ARCHIVED - National Capital Commission 2005-2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2005-2006 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

The National Capital Commission (NCC) does not have an official languages (OL) accountability framework but the document Integrated Management Framework of Our Human Resources does make OL one of the NCC's fundamental values. It describes measures to promote the use of both OL within the organization and in Canadian society. It deals, among other things, with the NCC's responsibilities with respect to OL, language training, equitable participation and internal communications. Its contents were endorsed by the Executive Management Committee (EMC). The Human Resources Memorandum of Understanding - Workplan 2004-2005- Implement the HR Management Integrated Framework sets out the OL champion's role and describes OL initiatives, and doubles as a corporate HR action plan, including OL measures.

The NCC presented an Annual Review of Official Languages on Parts IV, V, and VI of the Official Languages Act for 2004-2005. As well, an action plan for the implementation of section 41, Part VII of the Act, 2003-2006, and an Annual Report (action plan achievements) were again presented to Canadian Heritage this year.

In terms of accountability, there is a memorandum of understanding between the OL champion and the Chairman of the Commission. Performance appraisals of senior managers take into account human resources criteria, which include OL. The champion meets the Chairman, the Vice President and Executive Directors on a regular basis to discuss OL.

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

The following strategic documents mention official languages: the 2004-2005 Annual ReportóSetting Directions and the Summary of the Corporate Business Plan from 2005-2006 to 2009-2010; and the National Capital Act, which stipulates that the NCC is responsible for promoting the equal status of both OL in the National Capital Region (NCR). OL are not integrated into internal audits.

The OL champion reports directly to the Chairman of the NCC and is a member of EMC. The program officer responsible for OL participates in the OL discussions of the Executive Management Committee. The EMC discusses official languages on average twice a year. OL issues are integrated into daily management activities of each responsibility centre and the Chairman takes a real interest in OL. The same responsibility centres are in charge of applying Part VII of the Act. The individuals responsible communicate with each other when necessary.

In May 2005, the Commissioner of Official Languages awarded the Chairman of the National Capital Commission her prestigious "Leon Award". This award honours a deputy minister or agency head who has "shown outstanding leadership in promoting linguistic duality and implementing the official languages program in his or her institution."

c) Complaints (5%)

There is a procedure for handling complaints. The OL officer follows up on complaints; managers must analyse the complaints and propose corrective action. Because there are few complaints (16 in the past five years) it is hard to determine whether institutional learning does take place when they occur.

Service to the public – Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (4%)

NCC service points are advertised in the Blue Pages and in BUROLIS.

91% of incumbents of bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: NCC's OL coordinator, March 31, 2005)

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to observations of in-person service made by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) in the fall of 2005, active visual offer was present in 71% of cases, active offer was made by staff in 43% of the cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 100% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active offer of service by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 100% of cases.

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

Contracts with third parties contain a standard clause on bilingual services and on active offer. Minto Properties Limited is responsible for enforcing the language clause in leases on behalf of the NCC. In addition, the NCC conducts annual inspections as a means of monitoring.

As well, there is a checklist that must be followed for any submission to EMC. One of the items under HR components that managers must consider is the OL implications of the submission. Specifically, managers must have answered the following questions before making the submission: 1) "Are there any OL issues in this submission, be it service to the public, language of work, supervision or other?" and 2) "In the case of a contractor, have the [OL] obligations been clearly written into the request for proposal or the service contract?"

Pursuant to the recommendations of the Commissioner of Official Languages in the study on commercial leases, a new procedure was implemented starting in September 2004. The NCC's property management contractor now discusses the language requirements identified in the new Appendix A of the lease with each new tenant, and with existing tenants when renewing their leases. Subsequent to the adoption of this new procedure, tenants must sign at the end of the Appendix to confirm that they have read and accepted the identified language conditions. The process of verifying compliance among the commercial tenants has been formalized, the inspection methodology has been changed and verifications are taking place at least once a year.

The NCC has now supplied tools to all its tenants in the immediate Ottawa area to encourage them to offer services to their clients in both official languages (e.g. the Business Assistance kit provided by the City of Ottawa, offering low-cost translation services, oral communication workshops and assistance in recruiting bilingual personnel).

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring (4%)

Employees are informed of their obligations with regard to service to the public during the new employee orientation program.

More specific briefing sessions are also offered to middle managers and to all employees (supervisor's role, active offer, etc.). Employees are also encouraged to wear a pin indicating that they can provide services to the public in both official languages.

The NCC uses comments it receives from the public during events for which it is responsible, such as the use of both official languages during Canada Day celebrations, to correct deficiencies. There are also periodic surveys to measure the public's satisfaction.

