ARCHIVED - Halifax International Airport Authority 2007-2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Report Card 2007–2008
Halifax International Airport Authority

Factors and Criteria

Summary of Substantiating Data

Rating

Management (15%)

(a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

The Halifax International Airport Authority (HIAA) has implemented, in the later part of 2007, an accountability framework that describes the official languages (OL) roles and responsibilities of the principal stakeholders. Coordinating the work of all the stakeholders falls under the mandate of the Legal Department, which is responsible for the Authority’s compliance on various applicable pieces of legislation, including the Official Languages Act (the Act). Although the framework is currently operational, it has not yet received final approval of the Executive Management Team (EMT).

The HIAA implemented, in the later part of 2007, an Action Plan for Parts IV and VI of the Act that has not yet received final approval of the EMT. The plan does not set out objectives, expected outcomes, planned activities and timelines; however, the HIAA is committed to developing a more comprehensive action plan.

Some of the accountability mechanisms against which the Authority measures its compliance in relation to its obligations under the Act generally consist of meetings held at the department level, and as required at the management level, to deal with any issues related to official languages. If an OL issue cannot be resolved at this level, it will be tabled at a meeting of the EMT, of which the President & CEO is a member.

Additionally, the EMT meets with the Board of Directors at least seven times a year. As part of these meetings, the EMT prepares and circulates the President’s Report, which has included, since September 2007, a recurring item on OL. This report assists in raising awareness of OL obligations among members of the Board of Directors.

C

(b) Visibility of OL in the organization (5%)

In past years OL objectives have not been taken into account in the HIAA’s strategic plans. However, the Authority intends to include, in future strategic planning documents, a component to address OL objectives.

The Authority has a business plan and individual departmental plans; however, they do not mention OL. There are no formal audit activities for OL. Internal audit activities focus mainly on the safety, security and financial aspects of the Airport.

The General Counsel assumes the overall responsibilities of the HIAA on official languages. The General Counsel sits on the EMT and discusses OL matters and concerns as required.

If an OL matter cannot be dealt with at the departmental level, then the matter will be dealt with by the EMT. For example, both the OCOL Audit and the Report Card have been discussed by the EMT, and the President and CEO is aware of outstanding issues. EMT occasionally discusses issues related to Airport signage, including bilingual aspects.

There is a coordination mechanism in place among the principal stakeholders responsible for ensuring the implementation of Parts IV and VI of the Act, to which the HIAA is subject. A working group consisting of the General Counsel and the General Counsel’s paralegal assistant, the VP of Marketing and Business Development, the VP of Corporate Communications and the Customer Relations Manager meet as the need arises. The group does not issue a report; however, OL issues discussed at this group’s meetings have been brought before the EMT (for example, the financial resources required for the HIAA to properly fulfill its obligations under the Act).

C

(c) Complaints and follow-up (5%)

The Authority has a mechanism in place to handle and resolve complaints filed with OCOL. When an official complaint is received from OCOL, the HIAA’s Legal Department reviews the complaint and forwards a copy to the appropriate manager or contracted service provider to fix the problem and identify corrective action. Periodic follow-up with the appropriate manager or contracted service provider occurs until the matter is resolved. This process usually stays within the affected department, but the EMT is informed of a complaint if it cannot be resolved at the departmental level.

In the case of unofficial complaints received from members of the travelling public, they are generally intercepted by Security (Commissionaires) or by Volunteer Hosts who report directly to the Customer Relations Manager.

The EMT was briefed earlier this year of the complaints resolution process and has agreed to it.

B

Subtotal:

C

Service to the Public — Part IV (25%)

(a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (3%)

The Authority and its services are listed in English only in the white pages of the Halifax Regional Municipality telephone directory and in both OL in Burolis.

