ARCHIVED - Rating Guide

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2008-2009 Rating Guide

1) Official Languages Program Management (15%)

The institution has an updated action plan that includes targeted and appropriate measures to address the shortcomings identified in investigations, previous report cards or audits by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages. The targeted measures to correct these shortcomings are being implemented. Senior management monitors the status of the situation to ensure progress is being made. (10%)

The institution always provides the documentation required to process complaints without delay. The institution fully cooperates with the Office of the Commissioner during investigations. (5%)

2) Service to the Public - Part IV of the Official Languages Act

The results of the observations of service in person made by the Office of the Commissioner confirm the presence of a visual offer and an active offer by staff in both official languages and the availability of service in the official language of the linguistic minority. (10%)

The results of the Office of the Commissionerís observations regarding service on the telephone confirm the presence of an active offer of service in both official languages by staff or by the automated telephone system and the availability of such service in the language of the linguistic minority. (10%)

The results of observations regarding service by e-mail confirm that service is available equally in both official languages, and is provided within comparable time periods for both linguistic groups. (10%)

3) Language of Work - Part V of the Official Languages Act

The results of a language of work survey conducted by Statistics Canada on behalf of the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages confirm the satisfaction of employees in a linguistic minority situation who are working in designated bilingual regions for language of work purposes with regards to the language of work regime within their institution. The survey included the following five elements:

The material and tools provided for my work, including software and other automated tools, are available in the official language of my choice. (5%)

When I prepare written materials, including electronic mail, I feel free to use the official language of my choice. (5%)

When I communicate with my immediate supervisor, I feel free to use the official language of my choice. (5%)

During meetings in my work unit, I feel free to use the official language of my choice. (5%)

The training offered by my work unit is in the official language of my choice. (5%)

4) Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians - Part VI of the Official Languages Act (10%)

The institution must demonstrate that Anglophones and Francophones are represented equitably. The percentage of Canadaís population that is French speaking is presently 23.6%. The percentage of the English-speaking population in Quebec, excluding the National Capital Region (NCR), is 13.4% (according to the 2006 Census).

Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada

Each institutionís specific circumstances are examined. In general, if the rate of participation by Francophones for the country as a whole is between 18% and 30%, the maximum rating of 5 out of 5 is assigned.

If the participation rate for Francophones is greater than 30% or less than 18%, we examine whether there are factors that could explain the situation, notably the institutionís mandate, the location of its offices or the public it serves. If the participation rate can be explained by these factors, the institution is assigned a rating of 5. If these factors do not appear to justify the participation rates, the institution is assigned a lower score based on the discrepancy.

Note 1: When an institution has only one office, and this office is located in the NCR and offers its services mainly to the local population, e.g., the National Arts Centre, the linguistic composition of the Ottawa–Gatineau Census Metropolitan Area (CMA), which is 34.9% Francophone, is used for comparison purposes.1

Note 2: When an institution has only one office, and this office is located outside the NCR and serves Canada as a whole, e.g., the Canadian Tourism Commission, the linguistic composition of the country as a whole, which is 23.6% Francophone, is used for comparison purposes.

Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec

The Anglophone population of Quebec, excluding the NCR, represents 13.4% of the total population. Each institutionís specific circumstances are examined. In general, if the rate of participation by Anglophones in Quebec, excluding the NCR, is equal to or greater than 9% but less than 15%, the maximum rating of 5 out of 5 is assigned.

For Anglophone participation in Quebec, scores have been assigned as follows: Rate equal to or greater than 7% but less than 9%: 4 out of 5
Rate equal to or greater than 4% but less than 7%: 3 out of 5
Rate equal to or greater than 2% but less than 4%: 2 out of 5
Rate less than 2%: 1 out of 5

If the participation rate for Anglophones in Quebec is greater than 15%, we examine whether there are factors that explain this high rate, notably the institutionís mandate, the location of its offices or the public it serves. If the participation rate can be explained by these factors, the institution is assigned a rating of 5. If these factors do not appear to justify such a high rate, the institution is assigned a lower score based on the discrepancy.

