History of Official Languages

In 1867, the year of Confederation, English and French became the languages of the Parliament of Canada. Throughout the first century of our country’s existence, however, the two languages did not enjoy equal recognition.

By the early 1960s, Quebec was starting to demand enhanced status of its language and culture. The country was ready for some soul searching, and so the federal government established the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism. This commission spent seven years creating a realistic portrayal of Canadian society and ultimately came up with a damning assessment of the situation: Canada was facing the most serious crisis in its history. To resolve the crisis, the Commission made several recommendations, including declaring English and French to be Canada’s official languages and improving the balance between the two languages within the federal public service.

The First Official Languages Act

Partly in response to the Commission’s recommendations, the Parliament of Canada enacted the first Official Languages Act in July 1969. The Act recognized the equal status of English and French throughout the federal administration. Its primary goal was to ensure that Canadian citizens had access to federal services in the official language of their choice. The Act also established the position of Commissioner of Official Languages, whose role consists of ensuring compliance with the Act, investigating complaints from the public, conducting studies and reporting to Parliament.

Developments Since 1969

Since 1969, numerous events have contributed to fostering the equality of English and French in federal institutions and in Canadian society. The act has undergone several changes over the years that have expanded its substance and scope. A new Official Languages Act was adopted in 1988 and then revised in 2005. For more information on these changes, please see the History of the Official Languages Act. To follow the course of events related to official languages in Canadian society since 1969, please see the timeline.

Other Resources

Former Commissioners of Official Languages
Portraits of the six people who have headed up the Office of the Commissioner since its inception, as well as videos in which the current commissioner and his predecessors tell us about their respective mandates and share their thoughts on their vision.

40th Anniversary of the Official Languages Act
A chapter on the history of the Official Languages Act from the Commissioner’s 2008–2009 annual report.

Déjà Vu: 40 Years of Language and Laughter in Political Cartoons
An overview of the exhibition that showcases 40 years of political cartoons.

Special 40th Anniversary Edition
A special issue of our e-newsletter that includes 40 articles on various topics related to the history of official languages.

Histoire des langues officielles

Dès 1867, année de la Confédération, le français et l’anglais deviennent les langues d’usage au Parlement du Canada. Pourtant, tout au long du premier siècle d’existence du pays, les deux langues ne jouiront pas d’une reconnaissance égale.

Au tournant des années 1960, le Québec commence à réclamer une meilleure valorisation de sa langue et de sa culture. Le pays est mûr pour une profonde réflexion. Le gouvernement fédéral crée alors la Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme. Celle-ci passe sept ans à faire une véritable radiographie de la société canadienne, pour finalement dresser un bilan accablant de la situation : le pays traverse la plus grave crise de son histoire. Pour résoudre cette crise, la Commission recommande entre autres que le français et l’anglais soient déclarés langues officielles du Canada et que l’on améliore l’équilibre linguistique au sein de la fonction publique fédérale.  

La première Loi sur les langues officielles

C’est entre autres pour tenir compte des recommandations de la Commission que le Parlement du Canada adopte la première Loi sur les langues officielles en juillet 1969. La Loireconnaît l’égalité de statut du français et de l’anglais dans toutes les institutions fédérales. Elle vise principalement à faire en sorte que la population ait accès aux services des institutions fédérales dans la langue officielle de son choix. La Loicrée aussi le poste de commissaire aux langues officielle, dont le rôle consiste à veiller à l’application de la Loi, à enquêter sur les plaintes du public, à mener des études et à faire rapport au Parlement.

Évolution depuis 1969

Depuis 1969, plusieurs événements ont favorisé l’égalité du français et de l’anglais dans les institutions fédérales et dans la société canadienne. La Loia subi de nombreuses modifications qui ont élargi ses domaines d’application et sa portée. Une nouvelle Loi sur les langues officielles a été entérinée en 1988 et modifiée en 2005. Pour en savoir plus sur ces changements, lisez la page sur l’évolution de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Pour faire le parcours des événements liés aux langues officielles survenus dans la société canadienne depuis 1969, consultez la ligne du temps.

À consulter aussi

Les anciens commissaires aux langues officielles
Des portraits des six personnes qui se sont succédé à la barre du Commissariat depuis sa création ainsi que des vidéos, dans lesquelles les anciens commissaires nous racontent leur mandat respectif et nous parlent de leur vision.

Les 40 ans de la Loi sur les langues officielles
Un chapitre à saveur historique publié dans le rapport annuel 2008-2009 du Commissariat.

Déjà vu : 40 ans de langue et de rire en caricatures politiques
Un aperçu d’une exposition de caricatures parues dans les journaux depuis 1969.

Édition spéciale du 40e anniversaire  
Un dossier spécial du cyberbulletin composé de 40 articles sur divers sujets liés à l’évolution des langues officielles.