ARCHIVED - Human Resources and Skills Development Canada 2004-2005

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2004-2005 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place

(Note: On December 12, 2003, Human Resources Development Canada (HRDC) was reorganized into two new departments: Social Development Canada (SDC) and Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC). The Human Resources and Skills Development Act was only tabled on November 16, 2004).

Human Resources Development Canada (HRDC) had an accountability framework that included official languages (OL) indicators and was distributed to all senior managers. The former department also had an action plan that outlined key roles and responsibilities, set deadlines and designated responsible officials. The three-year plan was approved by the Executive Committee and distributed to all Executive Heads.

HRDC documents will serve as a basis for new Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) tools.

The Department ensures that its commitment to the official languages is reflected in performance agreements with assistant deputy ministers and associate deputy ministers.

Fact Sheet

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization

HRDC's 2004–2005 Report on Plans and Priorities deals with improving service to Canadians, official language minority communities, the support fund for these communities and an equitable workplace. The performance report deals with an equitable workplace, official languages complaints and the official language minority communities.

The official languages are not included in internal audits, and there have not been any internal OL audits since 1998. However, client satisfaction surveys have been conducted by managers.

Co-ordination between the Champion and officials responsible for parts IV, V, VI and VII of the OLA is good.

The OL Champion, an Associate Deputy Minister and Deputy Labour Minister, is a member of the Deputy Ministers' Committee and also of the Executive Committee. There are frequent OL discussions. Performance agreements for middle and senior managers also have an OL section, considered a priority.

Fact Sheet

c) Complaints

OL complaints from OCOL are processed by the OL Director's Office, in the Human Resources Branch. They are reviewed, logged and sent to the responsible program manager, who must act on the complaint.

Complaints regarding service to the public and language of work are considered performance indicators that are part of the departmental performance report. A quarterly complaints report is distributed and monthly conference calls take place to discuss them. If a national impact is identified, all those involved are informed.

OCOL notes very serious systemic problems concerning the following: the labour market development agreements still do not take into account the Commissioner's recommendations that date back to 1997; the establishment of the single-window network does not always take the needs of official language minority communities into account, and the poor quality of the machine translations of job offers has been a persistent problem for ten years despite the Department's commitments.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff

The lists of offices and service points are provided in Burolis and in the Blue Pages. Most regions advertise the list of bilingual service points in minority language newspapers. The OL symbol is posted in visible areas of points of service. HRSDC has a wide range of 1-800 lines offering bilingual service.

While visiting service outlets in the fall of 2004, OCOL representatives noted that Burolis was not up to date, particularly with regard to service outlet 93509.

As of March 31, 2004, the Position and Classification Information System (PCIS) indicated that, for the former Department, 86.6% of incumbents of bilingual positions serving the public met the linguistic requirements of their position.

Fact Sheet

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery

According to observations on in-person service made by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages in the fall of 2004, there was active visual offer in 86.7% of cases; active offer by staff was made in 13.3% of cases, while service in the language of the minority was adequate in 80.0% of cases.

The telephone service audit conducted by the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency showed there was an active offer from staff 54.2% of the time and in voice mail greetings 87.7% of the time, while service was available in 70.8% of cases.

Fact Sheet

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services

The guidelines on grants and contributions deal explicitly with official language obligations and have been distributed to regional OL representatives who provide advice in this area.

Service agreements with third parties contain a clause on the provision of services in both official languages when required. There is no monitoring of services provided by third parties. The Department indicates that managers are aware of their obligations with respect to the Treasury Board contracting Policy.

Fact Sheet

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring

Official languages are part of orientation for new employees and electronic individual learning programs. Employees serving the public are reminded often of their OL obligations with respect to service to the public.

Line managers are accountable for the quality of bilingual services provided. The Department evaluates the quality of bilingual services through client satisfaction surveys (on Employment Assistance Services, for example) and complaints analysis. There does not appear to be a report on survey results. However, a complaint report is sent to executive heads on a quarterly basis.

Fact Sheet

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy

As of March 31, 2004, the Position and Classification Information System (PCIS) for HRDC indicated that 86.3% of supervisors who had to supervise in both official languages were bilingual. The same source revealed that 73.7% of EXs who had to supervise in both official languages were bilingual.

There is a national language of work policy as well as tools to raise employee awareness of their OL rights and responsibilities. The information is also on the HRSDC Web site. The Department has included an OL module in the human resources management training course for all managers. Some regions and a number of units at headquarters have translation and proofreading services to help employees draft correspondence in English and French and provide comparable quality in both OL.

Fact Sheet

b) Use of each language in the workplace

There are posters in meeting rooms encouraging employees to use their preferred official language.

Employees and managers are informed of their rights and responsibilities with respect to language of work on a regular basis through Web site updates and announcements sent to all employees by e-mail. Best practices in the regions are outlined in the annual report submitted to the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency. Management committee meetings are held in both OL.

The results of the Public Service Employee Survey for the former Department (HRDC) show that 74.0% of Francophone respondents from the NCR and the bilingual regions of New Brunswick and Ontario "strongly agree" or "mostly agree" with the language of work regime. In Quebec, 45.4% of Anglophones have the same opinion.

Fact Sheet

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada

As of March 31, 2004, the Position and Classification Information System (PCIS) for the former department indicated that overall Francophones made up 33.0% of the workforce.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec

As of March 31, 2004, the Position and Classification Information System (PCIS) for the former department indicated that Anglophones made up 3.0% of the workforce in Quebec.

Fact Sheet

Development of minority language communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities

In 1996, Human Resources Development Canada created the Secretariat, Official Language Minority Communities (SOLMC), now under the new department, with a view to encouraging and maintaining a dialogue between official language minority communities and the Government of Canada. The Secretariat aims to foster greater understanding of the needs and obligations of both parties and develop a strategic approach for the Department.

The Secretariat supports measures to assist official language minority communities and — through departmental and interdepartmental coordination, in close cooperation with the various sectors within HRSDC as well as federal partners — oversees activities to implement projects at the local, regional, and national levels.

With the support and guidance of the Secretariat, a network of co-ordinators responsible for the implementation of section 41 of the OLA, at Headquarters and in the regions, promotes section 41 and raises awareness in their respective directorate or region.

The National Committee on Economic Development and Employability was created for the purpose of fostering the development and the vitality of French-speaking communities in Canada. It is made up of Government of Canada officials and representatives from Francophone minority communities outside Quebec. The National Committee for Human Resources Development in the Anglophone Community of Quebec was also created. The purpose of this committee is to establish a co-operation framework for all activities aiming to foster the long-term development of human resources and community capacity building for the English-speaking communities of Quebec.

The Official Language Minority Communities Support Fund, created in 1999, has been a key mechanism allowing HRSDC to fulfill Canada's commitment to strengthen the vitality of official language minority communities. The Department is focussing on the Fund's future directions and the support it provides to the network of the two national committees.

All Treasury Board submissions must be reviewed by the OL Director, thereby ensuring that strategic planning and policy and program development take into account the needs of the official language minority communities. As well, the OLD works closely with the official responsible for Part VII of the OLA.

On December 15, 2003, HRSDC updated a document on the purchasing of advertising space and time in media used by Anglophone or Francophone minorities. HRSDC officials use this policy as a basis for working with ad agencies.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality

Treasury Board submissions are reviewed by the OL Director, who ensures that strategic planning and policy and program development take into account the promotion of linguistic duality.

The Department took part in the 400th anniversary of Acadia last summer and held its Part VII conference in Nova Scotia in order to raise its profile during the event. Internally, in partnership with PWGSC, the Department organizes a Journée de la Francophonie, where Francophone choirs are invited, brochures on OL are distributed, etc. No examples of activities pertaining to Anglophones in Quebec were provided.

Fact Sheet

OVERALL RATING

Fact Sheet

ARCHIVÉE - Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada 2004-2005

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2004-2005

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place

(Nota : Le 12 décembre 2003, Développement des ressources humaines Canada (DRHC) a été scindé en deux ministères : Développement social Canada (DSC) et Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC). C'est seulement le 16 novembre 2004 que fut déposée le projet de loi visant l'adoption de la Loi sur le ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences).

Développement des Ressources humaines Canada (DRHC) avait un cadre de responsabilisation qui incluait des indications relativement aux langues officielles (LO). Ce document avait été distribué à tous les cadres supérieurs. DRHC avait aussi un plan d'action qui énonçait les rôles et les responsabilités clés, précisait des échéanciers et désignait les responsables. Ce plan d'une durée de trois ans, avait été approuvé par le Comité de direction et distribué à tous les cadres de direction.

Les documents de DRHC serviront de modèles pour les nouveaux instruments de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC).

L'engagement du Ministère à l'égard des langues officielles (LO) est reflété dans les accords de rendement avec les sous-ministres adjoints et les SM associés.

Fiche d'information

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation

Le rapport sur les plans et priorités 2004-2005 de RHDCC traite de l'amélioration des services aux Canadiens, de communautés minoritaires de langue officielle, du Fonds d'appui pour ces communautés et de milieu de travail équitable. Le rapport sur le rendement traite de milieu de travail équitable, de plaintes en matière de langues officielles et de communautés minoritaires de langue officielle.

Les LO ne sont pas intégrées à la vérification interne et aucune vérification interne n'a porté sur les LO depuis 1998. Toutefois, des sondages sur la satisfaction de la clientèle sont effectués par les gestionnaires.

La coordination entre la championne, les responsables des parties IV, V, VI et ceux de la partie VII de la LLO est bonne.

La championne des LO, sous-ministre déléguée et sous-ministre du Travail, est membre du comité des sous-ministres et du comité de gestion. Les discussions portant sur les LO ont été fréquentes. Les accords de rendement des cadres et des directeurs comportent un volet LO, considéré comme une priorité.

Fiche d'information

c) Les plaintes

Les plaintes qui émanent du Commissariat aux langues officielles sont reçues au bureau du directeur des LO, direction générale des Ressources humaines. Les plaintes sont examinées, enregistrées et transmises au gestionnaire du programme visé, qui doit y donner suite.

Les plaintes relatives au service au public et à la langue de travail sont considérées comme des indicateurs de rendement et le rapport sur le rendement y fait référence. Un rapport trimestriel sur les plaintes est distribué et des appels conférence mensuels ont lieu pour en discuter. Si une incidence nationale est reconnue, on avertit alors tous les intéressés.

Le Commissariat aux langues officielles note l'existence de problèmes systémiques très sérieux en ce qui concerne : les ententes sur le développement du marché du travail ne tiennent toujours pas compte des recommandations du Commissariat aux langues officielles, lesquelles remontent à 1997; la mise en œuvre du réseau de guichets uniques ne tient pas toujours compte des besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) et la piètre qualité des traductions automatisées des offres d'emplois qui est un problème qui perdure depuis dix ans malgré les engagements du Ministère.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat

La liste des bureaux et de points de services se trouve dans Burolis et dans les pages bleues. La plupart des régions publient la liste des points de services bilingues dans les journaux de la minorité linguistique. Le symbole des LO est affiché aux endroits visibles des points de services. Le Ministère dispose d'un vaste éventail de lignes 1 800, où le service est offert dans les deux langues officielles.

Dans le cadre des visites effectuées à l'automne 2004, les représentants du CLO ont constaté que Burolis n'était pas à jour, notamment en ce qui concerne le point de service 93509.

En date du 31 mars 2004, pour DRHC, le Système d'information pour les postes et la classification (SIPC) indiquait que 86,6 % pour l'ancien Ministère, des titulaires des postes bilingues servant le public satisfaisaient aux exigences linguistiques de leurs postes.

Fiche d'information

b) Observations sur l'offre active et prestation de services

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles à l'automne 2004, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 86,7 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 13,3 % des cas tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité était adéquat dans 80,0 % des cas.

La vérification des services téléphoniques effectuée par l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique a permis de constater que l'offre active était faite par les préposés dans 54,2 % des cas, sur les répondeurs dans 87,7 % des cas alors que le service était disponible dans 70,8 % des cas.

Fiche d'information

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues

Les lignes directrices sur les subventions et les contributions précisent les obligations en matière de LO. Elles sont communiquées aux représentants régionaux des LO qui fournissent des conseils sur cette question.

Les ententes de services avec les tiers contiennent une clause visant à assurer la prestation de services dans les deux langues officielles lorsque requis. Il n'y a pas de contrôles portant sur les services fournis par les tiers. Le Ministère indique que les gestionnaires sont conscients de leurs obligations relativement à la politique des marchés du Conseil du Trésor.

Fiche d'information

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues

Les LO font partie de l'orientation des nouveaux employés et des programmes électroniques d'apprentissage individuels. De plus, on rappelle souvent aux employés qui servent le public leurs responsabilités en matière de LO et de service au public.

Les gestionnaires hiérarchiques sont responsables de la qualité des services bilingues fournis. Le Ministère évalue la qualité des services bilingues au moyen de sondages portant sur la satisfaction des clients (p. ex. en ce qui a trait aux Services d'aide à l'emploi) et par l'analyse des plaintes. Il ne semble pas y avoir de rapport sur les résultats des sondages. Un rapport sur les plaintes est toutefois transmis aux cadres à tous les trois mois.

Fiche d'information

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail

En date du 31 mars 2004, le Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC), pour DRHC, indiquait que 86,3 % des surveillants devant superviser dans les deux langues officielles étaient bilingues. La même source indiquait que 73,7 % des cadres devant superviser dans les deux langues officielles étaient bilingues.