5) Development of Official Language Minority Communities and Promotion of Linguistic Duality – Part VII of the Official Languages Act (20%)

The institution has developed tools or procedures to take into account the impact of its major decisions, such as the addition, elimination or modification of policies or programs (permanent mechanism, Part VII reflex) on official languages minority communities (OLMCs) and on the promotion of linguistic duality. In addition, the institution has established one or more procedures to determine the needs of OLMCs in order to foster their development. (7.5%)

The institution has taken measures to foster the development of OLMCs and promote the equal status and use of both English and French in Canadian society. (12.5%)

The following scale has been used to assign a rating to each institution for its management of the official languages program and its implementation of Part VII:

5:      All the expected elements are present

4:      Almost all the expected elements are present

3:      Some expected elements are present

2:      Most of the expected elements are missing

1:      No expected element is present

Rating scale used for the five sections of the report card and the overall rating:

Exemplary   A   90% - 100%

Good           B    80% - 89%

Fair             C    70% - 79%

Poor            D    60% - 69%

Very Poor    E    59% and under

 


1Data for the entire NCR are not readily available. Since the data on the makeup of the Ottawa–Gatineau CMA are similar to those for the NCR, they were used for the purposes of this exercise. According to this data, Francophones make up 34.9% of the population of the NCR as a whole (according to the 2006 Census).

ARCHIVÉE - Guide de notation

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Guide de notation 2008-2009

1) Gestion du programme des langues officielles (15 %)

L’institution possède un plan d’action à jour qui inclut des mesures ciblées et appropriées pour combler les lacunes cernées dans le cadre des enquêtes, dans les bulletins de rendement antérieurs ou au moyen des vérifications du Commissariat. Les mesures ciblées pour corriger les lacunes décelées sont mises en œuvre. La haute gestion surveille l’état de la situation pour s’assurer des progrès. (10 %)

L’institution produit toujours sans délai la documentation demandée pour le traitement des plaintes. Elle collabore pleinement à la réalisation des enquêtes du Commissariat. (5 %)

2) Service au public – Partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles (30 %)

Les résultats des observations sur le service en personne effectuées par le Commissariat confirment l’offre visuelle et l’offre active par les préposés dans les deux langues officielles ainsi que la disponibilité du service dans la langue officielle de la minorité linguistique. (10 %)

Les résultats des observations au téléphone effectuées par le Commissariat confirment l’offre active de service dans les deux langues officielles par les préposés ou par le système téléphonique automatisé ainsi que la disponibilité du service dans la langue officielle de la minorité linguistique. (10 %)

Les résultats des observations sur le service par courriel confirment que celui-ci est disponible de manière égale dans les deux langues officielles et est offert dans des délais comparables pour les deux groupes linguistiques. (10 %)

3) Langue de travail – Partie V de la Loi sur les langues officielles (25 %)

Les résultats du sondage sur la langue de travail effectué par Statistique Canada, pour le compte du Commissariat aux langues officielles, confirment la satisfaction des employés en situation linguistique minoritaire dans les régions désignées bilingues aux fins de la langue de travail à l’égard du régime de la langue de travail au sein de leur institution. Le sondage comprend les cinq éléments suivants :

Le matériel et les outils de travail mis à ma disposition dans le cadre de mon travail, y compris les logiciels et les autres outils informatisés, sont disponibles dans la langue officielle de mon choix. (5 %)

Lorsque je rédige des documents, y compris des courriels, je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue officielle de mon choix. (5 %)

Lorsque je communique avec mon (ma) superviseur(e) immédiat(e), je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue officielle de mon choix. (5 %)

Durant les réunions de mon unité de travail, je me sens libre d’utiliser la langue officielle de mon choix. (5 %)

Mon organisation offre de la formation dans la langue officielle de mon choix. (5 %)

4) Participation des Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise –Partie VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles (10 %)

L’institution doit démontrer que les francophones et les anglophones sont représentés équitablement. Le pourcentage de la population francophone au pays se situe à 23,6 %. Le pourcentage de la population anglophone au Québec, en excluant la région de la capitale nationale (RCN), s’établit à 13,4 % (selon le recensement de 2006).

