ARCHIVED - Parks Canada Agency 2004-2005

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2004-2005 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place

Although the PC 2003–2004 Annual Report and Corporate Plan 2004–05 to 2008–09 refer to accountability frameworks for human resources (HR) management, the Strategic Framework for People Management and the Accountability Framework for People Management, these instruments only briefly address official languages (OL) objectives. However, an Official Languages Action Plan, the objectives of which are based on priorities set by the HR committee, outlines the expectations of responsibility centres. This plan is posted on the intranet site.

Following an annual call letter, managers must be accountable for their achievements, monitoring activities and efforts to address problems. The HR Committee, chaired by a director general of operations, is responsible for implementing and following up on the Plan. In addition, the OL Annual Review describes achievements relating to the Plan. PC has maintained all TB policies, which are well anchored in the organizational culture. Co-ordination of the Official Languages Program (OLP) is facilitated by the "direct line" that management has with on-site operations officials.

The Newfoundland West and Labrador Field Unit has developed an official languages strategy in which it has defined delivery of service to the public in both official languages in relation to its operational context. The document lists the actions that must be taken to meet obligations under the OLA.

Fact Sheet

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization

PC distributed to managers its 2003–2006 Action Plan for Official Languages, which presents initiatives to achieve the objectives of Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Official Languages Act (OLA). The Corporate Plan 2004–2005 to 2008–2009 addresses OL strategic objectives, expected results and performance expectations. The 2003–2004 Annual Report addresses the objectives of the OLP. A PC document on management values and principles also incorporates OL objectives.

PC has conducted surveys regarding language of service and language of work. Official languages are not integrated with internal audits.

The issue of OL is addressed on a regular basis in Management Committee. The orientation of the OLP is handled by the HR Committee, which the OL Champion sits on; the operational managers help administer the OLP.

Responsibility for Part VII of the OLA was given to the Director General, Strategies and Plans. Co-ordination of Parts IV, V, VI and VII is handled by the HR Committee. A 2002–2005 Action Plan on the implementation of Section 41 was presented to Canadian Heritage.

Fact Sheet

c) Complaints

There is a procedure for reviewing complaints directed to the Commissioner of Official Languages (COL). Headquarters sends the complaint directly to the director responsible, who deals directly with the COL's office. The Director responsible must cite measures taken to correct the problem, and then headquarters closely monitors the follow-up. It is the responsibility of the manager to determine the necessary corrective action and to ensure that the principle of active offer is instilled in his or her employees. There does not appear to be a method of gaining insight from lessons learned (sharing of exemplary solutions). No apparent systemic problems.

Fact Sheet

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff

PC advertises its 154 bilingual points of service on Burolis. Its Web site, which is completely bilingual and very user-friendly, offers information on the agency's services.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery

According to observations on in-person service made by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages in the fall of 2004, active visual offer was present in 90.9% of cases; active offer by staff was made in 36.4% of cases, while service in the language of the minority was adequate in 72.7% of cases.

The results of the latest telephone service audit conducted by the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency showed that active offer of service was made by staff 64.2% of the time and on telephone answering machines 82.9% of the time, while service was actually available in the two OL 83.3% of the time.

Fact Sheet

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services

Leases and contracts reached between third parties and managers contain language clauses. The bilingual service requirements are monitored by the branches of National Office, field units and service centres. However, the Visitor Information Program, which measures satisfaction, does not differentiate between services offered by employees and those offered by third parties.

Fact Sheet

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring

PC educates managers and employees about the systematic bilingualism requirement, the principle of active offer and the importance of reflecting Canada's bilingual character. PC has designed an orientation workshop that will be offered throughout the country to seasonal employees (a third of its workforce). One of the objectives of the workshop is to raise awareness among employees about their OL obligations.

Courses on the Official Languages Program, and more specifically on the active offer of services, are also offered to business partners and volunteer groups.

PC regularly conducts surveys of its clientele, but it relies on complaints to identify problems with the quality of the services offered.

As they are responsible for offering services to the public, managers ensure that the commitments of the Action Plan are met. Moreover, during the preparation of the OL Annual Review, managers must report on measures designed to ensure the quality of services.

Fact Sheet

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy

81.9% of supervisors in bilingual regions who are required to supervise their employees in both OL are able to do so (Source: 2003–2004 Annual Report on OL, Parks Canada).

Parks Canada has posted its language of work policy on the agency intranet.

Fact Sheet

b) Use of each language in the workplace

The PC Action Plan outlines activities to create a conducive work environment. PC encourages the use of both official languages at work.

The information on employees' rights and obligations is transmitted by the lines of authority who must ensure that the activities of the Plan are carried out.

Apart from the grievance process in place, observations/ problems concerning OL can be reported to the champion or to the person responsible for official languages, who will conduct a follow-up.

The use of both languages is encouraged in meetings of the Executive Committee. Francophone representation on the Executive Committee is 43.0%; all members have a level of bilingualism that allows for exchanges in the preferred language of participants. Meetings are often held entirely in French.

The Atlantic Service Centre holds "Francophone Wednesdays" to support second language skills retention.

PC conducted its first survey of employees in the summer of 2003. The survey contained a distinct component on OL.

Apart from the documents posted on the Intranet, there are no examples of regular reminders to managers.

Fact Sheet

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada

Overall, 23.0% of employees are Francophone (source: 2003–2004 Annual Review of OL, Parks Canada).

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec

In Quebec, 1.0% of employees are Anglophone (source: 2003–2004 Annual Review of OL, Parks Canada)

Fact SheetFact Sheet

Development of minority language communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities

PC is sensitized to linguistic minority needs; it seeks to incorporate the language aspect into its local programs by working with local communities. Through its 2002–2005 Action Plan for Part VII, Parks Canada is structuring organizational efforts to fulfill its obligations in this area.

The Agency developed an educational program in co-operation with a Métis association in northern Saskatchewan and with minority language associations in British Columbia. PC reports that its agents work with Anglophone groups in Quebec in the same spirit.

In the P.E.I. Field Unit, the official languages champion of the field unit is an active member of the P.E.I. Official Languages Committee of the Federal Council. The committee held a consultation with the Acadian and Francophone community on their "Projet Vision" (a plan for the next five years), which will offer opportunities for the field unit and the community to work together.

PC has posted the government's communication policy (TBS) on its intranet. Space and time are purchased from the media of both official language communities; for example, requests for proposals and grant proposals in L'Eau vive (Saskatchewan).

Raising awareness of the needs of minority communities is done with a focus on service to the public.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality

As part of their duties, PC employees regularly meet with language group organizations in order to promote Canadian heritage. They consult with them about management plans and invite them to participate in heritage presentation programs.

There was standardization of employee orientation at the national level in order to highlight linguistic duality across the country. The orientation program is distributed over the Intranet.

Some examples of external promotion of linguistic duality are the production of the French language version of a survival guide for new visitors to Jasper Park. The Ontario Service Centre has expanded and improved its Internet products for teachers and students (classroom tools, lesson plans and activities); the educational resources centre now offers over 90 teaching aids in both official languages. No such resources were offered in the past. The Mainland Nova Scotia Field Unit has invited the Acadian Consultative Committee to contribute to heritage presentation renewal of the Fort Anne National Historic Site and to participate in the activities surrounding the 400th anniversary of the founding of Port Royal.

Fact Sheet

OVERALL RATING

Fact Sheet

ARCHIVÉE - Agence Parcs Canada 2004-2005

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2004-2005

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place

Le Rapport annuel 2003-2004 de PC et son Plan d'entreprise 2004-2005 à 2008-2009 mentionnent des cadres de reddition de comptes en gestion des ressources humaines (RH), le Cadre de gestion des personnes et le Cadre de responsabilisation pour la gestion des personnes; toutefois ces cadres ne traitent que sommairement des objectifs de langues officielles (LO). Par contre, un Plan d'action des langues officielles, approuvé par le Comité exécutif et dont les objectifs découlent des priorités déterminées par le comité des RH, précise les attentes des centres de responsabilités. Ce plan est affiché dans le site intranet.

Suite à une lettre d’appel annuelle, les gestionnaires doivent rendre des comptes sur leurs réalisations, leurs activités de surveillance et leurs efforts pour corriger les lacunes. La mise en œuvre du Plan et son suivi relèvent du Comité des RH, présidé par un directeur général (opérations). En outre, le Bilan annuel sur les LO fait état des réalisations par rapport au Plan. PC a maintenu la totalité des politiques du CT, bien ancrées dans la culture organisationnelle. La coordination du programme des langues officielles (PLO) est facilitée par la « ligne directe » que la direction entretient avec les responsables des opérations sur le terrain.

L'unité de gestion de Terre-Neuve Ouest et Labrador a élaboré une stratégie des langues officielles comportant une définition de la prestation de services dans les deux langues officielles compte tenu du contexte opérationnel. Le document précise les mesures à prendre pour respecter les obligations relevant de la LLO.

Fiche d'information

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation

PC a distribué à ses gestionnaires son Plan d'action des langues officielles 2003-2006 qui présente les initiatives pour réaliser les objectifs relevant des parties IV, V, VI et VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO). Le Plan d'entreprise 2004-2005 à 2008-2009 traite des objectifs stratégiques de LO, des résultats prévus et des attentes de rendement. Le Rapport annuel 2003-2004 traite des objectifs du PLO. Un document de PC sur les valeurs et principes de gestion intègre également les objectifs de LO.

PC a effectué des sondages sur la langue de service et sur la langue de travail. Les LO ne sont pas intégrées aux vérifications internes.

Le dossier des LO est abordé régulièrement en comité de gestion. L'orientation du PLO a été confiée au comité des RH, dont fait partie le champion des LO; les cadres opérationnels participent à l'administration du PLO.

La responsabilité de la partie VII de la LLO a été confiée au directeur général, Stratégies et Plans. La coordination de l'ensemble des parties IV, V, VI et VII se fait au comité des RH. Un Plan d'action 2002-2005 pour l'application de l'article 41 a été présenté à Patrimoine canadien.

Fiche d'information

c) Les plaintes

L'examen des plaintes adressées à la commissaire aux langues officielles (CLO) se fait selon un processus établi. L'administration centrale fait parvenir la plainte directement au directeur responsable qui traite directement avec le bureau de la CLO. Le directeur en cause doit faire état des mesures prises pour corriger la lacune; il y a ensuite un contrôle serré par l'administration centrale. Il revient au gestionnaire de déterminer les correctifs qui s'imposent et de veiller à ce que le principe de l'offre active soit inculqué aux employés dont il est responsable. Il ne semble pas exister de moyen de tirer partie des leçons apprises (mise en commun des solutions innovatrices). Aucun problème systémique apparent.

Fiche d'information

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat

PC annonce ses 154 points de service sur Burolis. Son site Web, entièrement bilingue et très convivial, renseigne le public sur les services offerts.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) Observations sur l'offre active et prestation de services

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles à l'automne 2004, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 90,9 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 36,4 % des cas tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité était adéquat dans 72,7 % des cas.

Les résultats de la dernière vérification du service téléphonique effectuée par l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique démontrent que l'offre active est faite 64,2 % du temps par les préposés et dans 82,9 % des cas sur les répondeurs téléphoniques, tandis que le service est disponible 83,3 % du temps.

Fiche d'information

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues

Les baux et contrats avec des tierces parties conclus par les gestionnaires comportent des clauses linguistiques. Les exigences en matière de services bilingues sont surveillées par les directions générales du Bureau national, les unités de gestion et les centres de services. Par contre, le Programme d'information sur les visiteurs, qui vise à mesurer la satisfaction, ne permet pas de faire la distinction entre les services offerts par des employés et les services offerts par des tiers.

Fiche d'information

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues

PC sensibilise les gestionnaires et les employés à l’obligation du « bilinguisme systématique », à l’offre active et à l’importance de témoigner du caractère bilingue du Canada. PC a conçu un atelier d’orientation qui sera offert partout au pays aux employés saisonniers (le tiers de son effectif). Entre autres objectifs, l’atelier vise à sensibiliser les employés aux obligations qui leur incombent au chapitre des LO.

Des cours de formation sur le Programme des langues officielles, notamment en ce qui concerne l'offre active de services, sont aussi offerts aux partenaires commerciaux et aux organisations de bénévoles.

PC mène régulièrement des sondages auprès de sa clientèle, mais l'organisme mise sur les plaintes pour repérer les problèmes en ce qui concerne la qualité des services offerts.

Les gestionnaires, en tant que responsable des services au public, veillent au respect des engagements du Plan d'action. Par ailleurs, dans le contexte de la préparation du Bilan annuel sur les LO, ils doivent rendre compte des mesures visant à assurer la qualité des services.

Fiche d'information

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail

81,9 % des surveillants en région bilingue tenus de surveiller leurs employés dans les deux langues officielles peuvent le faire (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2003-2004, Parcs Canada).

Parcs Canada affiche sa politique sur la langue de travail dans l'intranet de l'agence.

Fiche d'information

b) Utilisation de chaque langue au travail

Le Plan d'action de PC précise les activités pour créer un milieu de travail propice. PC encourage l'utilisation des deux langues officielles au travail.

L'information sur les droits et obligations des employés est transmise par les voies hiérarchiques qui doivent s'assurer de la réalisation des activités du Plan.

Outre le processus de grief en place, des observations/écarts à l'égard de la langue de travail peuvent être signalés soit au champion, soit au responsable des langues officielles, qui assure un suivi.

L'utilisation des deux langues est encouragée aux réunions du comité de gestion. La représentation de francophones au comité de gestion est de 43,0 % et tous les membres ont un niveau de bilinguisme qui permet des échanges dans la langue de choix des participants. Les réunions se déroulent souvent entièrement en français.

Pour favoriser le maintien des connaissances en langue seconde, le Centre de services de l’Atlantique mène un programme des « mercredis francophones ».

PC a mené son premier sondage auprès des employés à l'été 2003. Le sondage comportait un volet distinct sur les LO.

Mis à part les documents diffusés dans l'intranet, PC n'a pas fourni d'exemples de rappels réguliers aux gestionnaires.

Fiche d'information

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada

PC compte 23,0 % de francophones au Canada. (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2003-2004, Parcs Canada).

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec

PC compte 1,0 % d'anglophones au Québec. (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2003-2004, Parcs Canada).

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

PC se préoccupe des besoins des communautés linguistiques et veille à intégrer la dimension linguistique à ses programmes locaux en travaillant de concert avec les collectivités locales. Comme en témoigne son Plan d'action 2002-2005 sur la partie VII, PC déploie des efforts structurés pour honorer ses obligations à ce chapitre.

À titre d'exemple, l'agence a élaboré un programme éducatif de concert avec une association métisse dans le nord de la Saskatchewan et, en Colombie-Britannique, avec des associations qui représentent la minorité linguistique. PC signale que ses agents travaillent dans le même esprit avec des groupes anglophones au Québec.

L'unité de gestion de l'Î.-P.-É., le champion des LO de l'unité est un membre actif du comité des langues officielles du Conseil fédéral de l'Î.-P.-É. Entre autres activités, le comité a consulté la collectivité acadienne et francophone quant au Projet Vision (plan quinquennal), qui créera des occasions de collaboration entre le bureau local et la collectivité.

PC a affiché la politique de communication du gouvernement (SCT) dans son site intranet. L'achat d'espace et de temps se fait dans les organes d'information des deux collectivités de langues officielles; par exemple, des appels d'offres et des propositions de concession dans l'Eau vive (Saskatchewan).

La sensibilisation aux besoins des communautés minoritaires se fait dans l'optique du service au public.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique

Dans le contexte de leurs fonctions, les employés de PC rencontrent régulièrement les associations de groupes linguistiques afin de mettre en valeur le patrimoine canadien. Ils les consultent sur les plans directeurs et les invitent à participer aux programmes de mise en valeur du patrimoine.

Il y a eu uniformisation de l'orientation des employés à l'échelle nationale afin de mettre en valeur la dualité linguistique partout au pays. Le programme d'orientation est diffusé dans l'intranet.

Parmi les exemples d'appui à la promotion de la dualité linguistique, il y a la production de la version française d'un guide de survie à l'intention des nouveaux venus dans le parc de Jasper. Le Centre de services de l'Ontario a étendu et amélioré ses produits Internet destinés aux enseignants et aux étudiants (ressources en classe, plans de leçon et activités); le Centre de ressources pédagogiques compte maintenant plus de 90 ressources dans les deux langues officielles. Aucune ressource du genre n'était disponible auparavant. L'unité de gestion continentale de la Nouvelle-Écosse a invité le Comité consultatif acadien à contribuer au renouvellement de la mise en valeur du patrimoine du Lieu historique national de Fort Anne, et à participer aux activités prévues pour le 400e anniversaire de la fondation de Port Royal.

Fiche d'information

NOTE GLOBALE

Fiche d'information