Establishing agreements

Page 6 of 14

With the Government of Canada

The Government of Canada and the partners usually sign an agreement, sometimes during the bidding phase, that defines each party’s roles and responsibilities. Because of the federal government’s responsibilities regarding official languages, the agreement must contain language provisions that the organizing committee and other signatories are to comply with before, during and after the sporting event.

The agreement should, at minimum, provide for the following:

  • All communications with the public and participants will be provided simultaneously in both official languages (for example, signage, printed documentation, Web site, media kits, advertisements and technical manuals).
  • Services will be provided in both official languages at all times to the public and participants (athletes, coaches, officials, etc.), including safety and emergency services.
  • Both of Canada’s official language communities will be included and represented in the spoken and visual components of the ceremonies and of the cultural activities organized in conjunction with the sporting event.
  • The organizing committee will ensure active participation by members of the official language minority community and make sure that the community’s needs are taken into consideration.
  • The organizing committee will determine translation and interpretation needs.
  • A timetable for delivering progress and evaluation reports will be prepared.
  • In order to meet these requirements, the organizing committee will acquire sufficient bilingual capacity among its staff and volunteers, including the management team.


In addition to the initial agreement, other instruments, such as contribution agreements, are required to establish a framework for the activities for which the Government of Canada is providing funding. It is the government’s responsibility to ensure that such agreements are clear, detailed and comprehensive so as to avoid any misinterpretation of the language provisions. The principles and values underlying language requirements should be included to help interpret the provisions.

The language provisions must be accompanied by expected results, performance indicators and reporting mechanisms, so that signatories are fully aware of their obligations arising from the principle of equality of official languages. The language requirements are the minimum standards that must be met: nothing prevents those requirements from being surpassed to better meet the needs of the two official language communities.

KEY QUESTIONS

Organizing committee

  • How will we inform our employees, partners and sponsors of our language obligations?
  • How will we ensure that they understand and comply with them?
  • Do we know whom to contact if we are unsure about how to interpret the language provisions?

Government of Canada

  • How will we ensure that agreements are clear and comprehensive with respect to official languages?
  • How will we check to determine whether any of the language provisions are confusing?
  • Will the language provisions contained in the agreements cover all of our expectations and responsibilities?
  • Will the agreements contain principles and values to help interpret the language provisions?
  • Will expected results, performance indicators and reporting mechanisms be included in the agreements?

With other partners

The organizing committee and federal institutions involved in the event will be called upon to sign other types of agreements.

- Collaborative agreement with official language communities
As early as possible in the planning stage, the organizing committee should focus on building strong relationships with key organizations in the official language minority community, as well as with national organizations representing this language group. To do this, the organizing committee could, for example, sign a collaborative agreement with these organizations to foster constructive dialogue. Regular meetings are extremely useful to plan and coordinate activities effectively.

- Agreements with service providers
When the organizing committee or a federal institution enters an agreement with a service provider to offer services to the public and participants on its behalf, it must ensure that these services are provided in both official languages. The committee or institution must clarify itsexpectations, propose solutions, and perform follow-ups and monitoring. Members of the public expect to receive service in the official language of their choice, regardless of who provides the service.

- Agreements with broadcasters
The guiding principle behind any broadcast agreement (television, Web, etc.) should be to provide equal access in both official languages. In the case of events broadcast across the country, the broadcasting rights holder must ensure, from the outset, that each and every citizen will be able to experience the event in the official language of their choice, regardless of where they may find themselves in the country. The Government of Canada should be proactive so that agreements enabling equal access can be easily reached with the broadcasting rights holder.

KEY QUESTIONS

Organizing committee and federal institutions

  • How will we encourage both of Canada’s official language communities to participate, and how will we build relationships with key organizations within the official language minority community?
  • How will we define the role of key organizations and how can we ensure that the expectations and roles of each are clear and well defined?
  • How will we clarify expectations and how will we perform follow-ups and monitoring to ensure that service providers acting on our behalf fulfill official languages requirements by providing services in both languages?

Broadcasting rights holder

  • What measures will we take to ensure that media access to the event is equal in both official languages?


Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Établir les ententes

Page 6 de 14

Avec le gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada et les partenaires signent habituellement, parfois au cours de la phase de mise en candidature, une entente qui décrit les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun. Compte tenu des responsabilités fédérales en matière de langues officielles, cette entente doit comprendre des dispositions linguistiques que le comité organisateur et les autres signataires doivent respecter avant, pendant et après l’événement sportif.

