ARCHIVED - NAV CANADA 2008-2009

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2008-2009 Report Card
NAV CANADA

Official Languages Program Management (15%)

Rating

The 2005–2008 Official Languages Action Plan has been updated and replaced with the NAV CANADA Official Languages Annual Report Card Performance Improvement Plan, with objectives, dates and the responsible “office of primary involvement” identified. It was developed in conjunction with managers responsible for its implementation, discussed and approved by the Executive Management Committee in November 2008 and distributed to the relevant managers. The Plan is being followed and includes some actions to address the organization’s previous report card performance challenges identified through the Statistics Canada language of work survey. NAV CANADA asked a private firm to conduct a survey to assess employee satisfaction across Canada regarding language of work. More aggressive measures must be implemented to create a workplace conducive to the use of both official languages in bilingual regions, and more long-term measures are required for the advancement of English and French in Canadian society and the long-term development of official language minority communities (OLMCs).

Mechanisms exist to measure the extent to which the Plan’s objectives are being met. For example, where elements of the Plan are included in managers’ annual performance objectives, payment of the annual bonus and performance assessment are affected by progress made against the Plan. Each year, managers are reminded of official languages when signing the NAV CANADA Code of Conduct, which specifically includes official languages. The Plan for this year has met all of its designated objectives.

The Vice-President, Human Resources is now directly in charge of official languages, raising their profile even further. The official languages manager reports directly to the Vice-President, Human Resources, and regularly scheduled bi-weekly meetings continue, during which official languages are one of the three standing agenda items. As a member of the Executive Management Committee, the Vice-President attends all its meetings and regularly brings official languages issues raised by the official languages manager to the table as they arise.

One of NAV CANADA’s co-champions, the Director of Communications, now volunteers as a member of the federal Network of Official Languages Champions.

Few complaints have been filed in the past few years against NAV CANADA. There is good cooperation with the institution's representatives in resolving any outstanding complaints.

In addition to bringing all official languages complaints to the attention of the co-champions, members of the Executive Management Committee are also informed now that the official languages manager reports directly to the Vice-President, Human Resources.

B

Service to the Public Part IV of the Official Languages Act (30%)

Observations for NAV CANADA this year took the form of a satisfaction survey to pilots receiving directions from the Ottawa Airport control tower. The satisfaction survey took place in December 2008 over the telephone. Pilots who requested service in French during their flights received service in their language of choice 99% of the time.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by the Office of the Commissioner between June and December 2008, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was available in 100% of cases.

According to observations of service by e-mail made by the Office of the Commissioner between September and December 2008, the availability of service is comparable for both linguistic groups 87.5% of the time, and benefits Anglophones 12.5% of the time. With regard to the average response times, they are comparable for both linguistic groups.

A

Language of Work  Part V of the Official Languages Act (25%)

The survey conducted by Statistics Canada on behalf of the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages showed that, overall, 45% of Francophone respondents in the National Capital Region (NCR), New Brunswick and the bilingual regions of Ontario "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime. In Quebec, 68% of Anglophone respondents were of the same opinion.

For both categories of respondents, the satisfaction rate by question is presented below.

Survey Questions

Anglophone Respondents

Francophone Respondents

The material and tools provided for my work, including software and other automated tools, are available in the official language of my choice.

65%

68%

When I prepare written materials, including electronic mail, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

75%

38%

When I communicate with my immediate supervisor, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

88%

45%

During meetings in my work unit, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

65%

23%

The training offered by my work unit is in the official language of my choice.

47%

50%

E

Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians  Part VI of the Official Languages Act (10%)

Overall, the workforce is 17.8% Francophone.

In Quebec, excluding the NCR, the workforce is 8.4% Anglophone.

(Source: OLIS II, March 31, 2008)

A

Development of Official Language Minority Communities and Promotion of Linguistic Duality  Part VII of the Official Languages Act (20%)

As NAV CANADA is not a government agency or Crown corporation, it produces neither memoranda to Cabinet nor Treasury Board submissions. Unlike government departments, NAV CANADA’s business is such that it does not develop public policies or programs. NAV CANADA is a private-sector non-share capital corporation with a stakeholder board of directors, and its customers include airlines operating in Canadian airspace and aircraft owners and operators. These customers pay service charges to the corporation according to legislated principles, and the organization receives no government funding.

When a change in the level or kind of service offered to local air navigation customers is being considered, NAV CANADA representatives meet with local commercial customers and other users, nearby airport authorities and other aviation-related stakeholders to discuss the proposed change. Meetings are conducted in a bilingual format as required by the customer or stakeholder groups involved. During these meetings, affected customers and stakeholders, including members of local OLMCs with a direct interest in aviation-related services, are provided an opportunity to voice any concerns they may have about the changes being considered. It would be beneficial for NAV CANADA to develop a more regular and formal approach to ensure a better understanding of the impact of its daily operations on OLMCs and on the promotion of linguistic duality.

NAV CANADA uses several means to identify potential OLMC organizations in need of support. The following search activities are employed to find appropriate organizations: a review of exemplary relationships between contributing and receiving organizations cited in recent reports by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages, consultation with the company's official languages champions, who had an opportunity to tour and witness first-hand the work of certain OLMC organizations, requests received by employees regarding the company's charitable contributions program and a Web search of OLMC centres, in particular in areas where the company has staffed facilities.

NAV CANADA has contributed to a number of OLMC activities this year. It sponsored the Rendez-vous de la Francophonie, the newly built Centre Belle-Alliance community center’s J. Henri Blanchard Library in Summerside, Prince Edward Island, the Salon du livre du Grand Sudbury for 2009, the Association franco-yukonnaise, the Centre culturel francophone de Vancouver and the Campus Saint-Jean of the University of Alberta.

Other monetary contributions were made to the Morrin Centre in Québec City and the Centre culturel du conseil de vie française in Cornwall.

NAV CANADA supported the French-Canadian folk band Le Grand Portage by hiring it for the annual company picnic, and a jazz ensemble, also from Le Grand Portage, for the company's national awards ceremony in September 2008.

NAV CANADA provided Québec City’s 400th anniversary celebrations with staff and volunteers for the air show.

Positive measures put in place by NAV CANADA are not directly related to its mandate and are limited to donations. NAV CANADA should implement measures that are integrated with its operations and more lasting for the development of OLMCs.

C

Overall Rating

C

ARCHIVÉE - NAV CANADA 2008-2009

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2008-2009
NAV CANADA

Gestion du programme des langues officielles
(15 %)

Note

Le plan d’action en matière de langues officielles que NAV CANADA avait établi pour la période 2005 2008 a été mis à jour et remplacé par le Plan d’amélioration du Bulletin de rendement annuel sur les langues officielles. Ce nouveau document, qui comprend des objectifs et des échéances, désigne également un « bureau de première responsabilité ». Il a été établi en collaboration avec les gestionnaires chargés de sa mise en œuvre, examiné et approuvé par le Comité exécutif de gestion en novembre 2008, puis distribué aux gestionnaires concernés. Actuellement en vigueur, le Plan d'amélioration définit des mesures visant à régler les problèmes signalés dans le précédent bulletin de rendement, mis en lumière par l’enquête réalisée par Statistique Canada sur la langue de travail. NAV CANADA a retenu les services d'une entreprise privée pour la réalisation d’un sondage pancanadien sur la satisfaction des employés à l’égard de la langue de travail. D’autres mesures énergiques devront être mises en œuvre afin de créer, dans les régions bilingues, un milieu de travail propice à l’utilisation des deux langues officielles, auxquelles devront s'ajouter des initiatives à long terme visant à promouvoir le français et l'anglais dans la société canadienne ainsi que le développement soutenu des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM).

NAV CANADA dispose de mécanismes pour vérifier l’atteinte des objectifs en matière de langues officielles énoncés dans le plan d’amélioration. À titre d’exemple, lorsque des objectifs de rendement des gestionnaires se rapportent à des éléments du plan d’amélioration ayant trait aux langues officielles, on tiendra compte des progrès réalisés à ce chapitre dans l’évaluation de rendement annuelle de ces cadres et dans la détermination de leur prime. De façon plus générale, on rappelle aux gestionnaires l’importance des langues officielles lorsqu’ils doivent signer, chaque année, le code de conduite de NAV CANADA, document qui inclut les responsabilités en matière de langues officielles. Les objectifs énoncés dans le plan de cette année ont, par ailleurs, tous été atteints.

C’est désormais au vice-président aux Ressources humaines qu’incombe la responsabilité des affaires relatives aux langues officielles, ce qui met bien en évidence l’importance qu’accorde NAV CANADA à la question. Le gestionnaire responsable des langues officielles relève directement du vice-président; des rencontres bimensuelles, où le dossier des langues officielles constitue l'un des trois points permanents à l'ordre du jour, continuent de se tenir. En tant que membre du Comité exécutif de gestion, le vice président aux Ressources humaines prend part à toutes ses réunions, et il y présente les questions relatives aux langues officielles à mesure que le gestionnaire chargé des langues officielles les porte à son attention.

L’un des champions des langues officielles de NAV CANADA, en l’occurrence le directeur des Communications, s’est porté volontaire pour agir comme membre au sein du Réseau des champions ministériels des langues officielles.

Peu de plaintes ont été déposées à l’égard de NAV CANADA au cours des dernières années. Les représentants de l’institution collaborent avec le Commissariat aux langues officielles lorsqu’il y a des plaintes à résoudre.

Étant donné que le gestionnaire responsable des langues officielles relève maintenant directement du vice président aux Ressources humaines, toutes les plaintes relatives aux langues officielles sont désormais soumises directement aux membres du Comité exécutif de gestion, en plus d’être portées à l’attention des champions.

B

Service au public - Partie IV de la Loi sur les officielles (30 %)

Cette année, les observations pour NAV CANADA sur le service au public ont pris la forme d’un sondage sur la satisfaction des pilotes recevant des directives de la tour de contrôle de l’aéroport d’Ottawa. Le sondage a été réalisé en décembre 2008, par téléphone. Des pilotes demandant des services en français pendant un vol les ont reçus dans la langue de leur choix 99 % du temps.

D’après les observations sur le service au téléphone réalisées par le Commissariat entre juin et décembre 2008, l’offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était disponible dans 100 % des cas.

D’après les observations sur le service par courriel réalisées par le Commissariat entre septembre et décembre 2008, la disponibilité des services offerts par l’institution est comparable pour les deux groupes linguistiques 87,5 % du temps; elle est à l’avantage des anglophones 12,5 % du temps. En ce qui a trait aux délais moyens de réponse, ils sont comparables pour les deux groupes linguistiques.

A

Langue de travail - Partie V de la Loi sur les langues officielles (25 %)

Le sondage effectué par Statistique Canada pour le compte du Commissariat a établi que 45 % de l’ensemble des répondants francophones de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN), du Nouveau-Brunswick et des régions bilingues de l’Ontario étaient « entièrement d’accord » ou « plutôt d’accord » avec le régime de la langue de travail. Au Québec, la proportion de répondants anglophones du même avis se situait à 68 %.

Voici les taux de satisfaction obtenus pour les deux catégories de répondants, selon les différentes questions.

Questions du sondage

Répondants francophones

Répondants anglophones

Le matériel et les outils de travail mis à ma disposition dans le cadre de mon travail, y compris les logiciels et les autres outils informatisés, sont disponibles dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

68 %

65 %

Lorsque je rédige des documents, y compris des courriels, je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

38 %

75 %

Lorsque je communique avec mon (ma) superviseur(e) immédiat(e), je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue de mon choix.

 

45 %

88 %

Durant les réunions de mon unité de travail, je me sens libre d’utiliser la langue officielle de mon choix.

23 %

65 %

Mon organisation offre de la formation dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

50 %

47 %

E

Participation des Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise - Partie VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles (10%)

Dans l’ensemble du Canada, l’effectif est composé à 17,8 % de francophones.

Au Québec, en excluant la RCN, l’effectif est composé à 8,4 % d’anglophones.

(Source : SILO II, 31 mars 2008)

A

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII (20 %)

NAV CANADA, n’étant pas un organisme gouvernemental ni une société d’État, ne dépose pas de mémoires au Cabinet ni ne fait de présentations au Conseil du Trésor. À la différence des ministères fédéraux et en raison de la nature de ses activités, l’institution n’a pas à instaurer de politiques ou de programmes publics. Il s’agit d’une société privée sans capital-actions, régie par un conseil d’administration où sont représentées les différentes parties prenantes; sa clientèle est constituée des lignes aériennes utilisant l’espace aérien du Canada, ainsi que des propriétaires et des exploitants d’aéronefs. Cette clientèle paie pour bénéficier de services dont la tarification est fixée par la loi; par ailleurs, NAV CANADA n’est pas financée par des fonds publics.

Lorsque la société envisage d’apporter, à un endroit donné, des changements au niveau ou au type de services de navigation aérienne offerts, ses représentants rencontrent les clients commerciaux concernés ainsi que les autres utilisateurs, les autorités aéroportuaires intéressées et d’autres intervenants du domaine de l’aviation afin d’en discuter. Ces réunions se déroulent dans l’une ou l’autre des deux langues officielles, selon les clients et les autres parties intéressées. Elles fournissent aux participants, de même qu'aux représentants des CLOSM qui portent un intérêt direct à la question, l’occasion de faire part de leurs préoccupations à l’égard des changements proposés. NAV CANADA gagnerait à établir une approche plus soutenue et formelle afin de pouvoir définir avec précision les répercussions de ses activités courantes sur les CLOSM et sur la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

NAV CANADA a recours à plusieurs moyens pour cerner les organisations des CLOSM qui pourraient bénéficier de son aide. Voici quelques-unes des approches utilisées : l’étude de cas de relations exemplaires entre les organisations cotisantes et les organisations bénéficiaires qui sont rapportés dans les récents rapports du Commissariat aux langues officielles; la consultation des champions des langues officielles de la société, qui ont été à même de constater le travail qu’effectuent certaines organisations des CLOSM; les demandes de contribution qu’ont reçues les employés dans le cadre du programme de dons de bienfaisance de la société; la recherche sur le Web de centres communautaires des CLOSM, en particulier dans les régions où la société a pignon sur rue.

NAV CANADA a apporté, cette année, une contribution à de nombreuses activités organisées par des CLOSM. En effet, la société a commandité les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie, la construction de la toute nouvelle bibliothèque J. Henri Blanchard, dans le du centre communautaire Belle Alliance à Summerside, à l’Île du-Prince Édouard, le Salon du livre du Grand Sudbury de 2009, l’Association franco-yukonnaise, le Centre culturel francophone de Vancouver ainsi que le Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta.

NAV CANADA a aussi versé une contribution financière au Morrin Centre, situé à Québec, de même qu’au Centre culturel du conseil de la vie française de Cornwall.

Elle a apporté un soutien au groupe de musique traditionnelle canadienne-française Le Grand Portage, originaire de la municipalité éponyme, en réservant ses services pour son pique nique annuel. Elle a de plus engagé un ensemble de jazz, originaire du même endroit, à l’occasion de sa cérémonie annuelle de remise de prix, en septembre 2008.

NAV CANADA a fourni gracieusement les services de certains de ses employés pour la tenue du spectacle aérien organisé à l’occasion du 400e anniversaire de Québec. Certains autres membres de son personnel se sont portés volontaires.

Les mesures positives mises en place par NAV CANADA ne sont pas reliées à son mandat et se limitent à des dons financiers. Il serait souhaitable que l’institution mette en œuvre des mesures qui sont intégrées à ses activités et qui ont des répercussions durables sur les CLOSM.

C

Note Globale

C