The Authority’s only staff member who provides direct service to the public can only do so in English. Although some of the volunteer hosts are bilingual, the Authority makes an effort to ensure there is at least one bilingual volunteer host on duty at any given time. In order to meet its obligations on service to the travelling public, the Authority has a contract  with the Nova Scotia Tourism Information Centre to provide verbal translations for the Authority and its contracted service providers. Employees contact the Information Centre for this type of service, when required. Toll-free telephone translation services are also available for the Authority and its contracted service providers.

D

(b) Observations on active offer and service delivery
(15%)

According to observations of in-person service made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July and at the end of December 2007, an active visual offer was present in 69% of cases, an active offer by staff was made in 4% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 19% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2007, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 100% of cases.

D

(c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

In addition to the accountability framework, HIAA documents for contracted services explain the requirements for providing services in both official languages, contractors’ responsibilities and potential consequences for failing to meet those obligations.

The Authority has OL obligations included in applicable contractual documents however the wording of these contractual obligations changed in the summer of 2007. Previous OL clauses specified that all verbal, printed and written information including signs, public announcements, notices and other information related to the lessee’s operations must be in both OL. They also indicated there should be sufficient staff on duty during every operation shift to provide bilingual services and that the lessee must demonstrate to members of the travelling public that these services are available in the OL of their choice. The new OL clause stipulates that “The Lessee is a federal institution for the limited purposes contemplated in the Official Languages Act, and this Agreement is a contract for services to the travelling public as contemplated in the Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations. As such, the Lessee shall ensure that all services provided under this Agreement are made available to the travelling public in both English and French.”

Although the Authority has recovered liquidated damages in the past from its contracted service providers, it no longer applies the fine as a result of non-compliance with the Act. Rather, annual reminders are sent to contracted service providers about their OL obligations. In the case of specific incidents involving OL, the  HIAA manager who oversees a particular contract will meet the contracted service provider’s manager to remind him/her of the requirement to comply with the signed contract agreement and of existing support services (i.e. volunteer hosts, the Nova Scotia Tourism Information Centre or the toll-free telephone translation line).

There are no structured or documented mechanisms in place to monitor the quality of the services provided in both OL by third parties. However, the HIAA relies mainly on informal control mechanisms such as the contract agreement with  service providers, feedback received from members of the travelling public, periodic reminders and spot checks conducted by the employees reporting to the Customer Relations Manager.

C

(d) Policy on service to the public and bilingual services quality monitoring (5%)

The Authority does not have a policy or guidelines on service to the travelling public. It does, however, take into account its obligations as they are outlined in the Act. For example, it makes the contracted service providers aware of their OL obligations with regard to service to the travelling public by sending them annual reminders that reiterate the requirement to make an active offer of service and announcements in both OL. The HIAA also uses the Nova Scotia Department of Tourism Information Centre to help provide  services in both OL, and as needed, toll-free language translation services.

The HIAA recently implemented a new process to ensure that service is available in both OL by the security department during the hours of 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday to Friday. Outside of these hours, security officers have access to the toll-free language translation service, and bilingual services are provided up to 9 p.m. by the Nova Scotia Tourism Information Centre.

There are no structured or documented mechanisms in place regarding the quality of services provided in both OL. Currently, the HIAA uses a variety of informal processes such as the contract agreement with service providers, feedback received from members of the travelling public and periodic spot checks conducted by the employees reporting to the Customer Relations Manager, to verify the availability and quality of services to the public in the official language of the linguistic minority.

C

Subtotal: 

D

Language of Work — Part V (25%)

(a) Language of work policy and adequate bilingual supervision (12.5%)

The Halifax International Airport Authority does not have any obligations with regard to Part V of the Act as its only office is in Nova Scotia, a region not designated bilingual for language of work purposes.

N/A

(b) Use of each official language in the workplace (12.5%)

  

   N/A

Subtotal: 

N/A

Equitable Participation Part VI (10%)

(a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

The institution is currently unable to provide us with the required information but has committed to gather this data for next year.

 

D

(b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

There are no employees in Quebec. All personnel are located in Nova Scotia.

N/A

Subtotal: 

D

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality Part VII (25%)

The Halifax International Airport Authority is not subject to Part VII of the Act therefore has no legal obligations in this regard.

 

N/A

(a) Development of official language minority communities (12.5%)

     

N/A

(b) Promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

  

N/A

Subtotal:

N/A

OVERALL RATING

D

ARCHIVÉE - Administration de l’aéroport international d’Halifax 2007-2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2007-2008
Administration de l’aéroport international d’Halifax

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion (15 %)

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d’action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

L’Administration de l’aéroport international d’Halifax a mis en œuvre, à la fin de 2007, un cadre de responsabilisation qui décrit les rôles et les responsabilités des principaux intervenants en ce qui a trait aux langues officielles (LO). La coordination du travail de tous les intervenants incombe au Service juridique, qui est chargé de veiller à ce que l’Administration respecte les lois et règlements applicables, y compris la Loi sur les langues officielles. Bien que le cadre soit déjà appliqué, il n’a pas encore reçu l’approbation finale de l’équipe de la haute direction.

L’Administration a mis en œuvre, à la fin de 2007, un plan d’action pour les parties IV et VI de la Loi, mais ce plan n’a pas encore reçu l’approbation finale de l’équipe de la haute direction. Comme le plan ne comporte pas d’objectifs, de résultats escomptés, d’activités prévues et d’échéanciers, l’Administration s’est engagée à élaborer un plan d’action plus complet.

Parmi les mécanismes de responsabilisation qu’elle utilise pour évaluer la mesure dans laquelle elle se conforme à ses obligations en vertu de la Loi, l’Administration se sert généralement de réunions au niveau de l’organisation et, au besoin, de la direction pour traiter de toute question liée aux langues officielles. Si une de ces questions ne peut être réglée à ce niveau, elle sera discutée à une réunion de l’équipe de la haute direction, dont fait partie le président-directeur général.

Par ailleurs, l’équipe de la haute direction rencontre le conseil d’administration au moins sept fois par année. Dans le cadre de ces rencontres, elle prépare et distribue le rapport du président, lequel comporte une rubrique récurrente sur les LO depuis septembre 2007. Ce rapport contribue à sensibiliser les membres du conseil d’administration aux obligations de l’institution en matière de LO.

C

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l’organisation (5 %)

Par le passé, l’Administration ne fixait pas d’objectifs en matière de LO dans ses plans stratégiques. Elle prévoit toutefois aborder la question dans ses prochains documents de planification stratégique.

L’Administration a élaboré un plan d’activités et des plans distincts pour ses divers services, mais on n’y fait pas mention des LO. Aucune activité de vérification officielle des LO n’est prévue. Les activités de vérification interne visent principalement la sûreté, la sécurité et les aspects financiers de l’aéroport.

L’avocat général assume les responsabilités pour l’ensemble de l’Administration en matière de langues officielles. Il fait partie de l’équipe de la haute direction et soulève des questions et préoccupations relatives aux LO, s’il y a lieu.

L’équipe de la haute direction s’occupe de toute question relative aux LO qui ne peut être traitée par un service. Par exemple, elle a discuté du rapport de vérification et du bulletin de rendement du Commissariat aux langues officielles, et le président‑directeur général est avisé des questions non réglées. Elle discute de plusieurs questions y compris, à l’occasion, la question de l’affichage bilingue à l’aéroport.

Un mécanisme de coordination existe entre les principaux responsables de la mise en œuvre des parties IV et VI de la Loi, auxquelles l’Administration est assujettie. L’avocat général et son adjointe parajuridique, le vice‑président au marketing et au développement commercial, le vice‑président aux communications internes et le gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle forment un groupe de travail qui se réunit au besoin. Le groupe ne prépare pas de rapport, mais l’équipe de la haute direction a été mise au courant de questions relatives aux LO dont le groupe avait discuté pendant ses réunions (par exemple, les ressources financières dont l’Administration a besoin pour s’acquitter de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi).

C

c) Les plaintes et les suivis (5 %)

L’Administration dispose d’un mécanisme pour traiter et régler les plaintes déposées auprès du Commissariat aux langues officielles. À la réception d’une plainte officielle du Commissariat, le Service juridique de l’Administration la passe en revue et en fait parvenir une copie au gestionnaire concerné ou au fournisseur de services sous contrat pour corriger le problème et adopter une mesure corrective. On effectue périodiquement un suivi avec le gestionnaire concerné ou le fournisseur de services sous contrat jusqu’à ce que le problème soit résolu. D’habitude, ce processus est restreint au service en cause, mais si ce dernier ne peut régler la plainte, l’équipe de la haute direction en est informée.

En règle générale, les voyageurs formulent leurs plaintes non officielles au personnel de la Sécurité (commissionnaires) ou aux bénévoles, qui en informent le gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle.

Plus tôt cette année, le processus de résolution des plaintes a été expliqué à l’équipe de la haute direction qui y a donné son aval.

B

Sous-total  :

C

Service au public – Partie IV (25 %)

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (3 %)

L’Administration et ses services sont répertoriés en anglais seulement dans les pages blanches de l’annuaire téléphonique de la Municipalité régionale d’Halifax et dans les deux langues officielles dans Burolis.

Le seul membre du personnel de l’Administration qui offre des services directs au public ne peut le faire qu’en anglais. Comme certains des bénévoles sont bilingues, l’Administration fait de son mieux pour veiller qu’au moins un bénévole bilingue soit en service en tout temps. Pour s’acquitter de ses obligations à l’égard du public voyageur, l’Administration a conclu une entente avec le Centre d’information touristique de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour offrir des traductions verbales à l’Administration et à ses fournisseurs de services sous contrat. Les titulaires communiquent avec le Centre d’information pour obtenir ce type de service, le cas échéant. L’Administration et ses fournisseurs de services sous contrat utilisent également des services gratuits d’interprétation par téléphone.

D

b) Observations sur l’offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D’après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat entre la mi‑juin et la mi‑juillet et à la fin de décembre 2007, l’offre active visuelle était présente dans 69 % des cas, l’offre active par les préposés était faite dans 4 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 19 % des cas.

D’après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le Commissariat entre la mi‑juin et la mi‑juillet 2007, l’offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 100 % des cas.

D

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

En plus du cadre de responsabilisation, les documents que l’Administration remet aux fournisseurs de services sous contrat expliquent les exigences en matière de service dans les deux langues officielles, les responsabilités des entrepreneurs et les répercussions possibles si ceux‑ci ne respectent pas ces obligations.

L’Administration inscrit les obligations en matière de LO dans les documents contractuels pertinents, mais le libellé de ces obligations contractuelles a été modifié durant l’été 2007. Les clauses antérieures sur les LO précisaient que toute information verbale, imprimée et écrite, y compris les panneaux, les communications aux passagers, les avis et autres renseignements portant sur les activités du locataire, devaient être diffusés dans les deux LO. Elles indiquaient également qu’il fallait prévoir un nombre suffisant d’employés pour chaque quart de travail afin de pouvoir offrir des services dans les deux LO et que le locataire devait faire savoir aux voyageurs qu’ils pouvaient recevoir ces services dans la LO de leur choix. La nouvelle clause sur les LO stipule ce qui suit : « Le locataire est une institution fédérale aux seules fins visées dans la Loi sur les langues officielles, et la présente entente constitue un contrat de service aux voyageurs aux fins visées dans le Règlement sur les langues officielles – communications avec le public et prestation des services. À ce titre, le locataire doit veiller à ce que tous les services offerts dans le cadre de la présente entente soient disponibles en français et en anglais [traduction]. »