Il existe une politique en matière de langue de travail ainsi que des outils nationaux visant à sensibiliser les employés à leurs droits et à leurs responsabilités en matière de LO. L'information est aussi affichée sur le site Web du Ministère. Le Ministère a inséré un module sur les LO dans le cours de formation en gestion des ressources humaines destiné à tous les gestionnaires. De plus, dans certaines régions et à plusieurs endroits à l'administration centrale, des services de traduction et de correction de texte sont offerts pour aider les employés à rédiger en anglais et en français et pour assurer une qualité comparable dans les deux LO.

Fiche d'information

b) Utilisation de chaque langue au travail

On trouve dans les salles de réunion des affiches encourageant les employés à utiliser la langue officielle de leur choix.

Les employés et les gestionnaires sont informés régulièrement de leurs droits et responsabilités en matière de langue de travail par des mises à jour affichées sur le site Web et des annonces transmises à tous par courriel. Les pratiques exemplaires dans les régions sont décrites dans le rapport annuel soumis à l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada. Les réunions du Comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO.

Les résultats du sondage auprès des fonctionnaires indiquaient que, pour DRHC, 74,0 % de l'ensemble des répondants francophones de la RCN, des régions bilingues de l'Ontario et du Nouveau-Brunswick étaient entièrement ou plutôt d'accord avec le régime de langue de travail. Au Québec, la proportion de répondants anglophones du même avis se situait à 45,4 %.

Fiche d'information

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada

En date du 31 mars 2004, le Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC) indiquait que l'effectif de DRHC dans l'ensemble du pays était composé de 33,0 % de francophones.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec

En date du 31 mars 2004, le Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC) indiquait que l'effectif de DRHC était composé de 3,0 % d'anglophones au Québec.

Fiche d'information

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

En 1996, le ministère du Développement des ressources humaines Canada a mis sur pied le Secrétariat, Communautés minoritaires de langue officielle (SCMLO) qui relève maintenant du nouveau Ministère, en vue d'établir un dialogue continu entre les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et le gouvernement du Canada. Le SCMLO vise à favoriser une meilleure compréhension des besoins et des obligations des uns et des autres et aussi à élaborer l'approche ministérielle stratégique.Le SCMLO appuie des mesures destinées à aider les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et dirige, par l'entremise d'une coordination ministérielle et interministérielle - en étroite collaboration avec les différents secteurs de RHDCC et les partenaires fédéraux - les activités pour la mise en œuvre de projets locaux, régionaux et nationaux.

Avec l'appui et la direction du SCMLO, un réseau de coordonnateurs responsables de la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO, à l'administration centrale et dans les régions, assure la promotion et la sensibilisation à la partie VII de la LLO dans chaque secteur ou région d'appartenance.

Il y a aussi eu la mise sur pied du Comité national de développement économique et d'employabilité pour favoriser le développement et l'épanouissement de la francophonie canadienne. Le Comité regroupe des représentants du gouvernement du Canada et des communautés francophones en situation minoritaire hors Québec. Le Comité national de développement des ressources humaines pour la communauté minoritaire anglophone a également été créé. Ce comité vise à établir un cadre de coopération pour toutes les activités devant favoriser le développement à long terme des ressources humaines et le renforcement des capacités communautaires de la communauté anglophone du Québec.

Le Fonds d'appui aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, mis sur pied en 1999, a été un instrument clé permettant à RHDCC de concrétiser l'engagement qu'a pris le Canada d'accroître la vitalité des communautés minoritaires de langue officielle. Le Ministère se penche sur les orientations futures du Fonds et sur le soutien qu'il offre au réseau des deux comités nationaux.

Toutes les soumissions au Conseil du Trésor doivent être revues par la DLO qui s'assure ainsi que la planification stratégique, l'élaboration de politiques et le développement des programmes tiennent compte des besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. De plus, la DLO travaille en étroite collaboration avec la responsable de la partie VII de la LLO.

Le 15 décembre 2003, RHDCC a mis à jour un document qui prévoit l'achat d'espace et de temps dans les médias qui s'adressent aux minorités francophones ou anglophones. Les responsables de RHDCC s'inspirent de cette politique lorsqu'ils traitent avec des agences de publicité.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique

Les soumissions au Conseil du Trésor sont revues par la directrice des LO qui veille à ce que la planification stratégique, l'élaboration de politiques et le développement de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

Le Ministère a participé au 400e anniversaire de l'Acadie l'été dernier et a organisé sa conférence des coordonnateurs de la partie VII en Nouvelle-Écosse pour rehausser sa visibilité lors de cet événement. À l'interne, le Ministère organise, en partenariat avec TPSGC, une journée de la francophonie, où, entre autres, il invite des chorales francophones, distribue des brochures d'information sur les LO, etc. Absence d'exemples d'activités visant les anglophones au Québec.

Fiche d'information

NOTE GLOBALE

Fiche d'information