Partners’ roles

Page 5 of 14

Many partners work together in organizing national and international sporting events. To do this successfully, they must clarify official languages responsibilities and expectations as soon as possible, according to the operational realities of each partner.

Organizing committee

The organizing committee is responsible for planning, organizing, funding and staging the event, while ensuring that all of its services are provided to the public in both official languages, in compliance with an agreement signed with the Government of Canada. It is important for the committee to raise awareness of respect for official languages among its staff and partners.

Government of Canada

The Department of Canadian Heritage coordinates the Government of Canada’s financial and logistical commitment for many national and international sporting events. In that role, the Department must provide the organizing committee with assistance and guidance, and ensure that the committee fully understands and complies with the language requirements associated with organizing and staging the event.

Federal institutions

Large-scale sporting events generate an increased demand for services in both official languages in a given region and in locations that serve the travelling public. To meet the heightened demand, federal institutions (especially those providing traveller, health and safety services) must define measures as early as possible to ensure the delivery of services in both languages. They should leverage the event to continue supporting the development of official language communities and promoting the use of both official languages in Canadian society.

Provinces and municipalities

Provinces and municipalities play a key role in organizing and hosting major sporting events. Even when they have no language obligations, they still need to be made aware of the importance of taking both official languages into consideration, and they need to be encouraged to provide bilingual service. Provinces and municipalities can help create a bilingual environment during the event by ensuring that their signage and documentation are in both official languages.

The Government of Canada has a part to play in raising awareness among the other levels of government of the importance of promoting both official languages.

Official language minority communities

The organizing committee must consider the needs of the official language minority community when developing its programs and services. Organizations representing this community can in turn provide invaluable assistance in preparing for and hosting the event, especially in the area of volunteer recruitment. They can also offer guidance on and help promote the cultural and educational programs organized in conjunction with the sporting event.

Sponsors

Numerous sponsors participate in major sporting events in various ways. When the organizing committee signs an agreement with a sponsor, it should require that the sponsor respect linguistic duality in its promotional activities. Sponsors should also be made aware of the fact that promoting both official languages is an excellent business opportunity.

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages

The role of the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages is to ensure that the language rights of all Canadians are respected and to investigate alleged contraventions of the Official Languages Act. It also promotes linguistic duality in Canadian society and intervenes proactively with federal institutions to support them in complying with their language obligations.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Le rôle des partenaires

Page 5 de 14

Dans le cadre de l’organisation d’événements sportifs d’envergure nationale ou internationale, de nombreux partenaires travaillent de concert. Pour ce faire, ils doivent, le plus tôt possible, clarifier les responsabilités et les attentes en matière de langues officielles dans le cadre des réalités opérationnelles de chacun.

Comité organisateur

Le comité organisateur se charge de la planification, de l’organisation, du financement et de la tenue de l’événement, tout en veillant à offrir au public l’ensemble de ses services dans les deux langues officielles, conformément à une entente signée avec le gouvernement du Canada. De plus, il est important que le comité sensibilise son personnel et ses partenaires au respect des langues officielles.

Gouvernement du Canada

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien coordonne l’engagement financier et logistique du gouvernement du Canada pour bon nombre d’événements sportifs d’envergure nationale et internationale. Lorsqu’il joue ce rôle, le Ministère doit fournir aide et direction au comité organisateur, et veiller à ce que ce dernier comprenne bien et respecte les exigences linguistiques liées à l’organisation ou à la tenue de l’événement.

Institutions fédérales

Les événements sportifs à grand déploiement entraînent une augmentation de la demande de services dans les deux langues officielles dans une région donnée et aux points de service aux voyageurs. Pour répondre à cette demande accrue, les institutions fédérales (en particulier celles qui offrent des services aux voyageurs, de santé ou de sécurité) doivent définir le plus tôt possible des mesures qui leur permettront d’assurer une prestation de services dans les deux langues. Il est important qu’elles profitent de l’événement pour continuer à soutenir le développement des communautés de langue officielle et à promouvoir l’usage des deux langues officielles dans la société canadienne.

Provinces et municipalités

Les provinces et les municipalités jouent un rôle clé dans l’organisation et le déroulement des événements sportifs d’envergure. Même lorsqu’elles n’ont pas d’obligations linguistiques à respecter, il demeure essentiel de les sensibiliser à l’importance de tenir compte des deux langues officielles et de les encourager à offrir un service bilingue. Les provinces et les municipalités contribuent également à créer une ambiance bilingue pendant l’événement lorsqu’elles veillent à ce que leur signalisation et leur documentation soient dans les deux langues officielles.

Le gouvernement du Canada a un rôle à jouer pour sensibiliser les autres paliers de gouvernement à l’importance de mettre en valeur les deux langues officielles.

Communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

Le comité organisateur doit tenir compte des besoins de la communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire dans l’élaboration de ses programmes et de ses services. De leur côté, les organismes représentant cette communauté peuvent fournir une aide précieuse au cours des préparatifs et du déroulement de l’événement, notamment en ce qui concerne le recrutement de bénévoles. Ils peuvent aussi offrir des conseils au sujet des programmes culturels et éducatifs qui sont organisés à l’occasion des événements sportifs et aider à les promouvoir.

Commanditaires

De nombreux commanditaires participent de différentes façons aux événements sportifs d’envergure. Lorsque le comité organisateur signe une entente avec un commanditaire, il devrait exiger que celui-ci respecte la dualité linguistique dans ses activités de promotion. De plus, il importe de sensibiliser les commanditaires au fait que la mise en valeur des deux langues officielles constitue une excellente occasion d’affaires.

Commissariat aux langues officielles

Le rôle du Commissariat aux langues officielles consiste à veiller à ce que les droits linguistiques des Canadiennes et des Canadiens soient respectés et à enquêter sur les manquements allégués à la Loi sur les langues officielles. Il fait également la promotion de la dualité linguistique dans la société canadienne et intervient de façon proactive auprès des institutions fédérales pour les appuyer dans le respect de leurs obligations linguistiques.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante