ARCHIVED - Health Canada 2005-2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2005-2006 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

Health Canada's accountability framework for official languages (OL) is in the process of being approved and should be endorsed by senior management before the end of the fiscal year 2005-2006. The framework covers the roles and responsibilities of stakeholders at various levels of the Department with regard to obligations and commitments pursuant to Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Official Languages Act (The Act).

The organizational structures at Health Canada play an important role in OL governance of this Department. There are sixteen OL coordinators at Health Canada, eight at National Headquarters and the remaining eight in the Department's eight regions. The coordinators contribute to the development of the annual Official Languages Action Plan for their regions/sectors. They are supported by two units at National Headquarters, namely the Official Languages Community Development Bureau (OLCDB) with regard to Part VII of the Act and the Diversity and Official Languages Program (DOLP), for Parts IV, V and VI.

The Department prepares an action plan for the implementation of section 41 and a status report, which it submits to Canadian Heritage. On June 9, 2005, in direct response to the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) 2004-2005 Performance Report Card, the Health Canada departmental Executive Committee approved a series of measures in the form of an action plan to improve the Department's performance with respect to OL. Among other things, the plan provides for Health Canada to conduct telephone and in-person audits at its regional offices and provide information sessions to managers and staff about their obligations regarding service to the public in 2005-2006.

Accountability measures consist of regular follow-ups with official languages coordinators. Annual reports provide information on the achievements of the various branches, regions and the Pest Management Regulatory Agency that are published on the Intranet site of each branch. Promotion of diversity, equity and official languages are among the list of performance indicators against which managers' performance is evaluated.

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

The 2005-2006 Report on Plans and Priorities, as well as the Departmental Performance Report for 2004-2005 (DPR) both make several references to the initiative regarding health care services in official language minority communities.

The visibility of the Official Languages Program (OLP) is becoming increasingly evident. For example, since early 2005, the Diversity and Official Languages Programs Division (DOLP) has been giving presentations to various management committees and a variety of target clients to provide them with an overview of the official languages policies and directives that came into force in April 2004 and July 2005. These presentations were also designed to determine the impact of these policies on the Department and to provide an overview of the situation within each branch with respect to linguistic capacity, language requirements of positions, requirements to comply with official languages policies, data entry, etc. A total of 30 presentations have been given by DOLP on a variety of subjects related to official languages since January 2005.

It was decided in June 2005 that OL would be integrated into the internal audit process. The Department plans to carry out an official audit of services to the public in 2006-2007.

The OL champion, who is at the Assistant Deputy Minister level, sits on the Management Committee, along with the Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for Part VII. The Management Committee meets to formally discuss official languages matters about three times a year.

There is good co-ordination of the various parts of the Act. The Executive Director and the Director responsible for OL meet the two Assistant Deputy Ministers on a regular basis to discuss OL issues, thus ensuring that all the parts of the Act are well integrated. Meetings such as teleconferences held every two months between all the regional and national OL coordinators to discuss matters related to Parts IV to VII of the Act allow for a good coordination of OL activities within the department.

c) Complaints (5%)

Complaints relating to OL are sent to the Deputy Minister, with a copy to the person in charge of OL. The person responsible for handling complaints remains in constant contact with the manager in question, who must resolve the complaint and follow up on the corrective measures put in place.

Complaints are recorded in a database for purposes of analysis; this information is used for preparing reports on service to the public and language of work. Information on recurring complaints is brought to the attention of the official languages coordinators and to all staff. This information is included in Health Canada News and discussed at the annual OL coordinators' retreat. The network of OL coordinators shares best practices.

OCOL has identified that there still exists a systemic problem with access to health services in French; the problem is related to the transfer of responsibilities in the Yukon.

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (4%)

All Health Canada offices offering services in both OL are listed in BUROLIS and in the Blue Pages of telephone directories. However, during the course of our observations of service in-person and on the telephone performed in the fall of 2005, OCOL representatives noted that BUROLIS was not up-to-date, particularly in the case of office, no. 12822, 12823 and 88009.

83% of incumbents of bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: Position and Classification Information System (PCIS), March 31, 2005)

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to the observations of in-person service made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active visual offer was present in 70% of cases; active offer by staff was made in 20% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 40% of cases.

According to the observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active offer of service by staff or by an automated system was made in 92% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 92% of cases.

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

Health Canada added a linguistic clause to its Contribution Agreements. This clause, which is specific to Health Canada, specifies that the contractor is required to define clearly the project's clientele in consultation with the Department, and to take the steps required to comply with the Act.

Staff members involved in the purchasing and services process are informed of their OL obligations during mandatory training. Various tools are available on the Human Resources Intranet site. Services delivered by third parties are one of the topics covered in the brochure on service to the public. Contracts with consultants contain a clause for the provision of services in both OL where required. However, it is the contract authority and not the OL branch that ensures the follow-up as to whether services are provided in both OL.

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring (4%)

Following the coming into force of Public Service Human Resources Management Agency's (PSHRMAC) Policy on the Use of Official Languages for Communications and Services to the Public in July 2005, Health Canada gave approximately 30 presentations to Department staff on service in both OL. In addition, two other courses given regularly at Health Canada address this component, one of which is entitled Results-based Management for managers and the other, the orientation course, is offered to all new employees.

The Department distributes a brochure on service to the public and the information is also available on the Intranet site. Regular reminders are issued by OL coordinators and this topic is sometimes included in various communiqués sent out by headquarters.

In the fall/winter of 2005, Health Canada carried out an in-house audit on the delivery of service to the public on the telephone and in-person in the language of the linguistic minority in its regional offices. A follow-up will be done of those offices where problems have been identified. Health Canada intends to have OL audited by the Department's auditors in 2006-2007, which will include service to the public in both OL.

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy (12.5%)

83% of EX incumbents and 82% of supervisors in bilingual positions in bilingual regions meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

Health Canada does not have its own language of work policy. The Department uses the PSHRMAC policy. However, the Department has developed a brochure entitled, Language of Work - English/French It's your Right! It's a question of Respect! that it distributes to all of its employees. The brochure identifies the rights and obligations with regard to compliance to language of work in the following areas: supervision, work instruments, personal services, central services and meetings. The document describes the role of supervisors, managers and senior management in creating a work environment where employees are encouraged to use the OL of their choice.

Apart from support measures, such as translation and language training, there is a wide range of educational material available to promote second language learning at each of the eight Health Canada Learning Centres. Health Canada also received funding from the Innovation Fund for a project that was submitted to the PSHRMAC in 2005. This project uses distance training to allow participants to maintain their acquired language skills.

There are also other tools that are available to support the language of work policy: the Department's Intranet posts information on this matter, a protocol on holding bilingual meetings, as well as posters on how to carry out such meetings. In 2003, Health Canada began a major review of the linguistic profile of all positions in the Department. This review is now coming to an end. It specifically looked at the linguistic designation of EX-minus-one and EX-minus-two supervisory positions in regions designated bilingual. The findings of this study will be released soon to the Associate Deputy Minister, and an action plan with timeframes will be established regarding language training for employees who require it.

b) Establishment of an environment conducive to both official languages (12.5%)

The OL rights and responsibilities are explained to new employees during the orientation course and are included in the curriculum for the Managing for Results course.

The DOLP issues messages about OL, including language of work to its staff, through its monthly publication Health Canada News. Information sessions are also offered to employees to remind them of their rights to use the OL of their choice and to managers to remind them of their obligations to create a work environment that is conducive to the use of both OL. Furthermore, the brochure, Language of Work English/French It's your Right! It's a question of Respect! acts as a reminder to employees and to managers on the matter.

Management Committee meetings are conducted in both official languages.

At the end of the 2004-2005 year, the Department carried out a study on applying the Protocol for Holding Bilingual Meetings. The study identified 15 best practices to increase the use of French at Management Committee meetings. In 2005-2006, the study was presented to the Departmental Executive Committee, and then senior management and managers were informed of it.

In the spring of 2005, 1,033 employees (27% of a target group consisting of 3,815 staff members of Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada) participated in an internal survey on client satisfaction with information technology services. Following this survey, the Department's Diversity and Official Languages Programs Branch will be monitoring the unit responsible for information technology services to ensure that a number of corrective measures are taken with respect to the availability of software in French, and to certain information technology services in French.

In 2005, the OL Directorate received a formal commitment from the Health Canada Internal Audit Unit that it would include a departmental-wide survey on language of work as one of the audit projects to be implemented after the 2005-2006 year.

Health Canada uses a questionnaire aimed at employees leaving the Department as a control tool on the quality of its OL services, in particular as they relate to language of work.

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Francophones account for 23.7% of Health Canada's workforce as a whole. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

Anglophones account for 4.1% of Health Canada's workforce in Quebec. (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2005)

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities (12.5%)

Health Canada's OL champion is responsible for ensuring that the institution's policies, programs and strategic planning take into account the development of official language minority communities. As well, the Department develops an action plan for the implementation of section 41 of the Act and a status report that it submits to Canadian Heritage.

In addition, the Department has put in place a structure, the Official Language Community Development Bureau, which allows the institution to be more aware of, and receptive to, the needs of these communities and provides for consultation of these communities on new priorities, initiatives, policies and programs. As well, a network of coordinators responsible for the implementation of Part VII of the Act, at headquarters and in the regions, has been set up. These coordinators raise awareness by taking part in Executive Committee meetings in their respective regions as well as Federal Council meetings.

As well, there is a Consultative Committee for French-Speaking Minority Communities and a Consultative Committee for English-Speaking Minority Communities in Quebec.

The policy entitled Policy to Support Official Language Minority Communities, which came into force on April 1, 2004, was designed to better tailor Health Canada programs to the needs of official language minority communities.

A contribution program to improve access to health services for official language minority communities and the Primary Health Care Transition Fund have been set up.

The Department has adopted a communication policy that is in keeping with that of the federal government. The marketing manager, in conjunction with the placement agency, ensures that ads are placed in both OL and that the information media reach the official language minority communities. To this end, the Department has worked with the placement agency to draw up a list of national and community newspapers that service the Canadian population in each OL across the country. As well, the Department ensures that radio and television ads are in both OL and that all advertising in bus shelters and on billboards is bilingual.

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

The champion attends meetings and ensures that strategic planning, and the development of policies and programs take linguistic duality into account. In addition, the Department submits an action plan for the implementation of section 41 of the Act to the Department of Canadian Heritage.

A number of initiatives and tools have been introduced to promote the two OL to employees. Examples include the following: the questionnaire game on La Francophonie; various activities to celebrate La Journée de la francophonie within the Department; communiqués from the OL champion to all employees and messages from the Deputy Minister; "French Wednesdays" implemented by staff working on Government On-Line at the Information, Analysis and Connectivity Branch; and a banner for Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie.

Measures put in place to promote linguistic duality outside the Department include having the Corporate Services Branch Human Resources hand out documentation on the values relating to diversity and linguistic duality at Health Canada at job fairs and as part of public recruitment activities.

OVERALL RATING

ARCHIVÉE - Santé Canada 2005-2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2005-2006

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Le Cadre de responsabilisation en matière de langues officielles (LO) de Santé Canada est en phase d'approbation et sera entériné par le comité de la haute gestion avant la fin de l'année financière 2005-2006. Le cadre couvre les rôles et responsabilités des intervenants à divers échelons du Ministère en ce qui concerne les obligations et les engagements prévus aux parties IV, V, VI et VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO).

Les structures organisationnelles chez Santé Canada jouent un rôle important dans la gouvernance des LO de ce ministère. Seize coordonnateurs de LO oeuvrent au sein de Santé Canada, huit à l'administration centrale, et huit autres dans les huit régions du Ministère. Les coordonnateurs participent à l'élaboration du Plan d'action annuel en matière de LO pour leur région/secteur. Ils sont appuyés par deux unités à l'administration centrale, soit le Bureau d'appui aux communautés de langue officielle pour ce qui est de la partie VII de la LLO, et la Division des programmes de la diversité et des LO pour les parties IV, V et VI.

Le Ministère produit un plan d'action relativement à la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO et un bilan des réalisations qu'il soumet à Patrimoine canadien. Le 9 juin 2005, pour donner suite au Bulletin de rendement 2004-2005 de la Commissaire aux langues officielles, le comité exécutif ministériel de Santé Canada a entériné une série de mesures sous forme de plan d'action visant à améliorer la performance du Ministère en ce qui a trait aux LO. Entre autres, le plan prévoit des vérifications du service au téléphone et en personne dans ses bureaux régionaux et des séances d'information aux gestionnaires et aux employés en ce qui concerne leurs obligations en matière de service au public en 2005-2006.