Par le passé, l’Administration recouvrait des dommages‑intérêts prédéterminés auprès de ses fournisseurs de services sous contrat, mais elle n’impose plus d’amende pour non‑respect de la Loi. Elle leur envoie plutôt chaque année des rappels de leurs obligations en matière de LO. S’il advient un incident à l’égard des LO, le gestionnaire de l’Administration qui supervise le contrat en cause rencontrera le gestionnaire du fournisseur de services sous contrat pour lui rappeler qu’il est tenu de respecter l’entente contractuelle signée et qu’il peut utiliser des services de soutien (p. ex., les bénévoles, le Centre d’information touristique de la Nouvelle‑Écosse ou les services gratuits d’interprétation par téléphone).

Il n’existe pas de mécanisme structuré ou documenté pour contrôler la qualité des services offerts dans les deux LO par des tiers. L’Administration utilise toutefois des mécanismes de contrôle informels, comme l’entente contractuelle avec les fournisseurs de services, la rétroaction des voyageurs, les rappels périodiques et les vérifications ponctuelles effectuées par les employés qui relèvent du gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle.

C

d) Politique sur le service au public et surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (5 %)

L’Administration n’a pas de politique ni de lignes directrices sur le service au public voyageur. Elle tient toutefois compte de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi. Par exemple, pour informer ses fournisseurs de services sous contrat de leurs obligations en matière de LO quant au service offert au public voyageur, elle leur rappelle chaque année que leur offre active de service et leurs annonces doivent être dans les deux LO. L’Administration a également recours au Centre d’information touristique de la Nouvelle‑Écosse pour offrir des services dans les deux LO et, au besoin, des services gratuits d’interprétation par téléphone.

L’Administration a récemment mis en œuvre un nouveau processus pour veiller à ce que le personnel de la Sécurité offre des services dans les deux langues officielles de 7 h 30 à 17 h, du lundi au vendredi. Le reste du temps, les agents de sécurité peuvent utiliser les services gratuits d’interprétation par téléphone et des préposés bilingues du Centre d’information touristique de la Nouvelle‑Écosse sont en poste jusqu’à 21 heures.

Il n’y a pas de mécanisme structuré ou documenté concernant la qualité des services offerts dans les deux LO. Actuellement, l’Administration utilise divers processus informels, comme l’entente contractuelle avec les fournisseurs de services, la rétroaction des voyageurs et les vérifications ponctuelles sporadiques effectuées par les employés qui relèvent du gestionnaire des relations avec la clientèle, pour vérifier la disponibilité et la qualité des services offerts au public dans la langue officielle de la minorité linguistique.

C

Sous-total  :

D

Langue de travail – Partie V (25 %)

a) Politique sur la langue de travail et surveillance bilingue adéquate (12,5 %)

L’Administration de l’aéroport international d’Halifax n’est pas tenue de se conformer à la partie V de la Loi puisque son seul bureau est en Nouvelle-Écosse et que cette région n’est pas désignée bilingue pour ce qui est de la langue de travail.

S/O

b) Utilisation de chaque langue officielle au travail (12,5 %)

 

S/O

Sous-total  :

S/O

Participation équitable – Partie VI (10 %)

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l’ensemble du Canada (5 %)

À l’heure actuelle, l’institution n’est pas en mesure de nous fournir les renseignements requis, mais elle s’est engagée à recueillir ces données pour l’an prochain.

 

D

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

L’Administration n’a pas de bureau au Québec. Tous les membres de son personnel travaillent en Nouvelle-Écosse.

S/O

Sous-total  :

D

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique – Partie VII (25 %)

L’Administration de l’aéroport international d’Halifax n’est pas assujettie à la partie VII de la Loi; elle n’a donc aucune obligation juridique à cet égard.

S/O

a) Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

 

S/O

b) Promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

  

S/O

Sous-total  :

S/O

NOTE GLOBALE

D