis en cause dès qu'une nouvelle plainte est reçue. Tout au long du processus de résolution d'une plainte, le sous-ministre adjoint de l'organisation est informé des mesures correctrices mises en place. Lorsqu'il y a des plaintes répétitives, le sous-ministre adjoint envoie des courriels de rappel à son personnel afin de mettre fin aux manquements.

Cependant, étant donné que les plaintes sur la langue de travail persistent, le CLO considère qu'un problème très sérieux existe dans ce domaine.

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (4 %)

Les points de service sont annoncés dans Burolis. Tous les points de service ont été revus par TPSGC. À la suite de cet examen, TPSGC a désigné de nouveaux points de service. Les directeurs de ces organisations ont été avisés afin d'assurer une capacité linguistique adéquate.

86 % des titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC), 31 mars 2005)

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 67 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 17 % des cas, alors que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 75 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 62 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 69 % des cas.

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

TPSGC utilise des clauses linguistiques normalisées dans les ententes (par exemple, entretien des immeubles et services d'organisation de voyages pour les fonctionnaires).

L'étude sur les baux (mars 2004), réalisée par le CLO, indiquait que seulement 18 % des baux dont TPSGC est responsable contenaient des clauses linguistiques informant ses locataires des exigences en matière de LO. Depuis la parution du rapport, le Ministère s'assure que des clauses appropriées sont insérées systématiquement dans les contrats de location (dans certains cas, il faudra attendre le renouvellement de baux pluriannuels).

Absence jusqu'à présent dans les propres contrats de TPSGC d'exemples de contrôle régulier des services offerts par des tiers.

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (4 %)

Les gestionnaires doivent veiller à ce que l'esprit de la LLO soit respecté. TPSGC remet des outils aux bureaux désignés bilingues afin que ceux ci puissent remplir leurs obligations, tandis qu'un réseau de coordonnateurs s'occupant du dossier des LO à temps partiel se charge des initiatives régionales. Une présentation sur le service au public a été élaborée et remise à chaque coordonnateur régional pour les aider à mieux comprendre leurs obligations et de pouvoir fournir des conseils avisés aux gestionnaires.

TPSGC offre un atelier pour gestionnaires intermédiaires sur les attentes à l'endroit des superviseurs en matière de service (approche axée sur les valeurs). On y traite de la partie IV. Les employés qui traitent avec le public participent à une séance d'orientation sur la portée de la LLO. La diffusion de nouvelles politiques de LO par le Conseil du Trésor a amené TPSGC à offrir de nombreuses séances destinées aux divers paliers de gestion du Ministère.

La qualité des services dans les deux LO offerts au public dans les points de service bilingues ne fait pas l'objet d'un contrôle particulier (surveillance, vérifications, études spéciales, sondages, rapports sur les succès et manquements, etc.).

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail (12,5 %)

91 % des cadres titulaires de postes bilingues sont bilingues alors que 84 % des surveillants et cadres en région bilingue satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

Une politique sur la langue de travail était en voie d'élaboration en décembre 2005. TPSGC offre aux gestionnaires des ateliers de sensibilisation et de formation sur les valeurs liées aux LO. La plupart des mesures d'appui habituelles pour un ministère sont présentes (service de traduction et révision, formation linguistique, etc.).

Afin d'encourager les fonctionnaires à mieux maîtriser les deux LO, le Bureau de la traduction offre Le Coin linguistique/The Language Nook, un site extranet convivial offrant des conseils linguistiques aux fonctionnaires. D'autre part, les messages de la commissaire aux langues officielles sont diffusés dans l'intranet du Ministère.

Un budget de 300 000 $ est consacré au groupe de la Relève (employés ayant un fort potentiel) afin de les former au C à l'interaction orale (formation temps plein non statutaire).

b) Création d'un milieu propice aux deux langues officielles (12,5 %)

À TPSGC, on saisit de façon inégale les occasions de faire des rappels aux employés les invitant à utiliser la langue de leur choix. Il revient aux gestionnaires de faire ces rappels. Toutes les salles de réunion possèdent une affiche invitant le personnel à utiliser la langue de son choix. On rapporte au CLO que TPSGC tire profit de différentes occasions pour rappeler aux gestionnaires qu'ils doivent offrir aux employés d'utiliser la langue officielle de leur choix lors des réunions où les gens des deux groupes linguistiques sont invités.

Les réunions du comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO.

Il n'y a pas d'exemples de contrôle régulier de la mise en oeuvre de la Politique sur la langue de travail. TPSGC prévoit élaborer des mécanismes de surveillance et de contrôles efficaces en matière de langue officielle, dans le cadre de l'élaboration de son cadre de responsabilisation.

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

L'effectif de TPSGC est composé à 45,2 % de francophones dans l'ensemble du Canada. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

L'effectif total de TPSGC est composé à 3,7 % d'anglophones au Québec. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5%)

TPSGC n'examine pas systématiquement l'ensemble des mémoires au Cabinet et des présentations au Conseil du Trésor dans l'optique des minorités de langue officielle, mais il envisage de le faire.

En tant que ministère clé, TPSGC produit un bilan annuel des activités menées en vertu de l'article 41. Ce bilan est lié à un plan triennal (présentement 2005-2008), dont un volet relatif au renforcement du développement économique des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. À l'adoption du projet de loi S-3, il était prévu qu'un agent de TPSGC serait affecté à la partie VII de la LLO à temps plein (demandes des organismes bénévoles pour de l'aide, etc.). Le Ministère dispose d'un réseau régional de coordonnateurs de l'article 41 qui travaillent sur ce dossier à temps partiel.

D'après le Rapport annuel sur les LO 2004-2005 soumis à Patrimoine canadien, TPSGC a participé à diverses rencontres où des représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire ont fait part de leurs priorités, ce qui lui a permis de mieux comprendre les réalités de ces communautés. TPSGC a entrepris ses propres consultations auprès des communautés minoritaires afin de connaître comment le Ministère peut mieux répondre à leurs besoins selon son mandat. À l'occasion de la consultation de mi-parcours du Plan d'action pour les langues officielles, TPSGC a participé à la consultation entre les représentants des communautés anglophones du Québec et les ministères fédéraux à Ottawa.

Le directeur des LO fait partie du comité sur la presse minoritaire de Patrimoine canadien. Comme organisme central qui détient une responsabilité des pratiques gouvernementales en matière de communication, les politiques et pratiques de TPSGC sont conformes à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. D'ailleurs, afin d'assurer la transparence, TPSGC a mis en oeuvre de nouveaux systèmes de gestion de l'information, ce qui lui permettra de surveiller, de faire le suivi et de rendre publiques ses dépenses de publicité consacrées aux médias minoritaires de langue officielle en 2006-2007.

Les employés (autres que ceux impliqués dans des activités de l'article 41) sont sensibilisés jusqu'à un certain point aux besoins des communautés minoritaires lors de séances d'orientation dont le contenu est versé dans l'intranet. De plus, des rencontres régulières ont lieu avec les dirigeants des Ressources humaines pour les sensibiliser à leurs obligations d'ensemble, dont celles d'appuyer l'épanouissement des minorités de langue officielle.

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5%)

Le plan d'action pour la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 témoigne d'un engagement ministériel considérable à ce chapitre, mais TPSGC n'examine pas systématiquement les mémoires au Cabinet et des présentations au Conseil du Trésor dans l'optique de la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

TPSGC a établi un partenariat avec la Ville d'Ottawa dans le cadre du projet Aide aux entreprises, mis sur pied par cette dernière et parrainé par le ministère du Patrimoine canadien, dans le but d'aider les entreprises à améliorer les services offerts à la clientèle dans les deux LO. Le projet offre aux locataires commerciaux de la Ville ou de TPSGC une gamme de services qui leur permettront d'offrir davantage de services en français à leurs clients et d'améliorer la prestation de ces services. Les responsables du projet ont élaboré des trousses d'outils, qui ont été envoyées aux locataires commerciaux de TPSGC.

Voici quelques initiatives prises par TPSGC qui ont continué cette année à promouvoir la dualité linguistique canadienne : participation active du Bureau de la traduction (BT) à la mise sur pied du nouveau Centre de recherche sur les technologies langagières (Gatineau), un projet conjoint avec l'Université du Québec en Outaouais et le Conseil national de recherche du Canada; collaboration entre le BT et les universités qui offrent des programmes de traduction afin de former la relève en traduction (programmes COOP) et conférences dans le contexte des Rendez-vous de la Francophonie sur l'importance du patrimoine francophone du Canada et sur l'importance de rendre hommage à la langue et à la culture française.

Chaque année TPSGC offre une centaine d'ordinateurs usagés et excédentaires à des associations minoritaires et distribue une cinquantaine de cartes d'hôtel permettant aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire de bénéficier de tarifs réduits dans plusieurs établissements hôteliers participants. Un agent de communication du Ministère est membre de la Chambre économique de l'Ontario. TPSGC offre le logiciel Termium (base terminologique) gratuitement aux associations à but non lucratif des groupes minoritaires de langue officielle. Le Ministère a participé aux Rendez-vous de la Francophonie de 2005 et a appuyé les Jeux de la francophonie canadienne, à Winnipeg, sous forme de financement de frais de traduction.

TPSGC a consacré une ressource à temps plein pour une durée déterminée au Réseau de développement économique et d'employabilité. TPSGC appuie le résultat relatif au renforcement du développement économique des communautés et des industries de la langue grâce à ses programmes de stages en traduction offerts par le BT.

NOTE GLOBALE