ARCHIVED - Passport Canada 2006-2007

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Performance Report 2006-2007
Passport Canada

Factors and Criteria

Summary of Substantiating Data

Rating

Management (15%)

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

Currently under review, the institution's framework document details the responsibilities for Parts IV and V of the Official Languages Act (the Act). This document does not identify coordination mechanisms, nor does it discuss the way in which those in charge are held accountable. The Agency has begun to develop a set of guidelines dealing with each part of the Act in an effort to inform managers and personnel of their responsibilities toward official languages (OL).

Passport Canada does not have an OL action plan. However the key OL-related activities slated for the coming year are listed in its Annual Review.

Data found in the Human Resources Information System (HRIS) is analyzed on a regular basis to help the measure the Agency's rate of success in achieving its OL objectives. Discrepancies are forwarded to the Regional Director and progress reports are issued every two or three months. The OL situation is also discussed with both the Executive Committee and the Operations Committee, which is responsible for all services to the public. As well, the appropriate director is required to approve all requests for changes to linguistic profiles and the Chief Executive Officer is required to approve all requests made for non-imperative appointments.

D

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

Passport Canada's  2005-2008 Corporate and Business Plan deals with the following: accessible and equitable services for all Canadians, service improvements for its clients, enhanced compliance, increased service standards and an approach based on client satisfaction. This includes but does not specifically mention OL. The institution does not publish its own performance report, nor does it publish a report on plans and priorities. Instead, information on Passport Canada is incorporated in Foreign Affairs and International Trade reports. The sections of the 2005-2006 Performance Report and the 2006-2007 Report on Plans and Priorities relevant to Passport Canada deal with the client satisfaction survey (which includes a question on the availability of service in the official language of choice) and with Passport Canada's compliance with service standards.

Passport Canada's internal audits do not include OL. However, the organization conducts regular surveys to assess client satisfaction with its services. These surveys help identify gaps in the language of service to the public.

The OL situation is discussed at the Executive Committee and at the Operations Committee, which is responsible for all services to the public. The OL champion is a director general and sits on the Executive Committee.

The person responsible for OL, including all parts of the Act, reports directly to the Champion. They meet weekly to discuss OL.

C

c) Complaints (5%)

A mechanism is in place to ensure that complaints are addressed. They are first received by the person responsible for OL, who then forwards them to the relevant managers who, in turn, must identify sustainable solutions.

More substantial complaints are forwarded to management. A monthly complaints report is issued to regional directors in an effort to keep them informed of the substance of these complaints and the solutions chosen to resolve them. The report also provides an opportunity to share corrective measures and lessons learned.

A

Sub-total:

C

Service to the Public - Part IV (25%)

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (3%)

Bilingual points of service are listed in both the recently updated Burolis and in the telephone directory blue pages.

A total of 96% of employees in bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: Position and Classification Information System (PCIS), March 31, 2006)

B

b) Observations on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to observations of in-person service made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2006, an active visual offer was present in 93% of cases, an active offer by staff was made in 40% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 93% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2006, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 88% of cases.

B

c) Service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

Service agreements contain a clause that provides for the delivery of services in both OL where required. This includes agreements with Public Works and Government Services Canada for commissionaire services, with Canada Post for receiving agents, and with Service Canada. The Canada Post agreement provides for a fine should service be unavailable in both OL where required.

Client satisfaction surveys are used for monitoring purposes.

A

d) Policy on service to the public and bilingual services quality monitoring (5%)

Although it does not have its own policy on service to the public, the Agency uses the policy of the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada (PSHRMAC). The Personnel Orientation Program, slated for launch in early 2007-2008, includes a new welcome kit containing information on obligations regarding service to the public.

Regional directors use briefing sessions to remind employees who serve the public of their obligations regarding service to the public.

Results of the Annual Client Satisfaction Survey allow Passport Canada to monitor, among other things, client satisfaction with the use of the official language of their choice. These results are discussed at length with the Management Committee. As well, in the coming year, the Agency plans to survey clients on various aspects of the OL Program.

B

Sub-total:

B

Language of Work - Part V (25%)

a) Language of work policy and adequate bilingual supervision (12.5%)

Although it does not have its own policy on service to the public, the Agency uses the policy of the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada (PSHRMAC). Information regarding language of work will be included in the Orientation Program's welcome kit, which will be available in 2007, as well as in the Managers' Guide that accompanies the kit.

With regard to language of work, measures have been put in place to promote the use of both OL in bilingual regions. Employees who successfully complete their mandatory language training receive a certificate signed by the Chief Executive Officer. In the Ontario Region, a French second language course is offered to employees working in the province's bilingual regions and a task force was created to study OL and security-related issues. In bilingual regions, the person responsible for OL monitors e-mail messages sent to a broad range of recipients in order to identify potential violations. Action is taken in cases where it appears that employees' right to work in the OL of their choice is being infringed.

As of March 31, 2006, the Position and Classification Information System (PCIS) indicated that 92% of senior management and 83% of supervisors who must communicate with their staff in both languages in bilingual regions are bilingual.

B

b) Use of each official language in the workplace (12.5%)

No reminders were issued to managers or employees by Passport Canada regarding language of work. However, the person responsible for OL issues a reminder to managers regarding their obligations if a lower language designation is being suggested for a supervisor's position and if this change is likely to have an impact on the workplace.

Executive Committee meetings are held in both OL.

No specific mechanism exists to monitor the application of language of work policies.

The Public Service Employee Survey showed that overall, 80% of Francophone respondents in the National Capital Regions, New Brunswick and in bilingual regions of Ontario "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime. In Quebec, 94% of Anglophone respondents "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime.

C

Sub-total:

C

Equitable Participation  - Part VI (10%)

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Overall, the workforce is 37.2% Francophone. (Source, PCIS, March 31, 2006)

B

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

In Quebec, the workforce is 26.4% Anglophone. (Source, PCIS, March 31, 2006)

B

Sub-total:

B

Development of Official Language Minority Communities and Promotion of Linguistic Duality - Part  VII (25%)

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of official language minority communities (12.5%)

No permanent mechanism exists at Passport Canada to ensure that Official Language Minority Communities (OLMCs) are included in its strategic planning and program development. To avoid hindering OLMC development, however, the Agency has an objective of increasing access to its services by clients. When changes are planned in services, and consultation is necessary, Passport Canada makes sure that it consults with all affected clients, including OLMCs.

Orientation sessions provide one of several opportunities to inform employees of the need to offer service in the language chosen by clients, including members of OLMCs.

D

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take linguistic duality into account (12.5%)

Passport Canada considers linguistic duality to be implicit in all its activities. It ensures that clerks, examiners and agents processing passport applications reflect the institution's bilingual character, including through active offer of bilingual services and use of bilingual signage.

The Agency's language and cultural exchange project for examiners provides one example of its promotion of linguistic duality. The program offers examiners from various regions a chance to experience different cultural and working environments. Those who seek greater immersion can choose to live with a host family for the duration of the exchange.

E

Sub-total:

D

OVERALL RATING

C

ARCHIVÉE - Passeport Canada 2006-2007

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2006-2007
Passeport Canada

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion (15 %)

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Les responsabilités pour les parties IV et V de la Loi sur les langues officielles (la Loi) sont décrites dans le document cadre de Passeport Canada qui est présentement sous révision. Le document cadre ne précise pas les mécanismes de coordination ni la façon dont les responsables sont tenus de rendre des comptes. Cependant, Passeport Canada a amorcé l'élaboration d'un guide à l'intention des gestionnaires et des employés qui décrit les responsabilités en matière de LO à l'égard de toutes les parties de la Loi.

Passeport Canada ne possède pas de plan d'action en matière de langues officielles (LO). Toutefois, le Bilan annuel des LO décrit les activités clés en matière de LO qui seront accomplies au cours de la prochaine année.

L'organisme mesure l'atteinte de ses objectifs en matière de LO en analysant régulièrement les données du Système d'information sur les ressources humaines (SIRH). Les anomalies sont portées à l'attention des directeurs régionaux et un état de situation est partagé à tous les deux ou trois mois. La situation des LO est également discutée au Comité de gestion et au Comité des opérations, qui est responsable de l'ensemble des services au public. De plus, toute demande de changement de profil linguistique doit être approuvée par le directeur responsable et les demandes de nominations non impératives doivent recevoir l'approbation du président-directeur général.

D

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation
(5 %)

Le Plan directeur et d'entreprise 2005-2008 de Passeport Canada traite de services accessibles et équitables pour les Canadiens, d'amélioration des services à la clientèle, de renforcement de la conformité, d'augmentation des normes de service, d'approche axée sur la satisfaction de la clientèle, ce qui englobe, sans le préciser, les LO. L'organisme ne publie pas son propre rapport sur le rendement ni son propre rapport sur les plans et priorités ; plutôt, les renseignements à son sujet sont intégrés aux rapports d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada. Les parties du Rapport sur le rendement 2005-2006 et du Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2006-2007 touchant Passeport Canada traitent du sondage sur la satisfaction de la clientèle (lequel inclut une question sur l'obtention du service dans la langue officielle de choix) et du respect des normes de service.

Les activités de vérification interne de Passeport Canada n'intègrent pas les LO. Toutefois, l'organisme effectue des sondages périodiques pour mesurer la satisfaction de la clientèle à l'égard de ses services. Ces sondages permettent de capter les manquements à l'égard de la langue des services offerts au public.

La situation à l'égard des LO est discutée au Comité de gestion et au Comité des opérations, qui est responsable de l'ensemble des services au public. La championne des LO est une directrice générale et siège au Comité exécutif.

La responsable des LO, chargée de toutes les parties de la Loi, se rapporte directement à la championne et ces dernières se rencontrent de façon hebdomadaire afin de favoriser le dialogue à ce sujet.

C

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Un mécanisme est en place pour assurer le traitement des plaintes. La responsable des LO reçoit les plaintes et les achemine aux gestionnaires concernés qui doivent trouver des solutions durables.

Les plaintes significatives sont portées à l'attention de la gestion. Un rapport mensuel sur les plaintes est distribué aux directeurs régionaux pour, entre autres, les tenir au courant des sujets des plaintes et des solutions retenues, permettant ainsi un partage des mesures correctives et des leçons apprises.

A

Sous-total :

C

Service au public - Partie IV (25 %)

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (3 %)

Les points de service bilingues sont inscrits dans Burolis, qui a été mis à jour récemment, et dans les pages bleues des annuaires téléphoniques.

Un total de 96 % des titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC), 31 mars 2006)

B

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2006, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 93 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 40 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 93 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le Commissariat entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2006, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 88 % des cas.

B

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

Les ententes de service contiennent une clause prévoyant la prestation de services dans les deux LO, le cas échéant. Il s'agit, entre autres, des ententes avec Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada pour les services de commissionnaires, des ententes avec Postes Canada pour les agents réceptionnaires et celles avec Service Canada. L'entente avec Postes Canada prévoit une amende si le service n'est pas disponible dans les deux LO là où il est exigé.

À titre de contrôle, des sondages visant à mesurer la satisfaction de la clientèle sont utilisés.

A

d) Politique sur le service au public et surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (5 %)

Bien que l'organisme n'ait pas sa propre politique en matière de service au public, il observe la Politique sur le service au public de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada (AGRHFPC). Des renseignements à propos des obligations en matière de service au public sont inclus dans la nouvelle trousse de bienvenue intégrée au Programme d'orientation du personnel qui sera lancé au début de l'année 2007-2008.

Pendant les séances d'information pour employés, les directeurs régionaux rappellent à leurs employés qui servent le public leurs obligations en matière de service au public.

Les résultats du Sondage annuel sur la satisfaction de la clientèle à l'égard des services offerts par Passeport Canada, qui mesure, entre autres, la satisfaction des clients relativement à l'utilisation de la langue officielle de leur choix, constituent une mesure de contrôle et sont largement discutés au Comité de gestion. De plus, l'organisme prévoit faire, au cours de cette année, un sondage visant à évaluer divers aspects du Programme des LO.

B

Sous-total :

B

Langue de travail - Partie V (25 %)

a) Politique sur la langue de travail et surveillance bilingue adéquate (12,5 %)

Bien que Passeport Canada n'ait pas sa propre politique sur la langue de travail, il utilise la politique de l'AGRHFPC en matière de langue de travail. Des renseignements sur la langue de travail sont inclus dans la trousse de bienvenue du Programme d'orientation, qui sera disponible au courant de l'année 2007, et dans le Guide à l'intention des gestionnaires qui accompagne cette trousse.

Des mesures ont été mises en place pour favoriser l'utilisation des deux LO dans les régions bilingues aux fins de la langue de travail. Chaque employé qui suit une formation linguistique obligatoire avec succès se voit décerner un certificat signé par le président-directeur général. Dans la région de l'Ontario, on offre un cours de sensibilisation au français langue seconde pour les employés qui travaillent dans les régions bilingues et on a mis sur pied un groupe de travail pour étudier les LO et la sécurité. Dans les régions bilingues, la responsable des LO surveille les courriels envoyés à un grand éventail de récipiendaires pour repérer les infractions et elle intervient dans les cas où le droit des employés à travailler dans la LO de leur choix n'est pas respecté.

En date du 31 mars 2006, le Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC) indiquait que 92 % des cadres et  83 % des superviseurs qui doivent communiquer dans les deux langues avec leurs employés dans les régions désignées bilingues sont bilingues.

B

b) Utilisation de chaque langue officielle au travail (12,5 %)

Passeport Canada n'a pas fait de rappels portant sur la langue de travail à l'intention des gestionnaires ou des employés. Par contre, s'il est recommandé de réduire les exigences de la désignation linguistique d'un poste de superviseur et qu'il est susceptible d'affecter le milieu de travail, la responsable des LO rappellera au gestionnaire ses obligations à cet égard.

Les réunions du Comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO.

Il n'y a pas de mécanisme précis pour contrôler l'application de la politique sur la langue de travail.

Le Sondage auprès des fonctionnaires fédérauxa établi que 80 % de l'ensemble des répondants francophones de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN), du Nouveau-Brunswick et des régions bilingues de l'Ontario étaient « entièrement d'accord » ou « plutôt d'accord » avec le régime de la langue de travail. Au Québec, la proportion de répondants anglophones du même avis se situait à 94 %.

C

Sous-total : 

C

Participation équitable - Partie VI (10 %)

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

Dans l'ensemble du Canada, l'effectif est composé à 37,2 % de francophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2006)

B

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

Au Québec, l'effectif est composé à 26,4 % d'anglophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2006)

B

Sous-total :

B

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII (25 %)

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

Passeport Canada n'a pas de mécanisme permanent pour que la planification stratégique et l'élaboration de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM). Cependant, il a pour objectif d'accroître l'accessibilité de ses services à ses clients, s'assurant ainsi de ne pas nuire à l'épanouissement des CLOSM. Lorsque des modifications de ses services sont prévues et que des consultations sont nécessaires, Passeport Canada s'assure de consulter toute la clientèle visée, ce qui inclut les CLOSM.

Lors de sessions d'orientation, on informe le personnel du besoin d'offrir un service dans la langue officielle de choix des clients, ce qui inclut les membres des CLOSM.

D

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

Passeport Canada considère que la dualité linguistique est implicite dans toutes ses activités et il s'assure que les commis, les examinateurs et les agents qui traitent les demandes de passeport font la promotion du caractère bilingue de l'organisme, notamment grâce à leur offre active de services bilingues et à l'affichage bilingue.

Un des exemples illustrant la promotion de la dualité linguistique au sein de l'organisme est le projet d'échange linguistique et culturel pour examinateurs. Ce programme permet un échange d'examinateurs de diverses régions afin qu'ils puissent vivre l'expérience d'un milieu culturel et de travail différent. L'échange permet aussi aux examinateurs qui veulent une plus grande immersion de vivre dans une famille d'accueil pour la durée de l'échange.

E

Sous-total : 

D

NOTE GLOBALE

C