ARCHIVED - Canada Post Corporation 2005-2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2005-2006 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

The Official Languages Program (OLP) document sets out the roles of the various official languages (OL) stakeholders. Among other things, the document describes managers' responsibilities for ensuring that the OLP is integrated into the Corporation's programs and activities, as well as the responsibilities of the Corporation's auditor for determining the extent to which the components of the program are understood and implemented. Furthermore, the guide outlines the manner in which the obligations under the Official Languages Act are to be fulfilled, specifically in terms of services to the public, language of work and equitable participation.

The Corporation's Annual Report to the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada (PSHRMAC) contains a series of implementation plans that outline measures related to Parts IV, V and VI. A separate action plan for Part VII is included in the annual report submitted to Canadian Heritage.

The person in charge of OL takes every opportunity to emphasize the importance of respecting the OL rights of members of the public and employees. The Corporation's OL group is responsible for, among other things, conducting investigations and making recommendations on the corrective measures to be taken and to act on complaints received.

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

The 2005-2009 Business Plan sent by the Corporation to the Treasury Board outlines its commitment to OL issues. The plan reaffirms institutional bilingualism and assistance to official language minority communities (Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Act). The Executive Committee discussed the business plan. However, the 2004 Annual Report makes no mention of OL.

OLP impact analysis are conducted within the framework of submissions to the Treasury Board. OL are part of the mandate of the Corporation's internal auditor. To that effect, the annual review of Parts IV, V and VI indicates that in 2004, the Corporation's internal audit unit conducted audits of the language of service at 15 postal outlets. In 2005, the internal audit unit will continue to assess language compliance at postal outlets.

The new OL champion is the Vice President and a member of the Senior Management Committee. A co-champion, at the national director level, assists the champion. The co-champion is responsible for employment policies and often attends Executive Committee meetings. The Corporation has a national and regional network of OL coordinators and regional champions in Montréal, which ensures effective coordination of Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Act.

c) Complaints (5%)

The Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) published the report of an audit of services at bilingual postal outlets in May 2004 and followed up this year. OCOL has identified a serious systemic problem related to the non-availability of bilingual service at dealer outlets.

The complaint investigation process is decentralized to better involve the managers responsible. The regional coordinator concerned receives the complaint and forwards it to the appropriate manager. The manager, after consulting with the regional coordinator, is responsible for determining what corrective measure should be taken, and for sharing this information with the Office of the Commissioner. The person in charge of OL sends a monthly follow-up report on complaints lodged against the Corporation to managers and the President.

Since August 2005, the Corporation has been working on a report on lessons learned from complaints and their solutions in order to prevent recurrences. This report is distributed to all levels of management responsible for retail sales.

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (4%)

71% of incumbents of bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: Systems, Applications and Products (SAP), November 1, 2005)

The Corporation is taking steps to inform the public about its bilingual points of service. To that end, in April 2005, Canada Post notified official language minority communities where they can get services in the official language of their choice.

All changes affecting points of service are sent to PSHRMAC twice a year so that BUROLIS can be updated. OCOL representatives noted that the postal outlets White Pages entries do not allow the public to identify which ones are designated as bilingual.

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to the observations of in-person service made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active visual offer was present in 69% of cases, active offer by staff was made in 15.5% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 82.5% of cases.

According to the observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active offer of service by staff or by an automated system was made in 88% of cases; while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 88% of cases.

OCOL made its observations both at the Corporation's and retailers' outlets.

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

Bilingual dealer contracts include a language clause. The Corporation has made some changes to its monitoring mechanism to better measure language compliance. The Corporation also provided information sessions to operators to emphasize the importance of complying with language of service requirements as set out in the Act.

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring (4%)

Employees are regularly reminded of their obligations under the Act through various means (employee newsletters, leaflets, e-mail to staff, etc.).

The Corporation continued its assessments of language compliance at designated bilingual postal outlets as part of the Sales Performance Review program. The results of these assessments are forwarded to managers so they can implement corrective measures, where applicable.

The Corporation is also continuing to conduct checks under the Mystery Shopper Program. This program has been identified by the PSHRMAC as an exemplary practice. Through this program, the Corporation evaluates customer satisfaction with the provision of service in both OL.