La reddition de comptes s'effectue au moyen de suivis auprès des coordonnateurs de LO. Les bilans annuels font état des réalisations des diverses directions générales, des régions et de l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire et sont affichés au site intranet de chaque direction générale. La promotion de la diversité, de l'équité et des LO figure parmi la liste des indicateurs de rendement à partir desquels on évalue le rendement des gestionnaires.

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation (5 %)

Le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2005-2006 ainsi que le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2004-2005 du Ministère font état à plusieurs reprises de l'initiative liée aux Services de santé dans les communautés minoritaires de langue officielle.

La visibilité du Programme des LO est de plus en plus évidente. Par exemple, depuis le début de l'année 2005, la Division des programmes de la diversité et des LO a donné des présentations à divers comités de gestion et à diverses clientèles cibles, afin de donner une vue d'ensemble des politiques et directives en matière de LO entrées en vigueur en avril 2004 et en juillet 2005. Ces présentations avaient également pour but de voir l'incidence de telles politiques sur le Ministère et de dresser un portrait de la situation propre à chaque direction générale quant à la capacité linguistique, aux exigences linguistiques des postes, aux obligations de respecter les politiques en matière de LO, à l'entrée des données, etc. Au total, la Division des programmes de diversité et des LO ont donné une trentaine de présentations sur divers sujets liés aux LO depuis janvier 2005.

Il a été décidé en juin 2005 que les LO seront intégrées à la vérification interne. Le Ministère compte effectuer une vérification du service au public en 2006-2007.

Le champion des LO qui est au niveau de sous-ministre adjoint siège au comité de gestion, en compagnie du sous-ministre adjoint responsable de la partie VII. Les LO sont discutées de façon formelle au comité de gestion environ trois fois par année.

Il y a une bonne coordination des diverses parties de la LLO. La directrice exécutive et la directrice responsable des LO rencontrent, de façon régulière, les deux sous-ministres adjoints pour discuter des dossiers de LO, assurant ainsi une bonne intégration de toutes les parties de la LLO. Des rencontres telles les téléconférences réunissant, tous les deux mois, l'ensemble des coordonnateurs régionaux et nationaux des LO ainsi que des journées annuelles de réflexion pour discuter de sujets liés aux parties IV à VII de la LLO permettent une bonne coordination des activités de LO au sein du Ministère.

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Les plaintes de LO sont acheminées au sous-ministre avec copie conforme au responsable des LO. La responsable des plaintes est en communication continue avec le gestionnaire concerné qui doit résoudre la plainte et assurer le suivi des mesures correctives.

Les plaintes sont consignées dans une base de données qui permet d'en faire l'analyse et de préparer des rapports portant sur le service au public et la langue de travail. L'information touchant les plaintes qui se répètent est portée à l'attention des coordonnateurs de LO et à l'ensemble du personnel. L'information est insérée dans Nouvelles de Santé Canada et discutée lors de la retraite annuelle des coordonnateurs de LO. Il y a partage des pratiques exemplaires par le réseau des coordonnateurs des LO.

Le Commissariat aux langues officielles (CLO) a constaté qu'il existe encore un problème d'accessibilité des soins de santé en français lié aux transferts de responsabilités au Yukon.

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (4 %)

Tous les bureaux de Santé Canada offrant des services dans les deux LO sont inscrits dans Burolis et dans les pages bleues des annuaires téléphoniques. Dans le cadre des visites effectuées à l'automne 2005, les représentants du CLO ont toutefois constaté que Burolis n'était pas à jour, notamment en ce qui concerne les points de service nos 12822, 12823 et 88009.

83 % des titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source  : Système d'information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC), 31 mars 2005)

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 70 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 20 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 40 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 92 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 92 % des cas.

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

Santé Canada a ajouté une clause linguistique à ses accords de contribution. Cette clause, propre à Santé Canada, spécifie que le bénéficiaire d'une contribution est tenu de définir clairement la clientèle du projet et, en consultation avec le Ministère, de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour respecter la LLO.

Le personnel impliqué dans le processus des achats et des services est informé de ses obligations en matière de LO lors d'une formation obligatoire. Divers outils sont disponibles à partir du site intranet des ressources humaines. Le sujet des services livrés par des tiers est également abordé dans la brochure sur le service au public. Les contrats avec les consultants contiennent une clause prévoyant les services dans les deux LO là où cela est requis. Cependant ce sont les signataires des contrats et non la Direction des LO qui assurent le suivi quant à la prestation des services dans les deux LO.

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (4 %)

À la suite de l'entrée en vigueur de la Politique des LO pour les communications avec le public et la prestation des services de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada (AGRHFPC) en juillet 2005, Santé Canada a donné une trentaine de présentations au personnel du Ministère sur la prestation du service dans les deux LO. De plus, deux autres cours régulièrement offerts à Santé Canada abordent ce volet : Gérer en fonction des résultats à l'intention des gestionnaires, et le cours d'orientation offert à tous les nouveaux employés.

Santé Canada distribue une brochure qui porte sur le service au public et l'information est également disponible sur le site intranet. Il y a des rappels périodiques effectués par les coordonnateurs de LO, et ce sujet est parfois traité dans les divers communiqués qui émanent de l'administration centrale.

À l'automne/hiver 2005, Santé Canada a effectué une vérification-maison de la prestation du service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique au téléphone et en personne dans ses bureaux régionaux. Un suivi sera effectué auprès des bureaux qui se sont révélés problématiques. Santé Canada prévoit effectuer une vérification des LO par le service ministériel des vérifications en 2006-2007, qui inclura le service au public dans les deux LO.

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail (12,5 %)

83 % des cadres titulaires de postes bilingues sont bilingues, alors que 82 % des surveillants en région bilingue satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

Santé Canada n'a pas sa propre politique sur la langue de travail. Le Ministère utilise celle de l'AGRHFPC. Toutefois, le Ministère a élaboré une brochure intitulée Langue de travail, Français/Anglais - C'est votre droit  - C'est une question de respect, qu'il distribue à tout son personnel. La brochure précise les droits et obligations en ce qui a trait au respect de la langue de travail dans les domaines suivants  : supervision, instruments de travail, services personnels, services centraux et réunions. Le document décrit le rôle des surveillants, des gestionnaires et de la haute direction dans la création d'un milieu de travail où les employés sont encouragés à utiliser la LO de leur choix.

Outre des mesures d'appui telles que la traduction et la formation linguistique, il existe du matériel pédagogique pour favoriser l'apprentissage de la langue seconde dans chacun des huit centres d'apprentissage de Santé Canada. Santé Canada a aussi reçu du financement du Fonds d'innovation pour un projet soumis à l'AGRHFPC en 2005 qui concerne la formation à distance en vue de permettre aux participants de maintenir le niveau de compétence linguistique acquis.

D'autres outils sont aussi disponibles pour appuyer la Politique sur la langue de travail  : l'intranet du Ministère qui affiche de l'information à ce sujet, un protocole pour la tenue de réunions bilingues ainsi que des affiches sur la gestion de telles réunions. Santé Canada a commencé en 2003 une révision d'envergure du profil linguistique de l'ensemble des postes au Ministère. Cette révision tire maintenant à sa fin. Plus particulièrement, la révision touchait la désignation linguistique des postes de superviseur aux niveaux EX moins 1 et EX moins 2 dans les régions désignées bilingues. Les résultats de cette étude seront communiqués sous peu à la sous-ministre déléguée et un plan d'action assorti d'un échéancier sera établi en ce qui a trait à la formation linguistique pour les employés qui en auront besoin.

b) Création d'un milieu propice aux deux langues officielles (12,5 %)

Les droits et responsabilités en matière de LO sont expliqués aux nouveaux membres du personnel lors du cours d'orientation et sont intégrés au programme du cours intitulé Gérer en vue de résultats pour les gestionnaires.

La Division des programmes de diversité et des LO diffuse au personnel, via la publication mensuelle du Ministère les Nouvelles de Santé Canada, des messages sur les LO, y compris sur la langue de travail. Des séances d'information sont aussi offertes aux employés pour leur rappeler leurs droits quant à l'utilisation de la LO de leur choix et aux gestionnaires pour leur rappeler leurs obligations à créer un milieu de travail propice à l'usage des deux LO. De plus, la brochure Langue de travail, Français/Anglais - C'est votre droit - C'est une question de respect sert de rappel aux employés et aux gestionnaires sur ce sujet.

Les rencontres du comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO.

À la fin de l'année 2004-2005, Santé Canada a réalisé une étude sur l'application du Protocole pour la tenue de réunions bilingues. Cette étude a suggéré une quinzaine de pratiques exemplaires en vue d'accroître l'utilisation du français lors des réunions des comités de gestion. En 2005-2006, les résultats de l'étude ont été présentés au comité exécutif ministériel et ensuite communiqués aux cadres et aux gestionnaires.

Au printemps 2005, 1 033 personnes, soit 27 % d'un groupe cible de 3 815 employés de Santé Canada et de l'Agence de santé publique ont participé à un sondage interne sur la satisfaction de la clientèle à l'égard des services en technologie de l'information. À la suite de ce sondage, la Division des programmes de la diversité et des LO du Ministère effectuera un suivi auprès de l'Unité responsable des services en technologie de l'information pour s'assurer que certaines mesures correctives sont prises quant à la disponibilité des logiciels de langue française et de certains services informatiques en français.

En 2005, la Direction responsable des LO a reçu un engagement formel de la part de l'Unité de vérification interne de Santé Canada à l'effet d'inscrire un sondage à l'échelon ministériel sur la langue de travail parmi les projets de vérification prévus après 2005-2006.

Santé Canada se sert d'un questionnaire à l'intention des employés qui quittent le Ministère comme outil de contrôle de la qualité des services de Santé Canada en matière de LO, notamment en ce qui a trait à la langue de travail.

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

L'effectif de Santé Canada est composé à 23,7 % de francophones dans l'ensemble du Canada. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

L'effectif de Santé Canada est composé à 4,1 % d'anglophones au Québec. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2005)

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

Le champion des LO s'assure que la planification stratégique et l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Le Ministère prépare aussi un plan d'action relativement à la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO et un bilan des réalisations qu'il soumet à Patrimoine canadien.

De plus, le Ministère s'est doté d'une structure, le Bureau d'appui aux communautés de langue officielle qui assure que l'institution est davantage sensibilisée et réceptive aux besoins des communautés et que ces dernières soient consultées relativement aux nouvelles priorités, initiatives, politiques ou programmes. Il y a également un réseau de coordonnateurs responsables de la mise en oeuvre de la partie VII de la LLO, à l'administration centrale et dans les régions. Ces derniers font de la sensibilisation en participant aux rencontres des comités exécutifs de leurs régions et aux Conseils fédéraux.

Il y a également un Comité consultatif pour les communautés francophones en situation minoritaire et un Comité consultatif pour la communauté anglophone au Québec.

La politique intitulée Politique pour appuyer les communautés de langue officielle en milieu minoritaire, entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2004, a été conçue pour que les programmes de Santé Canada répondent mieux aux besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

Il existe un Programme de contribution pour l'amélioration de l'accès aux services de santé pour les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et un Fonds pour l'adaptation des soins de santé primaires.

Le Ministère a une Politique en matière de communication conforme à celle du gouvernement. Le gestionnaire de marketing, en collaboration avec l'agence de placement, s'assure que les annonces sont placées dans les deux LO et dans les organes d'information qui joignent les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Pour ce faire, le Ministère a élaboré, avec l'aide de l'agence de placement, une liste de journaux nationaux ainsi que de journaux communautaires qui desservent la population canadienne dans chacune des deux LO à l'échelle du pays. Le Ministère s'assure également que les placements radio et télévision sont dans les deux LO et que toute la publicité est bilingue lorsque des espaces sont réservés sur les panneaux publicitaires et dans les abribus.

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

Le champion participe à toutes les réunions d'importance et s'assure que la planification stratégique et l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique. Le Ministère soumet aussi à Patrimoine canadien un plan d'action relativement à la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO.

Plusieurs initiatives et outils visent à promouvoir les deux LO auprès des employés. À titre d'exemples, il y a le jeu-questionnaire qui porte sur divers aspects de la francophonie; les diverses activités mises en place pour souligner la journée de la francophonie au Ministère; les communiqués du champion des LO à tout le personnel et le message du sous ministre; les mercredis français chez les employés responsables de Gouvernement en direct de la Direction générale de l'information, de l'analyse et de la connectivité ainsi que la confection d'une bannière de promotion pour souligner les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie.

À titre d'exemples de mesures visant à promouvoir la dualité linguistique à l'extérieur du Ministère, la Direction générale des services de gestion, Ressources humaines distribue de la documentation qui traite des valeurs associées à la diversité et à la dualité linguistique à Santé Canada lors des salons de l'emploi et lorsqu'elle poursuit ses activités publiques de recrutement.

NOTE GLOBALE