Pourcentage de la participation francophone dans l’ensemble du Canada

On examine, dans chaque cas, les circonstances particulières de l’institution. De façon générale, si le taux de participation des francophones pour l’ensemble du pays se situe entre 18 % et 30 %, on accorde la note maximum, 5 sur 5.

Dans les cas où le taux de participation des francophones est supérieur à 30 % ou inférieur à 18 %, on examine les facteurs qui pourraient expliquer la situation, à savoir le mandat, l’emplacement des bureaux et le public servi. Si ces facteurs expliquent le taux de participation, l’institution obtient la note 5. Si ces facteurs ne semblent pas justifier le taux de participation, l’institution reçoit une note moindre, établie en fonction de l’écart.

Nota 1 : Lorsqu’une institution n’a qu’un seul bureau, que celui-ci est situé dans la RCN et qu’elle offre principalement ses services à la population locale, par exemple le Centre national des Arts, la composition linguistique de la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) d’Ottawa-Gatineau, soit 34,9 % de francophones, est utilisée comme point de référence.1

Nota 2 : Lorsqu’une institution n’a qu’un seul bureau, que celui-ci est situé à l’extérieur de la RCN et qu’elle sert l’ensemble du Canada, par exemple, la Commission canadienne du tourisme, la composition linguistique de l’ensemble du Canada, soit 23,6 % de francophones, est utilisée comme point de référence.

Pourcentage de la participation anglophone au Québec

La population anglophone au Québec, en excluant la RCN, représente 13,4 % de la population totale. Dans chaque cas, on examine les circonstances particulières de l’institution. De façon générale, si le taux de participation des anglophones au Québec, en excluant la RCN, est égal ou supérieur à 9 % mais inférieur à 15 %, on accorde la note maximum, 5 sur 5.

Pour la participation anglophone au Québec, les notes sont attribuées de la façon suivante : Taux égal ou supérieur à 7 % mais inférieur à 9 % : 4 sur 5
Taux égal ou supérieur à 4 % mais inférieur à 7 % : 3 sur 5
Taux égal ou supérieur à 2 % mais inférieur à 4 % : 2 sur 5
Taux inférieur à 2 % : 1 sur 5

Dans les cas où le taux de participation anglophone au Québec est supérieur à 15 %, on examine s’il y a des facteurs qui expliquent ce taux élevé, à savoir le mandat, l’emplacement des bureaux et le public servi. Si ces facteurs expliquent le taux de participation, l’institution obtient la note 5. Si ces facteurs ne semblent pas justifier un taux aussi élevé, l’institution reçoit une note moindre, établie en fonction de l’écart.

5) Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique – Partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles (20 %)

L’institution a établi des outils ou des procédures pour tenir compte des répercussions de ses décisions importantes, telles l’ajout, l’élimination ou la modification de politiques ou de programmes (mécanisme permanent, réflexe partie VII), sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) et sur la promotion de la dualité linguistique. De plus, l’institution a établi une ou des procédures pour déterminer les besoins des CLOSM afin de favoriser leur développement. (7,5 %)

L’institution a pris des mesures visant à favoriser le développement des CLOSM et à promouvoir l’égalité de statut et d’usage du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne. (12,5 %)

L’échelle suivante est utilisée pour accorder une note à chacune des institutions pour sa gestion du programme des langues officielles et sa mise en œuvre de la partie VII :

5:      Tous les éléments attendus sont présents

4:      Presque tous les éléments attendus sont présents

3:      Certains éléments attendus sont présents

2:      Il manque la plupart des éléments attendus

1:     Aucun élément attendu n’est présent

Échelle de notation utilisée pour les cinq sections du bulletin et pour la note globale :

Exemplaire   A   90 % - 100 %

Bon              B   80 % - 89 %

Moyen         C   70 % - 79 %

Faible          C   60 % - 69 %

Très faible   E   59 % et moins

 


1Les données sur l’ensemble de la RCN ne sont pas facilement disponibles. Puisque les données sur la composition de la RMR Ottawa-Gatineau se rapprochent de celles de la RCN, elles ont été utilisées aux fins du présent exercice. Selon ces données, la RCN est composée à 34,9 % de francophones (selon le recensement de 2006).