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy (12.5%)

63% of supervisors in bilingual regions who are required to supervise their employees in both official languages are able to do so. (Source: SAP, November 1, 2005)

The Corporation's language of work policy is included in the Official Languages Program Guide. The policy outlines obligations in terms of internal services, work instruments, supervision, performance evaluations, etc.

Measures have been implemented to support the internal language of work policy, such as: tool development; language training; the "Bilingualism Stars" Review Committee; translation, terminology and interpretation services; and the network of official language coordinators.

b) Establishment of an environment conducive to both official languages (12.5%)

The Corporation uses several methods to encourage the use of OL in its offices through internal publications, presentations, supervisor training on language of work, language of work brochures and a conversation club.

Reminders are sent regularly to employees on their OL rights. The person in charge of OL uses meetings to emphasize the participants' right to use the OL of their choice. In 2004, the Vice President of Human Resources sent a reminder on language of work guidelines to members of the Management Committee. Management Committee meetings are bilingual.

The Corporation uses its Annual Review of OL (Parts IV, V and VI), endorsed by the Chief Executive Officer and sent to PSHRMAC, to monitor the application of the language of work policy. To that end, an annual progress report is sent to the Management Committee and the Board of Directors.

In 2005, a survey was conducted among English-speaking employees working in the Montréal area. The results indicate that in general, employees' language rights are being respected.

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Francophones account for 23% of the Canada Post Corporation workforce as a whole. (Source: SAP, November 1, 2005)

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

Anglophones account for 5% of the Canada Post Corporation workforce in Quebec (Source: SAP November 1, 2005).

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities (12.5%)

The national OL coordinator is responsible for co-ordinating Part VII issues. While there are few Treasury Board submissions and memoranda to Cabinet, these documents are systematically sent to the OL coordinator, who examines their content from an official language minority community development point of view. Major new projects are examined in the same way. Canada Post's business plan includes a statement on the Corporation's commitment to fulfilling its obligations under Part VII of the Act. Canada Post provides its action plans and progress reports annually to provincial linguistic minority associations to seek their input.

As far as advertising is concerned, the Official Languages Program document states that "all advertising must appear in both the English-language and French-language print and electronic media. If there is no advertising medium in the minority language, both official language versions must be published in a majority-language medium [...] different media may be used for each language group, provided that the effectiveness of the communication with individuals in the language of their choice is assured. "

Through the use of newsletters, messages to staff and the Intranet, employees are informed of the needs of both official languages groups.

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

In order to ensure that linguistic duality is taken into consideration, Treasury Board submissions and memoranda to Cabinet, of which there are relatively few, are systematically routed to the person in charge of Part VII for review.

Canada Post states that it promotes linguistic duality across the country, given the large number of local outlets. The 2004 annual report submitted to Canadian Heritage on Part VII of the Official Languages Act states: "Canada Post is the federal agency with the largest retail network in the country, including some 800 postal outlets designated bilingual under the Official Languages Regulations. "

Canada Post sponsors activities that promote linguistic duality: Canada Post Literacy Awards, Les Rendez-vous de la francophonie, Letters to Santa Claus, the activities of "Fédération canadienne pour l'alphabétisation en français".

OVERALL RATING

ARCHIVÉE - Société canadienne des postes 2005-2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2005-2006

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Le document intitulé Programme des langues officielles énonce l'ensemble des rôles des différents intervenants en ce qui a trait aux langues officielles (LO). On y retrouve, entre autres, une description des responsabilités des gestionnaires de s'assurer de l'intégration du Programme des LO aux programmes et activités de la Société et de celles du vérificateur de la Société de déterminer la mesure dans laquelle les éléments du Programme sont compris et respectés. De plus, le document fait part des modalités d'exécution des obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO), plus précisément en ce qui a trait aux services au public, à la langue de travail et à la participation équitable.

Le rapport annuel que soumet la Société à l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada (AGRHFPC) contient une série de plans de mise en oeuvre qui précisent les mesures liées aux parties IV, V et VI de la LLO. Un plan d'action distinct visant la partie VII fait partie du rapport annuel présenté à Patrimoine canadien.

Le responsable fonctionnel des LO saisit toutes les occasions pour réitérer l'importance de respecter les droits en matière de LO des membres du public et des employés. Le groupe des LO de la Société est chargé, entre autres, de procéder à des enquêtes et de faire des recommandations quant aux mesures correctives à mettre en oeuvre pour donner suite aux plaintes reçues.

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation (5 %)

Le Plan d'entreprise 2005-2009 que la Société a envoyé au Conseil du Trésor indique son engagement en matière de LO. Le plan réitère le bilinguisme institutionnel et l'appui aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (parties IV, V, VI et VII de la LLO). Ce plan d'entreprise a été discuté au comité exécutif. Le Rapport annuel 2004 ne fait toutefois pas mention des LO.

Des analyses d'impact sur le Programme des LO sont faites dans le cadre des présentations au Conseil du Trésor. Les LO font partie du mandat du vérificateur interne de la Société. À cet effet, le bilan annuel sur les parties IV, V et VI indique, entre autres, qu'en 2004, le service de vérification interne de la Société a effectué des vérifications sur la langue de service dans 15 comptoirs postaux. Le service de vérification interne continuera en 2005 d'évaluer la conformité linguistique au sein des comptoirs postaux.

La nouvelle championne des LO est vice-présidente et est membre du comité de la haute direction. Une co-championne, au niveau de directeur national, assiste la championne. La co-championne est responsable des politiques en emploi et participe souvent aux réunions du comité exécutif. La Société s'est dotée d'un réseau national et régional de coordonnateurs des LO et de champions régionaux à Montréal, ce qui assure une coordination efficace des parties IV, V, VI et VII de la LLO.

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Le Commissariat aux langues officielles (CLO) a publié un rapport de vérification du service aux comptoirs postaux bilingues en mai 2004 et a fait un suivi cette année. Le CLO a décelé des problèmes systémiques sérieux liés à la non-disponibilité des services bilingues dans les comptoirs exploités par des détaillants.

Le processus d'enquête des plaintes est décentralisé pour mieux impliquer les gestionnaires responsables. Ainsi, le coordonnateur régional concerné reçoit la plainte et la dirige au gestionnaire concerné. Ce dernier, après consultation avec le coordonnateur régional, est responsable de déterminer la mesure corrective à prendre et à en faire part au CLO. Le responsable fonctionnel des LO fait parvenir un rapport mensuel des suivis sur les plaintes déposées contre la Société aux gestionnaires et à la présidente.

Depuis le mois d'août 2005, la Société élabore un rapport sur les leçons apprises à la suite des plaintes et sur les solutions apportées pour éviter de nouvelles plaintes. Ce rapport est distribué à tous les niveaux de gestion responsables de la vente au détail.

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (4 %)

71 % des titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Système, applications et produits (SAP), 1er novembre 2005)

La Société adopte des mesures pour annoncer aux membres du public ses points de service bilingues. À cet effet, en avril 2005, la Société a indiqué aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire où ils peuvent obtenir des services dans la langue officielle de leur choix.

Toutes les modifications touchant les points de service sont envoyées à l'AGRHFPC deux fois par année afin de mettre à jour Burolis. Les représentants du CLO ont constaté que les inscriptions relatives aux comptoirs postaux dans les pages blanches des annuaires téléphoniques ne permettaient pas au public de déterminer lesquels sont désignés bilingues.

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 69 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 15,5 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 82,5 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 88 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 88 % des cas.

Les observations du CLO ont porté sur les comptoirs de la Société et sur ceux exploités par des détaillants.

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

Une clause linguistique existe dans les contrats des franchisés bilingues. La Société a apporté des modifications à son mécanisme de surveillance pour mieux mesurer la conformité linguistique. La Société a également offert aux exploitants des séances d'information pour réitérer l'importance du respect des exigences en matière de langue de service telles que définies dans la LLO.

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (4 %)

La Société rappelle régulièrement à ses employés leurs obligations en vertu de la LLO de diverses façons (bulletins d'information aux employés, distribution de dépliants, messages électroniques aux employés, etc.).

La Société a poursuivi ses évaluations de la conformité linguistique dans les comptoirs postaux désignés bilingues dans le cadre du programme d'évaluation du rendement des ventes. Les résultats de ces évaluations sont transmis aux gestionnaires afin qu'ils puissent mettre en oeuvre des mesures correctives là où il y a lieu.

La Société continue également ses vérifications dans le cadre du Programme de client mystère. Ce programme a d'ailleurs été souligné comme étant une pratique exemplaire par l'AGRHFPC. Par le biais de ce programme, la Société détermine la satisfaction des clients relativement à la prestation d'un service dans les deux LO.

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail (12,5 %)

63 % des surveillants en région bilingue tenus de superviser leurs employés dans les deux LO peuvent le faire. (Source : SAP, 1er novembre 2005)

La Politique sur la langue de travail de la Société est incluse dans le guide du Programme des LO. La politique précise, entre autres, les obligations en ce qui a trait aux services internes, aux instruments de travail, à la supervision, aux évaluations de rendement, etc.

Des mesures ont été mises en place pour appuyer la politique interne sur la langue de travail telles que l'élaboration d'outils; la formation linguistique; le comité de révision « Les étoiles du bilinguisme »; les services de traduction, de terminologie et d'interprétation et le réseau de coordonnateurs sur les LO.

b) Création d'un milieu propice aux deux langues officielles (12,5 %)

La Société se sert de divers moyens pour encourager l'utilisation des LO dans ses bureaux, et ce, par le biais de publications internes, de présentations, de formations des superviseurs sur la langue de travail, de brochures sur la langue de travail et d'un club de conversation.

Des rappels sont envoyés régulièrement aux employés sur les droits en matière de LO. Le responsable fonctionnel profite des réunions pour réitérer le droit des participants d'utiliser la LO de leur choix.

En 2004, la vice-présidente des ressources humaines a fait parvenir aux membres du comité de gestion, un rappel sur les directives en matière de langue de travail. Les réunions du comité de gestion sont bilingues.

La Société utilise son Bilan annuel sur les LO (partie IV, V et VI) sanctionné par le premier dirigeant et envoyé à l'AGRHFPC pour contrôler l'application de la Politique sur la langue de travail. À cet effet, un rapport annuel sur l'état des réalisations est envoyé au comité de gestion et au conseil d'administration.

En 2005, un sondage a été effectué auprès d'employés d'expression anglaise travaillant dans la région de Montréal. Les résultats indiquent que les droits linguistiques des employés sont généralement respectés.

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

L'effectif de la Société canadienne des postes est composé à 23 % de francophones dans l'ensemble du Canada. (Source : SAP, 1er novembre 2005)

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

L'effectif de la Société canadienne des postes est composé à 5 % d'anglophones au Québec. (Source : SAP, 1er novembre 2005)

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

La coordination relative à la partie VII est assurée par le responsable fonctionnel des LO. Bien que les présentations au Conseil du Trésor et les mémoires au Cabinet soient relativement peu nombreux, ces documents lui sont systématiquement acheminés afin qu'il puisse les examiner dans l'optique du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Les nouveaux projets d'envergure sont également soumis à cet examen. D'autre part, le plan d'entreprise de la Société contient un énoncé distinct sur l'engagement de la Société en ce qui a trait aux obligations découlant de la partie VII de la LLO. Afin d'obtenir de la rétroaction, la Société remet ses plans d'action et ses rapports d'étape aux associations porte-parole des minorités linguistiques provinciales.

En matière de publicité, le document intitulé Programme des langues officielles précise que « toute publicité doit paraître dans les médias écrits et électroniques de langue française et de langue anglaise. Si l'un de ceux-ci n'existe pas dans la langue minoritaire, on doit assurer la publication dans les deux LO dans un média de langue majoritaire... on peut avoir recours à des médias différents pour chaque groupe linguistique tant que l'efficacité de la communication est assurée avec chacun dans la langue officielle de son choix ».

Au moyen de bulletins d'information, de messages aux employés et de l'intranet, les employés sont renseignés sur les besoins des deux groupes de langue officielle.

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

Afin que la dualité linguistique soit prise en considération, les présentations au Conseil du Trésor et les mémoires au Cabinet, bien que peu nombreux, sont systématiquement soumis à l'examen du responsable fonctionnel de la partie VII.

La Société dit faire la promotion de la dualité linguistique partout au pays, vu le grand nombre de bureaux locaux. Le Rapport annuel 2004 présenté à Patrimoine canadien, sur la partie VII de la LLO, souligne que «  Postes Canada est l'organisme fédéral qui dispose du plus vaste réseau de vente au détail au pays, notamment 800 comptoirs postaux désignés bilingues en vertu du Règlement sur les langues officielles ».

Postes Canada parraine des activités qui font la promotion de la dualité linguistique (les Prix de l'alphabétisation de Postes Canada, les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie, le Programme de lettres au père Noël, les activités de la Fédération canadienne pour l'alphabétisation en français).

NOTE GLOBALE