Cette entente devrait comprendre, au minimum, les éléments suivants :

  • toutes les communications avec le public et les participants se feront simultanément dans les deux langues officielles (par exemple, la signalisation, la documentation imprimée, le site Web, les renseignements aux médias, les annonces dans les médias, les manuels techniques);
  • des services dans les deux langues officielles seront fournis en tout temps au public et aux participants (athlètes, entraîneurs, officiels, etc.), y compris les services de sécurité et d’urgence;
  • les deux communautés de langue officielle du Canada seront incluses et représentées dans les composantes parlées et visuelles des cérémonies et des activités culturelles qui seront organisées à l’occasion de l’événement sportif;
  • le comité organisateur assurera la participation active des membres de la communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et la prise en compte des besoins de cette communauté;
  • le comité organisateur déterminera les besoins en traduction et en interprétation;
  • un échéancier de remise des rapports d’étape et d’évaluation sera préparé;
  • le comité organisateur, pour respecter ces exigences, se dotera d’une capacité bilingue suffisante parmi son personnel et ses bénévoles, y compris au sein de l’équipe de direction.


En plus de l’entente initiale, d’autres ententes, comme des accords de contribution, sont nécessaires pour encadrer les activités auxquelles participe financièrement le gouvernement du Canada. Il revient au gouvernement de faire en sorte que ces accords soient clairs, détaillés et complets, afin d’éviter une interprétation erronée ou restrictive des dispositions linguistiques. Pour guider l’interprétation de ces dispositions, il importe d’inclure les principes et les valeurs qui sous-tendent les exigences linguistiques.

Les dispositions linguistiques doivent s’accompagner de résultats attendus, d’indicateurs de rendement et de mécanismes de reddition de comptes, de telle sorte que les signataires comprennent bien leurs obligations qui découlent du principe d’égalité des langues officielles. Les exigences linguistiques sont des normes minimales à respecter : rien n’empêche d’aller au-delà afin de mieux répondre aux besoins des deux communautés de langue officielle.

QUESTIONS À SE POSER

Comité organisateur

  • Comment informerons-nous le personnel, nos partenaires et nos commanditaires de nos obligations linguistiques?
  • Comment nous assurerons-nous qu’ils les comprennent et les respectent?
  • Saurons-nous à qui nous adresser si nous avons des doutes sur l’interprétation des dispositions linguistiques?

Gouvernement du Canada

  • Comment ferons-nous en sorte que les ententes soient claires et complètes en ce qui concerne les langues officielles?
  • De quelle façon vérifierons-nous si certaines dispositions linguistiques portent à confusion?
  • Les dispositions linguistiques des ententes couvriront-elles toutes nos attentes et toutes nos responsabilités?
  • Les ententes contiendront-elles des principes et des valeurs permettant de guider l’interprétation des dispositions linguistiques?
  • Les ententes comprendront-elles des résultats attendus, des indicateurs de rendement et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes?

Avec d’autres partenaires

Le comité organisateur et les institutions fédérales prenant part à l’événement seront appelés à signer d’autres types d’ententes en vue de l’événement.

- Entente de collaboration avec les communautés de langue officielle
Aussitôt que possible dans l’organisation de l’événement, le comité organisateur doit chercher à tisser des liens solides avec des organismes clés de la communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire ainsi que des organismes représentant ce groupe linguistique à l’échelle nationale. Pour ce faire, le comité organisateur pourrait, par exemple, signer une entente de collaboration avec ces organismes afin d’établir un dialogue constructif avec eux. Des rencontres régulières s’avèrent fort utiles pour assurer une planification et une coordination efficaces des activités.

- Ententes avec des fournisseurs de services
Lorsque le comité organisateur ou une institution fédérale conclut une entente avec un fournisseur de services pour qu’il offre, en son nom, des services à l’intention du public et des participants, le comité ou l’institution doit s’assurer que ces services sont donnés dans les deux langues officielles. Le comité, comme l’institution, doit préciser ses attentes, donner des pistes ainsi qu’exercer des suivis et des contrôles auprès du fournisseur. Le public s’attend à recevoir les services dans la langue officielle de son choix, même si c’est un fournisseur qui les fournit.

- Ententes avec les diffuseurs
Le principe directeur de toute entente de diffusion (télévisuelle, Web, etc.) devrait être d’offrir un accès égal dans les deux langues officielles. Dans le cas d’événements diffusés à l’échelle nationale, le détenteur des droits de diffusion doit faire en sorte, dès le départ, que chaque citoyen pourra vivre l’événement dans la langue officielle de son choix, et ce, partout au pays. De son côté, le gouvernement du Canada devrait se montrer proactif pour faciliter la conclusion d’ententes avec le détenteur des droits qui permettent d’atteindre un accès égal.

QUESTIONS À SE POSER

Comité organisateur et institutions fédérales

  • Comment susciterons-nous la participation des deux communautés de langue officielle du Canada et comment tisserons-nous des liens avec des organismes clés de la communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire?
  • Comment définirons-nous le rôle des organismes clés et comment pourrons-nous confirmer que les attentes et les rôles de chacun sont clairs et bien définis?
  • De quelle façon préciserons-nous les attentes et exercerons-nous des suivis et des contrôles pour faire en sorte que les fournisseurs de services agissant en notre nom respectent les exigences relatives aux langues officielles en fournissant des services dans les deux langues?

Détenteur des droits de diffusion

  • Quelles mesures prendrons-nous pour assurer un accès médiatique à l’événement qui soit égal dans les deux langues officielles?


Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante