Official languages 25 years after the Charter – what youth are saying

(NC) – The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms turned 25 this year. It provides for the equality of our official languages – English and French – in federal institutions, and sets out the right to learn, which ensures that official language minority communities have access to education in their mother tongue and can manage their own schools. Young Canadians from across the country who grew up under the Charter were recently asked what all this means to them. Here’s what some of them had to say:

  • “Speaking English opens doors for me. It allows me to see things differently.” [Myriam Castonguay, 19, Gatineau, Quebec]


  • “If Canada didn’t have the two languages it has, then I wouldn’t have the privileges I have. I couldn’t live in French.” [Brigitte Noël, 22, Sturgeon Falls, Ontario]


  • “I’ve learned the French language but I’ve always kept my English culture.” [Marcie Maclean-McKay, 19, Magdalen Islands, Quebec]


  • “I’m so proud to be Acadian. When I just spoke English and did everything in English, I felt like a part of me was missing.” [Amy Morris, 27, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia]


  • “I would like my kids to learn all the languages that I learned because I believe having another language is a huge asset and it’s something that should not be lost.” [Ramy Sonbl, 19, Ottawa, Ontario]

You can hear more from these young Canadians on official languages by watching the video, One Charter, Two Languages, A Thousand and One Voices. It’s available at the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages Web site at officiallanguages.gc.ca under “Publications.”

- News Canada
Word Count: 263

Les langues officielles 25 ans après l’adoption de la Charte : le point de vue des jeunes

(EN) – La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés célèbre ses 25 ans cette année. Elle prévoit l’égalité de nos deux langues officielles, le français et l’anglais, dans les institutions fédérales. Elle garantit également aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire l’accès à l’éducation dans leur langue et la gestion de leurs propres écoles. Nous avons demandé à un groupe de jeunes Canadiens nés à l’époque de l’entrée en vigueur de la Charte de nous raconter comment elle a eu une influence dans leur vie. Voici quelques‑uns de leurs commentaires :

  • « Pour moi, parler anglais m’ouvre des portes. Ça m’apprend d’autres manières de voir les choses. » [Myriam Castonguay, 19 ans, Gatineau, Québec]


  • « Si le Canada n’avait pas ses deux langues, je n’aurais pas les avantages que j’ai. Je ne pourrais pas vivre en français. » [Brigitte Noël, 22 ans, Sturgeon Falls, Ontario]


  • « J’ai appris le français, mais j’ai toujours gardé ma culture anglaise. [Marcie Maclean-McKay, 19 ans, Îles-de-la-Madeleine]


  • « Je suis tellement fière d’être Acadienne! Quand je parlais seulement anglais et faisais tout en anglais, je sentais qu’il y avait une partie de moi qui me manquait. » [Amy Morris, 27 ans, Yarmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse]


  • « Je voudrais que mes enfants apprennent toutes les langues que j’ai apprises, parce que je crois que la connaissance d’une autre langue est un énorme atout, et que c’est quelque chose qu’il ne faut pas perdre. » [Ramy Sonbl, 19 ans, Ottawa, Ontario]

Découvrez ce que d’autres jeunes Canadiens nous ont raconté sur les langues officielles en visionnant la vidéo Une Charte, deux langues, mille et une voix, sur le site du Commissariat aux langues officielles, à l’adresse languesofficielles.gc.ca, dans la section « Publications ».

L'édition Nouvelles
Nombre de mots : 275