Provincial and Territorial Offices Responsible for Official Languages

The Official Languages Act does not apply to provincial and municipal governments, or to private businesses. However, certain provinces and territories have adopted policies and legislation to protect languages. To learn more, contact the office responsible for official languages in your province or territory.


Francophone SecretariatExternal site

British Columbia

Francophone AffairsExternal site


Francophone Affairs SecretariatExternal site

New Brunswick

Commissioner of Official Languages for New BrunswickExternal site
Francophonie and Official Languages BranchExternal site

Newfoundland and Labrador

Office of French ServicesExternal site

Northwest Territories

Languages Commissioner of the Northwest TerritoriesExternal site

Nova Scotia

Acadian AffairsExternal site


Language Commissioner of NunavutExternal site


Office of Francophone AffairsExternal site
French Language Services CommissionerExternal site

Prince Edward Island

Acadian and Francophone AffairsExternal site


Office québécois de langue françaiseExternal site
Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales canadiennesExternal site


Francophone Affairs BranchExternal site

Yukon Territory

French Language Services DirectorateExternal site