Language of work – Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy (12.5%)

87% of NCC supervisors who are required to supervise in both OL are able to do so. (Source: National Capital Commission's Annual Review of Official Languages 2004-2005, December 31, 2004)

A policy on language of work is in place; modified frameworks were adopted in November 2003 and in September 2005. The NCC signed a three-year agreement with a language school that offers on-site language training. The Chairman has set language training as a corporate priority. Second language training is offered on a part-time basis in the workplace and oral interaction sessions are also available during lunch hours.

b) Establishment of an environment conducive to both official languages (12.5%)

Employees are informed of their rights and obligations during briefing sessions and through normal management channels. The Chairman meets all new employees at the new employee orientation session to personally talk to them about the NCC's values as an organization. He always emphasizes the OL aspect of those values.

Signs on holding meetings in both OL are posted in meeting rooms and the NCC has produced a guide on holding effective bilingual meetings.

The NCC exercises controls through in-house surveys. The last language of work survey was in 2003 and the next one will likely be in 2006. The results of the 2003 survey showed that the availability of work tools, such as software in French, must be improved. The results of the survey led to the development of an action plan, which is being monitored.

In 2005 employees were reminded by e-mail on at least two occasions of their language of work rights. Through those same e-mails, managers were reminded of their Part V obligations.

The EMC's deliberations take place in both official languages.

Equitable participation – Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Francophones account for 54.3% of the NCC's workforce as a whole. All are located in the NCR. (Source: National Capital Commission's Annual Review of Official Languages 2004-2005, December 31, 2004)

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

All employees are located in the NCR.

N/A

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality – Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities (12.5%)

In general terms, the OL champion ensures that strategic planning and program and policy development take into account the development of official language minority communities. Specifically, this element is taken into account by the NCC when the five-year marketing, communication and external relations plan is developed. The NCC has developed an Action Plan (2003-2006) for section 41 of the Act that serves as a mechanism to ensure that strategic planning takes into account the development of minority language communities. Moreover, each year, the NCC submits to Canadian Heritage a description of its achievements in relation to the implementation of section 41 (the NCC's annual Progress Report).

To better understand minority language community needs, the NCC participates in conferences and other events organized by representatives from minority cultural and social circles where artists and producers from the OL minority communities are present. NCC staff attending these meetings provide feedback to management, upon returning to the office. More generally, many of the NCC's staff come from minority language community backgrounds themselves and therefore understand the context and needs of those communities.

Advertisements are placed in both the English and French media outlets to reach official language minority communities in accordance with the government's communications policy.

Employees are made aware, in a general way, of the needs of minority communities during training and information sessions.

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

The OL champion ensures that policy and program development takes into account the promotion of linguistic duality. The NCC's mission is to create a feeling of pride and of national unity and to showcase the National Capital Region. This is done during events such as the Canada Day celebrations, Christmas Lights, Winterlude, etc. A special effort is made to ensure OL minority language artists and performers are included in the NCC's performances and that both languages are specifically celebrated.

A tripartite commission was set up with Gatineau and Ottawa to focus on promoting linguistic duality and working with the Chamber of Commerce and the Regroupement des gens d'affaires.

To promote linguistic duality within the organization, the Chairman personally meets with new employees to explain the NCC's values, which include linguistic duality.

OVERALL RATING

ARCHIVÉE - Commission de la capitale nationale 2005-2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2005-2006

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

La Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN) n'a pas de cadre de responsabilisation en matière de langues officielles (LO), mais le document Cadre de gestion intégré de nos ressources humaines fait des LO une des valeurs fondamentales de la CCN. Il décrit des mesures pour favoriser l'utilisation des deux LO au sein de l'organisation et dans la société canadienne. Il aborde, entre autres, les responsabilités de la CCN à l'égard des LO, de la formation linguistique, de la participation équitable et des communications internes. Son contenu a été endossé par le comité directeur. Le Protocole d'entente des ressources humaines - Plan de travail 2004 2005 - Mettre en oeuvre le cadre de gestion intégré des ressources humaines précise le rôle de la championne des LO et décrit des initiatives en matière de LO. Il sert également de plan d'action organisationnel pour les ressources humaines et comprend des mesures sur les LO.

La CCN a présenté un Bilan annuel sur les parties IV, V, et VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) pour 2004-2005. Par ailleurs, un Plan d'action pour la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41, partie VII de la LLO, 2003-2006, ainsi qu'un Rapport annuel (plan d'action et réalisations) ont de nouveau été présentés à Patrimoine canadien cette année.

Pour ce qui est de la reddition de comptes, il existe un protocole d'entente entre la championne des LO et le président de la CCN. Les évaluations de rendement des cadres tiennent compte de critères de gestion des ressources humaines, ce qui inclut les LO. La championne rencontre périodiquement le président, le vice-président et les directeurs administratifs au sujet des LO.

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation (5 %)

Les documents stratégiques suivants mentionnent les LO : le Rapport annuel 2004-2005 intitulé Établir les orientations et le résumé du Plan d'entreprise de 2005-2006 à 2009-2010 ainsi que la Loi sur la capitale nationale qui précise le rôle de la CCN dans la promotion de l'égalité du statut des deux LO dans la région de la capitale nationale (RCN). Les LO ne sont pas intégrées à la vérification interne.

La championne des LO relève directement du président de la CCN et est membre du comité directeur. L'agent de programme responsable des LO participe aux discussions du comité directeur portant sur les LO. Les LO y sont discutées en moyenne deux fois par année. Les enjeux sur les LO sont intégrés à la gestion des activités quotidiennes de chaque centre de responsabilités, et le président porte un grand intérêt aux LO. Les mêmes centres de responsabilités doivent également appliquer la partie VII de la LLO. Les personnes responsables communiquent entre elles, le cas échéant.

En mai 2005, la commissaire aux langues officielles accordait au président de la CCN son prestigieux Prix Léon. Ce prix rend hommage à un sous-ministre ou à un dirigeant qui « s'est démarqué par son leadership pour promouvoir la dualité linguistique et mettre en oeuvre le programme des langues officielles au sein de son institution ».

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Il y a une procédure en place pour le traitement des plaintes. Le responsable des LO assure le suivi des plaintes et les gestionnaires doivent analyser les plaintes et proposer des correctifs. Comme il y a peu de plaintes (16 au cours des cinq dernières années), il est difficile de déterminer si l'organisation a fait un apprentissage à cet égard.

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (4 %)

Les points de service de la CCN sont annoncés dans les pages bleues et dans Burolis.

91 % des titulaires de postes bilingues qui offrent des services au public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Coordonnateur des LO de la CCN, 31 mars 2005)

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles (CLO) à l'automne 2005, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 71 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 43 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 100 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active de service par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 100 % des cas.

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

Les contrats avec les tiers contiennent une clause type qui prévoit les services bilingues et l'offre active. Minto Properties Limited est responsable de faire respecter les termes de la clause sur les LO qui figure dans les baux pour la CCN. Par ailleurs, la CCN procède à des inspections annuelles à des fins de surveillance.

De même, toute présentation au comité directeur doit respecter une liste de contrôle. Les répercussions de la présentation sur les LO constituent un des éléments touchant les ressources humaines dont doivent tenir compte les gestionnaires. Plus précisément, les gestionnaires doivent avoir répondu aux questions suivantes avant de préparer leur présentation : 1) « La présentation comporte-t-elle des questions relatives aux LO, qu'il s'agisse du service au public, de la langue de travail, de la supervision ou autre? »; 2) « Dans le cas d'un entrepreneur, les obligations (liées aux LO) ont elles été clairement expliquées dans la demande de proposition ou le contrat de services? »

En réponse aux recommandations de la commissaire aux langues officielles à la suite de son étude sur les baux commerciaux, une nouvelle procédure a été mise en oeuvre en septembre 2004. L'entrepreneur en gestion immobilière de la CCN a entrepris des discussions sur les exigences linguistiques indiquées dans la nouvelle annexe A du bail signé par les nouveaux locataires, de même qu'avec les anciens locataires au moment du renouvellement de leurs baux. Depuis l'adoption de cette nouvelle procédure, les locataires doivent signer l'annexe pour confirmer qu'ils ont lu et accepté les conditions linguistiques indiquées. Le processus permettant de vérifier le respect des conditions par les locataires commerciaux a été officialisé, la méthode d'inspection a été changée et des vérifications sont effectuées au moins une fois par année.

La CCN remet désormais des outils à tous ses locataires de la région immédiate d'Ottawa pour les encourager à offrir des services à leurs clients dans les deux LO (par exemple la trousse d'aide aux entreprises distribuée par la Ville d'Ottawa, l'offre de services de traduction à un prix abordable, des ateliers sur la communication orale et de l'aide pour recruter du personnel bilingue).

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (4 %)

Les employés sont informés de leurs obligations en matière de service au public dans le cadre du programme d'orientation des nouveaux employés.

On offre également des séances d'information plus pointues à l'ensemble des employés et aux gestionnaires intermédiaires (rôle du superviseur, offre active, etc.). Les employés sont également invités à porter une épinglette indiquant qu'ils peuvent servir le public dans les deux LO.

La CCN utilise les commentaires qu'elle reçoit du public durant les événements dont elle est responsable, par exemple l'utilisation des deux LO durant le déroulement de la fête du Canada, pour corriger les lacunes. Il y a aussi des sondages périodiques auprès du public pour mesurer leur satisfaction.

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail (12,5 %)

79,5 % des superviseurs devant superviser dans les deux LO sont capables de le faire. (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2004-2005 de la CCN, 31 décembre 2004)

Une politique sur la langue de travail est en place; des cadres modifiés ont été adoptés en novembre 2003 et en septembre 2005. La CCN a conclu une entente de trois ans avec une école de langue qui offre des cours de formation linguistique sur les lieux de travail. Le président a défini la formation linguistique comme une priorité organisationnelle. De la formation en langue seconde à temps partiel est offerte au personnel sur les lieux de travail et des séances d'interaction orale sont également offertes pendant les heures de lunch.

b) Création d'un milieu propice aux deux langues officielles (12,5 %)

Les employés sont informés de leurs droits et obligations lors des séances d'orientation et par les voies habituelles de gestion. Le président rencontre tous les nouveaux employés lors de la séance d'orientation des nouveaux employés pour leur parler personnellement des valeurs de la CCN en tant qu'organisation. Il reconnaît toujours les LO comme l'une de ces valeurs.

Il y a des affiches dans les salles de réunion sur la tenue de réunions dans les deux LO et la CCN a produit un guide sur la tenue de réunions bilingues efficaces.

À titre de mécanismes de contrôle, la CCN a recours à des sondages internes; le sondage le plus récent sur la langue de travail a été réalisé en 2003 et le prochain est prévu pour 2006. Les résultats du sondage de 2003 ont révélé que la disponibilité des outils de travail (par exemple, les logiciels en français) doit être améliorée. Les résultats de ce sondage ont mené à l'élaboration d'un plan d'action, qui fait l'objet d'un suivi.

En 2005, au moins deux courriels ont été envoyés aux employés pour leur rappeler leurs droits en matière de langue de travail. Ces mêmes courriels ont permis de rappeler aux gestionnaires leurs obligations en vertu de la partie V.

Les délibérations du comité directeur ont lieu dans les deux LO.

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

L'effectif de la CCN est composé à 54,3 % de francophones dans l'ensemble du Canada. Tous les effectifs sont dans la RCN. (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2004-2005 de la CCN, 31 décembre 2004)

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

Tous les effectifs sont situés dans la RCN.

S.O.

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

En termes généraux, la championne des LO s'assure que la planification stratégique et l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Plus particulièrement, cet élément est pris en considération lors de l'élaboration du plan quinquennal de marketing, de communication et de relations extérieures de la CCN. La CCN a élaboré un Plan d'action (2003-2006) pour la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO qui sert de mécanisme pour veiller à ce que la planification stratégique prenne en compte le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. De plus, chaque année, la CCN soumet à Patrimoine canadien une description de ses réalisations sur la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 (Rapport d'étape annuel de la CCN).

Pour mieux comprendre les besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, la CCN participe à des conférences et à d'autres activités organisées par des représentants d'organismes culturels et sociaux qui regroupent des artistes et des producteurs des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Le personnel de la CCN qui assiste à ces réunions donne par la suite de la rétroaction à la direction. De manière générale, bon nombre d'employés de la CCN proviennent des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et, par conséquent, comprennent le contexte et les besoins de ces communautés.

Les annonces sont placées dans les organes d'information qui desservent les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement.

La sensibilisation des employés aux besoins des communautés minoritaires se fait de façon générale lors des séances d'information et de formation.

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

La championne des LO s'assure que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tient compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique. La mission de la CCN est de susciter un sentiment de fierté et d'unité nationale, et de mettre en évidence la région de la capitale nationale. Elle le fait lors d'événements tels la fête du Canada, les lumières de Noël et Bal de Neige. Un effort spécial est fait pour veiller à ce que des artistes et des interprètes de langue officielle en situation minoritaire soient inclus dans les spectacles de la CCN et que les deux LO soient expressément célébrées.

Il y a également eu la mise sur pied d'un comité tripartite avec Gatineau et Ottawa notamment pour la promotion de la dualité linguistique et des interventions auprès de la Chambre de commerce et du Regroupement des gens d'affaires.

Pour promouvoir la dualité linguistique à l'interne, le président rencontre personnellement les nouveaux employés pour leur parler des valeurs de la CCN, qui incluent la dualité linguistique.

NOTE GLOBALE